DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 24, 2024. The restriction requirement was made FINAL in the Non-final Office Action dated October 18, 2024.
Status of the Claims
As directed by the amendment received on August 26, 2026, claim 1 has been amended. Claims 8-13 are canceled. Claims 14-24 are new. Accordingly, claims 1-7 and 14-24 are currently pending in this application with claims 19-24 being withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed with the written response received on August 26, 2026, have been considered and an action on the merits follows. Any objections and rejections previously put forth in the Office Action dated April 28, 2026, are hereby withdrawn unless specifically noted below.
Specification – Disclosure
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“configured to minimize shockwave superposition across one or more nodes” as recited in claim 1
“wherein the underlying substrate comprises a fabric material” as recited in claim 15
“the fabric” as recited in claim 18
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because at line 4, “whereas” should read “wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-7 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of the interconnected walls being “configured to minimize shockwave superposition across one or more nodes” at lines 2-3. This limitation was never disclosed in the application as originally filed. Therefore, the limitation constitutes new subject matter and should be removed from the claims. Correction is required.
Claims 15 and 18 each recite the limitations of a “fabric material” or “fabric”. Although Applicant originally disclosed the presence of a substrate, the presence of a fabric or the substate comprising a fabric material was never disclosed in the application as originally filed. Indeed, the word “fabric” is not recited in the application as originally filed. Therefore, the limitations constitute new subject matter and should be removed from the claims. Correction is required.
Claims 2-7 and 14-18 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-7 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an intersection of at least two adjacent upstanding interconnected walls” at line 4. It is unclear if the limitation is attempting refer back to the same plurality of intersecting adjacent upstanding interconnected walls previously introduced in the claim or if the limitation is attempting to refer to some other interconnected walls. Furthermore, as the phrase “at least two” includes the option of two, it is unclear how Penrose tiling pattern can be formed by the intersection of only two walls. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “an intersection of the plurality of intersecting adjacent upstanding interconnected walls”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls” at lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “the plurality of intersecting adjacent upstanding interconnected walls” to agree with the previously introduced term. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art. Claims 5-7 and 16-18 similarly recite the same limitation described above and should be similarly corrected.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein intersection between three or more of the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls is defined as a node” at lines 1-2. The limitation is unclear, as it appears to repeat limitations previously introduced in claim 1 without maintaining consistent antecedent basis. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “wherein the intersection is an intersection of three or more of the plurality of intersecting adjacent upstanding interconnected walls”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the fabric” at line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear if Applicant intended the claim to depend from another claim in which a fabric or fabric material was first introduced. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear, and the claim is rendered indefinite. It is suggested that the limitation instead read “a fabric” or the claim dependency otherwise be corrected. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as best can be understood according to the suggested language above when applying prior art.
Claims 2-7 and 14-18 are also rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 14, and 16-17, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2003/0088900 to Cho (hereinafter, “Cho”) in view of AU2012317826 to Harada et al. (hereinafter, “Harada”).
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches an impact resistant pad (See Cho Figs. 1-3; shin guard; abstract) comprising: an impact resistant element comprising a plurality of intersecting adjacent upstanding interconnected walls, each node being defined by an intersection of at least two adjacent upstanding interconnected walls providing continuous coverage of the impact resistant element (See Cho Figs. 1-3; foam buffering plate (3) formed from adjacent interconnected wall portions (3b) intersecting at nodes (3a) and arranged in a continuous pattern; at least two interconnected walls at each intersection; foam buffering plate (3) is capable of resisting an impact; [0018]).
That said, Cho is silent to the walls being arranged in a Penrose tiling pattern, whereas the Penrose tiling pattern comprises an aperiodic set of prototiles, wherein the aperiodic set of prototiles comprise at least two different non-overlapping polygonal shapes and the walls being configured to minimize shockwave superposition across one or more nodes.
However, Harada, which is reasonably pertinent to the same problem faced by Applicant of distributing force non-linearly across a lattice pattern structure, is directed to an absorbent article having a lattice pattern structure that distributes force along the pattern to prevent the article from being distorted or bending undesirably (See Harada, Figs. 1 and 11; abstract; page 6, lines 9-13; page 38 line 20 – page 40, line 7). More specifically, Harada teaches the walls being arranged in a Penrose tiling pattern, whereas the Penrose tiling pattern comprises an aperiodic set of prototiles, wherein the aperiodic set of prototiles comprise at least two different non-overlapping polygonal shapes (See Harada, Fig. 11; structure (20b) includes at least two different non-overlapping polygonal shapes, i.e., rhombuses (201, 202); page 38 line 20 – page 40, line 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace the corresponding lattice and vent pattern of Cho with the Penrose tiling lattice pattern disclosed by Harada for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, for aesthetic purposes of providing Penrose patterned visual design and/or distributing forces non-linearly across the lattice pattern to prevent the article from undesirably distorting and/or bending under an applied force (See Harada, page 6, lines 9-13; page 38 line 20 – page 40, line 7). As a result of the above modification, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed above) would further teach the walls being configured to minimize shockwave superposition across one or more nodes (the modified impact resistant pad of Cho would be capable of minimizing shockwave superposition inasmuch as Applicant’s impact resistant pad through incorporation of the Penrose tiling lattice pattern).
Regarding claim 2, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein the impact resistant element is connected to an underlying substrate (See Cho, Figs. 1-3; buffering plate (3) is connected to cover (1)).
Regarding claim 3, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 above) further teaches wherein the underlying substrate is part of a garment (See Cho, Figs. 1-3; cover (1) is part of a shin guard which is a wearable garment).
Regarding claim 14, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 above) further teaches wherein the underlying substrate is flexible (See Cho, Figs. 1-3; cover (1) is flexible; [0017]).
Regarding claim 16, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 above) further teaches wherein the upstanding interconnected walls are 3D printed onto the underlying substrate (Examiner notes that the walls being 3D printed on the underlying substrate is a product-by-process limitation; the resulting structure of the prior art, i.e., the plurality of intersecting adjacent upstanding interconnected walls being positioned on the underlying substrate, meets the structural requirements of the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 17, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 and 14 above) further teaches wherein the upstanding interconnected walls are 3D printed onto the underlying substrate (Examiner notes that the walls being 3D printed on the underlying substrate is a product-by-process limitation; the resulting structure of the prior art, i.e., the plurality of intersecting adjacent upstanding interconnected walls being positioned on the underlying substrate, meets the structural requirements of the claim limitation).
Claim 4, as best can be understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Harada, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2014/0101816 to Toronjo (hereinafter, “Toronjo”).
Regarding claim 4, although the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) teaches the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls being made of a foam material, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho is silent to wherein the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls are comprised of an auxetic material.
However, Toronjo, in a related protective cushioning structure art, is directed to an article of apparel having a protective panel that incorporates an auxetic padding into the article of apparel, such as in a shin guard (See, Toronjo, Fig. 11B; abstract; [0118]). More specifically, Toronjo teaches wherein the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls are comprised of an auxetic material (See Toronjo, Fig. 11B; auxetic layer can be formed of auxetic foam material; [0080]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to use the auxetic foam material disclosed by Toronjo to form the foam plate in the modified impact resistant pad of Cho, as the modification amounts to no more than a simple substitution of one known foam material for another with nothing more than the reasonable expectation of one foam material performing just as well as the other to yield predictable results, i.e., providing padded protection to a wearer.
Claims 5-7, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Harada, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0000018 to Brandt (hereinafter, “Brandt”).
Regarding claim 5, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein a mean height of the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls is 1-20mm.
However, Brandt, in a related cushioning structure art, is directed to a modular protective structure formed from an impact absorbing material formed into a pattern of one or more geometrical shapes (See Brandt, Figs. 1A-3; abstract). More specifically, Brandt teaches wherein a mean height of the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls is 1-20mm (See Brandt, Fig. 1C; walls have maximum thickness of about 10 mm and a second thickness that can be greater than a minimum thickness; minimum thickness is not present at holes; [0017]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention configure the mean thickness of the walls of the modified impact resistant pad of Cho to vary within the ranges disclosed by Brandt for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a progressive impact protection response (See Brandt, [0004]), and further since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no criticality for the mean thickness values of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) is silent to wherein a mean width of the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls is 0.2-5.0mm.
However, Brandt, in a related cushioning structure art, is directed to a modular protective structure formed from an impact absorbing material formed into a pattern of one or more geometrical shapes (See Brandt, Figs. 1A-3; abstract). More specifically, Brandt teaches wherein a mean width of the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls is 0.2-5.0mm (See Brandt, Fig. 2; walls have thickness (212), i.e., width, of 0.5-1.5 mm; [0021]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention configure the mean width of the walls of the modified impact resistant pad of Cho to vary within the range disclosed by Brandt for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a progressive impact protection response and/or providing sufficient cushioning to a wearer using a desired lattice geometry (See Brandt, [0004]), and further since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no criticality for the mean width values of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above) further teaches wherein an intersection among three or more of the plurality of upstanding interconnected walls is defined as a node (See Cho, Fig. 2; wall portions (3b) intersection at node section (3a)).
That said, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho is silent to wherein a mean spacing between adjacent nodes is 3-30mm.
However, Brandt, in a related cushioning structure art, is directed to a modular protective structure formed from an impact absorbing material formed into a pattern of one or more geometrical shapes (See Brandt, Figs. 1A-3; abstract). More specifically, Brandt teaches wherein a mean spacing between adjacent nodes is 3-30mm (See Brandt, Fig. 2; spacing between intersection nodes may be 5-15 mm or between 10-20 mm depending on the cell shape; [0021]-[0022]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention configure the mean spacing of the nodes of the modified impact resistant pad of Cho to vary within the range disclosed by Brandt for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, providing a progressive impact protection response and/or providing sufficient cushioning to a wearer using a desired lattice geometry (See Brandt, [0004]), and further since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no criticality for the mean spacing values of the claimed invention.
Claims 15 and 18, as best can be understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Harada (as applied to claims 1-2 above with respect to claim 15, and as applied to claims 1-2 and 14 above with respect to claim 18), and further in view of US 2018/0339217 to Blunt et al. hereinafter, “Blunt”).
Regarding claim 15, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 above) is silent to wherein the underlying substrate comprises a fabric material.
However, Blunt, in a related cushioning structure art, is directed to a shin guard including a protective shell and cushioning element (See Blunt, Figs. 1 and 7; abstract). More specifically, Blunt teaches wherein the underlying substrate comprises a fabric material (See Blunt, Fig. 7; cushioning element (14) formed on fabric carrier layer (70) on shell (12); [0032]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the fabric carrier layer disclosed by Blunt on the underlaying substrate of the modified impact resistant pad of Cho for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, facilitating attachment and/or accurate shaping of the protruding cushioning layer on the underlying substrate (See Blunt, [0032]).
Regarding claim 18, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho (i.e., Cho in view of Harada, as discussed with respect to claims 1-2 and 14 above) further teaches wherein the upstanding interconnected walls are 3D printed onto the underlying substrate (Examiner notes that the walls being 3D printed on the underlying substrate is a product-by-process limitation; the resulting structure of the prior art, i.e., the plurality of intersecting adjacent upstanding interconnected walls being positioned on the underlying substrate, meets the structural requirements of the claim limitation).
That said, the modified impact resistant pad of Cho is silent to the walls being formed on a fabric.
However, Blunt, in a related cushioning structure art, is directed to a shin guard including a protective shell and cushioning element (See Blunt, Figs. 1 and 7; abstract). More specifically, Blunt teaches the walls being formed on a fabric (See Blunt, Fig. 7; cushioning element (14) formed on fabric carrier layer (70) on shell (12); [0032]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to include the fabric carrier layer disclosed by Blunt on the underlaying substrate of the modified impact resistant pad of Cho for a variety of reasons including for example, but not limited to, facilitating attachment and/or accurate shaping of the protruding cushioning layer on the underlying substrate (See Blunt, [0032]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW R MARCHEWKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3732