DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Office action on the merits to the application filed 10/29/2019. Claims 1-19, 21 are pending. Claims 20, 22-32 are canceled. Claims 1-19, 21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/18/2023, 10/10/2023, 04/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 13 -14, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. (102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TR 23.757 v 0.4.0 ,“Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multi-cast-broadcast service (Release 17)”, 3GPP, 2020-06, hereinafter “3GPP”.
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP teaches:
A method for information transmission, applicable for an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a core network (Fig. 6.16.2.1-1: UE, AMF, SMF), the method comprising: receiving a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request sent by a user equipment (UE) for a multimodal service, wherein the PDU session establishment request carries multimodal service identifier information (Section 6.16.2.1. MBS sessions joining via PDU Session establishment procedure. Page 93, also Fig. 6.16.2.1-1. 3GPP teaches: Step 1. UE sends a UL NAS Transport message to the AMF, including S-NSSAI(s), DNN, PDU Session ID, Request Type, MBS information, N1 SM container (i.e. PDU Session Establishment Request). The MBS information identifies the MBS (multicast and broadcast service, equates to multi-modal service) that the UE wants to join, and can be a multi-cast address or TMGI (temporary mobile group identity).
Regarding claim 13, 3GPP teaches:
A method for information transmission, applicable for a session management function (SMF) of a core network (Fig. 6.16.2.1-1: UE, AMF, SMF), the method comprising: receiving a context service request carrying multimodal service identifier information sent by an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the context service request is configured to request to establish a protocol data unit (PDU) session for a multimodal service. (Section 6.16.2.1. Step 3a: The AMF invokes (sends) the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request (SUPI, S-NSSAI(s), DNN, PDU Session ID, AMF ID, Request Type, MBS information, UE location information, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Request)) towards the selected SMF. See Fig. 6.16.2.1-1)
Regarding claim 21, 3GPP teaches:
A method for information transmission, applicable for a user equipment (UE) of a core network, the method comprising: sending, by a user equipment (UE) of a core network (Fig. 6.16.2.1-1: UE, AMF, SMF) a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request for a multimodal service to an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the PDU session establishment request carries multimodal service identifier information. (Section 6.16.2.1. 3GPP teaches: Step 1. UE sends a UL NAS Transport message to the AMF, including S-NSSAI(s), DNN, PDU Session ID, Request Type, MBS information, N1 SM container (i.e. PDU Session Establishment Request). The MBS information identifies the MBS (multicast and broadcast service, equates to multi-modal service) that the UE wants to join, and can be a multi-cast address or TMGI (temporary mobile group identity). See Fig. 6.16.2.1-1.)
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP teaches:
wherein receiving the PDU session establishment request sent by the UE for the multimodal service comprises: receiving PDU Session establishment request signaling carrying the multimodal service identifier information sent by the UE (Section 6.16.2.1. MBS sessions joining via PDU Session establishment procedure. Page 93, also Fig. 6.16.2.1-1. 3GPP teaches: Step 1. UE sends a UL NAS Transport message to the AMF, including S-NSSAI(s), DNN, PDU Session ID, Request Type, MBS information, N1 SM container (i.e. PDU Session Establishment Request). The MBS information identifies the MBS (multicast and broadcast service, equates to multi-modal service) that the UE wants to join, and can be a multi-cast address or TMGI (temporary mobile group identity).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP teaches:
selecting a session management function (SMF) associated with the multimodal service in response to receiving the PDU session establishment request (Section 6.16.2.1. Step 2: The AMF checks for a valid MBS session context for the service requested by the UE, and selects the SMF, according to the MBS session context. See Fig. 6.16.2.1-1)
the method further comprising: sending a context service request carrying the multimodal service identifier information to the selected SMF. (Section 6.16.2.1. Step 3a: The AMF invokes (sends) the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request (SUPI, S-NSSAI(s), DNN, PDU Session ID, AMF ID, Request Type, MBS information, UE location information, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Request)) towards the selected SMF. See Fig. 6.16.2.1-1)
Regarding claims 4 and 14, 3GPP teaches:
sending NsmfPDUSession_CreateSMContext Request signaling carrying the multimodal service identifier information to the selected SMF (Section 6.16.2.1. Step 3a: The AMF invokes (sends) the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request (SUPI, S-NSSAI(s), DNN, PDU Session ID, AMF ID, Request Type, MBS information, UE location information, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Request)) towards the selected SMF. See Fig. 6.16.2.1-1);
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP teaches:
receiving session management information of the PDU session, wherein the session management information is sent by the selected SMF in response to successfully establishing the PDU session. ((Section 6.16.2.1. Step 7a: The SMF invokes the Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer (including PDU Session ID, MBS session context information, N2 SM information (PDU Session ID, MBS session context information, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), CN Tunnel Info, S-NSSAI, PDU Session Type), N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept)) to the AMF, upon agreeing to the PDU establish request. The MBS session context information equates to the multi-modal service identifier information.),
Regarding claims 9 and 19, 3GPP teaches:
receiving NamfCommunicationN1N2MessageTransfer signaling carrying the session management information of the PDU session sent by the selected SMF. ((Section 6.16.2.1. Step 7a: The SMF invokes the Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer (including PDU Session ID, MBS session context information, N2 SM information (PDU Session ID, MBS session context information, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), CN Tunnel Info, S-NSSAI, PDU Session Type), N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept)) to the AMF, upon agreeing to the PDU establish request. The MBS session context information equates to the multi-modal service identifier information.)
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP teaches:
sending the session management information of the PDU session to an access network, in response to receiving the session management information of the PDU session; ((Section 6.16.2.1. Step 8: The AMF creates/updates the MBS session context, and sends the N2 PDU Session request to the NG-RAN (NG-RAN equates to access network)
wherein, the access network sends the session management information of the PDU session to the UE ((Section 6.16.2.1. Step 9: The NG-RAN forwards the NAS message containing the PDU Session Establishment Accept to the UE.)
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP teaches:
wherein sending the session management information of the PDU session to the access network in response to receiving the session management information of the PDU session comprises: sending N2 PDU Session Request signaling carrying the session management information of the PDU session to the access network. ((Section 6.16.2.1. Step 8: The AMF creates/updates the MBS session context, and sends the N2 PDU Session request to the NG-RAN (NG-RAN equates to access network).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 -7, 12, 15 -18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over TR 23.757 v 0.4.0 ,“Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multi-cast-broadcast service (Release 17)”, 3GPP, 2020-06, hereinafter “3GPP”, in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0250788) hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, 3GPP teaches:
determining that the selected SMF agrees to establish a PDU session, in response to receiving a context service response carrying the multimodal service identifier information sent by the selected SMF ((Section 6.16.2.1. Step 7a: The SMF invokes the Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer (including PDU Session ID, MBS session context information, N2 SM information (PDU Session ID, MBS session context information, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), CN Tunnel Info, S-NSSAI, PDU Session Type), N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept)) to the AMF, upon agreeing to the PDU establish request. The MBS session context information equates to the multi-modal service identifier information.), or…
3GPP does not explicitly teach the SMF response for disagreeing to establish the PDU session:
determining that the selected SMF disagrees to establish a PDU session, in response to receiving a PDU session rejection instruction carrying the multimodal service identifier information sent by the selected SMF
However, Kim in a similar endeavor discloses the option for the SMF to reject the AMF request:
determining that the selected SMF disagrees to establish a PDU session, in response to receiving a PDU session rejection instruction carrying the multimodal service identifier information sent by the selected SMF ([0213-0214]: Kim teaches that the SMF may decide not to accept to establish a PDU session; the SMF rejects the UE request via a NAS SM signaling message including a relevant SM rejection cause with a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContextResponse. This signaling equates to a PDU session rejection instruction. The response includes the SM Context ID [0211], from the request information. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of 3GPP in order to clarify the choices for SMF response to the PDU establishment procedure, that the nominal context response signaling is used for agreeing and disagreeing to the PDU request, for more efficient operation.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, 3GPP teaches:
determining that the selected SMF agrees to establish the PDU session, in response to receiving NsmfPDUSession_CreateSMContext Response signaling carrying the multimodal service identifier information sent by the selected SMF ((Section 6.16.2.1. Step 7a:The SMF invokes the Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer (PDU Session ID, MBS session context information, N2 SM information (PDU Session ID, MBS session context information, QFI(s), QoS Profile(s), CN Tunnel Info, S-NSSAI, PDU Session Type), N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept)) to the AMF, upon agreeing to the PDU establish request. The MBS session context information equates to the multi-modal service identifier information.)
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP does not explicitly teach:
determining that the selected SMF disagrees to establish the PDU session, in response to receiving PDU session reject signaling carrying the multimodal service identifier information sent by the selected SMF.
However, Kim teaches:
determining that the selected SMF disagrees to establish the PDU session, in response to receiving PDU session reject signaling carrying the multimodal service identifier information sent by the selected SMF ([0213-0214]: Kim teaches that the SMF may decide not to accept to establish a PDU session; the SMF rejects the UE request via a NAS SM signaling message including a relevant SM rejection cause with a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContextResponse. This signaling equates to a PDU session rejection instruction. The response includes the SM Context ID [0211], from the request information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of 3GPP in order to clarify the choices for SMF response to the PDU establishment procedure, that the nominal context response signaling is used for agreeing and disagreeing to the PDU request, for more efficient operation.
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP does not teach:
wherein the access network sends the session management information of the PDU session to the UE by carrying the session management information of the PDU session in RRC Connection Reconfiguration signaling.
However, Kim teaches:
wherein the access network sends the session management information of the PDU session to the UE by carrying the session management information of the PDU session in RRC Connection Reconfiguration signaling ([0252]: Step 13. RAN to UE signaling - an RRC connection reconfiguration may take place with the UE establishing the necessary NG-RAN resources for the PDU session request.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of 3GPP in order to use well known signaling procedures for more efficient establishment procedure between the UE and the RAN.
Regarding claim 17, 3GPP teaches:
wherein sending the PDU session rejection instruction carrying the multimodal service identifier information to the AMF comprises: sending PDU session reject signaling carrying the multimodal service identifier information to the AMF. ([0213-0214]: Kim teaches that the SMF may decide not to accept to establish a PDU session; the SMF rejects the UE request via a NAS SM signaling message including a relevant SM rejection cause with a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContextResponse. This signaling equates to a PDU session rejection instruction. The response includes the SM Context ID [0211], from the request information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of 3GPP in order to clarify the choices for SMF response to the PDU establishment procedure, that the nominal context response signaling is used for agreeing and disagreeing to the PDU request, for more efficient operation.
Regarding claim 18, 3GPP does not teach:
selecting a user plane function (UPF) associated with the multimodal service, in response to agreeing to establish the PDU session. ([0224-0228]: Kim teaches that the SMF may select the UPF (Step 8), upon receiving the PDU session response)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of 3GPP in order to clarify the procedure to further select resources (one or more UPFs) as needed for the PDU establishment procedure.
Conclusion
/R.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461