DETAILED ACTION
Claims 13-24 are pending, and claims 13-17 and 19-22 are currently under review.
Claims 1-12 are cancelled.
Claims 18 and 23-24 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I and species of claim 17 in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18 and 23-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/31/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magar et al. (WO2018055425).
Regarding claim 13, Magar et al. discloses a cold rolled, annealed, and tempered steel having a yield strength of at least 1100 MPa [abstract, p.1, 12]; wherein said steel has a composition as seen in table 1 below [p.2-3]. Magar et al. further teaches a microstructure of 10 to 50 percent retained austenite, up to 8 percent fresh martensite, and a balance of tempered martensite [p.2-3]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition and microstructure of Magar et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Magar et al. also discloses controlling Mn in the retained austenite to be 1.3Mn of the total steel and controlling C in the retained austenite to be 0.4 to 1 weight percent [p.2]. Although Magar et al. does not expressly teach a relationship between Mn in retained austenite and C in retained austenite as claimed, the examiner notes that the disclosed ranges of Magar et al. above still overlap with the claimed relationship which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 13 (wt.%)
Magar et al. (wt.%)
C
0.03 – 0.18
0.1 – 0.4
Mn
6 – 11
3.5 – 8
Mo
0.05 – 0.5
0.001 – 0.5
B
0.0005 – 0.005
0.0005 – 0.003
S
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
P
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.02
N
0 – 0.008
0 – 0.08
Al (optional)
0 – 3
0.003 – 3
Si (optional)
0 – 1.2
0.5 – 2.5
Ti (optional)
0 – 0.05
0.01 – 0.08
Nb (optional)
0 – 0.05
0.01 – 0.08
Cr (optional)
0 – 0.5
0.01 – 2
V (optional)
0 – 0.2
0.01 – 0.3
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 14-16 and 21-22, Magar et al. discloses the steel of claim 13 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Magar et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Although Magar et al. does not expressly teach an LME index or carbon equivalent as claimed, the examiner notes that these formulas merely further narrow the claimed C, Si, Cr, Mn, Al, P, B, and Mo amounts, which still overlaps with the disclosed ranges of Magar et al.
Regarding claims 19-20, Magar et al. discloses the steel of claim 13 (see previous). Magar et al. further teaches obtaining a tensile strength of at least 1300 MPa, uniform elongation of at least 10%, and total elongation of at least 13%, which overlaps with the claimed ranges and product ranges [p.1]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 13-17 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2017/0137909).
Regarding claim 13, Xu et al. discloses a cold rolled, annealed, and tempered steel having a yield strength of at least 700 MPa [abstract, 0039]; wherein said steel has a composition as seen in table 2 below [0029-0036]. Xu et al. further teaches a microstructure of at least 20 percent retained austenite, up to 10 percent ferrite, and at least 65 percent martensite which is further tempered (ie. tempered martensite) [0010]. Xu et al. is silent regarding the presence of fresh, non-tempered martensite, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that fresh martensite is not required to be present. The examiner notes that the overlap and closeness between the steel composition and microstructure of Xu et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Regarding closeness, the examiner submits that the ranges of Xu et al. are substantially close to the claimed ranges such that similar mechanical properties are achieved as shown further below.
Xu et al. does not expressly teach a ferrite grain size or amount of Mn and C in retained austenite as claimed. However, the examiner submits that overlapping parameters would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Xu et al. One of ordinary skill would readily understand that steel properties are directly influenced by steel composition and microstructure. Accordingly, Xu et al. already discloses an overlapping steel composition and further discloses overlapping steel mechanical properties as will be explained below, such that one of ordinary skill would expect similar overlapping microstructural parameters relative to those claimed above to naturally flow. See MPEP 2144.05(I) & MPEP 2112.
Table 2.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 13 (wt.%)
Xu et al. (wt.%)
C
0.03 – 0.18
0.1 – 0.25
Mn
6 – 11
4.5 – 10
Mo
0.05 – 0.5
0 – 0.05
B
0.0005 – 0.005
0 – 0.001
S
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
P
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.02
N
0 – 0.008
0 – 0.01
Al (optional)
0 – 3
0.03 – 2.5
Si (optional)
0 – 1.2
1 – 3
Ti (optional)
0 – 0.05
0 – 0.1
Nb (optional)
0 – 0.05
0 – 0.1
Cr (optional)
0 – 0.5
0 – 0.1
V (optional)
0 – 0.2
0 – 0.1
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 14-16 and 21-22, Xu et al. discloses the steel of claim 13 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Xu et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Although Xu et al. does not expressly teach an LME index or carbon equivalent as claimed, the examiner notes that these formulas merely further narrow the claimed C, Si, Cr, Mn, Al, P, B, and Mo amounts, which still overlaps with the disclosed ranges of Xu et al.
Regarding claim 17, Xu et al. discloses the steel of claim 13 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned microstructure of Xu et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 19-20, Xu et al. discloses the steel of claim 13 (see previous). Xu et al. further teaches obtaining a tensile strength of at least 1100 MPa, uniform elongation of at least 8%, and total elongation of at least 10%, which overlaps with the claimed ranges and product ranges [abstract]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 13-17 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (WO2019123240) alone or alternatively in view of Magar et al. (WO2018055425).
Regarding claim 13, Jung et al. discloses a cold rolled, annealed, and tempered steel having yield strengths of at least 1000 MPa [abstract, p.4-5, tables 4-5]; wherein said steel has a composition as seen in table 3 below [p.5-6]. Jung et al. further teaches a microstructure of 8 to 50 percent retained austenite, up to 80 percent ferrite having a grain size of up to 1.5 micrometers, and a remainder of martensite which is further tempered (ie. tempered martensite) [p.5-6]. Jung et al. alternatively also further teaches limiting fresh martensite to be at most 8 percent [p.7]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition and microstructure of Jung et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Although the specific examples of Jung et al. are not particularly relied upon in the instant rejections, the examiner submits that one of ordinary skill would readily understand that the disclosure of Jung et al. suggests a desirable and achievable range of yield strengths which meets the instantly claimed range.
Jung et al. does not expressly teach an amount of Mn and C in retained austenite as claimed. However, the examiner submits that overlapping parameters would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Jung et al. One of ordinary skill would readily understand that steel properties are directly influenced by steel composition and processing. Accordingly, Jung et al. already discloses an overlapping steel composition and further discloses substantially similar, overlapping manufacturing parameters shown in table 3 below. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would expect similar overlapping microstructural parameters of Mn and C content in retained austenite to naturally flow relative to those claimed. See MPEP 2144.05(I) & MPEP 2112.
Alternatively, Jung et al. does not expressly teach an amount of Mn and C in retained austenite as claimed. Magar et al. discloses that it is known to control Mn and C in retained austenite to be 1.3Mn of the total steel and 0.4 to 1 weight percent, respectively, in order to desirably control microstructure formation and steel properties [p.2, 11-13]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the disclosure of Jung et al. by controlling Mn and C contents in retained austenite for the aforementioned benefit disclosed by Magar et al. Although Magar et al. does not expressly teach a relationship between Mn in retained austenite and C in retained austenite as claimed, the examiner notes that the disclosed ranges of Magar et al. above still overlap with the claimed relationship which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 3.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 13 (wt.%)
Jung et al. (wt.%)
C
0.03 – 0.18
0.1 – 0.4
Mn
6 – 11
3.5 – 8
Mo
0.05 – 0.5
0 – 0.5
B
0.0005 – 0.005
0 – 0.004
S
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.003
P
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.015
N
0 – 0.008
0.002 – 0.013
Al (optional)
0 – 3
0 – 3
Si (optional)
0 – 1.2
0.1 – 1.5
Ti (optional)
0 – 0.05
0 – 0.1
Nb (optional)
0 – 0.05
0 – 0.1
Cr (optional)
0 – 0.5
0 – 1
V (optional)
0 – 0.2
0 – 0.2
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Manufacturing Parameters
Instant specification [0046-0057]
Jung et al. [p.3-5]
Slab heating to 1150 to 1300 degrees C
Slab heating to 1150 to 1300 degrees C
Hot rolling with finish rolling at 800 to 1000 degrees C
Hot rolling with finish rolling at least 800 degrees C
Coiling at 20 to 650 degrees C
Coiling at 650 degrees C or lower
Annealing at Ac1 to Ac3 for up to 120 hours
Annealing at least 650 degrees C for 3 to 3600 seconds
Cold rolling at reduction rate of 20 to 80 percent
Cold rolling at reduction rate of 30 to 70 percent
Annealing at 720 to 860 degrees C for 100 to 1000 seconds
Annealing at 650 to 1000 degrees C for 30 seconds to 10 minutes
Quenching to below 80 degrees C at a cooling rate of at least 0.1 degrees C per second
Quenching to room temperature at a cooling rate of 1 to 70 degrees C per second
Tempering at up to 300 degrees C for 100 to 1800 seconds
Tempering at 170 to 450 degrees C for 10 to 1200 seconds
Regarding claims 14-16 and 21-22, Jung et al. discloses the steel of claim 13 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Jung et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Although Jung et al. does not expressly teach an LME index or carbon equivalent as claimed, the examiner notes that these formulas merely further narrow the claimed C, Si, Cr, Mn, Al, P, B, and Mo amounts, which still overlaps with the disclosed ranges of Jung et al.
Regarding claim 17, Jung et al. discloses the steel of claim 13 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned microstructure of Jung et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 19-20, Jung et al. discloses the steel of claim 13 (see previous). Jung et al. does not expressly teach general steel properties of tensile strength, uniform elongation, ultimate elongation, and products thereof. However, as shown above, Jung et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition, overlapping steel microstructure, and overlapping substantially similar method of manufacturing, such that overlapping substantially similar mechanical properties would have naturally flowed absent concrete evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2144.05(I) & MPEP 2112.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-17 and 19-22 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,503,740. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the overlap between the claimed ranges and patented ranges is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734