DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Introduction
Any rejections and/or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/062,534, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for one or more claims of this application.
The ‘534 application fails to provide enablement or written description support for at least the concept that the non-intumescent fire resistant additive contains a ceramic flux agent in a total amount of more than 0% and less than or equal to 5% by weight of the additive.
Therefore, the US effective filing date of the instant application is 30 July 2021 (the filing date of the PCT/IB2021/056994).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (WO 2020/225746 A1)(Yuan) in view of Nouryon Product Data Sheet, Levasil FX80 (January 2020)(Nouryon).
As to claims 15 and 24, Yuan discloses a gypsum panel having a core and mat facings. See the abstract and paragraph [26] . The core is formed from a slurry containing colloidal silica. See the abstract. The colloidal silica is sodium stabilized and may be a Levasil colloidal silica. See paragraphs [22]-[23].
Yuan discloses the colloidal silica improves high temperature shrinkage (see paragraph [23], which is another way of saying that it is a non-intumescent fire resistant additive.
Yuan discloses the colloidal silica is sodium stabilized, which means the colloidal silica contains some amount of Na2O (which is a ceramic flux), however, Yuan fails to disclose the amount of Na2O present in the colloidal silica, and the examiner was unable to determine the composition of Levasil 40-58; 34-720; 50-28; 40-620P; or 40-120 (disclosed by Yuan in paragraph [23]).
Yuan exemplifies a Levasil 50-28 which products containing 50 wt% silica. See paragraph [23].
Nouryon discloses a sodium stabilized colloidal silica known as Levasil FX80 which is good for high concentrated slurries of inorganic materials. See the document in its entirety. The colloidal silica is 50 wt% silica, 0.2 wt% Na2O and the remainder water. Once panel sets, the water is reacted or evaporated one is left with only the SiO2 and the Na2O in a weight ratio of 50:0.2. This corresponds to a composition of 50/50.2 = 99.6 wt% SiO2 and 0.2/50.2 = 0.4 wt% Na2O. Thus, the combined teachings of Yuan and Nouryon suggest a colloidal silica non-intumescent fire resistant additive to a gypsum core comprising 99.6 wt% SiO2 and 0.4 wt% Na2O.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed Levasil FX80 as disclosed in data sheet as the colloidal silica of in Yuan. The rationale for doing so is the selection of a known material (Levasil FX80) based on its suitability for its intended purpose (i.e., a colloidal silica additive as taught by Yuan). See MPEP 2144.07.
The fire resistant properties recited in instant claims 16, 19 or 23 naturally flow from the combined teachings of the prior art because Yuan discloses the gypsum board has improved fire resistance including excellent reduced high temperature shrinkage. See paragraphs [19] and Figure 5-13.
As to claim 17, Yuan discloses adding the colloidal silica in an amount of 1 to 300 lbs/msf. See paragraph [33]. Assuming, 50 wt% SiO2 in the colloidal silica additive as suggested by Nouryon, the colloidal silica (non-intumescent additive) is added to the board in an amount 0.5 to 150 lbs/msf. This range overlaps the claimed range and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 20, Yuan discloses the colloidal silica additive is used in place of vermiculite. See paragraph [19]. Moreover, Yuan exemplifies products that do not contain intumescent additives. See the tables on page 25.
As to claim 21, as noted above, the combination of references suggest the ceramic flux agent is Na2O.
As to claim 22, Yuan teaches the board may contain structural reinforcing fibers in paragraph [68].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection over Green et al. (US 3,616,173) are persuasive and the rejection is withdrawn. There appears to be a sufficient variation in the composition of ball clay such that it cannot be said that all ball clays must necessarily have at least 59% by weight silica.
Applicants cite Exhibit A, Mineral Dossier No 11 - Ball Clay (Mineral Resources Consultative Committee, London, 1975), for the composition of ball clay. A copy of the reference is not in the current record. The examiner has cited it on the attached PTO-892 and attached a copy to be made of record.
Conclusion
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784