DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/29/2025. Applicant amended claim 1,14, and 24. Claims 1-6, 14, and 19-29 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to arguments
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1,14 and 24 Applicant asserts:
Yi's Uo is not a "detection value." Yi's describes Uo as "the voltage at the voltage output end of the power adapter or mobile power supply" (Yi, [0063]), which represents a constant supply voltage parameter as acknowledged by the Office Action (see NFOA, p. 3), not a detected value.
And further asserts:
Examiner respectfully disagree. Using Broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of the specification, Examiner will interpret a first and second detection voltage value as determined voltages values at the power supply end of the charging cable.
As such as seen by the rejection of claims 1, 14 and 24, Yi teaches a first and second source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0.
Although the applicant is entitled to be their own lexicographer, unless the Applicant set forth a special definition for the claim term the applicant does not provide a special definition for claim language “detected”. The claim term will be given its broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2111). The claim word “detect” used in its plain and ordinary meaning is “discover or identify the presence or existence of” as such, since Yi identifies “U0” as the value of the first end of the charging cable, Yi teaches “U0” as a detection voltage.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1,14 and 24 Applicant asserts:
Yi's Uo, mapped to the claimed constant first voltage value, does not disclose the claimed first and second source voltage detection values, each of which is different from the asserted first voltage value (Uo).
And further asserts:
Further, Yi does not suggest that two voltage values (i) detected at the power supply end of the cable and (2) different from the constant first voltage value (Uo) are used for calculating the asserted impedance value RS.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-6, 14, and 19-29 recite “first voltage” lack antecedent basis to the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 14, and 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 14 and 24 recites “receiving, by the electronic device, first electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable, and obtaining a first source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable and a first final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable, wherein a first voltage of the first electric energy is constant, the first source voltage detection value is different from the first voltage, and a first current of the first electric energy is a first current value; receiving, by the electronic device, second electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable, and obtaining a second source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable and a second final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable, wherein a second voltage of the second electric energy is the same as the first voltage of the first electric energy, the second source voltage detection value is different from the first voltage” which is unclear.
It is unclear what is the distinction between “the first source voltage detection value” and “the second source voltage detection value”, “a first voltage”, “a second voltage” “a second final voltage detection value” and “a first final voltage detection value”.
The specification (Fig. 1 and [0023]) identifies “the second source voltage detection value” and “the first source voltage detection value” as the voltage at the power supply device (“Vadp_detection_yA” and “Vadp_detection_xA” respectively). The specification also identifies the “a second final voltage detection value” and “a first final voltage detection value” as the voltage at the electronic device.
However claims 1, 14 and 24 recites “the first source voltage detection value is different from the first voltage” and “wherein a second voltage of the second electric energy is the same as the first voltage of the first electric energy” suggests that the claimed “first voltage” and “second voltage” is not the voltage of the at the power supply device.
Additionally, as described above from the specification objection, the disclosure does not described the first and second voltage and therefore the first and second voltage lacks antecedent basis to the specification.
Additionally, based on the Applicants remarks which states “Further, Yi does not suggest that two voltage values (i) detected at the power supply end of the cable and (2) different from the constant first voltage value (Uo) are used for calculating the asserted impedance value RS” suggests that the first and second voltage are used to calculate the impedance value. However, the specification ([0023]) and claim 1 claims that the first and second final voltage detection value (and not the first and second voltage as suggest by applicants’ remarks) is used to calculate the impedance value of the charging cable.
Based on BRI in light of the specification ([0065] …. an exact value of Vadp is 10.5 V, a detection value of Vadp is 10.4 V), Examiner will interpret the claimed “first voltage” and “second voltage” as an expected or rated voltage.
Claims 2-6, and 19-23 and 25-29 are included in this rejection based on their dependence on claims 1, 14 and 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,6,14,22, 24 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (CN106546822) in view of Iwata (US 20180069393).
As to claim 1, Yi discloses a method for detecting impedance of a charging cable (Fig. 1-4), applied to an electronic device in a charging system (Fig. 3), wherein the charging system comprises a power supply device (charging device 10), the charging cable ([0050] a power adapter or mobile power supply is generally connected to the charging port of the mobile terminal via a charging cable for charging. [0061] … charging line), and the electronic device (Fig.3-4, device 20), a first end of the charging cable is connected to the power supply device (Fig.3-4), and a second end of the charging cable is connected to the electronic device (Fig.3-4), the method comprising: receiving, by the electronic device, first electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable ([0066] current I1), and obtaining a first source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0. The constant current electronic load module can obtain two sets of loop equations .. U0-RS*I1=U1 and U0-RS*I2=U(2). The voltage at the voltage output end of the power adapter or mobile power supply is U0), and a first final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0064]-[0067] U1), , and a first current of the first electric energy is a first current value ([0066] I1); receiving, by the electronic device, second electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable ([0066] current I2), and obtaining a second source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0) and a second final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0064]-[0067] U2), and a second current of the second electric energy is a second current value ([0066] I2. [0015] I1 and I2 of different amplitudes); and calculating, by the electronic device ([0076] a calculation module 204/impedance detection chip 30 in load 20), an impedance value of the charging cable according to the first source voltage detection value (U0), the second source voltage detection value (U0), the first final voltage detection value (U1), the second final voltage detection value (U2), the first current value (I1), and the second current value ( [0063]-[0067] The calculation module 204 is specifically configured to calculate the equivalent series impedance of the charging circuit according to the formula RS=(U1-U2)/(I2-I1) by using the above two sets of loop equations).
Yi does not disclose/teach wherein a first voltage of the first electric energy is constant, the first source voltage detection value is different from the first voltage wherein a second voltage of the second electric energy is the same as the first voltage of the first electric energy, the second source voltage detection value is different from the first voltage.
Iwata teaches wherein a first voltage of the first electric energy is constant (rated voltage), the first source voltage detection value (power supply voltage VCC) is different from the first voltage ([0190] The under voltage detection circuit 35 sends an error signal to the logic circuit 31 when the power supply voltage VCC is lower than a rated voltage), wherein a second voltage of the second electric energy is the same as the first voltage of the first electric energy (rated voltage).
In regards to the second source voltage detection value (U0 of Yi) is different from the first voltage (i.e. rated voltage).
Since Iwata teaches that actual voltage is different than the rated voltage, and Yi’s first and second source voltage value is the same (Uo), then Yi’s first and second source voltage is also different than its rated voltage (i.e. first voltage).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yi to specify a first voltage and second voltage (i.e. expected or rated voltage and therefore will be constant) on Yi’s power supply device to ensure safe, reliable operation and to prevent component damage by the user.
Additionally it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that the rated voltage (i.e. first voltage and second voltage) is different from the actual voltage (i.e. first and second source voltage detection value) due to variations and tolerances in components within the device and manufacturing the power supply.
As to claim 6, Yi in view of Iwata teaches wherein the calculating, by the electronic device, the impedance value of the charging cable according to the first source voltage detection value, the second source voltage detection value, the first final voltage detection value, the second final voltage detection value, the first current value, and the second current value comprises: calculating, by the electronic device, the impedance value of the charging cable according to the first source voltage detection value, the second source voltage detection value, the first final voltage detection value, the second final voltage detection value, the first current value, and the second current value (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0. The constant current electronic load module can obtain two sets of loop equations .. U0-RS*I1=U1 and U0-RS*I2=U(2). [0063]-[0067] The calculation module 204 is specifically configured to calculate the equivalent series impedance of the charging circuit according to the formula RS=(U1-U2)/(I2-I1) by using the above two sets of loop equations) by using the following formula:
Rcable=[(Vadp_detection_yA-Vadp_detection_xA)-(Vbus_detection_yA-Vbus_detection_xA)]/(yA-xA) wherein Rcable is the impedance value of the charging cable, Vadp_detection_yA is the second source voltage detection value, Vadp_detection_xA is the first source voltage detection value, Vbus_detection_yA is the second final voltage detection value, Vbus_detection_xA is the first final voltage detection value, yA is the second current value, and xA is the first current value ([0063]-[0067] The calculation module 204 is specifically configured to calculate the equivalent series impedance of the charging circuit according to the formula RS=(U1-U2)/(I2-I1) by using the above two sets of loop equations).
As to claim 14, Yi discloses an electronic device (Fig.3-4, device 20), applied to a charging system, wherein the charging system (Fig. 3) comprises a power supply device (charging device 10), a charging cable (Fig. 1-4), and the electronic device (Fig.3-4, device 20), a first end of the charging cable is connected to the power supply device (Fig.3-4), and a second end of the charging cable is connected to the electronic device (Fig.3-4), the electronic device comprising: a memory ([0088] The register 206), charging interface (Vbus and GND) and based on that the charging interface of the electronic device is connected to the charging cable (Fig. 3-4), and it is detected that the power supply device supplies power to the electronic device through the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0. The constant current electronic load module can obtain two sets of loop equations .. U0-RS*I1=U1 and U0-RS*I2=U(2). As such it is detected the power supply device supplies the power), the electronic device to perform operations including:
receiving first electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable ([0066] current I1), and obtaining a first source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0. The constant current electronic load module can obtain two sets of loop equations .. U0-RS*I1=U1 and U0-RS*I2=U(2)), and a first final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0064]-[0067] U1), and a first current of the first electric energy is a first current value ([0066] I1); receiving second electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable ([0066] current I2), and obtaining a second source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0) and a second final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0064]-[0067] U2), and a second current of the second electric energy is a second current value ([0066] I2. [0015] I1 and I2 of different amplitudes); and calculating an impedance value of the charging cable according to the first source voltage detection value (U0), the second source voltage detection value (U0), the first final voltage detection value (U1), the second final voltage detection value (U2), the first current value (I1), and the second current value ( [0063]-[0067] The calculation module 204 is specifically configured to calculate the equivalent series impedance of the charging circuit according to the formula RS=(U1-U2)/(I2-I1) by using the above two sets of loop equations).
Yi does not clearly disclose/teach the electronic device includes a battery.
However, Yi’s electronic device is a mobile terminal such as portable phone, MP3 player, laptop computer, smart watch, smart bracelet, tablet computer, portable game console, etc ([0092]). It is old and well known that these devices to have batteries which aids in their ability to be used in a mobile manner.
Yi does not clearly disclose/teach a processor, wherein the memory, the battery, and the charging interface are coupled to the processor, the memory stores computer program code, and the computer program code comprises computer instructions; the computer instructions are executed by the processor, to cause the electronic device to perform operations taught by Yi above.
However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Yi to include a processor, wherein the memory, the battery, and the charging interface are coupled to the processor, the memory stores computer program code, and the computer program code comprises computer instructions; the computer instructions are executed by the processor, to cause the electronic device to perform operations taught by Yi above, in order for Yi to perform its load impedance detection method and charging method quickly without human error.
Yi does not disclose/teach wherein a first voltage of the first electric energy is constant, the first source voltage detection value is different from the first voltage wherein a second voltage of the second electric energy is the same as the first voltage of the first electric energy, the second source voltage detection value is different from the first voltage.
Iwata teaches wherein a first voltage of the first electric energy is constant (rated voltage), the first source voltage detection value (power supply voltage VCC) is different from the first voltage ([0190] The under voltage detection circuit 35 sends an error signal to the logic circuit 31 when the power supply voltage VCC is lower than a rated voltage), wherein a second voltage of the second electric energy is the same as the first voltage of the first electric energy (rated voltage).
In regards to the second source voltage detection value (U0 of Yi) is different from the first voltage (i.e. rated voltage).
Since Iwata teaches that actual voltage is different than the rated voltage, and Yi’s first and second source voltage value is the same (Uo), then Yi’s first and second source voltage is also different than its rated voltage (i.e. first voltage).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yi to specify a first voltage and a second voltage (i.e. expected or rated voltage and therefore will be constant) on Yi’s power supply device to ensure safe, reliable operation and to prevent component damage by the user.
Additionally it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that the rated voltage (i.e. first voltage and second voltage) is different from the actual voltage (i.e. first and second source voltage detection value) due to variations and tolerances in components within the device and manufacturing the power supply.
As to claim 24, Yi discloses a method perform operations including: receiving, by the electronic device, first electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable ([0066] current I1), and obtaining a first source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0. The constant current electronic load module can obtain two sets of loop equations .. U0-RS*I1=U1 and U0-RS*I2=U(2)), and a first final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0064]-[0067] U1), and a first current of the first electric energy is a first current value ([0066] I1); receiving, by the electronic device, second electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable ([0066] current I2), and obtaining a second source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0) and a second final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable (Fig. 3 and [0064]-[0067] U2), and a second current of the second electric energy is a second current value ([0066] I2. [0015] I1 and I2 of different amplitudes); and calculating, by the electronic device ([0076] a calculation module 204/impedance detection chip 30 in load 20), an impedance value of the charging cable according to the first source voltage detection value (U0), the second source voltage detection value (U0), the first final voltage detection value( U1), the second final voltage detection value (U2), the first current value (I1), and the second current value ( [0063]-[0067] The calculation module 204 is specifically configured to calculate the equivalent series impedance of the charging circuit according to the formula RS=(U1-U2)/(I2-I1) by using the above two sets of loop equations).
Yi does not clearly disclose/teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions, when run on an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations taught by Yi above.
However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Yi to include A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions, when run on an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations taught by Yi above in order for Yi to perform its load impedance detection method and charging method quickly without human error.
Yi does not disclose/teach wherein a first voltage of the first electric energy is constant, the first source voltage detection value is different from the first voltage wherein a second voltage of the second electric energy is the same as the first voltage of the first electric energy, the second source voltage detection value is different from the first voltage.
Iwata teaches wherein a first voltage of the first electric energy is constant (rated voltage), the first source voltage detection value (power supply voltage VCC) is different from the first voltage ([0190] The under voltage detection circuit 35 sends an error signal to the logic circuit 31 when the power supply voltage VCC is lower than a rated voltage), wherein a second voltage of the second electric energy is the same as the first voltage of the first electric energy (rated voltage).
In regards to the second source voltage detection value (U0 of Yi) is different from the first voltage (i.e. rated voltage).
Since Iwata teaches that actual voltage is different than the rated voltage, and Yi’s first and second source voltage value is the same (Uo), then Yi’s first and second source voltage is also different than its rated voltage (i.e. first voltage).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yi to specify a first voltage and a second voltage (i.e. expected or rated voltage and therefore will be constant) on Yi’s power supply device to ensure safe, reliable operation and to prevent component damage by the user.
Additionally it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that the rated voltage (i.e. first voltage and second voltage) is different from the actual voltage (i.e. first and second source voltage detection value) due to variations and tolerances in components within the device and manufacturing the power supply.
As to claims 22 and 29, Yi in view of Iwata teaches the electronic device according to claim 14 and teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 24, wherein the calculating, by the electronic device, the impedance value of the charging cable according to the first source voltage detection value, the second source voltage detection value, the first final voltage detection value, the second final voltage detection value, the first current value, and the second current value comprises: calculating, by the electronic device, the impedance value of the charging cable according to the first source voltage detection value, the second source voltage detection value, the first final voltage detection value, the second final voltage detection value, the first current value, and the second current value (Fig. 3 and [0063] U0. The constant current electronic load module can obtain two sets of loop equations .. U0-RS*I1=U1 and U0-RS*I2=U(2). [0063]-[0067] The calculation module 204 is specifically configured to calculate the equivalent series impedance of the charging circuit according to the formula RS=(U1-U2)/(I2-I1) by using the above two sets of loop equations) by using the following formula:
Rcable=[(Vadp_detection_yA-Vadp_detection_xA)-(Vbus_detection_yA-Vbus_detection_xA)]/(yA-xA) wherein Rcable is the impedance value of the charging cable, Vadp_detection_yA is the second source voltage detection value, Vadp_detection_xA is the first source voltage detection value, Vbus_detection_yA is the second final voltage detection value, Vbus_detection_xA is the first final voltage detection value, yA is the second current value, and xA is the first current value ([0063]-[0067] The calculation module 204 is specifically configured to calculate the equivalent series impedance of the charging circuit according to the formula RS=(U1-U2)/(I2-I1) by using the above two sets of loop equations).
Claims 2,15, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (CN106546822) in view of Iwata (US 20180069393) in view of Lin (US 20200014235).
As to claims 2,15 and 25, Yi in view of Iwata teaches discloses the method according to claim 1, and Yi in view of Iwata teaches teaches the electronic device according to claim 14, and teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 24, wherein the method and the operations further comprises: instructing, by the electronic device when the impedance value of the charging cable is less than a preset threshold, the power supply device to perform quick charging for the electronic device ([0050] The impedance detection method of the charging circuit of this embodiment calculates the impedance of the charging circuit …, and selects the appropriate charging voltage and charging current based on the impedance. [0056] After the equivalent series impedance value of the charging circuit is effectively calculated … the charging strategy is selected based on the equivalent series impedance value... [0073] [0082] If the equivalent series impedance value does not exceed the preset impedance threshold, …. a suitable input voltage limit can be set; for low-voltage fast charging systems, the output voltage of the charging device can be appropriately increased through compensation, thereby increasing the input voltage of the mobile terminal to avoid the charging current being limited and affecting the efficiency of fast charging).
Yi does not disclose/teach wherein the quick charging refers to a charging mode in which the electronic device is charged from zero power to full power within a preset duration.
Lin teaches quick charging refers to a charging mode in which the electronic device is charged from zero power to full power within a preset duration ([0007] … a maximum output power of a fast charging power supply device being greater than or equal to a preset value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the quick charging of Yi to include a charging mode in which the electronic device is charged from zero power to full power within a preset duration in order to charge the device as quickly as possible by way of maximum power.
Claims 3-4,20-21 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (CN106546822) in view of Iwata (US 20180069393) in view of Ueki (US 20170038810).
As to claims 3, 20 and 26, Yi in view of Iwata teaches the method according to claim 1 and teaches the electronic device according to claim 14 and teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 24.
Yi does not disclose/teach wherein before the receiving, by the electronic device, the first electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable, the method further comprises: sending a first request to the power supply device through the charging cable based on that the electronic device detects that the power supply device supplies power to the electronic device through the charging cable, wherein the first request is used for requesting the power supply device to provide the first electric energy to the electronic device through the charging cable.
Ueki teaches wherein before the receiving, by the electronic device, the first electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable, the method further comprises: sending a first request to the power supply device through the charging cable based on that the electronic device detects that the power supply device supplies power to the electronic device through the charging cable (Fig. 4 [0059] S1 when the host 10 (i.e. power supply device) and the USB device 20 (i.e. electronic device) are connected to each other. … a voltage value divided by a pull-up resistor or a pull-down resistor embedded in the USB device 20 appears in the CC pin. [0071] step S5 where the voltage established in the PD communication is sent to the USB cable 30), wherein the first request is used for requesting the power supply device to provide the first electric energy to the electronic device through the charging cable ([0070] … power of the power supply voltage (5 V to 20 V) and the maximum current 5 A according to the result of the power delivery communication is supplied (Step S6)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yi to include wherein before the receiving, by the electronic device, the first electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable, the method further comprises: sending a first request to the power supply device through the charging cable based on that the electronic device detects that the power supply device supplies power to the electronic device through the charging cable, wherein the first request is used for requesting the power supply device to provide the first electric energy to the electronic device through the charging cable in order to ensure the electronic device is receiving is required power avoiding damage to the device.
In regards to requesting the power supply device to indicate the first source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable to the electronic device.
However, since Yi electronic device uses the first source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable (U0) to calculate loop equations (Fig. 3 and [0063]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Yi’s electronic device request the power supply device to indicate the first source voltage detection value, in order for Yi to accurately calculate its loop equations which are then used to calculate the impedance ([0063]-[0067]).
As to claims 4,21 and 27, Yi in view of Iwata teaches the method according to claim 1 and teaches the electronic device according to claim 14 and teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 24 wherein obtaining a second source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable and a second final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable ([0063]-[0067] U0 and U2) comprises: receiving, by the electronic device, the second source voltage detection value indicated by the power supply device ([0063]-[0067] The calculation module 204 is specifically configured to calculate the equivalent series impedance of the charging circuit according to the formula RS=(U1-U2)/(I2-I1) by using the above two sets of loop equations. As such the electronic device receives the second source voltage detection value U0) and detecting, by the electronic device, the second final voltage detection value of the second end of the charging cable ([0088] The register 206 is used to store the current I1, the current I2, the potential difference U1, the potential difference U2 and the equivalent series impedance value).
Yi does not disclose/teach wherein before the receiving, by the electronic device, second electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable, the method further comprises: sending, by the electronic device, a second request to the power supply device through the charging cable after obtaining the first source voltage detection value and the first final voltage detection value, wherein the second request is used for requesting the power supply device to provide the second electric energy to the electronic device through the charging cable and requesting the power supply device to indicate the second source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable to the electronic device.
Ueki teaches wherein before the receiving, by the electronic device, an electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable, the method further comprises: sending, by the electronic device, a request to the power supply device through the charging cable (Fig. 4 [0059] S1 when the host 10 (i.e. power supply device) and the USB device 20 (i.e. electronic device) are connected to each other. … a voltage value divided by a pull-up resistor or a pull-down resistor embedded in the USB device 20 appears in the CC pin. [0071] step S5 where the voltage established in the PD communication is sent to the USB cable 30), wherein the request is used for requesting the power supply device to provide the electric energy to the electronic device through the charging cable ([0070] … power of the power supply voltage (5 V to 20 V) and the maximum current 5 A according to the result of the power delivery communication is supplied (Step S6). [0055] the USBPD controller 13 (i.e. power supply device) … receives a voltage selection signal to select one of the plurality of power supply voltages … via the CC line from the USBPD controller 23 (i.e. electronic device)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yi to include wherein before the receiving, by the electronic device, second electric energy from the power supply device through the charging cable, the method further comprises: sending, by the electronic device, a second request to the power supply device through the charging cable, wherein the second request is used for requesting the power supply device to provide the second electric energy to the electronic device through the charging cable in order to ensure the electronic device is receiving is required power avoiding damage to the device.
In regards to requesting the power supply device to indicate the second source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable to the electronic device.
However, since Yi electronic device uses the second source voltage detection value of the first end of the charging cable (U0) to calculate loop equations (Fig. 3 and [0063], it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Yi’s electronic device request the power supply device to indicate the second source voltage detection value, in order for Yi to accurately calculate its loop equations which are then used to calculate the impedance ([0063]-[0067]).
In regards to sending, by the electronic device, a second request to the power supply device after obtaining the first source voltage detection value and the first final voltage detection value. Absent an objective showing of criticality with regards to the whether to send the second request after obtaining the first source voltage detection value and the first final voltage detection value, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to send the second request of providing the second electric energy and indicating the second source voltage detection value as it would have been obvious to try.
Specifically, since Yi calculates the equivalent series impedance using the first and second electric energy (i.e.RS=(U1-U2)/(I2-I1)), then either one of the first or the second electric energy must be provided first. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art can see one of the request of providing the first or the second electric energy and their corresponding first and second source voltage detection value will happen after the other.
Claims 5, 22, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (CN106546822) in view of Iwata (US 20180069393) in view of Jung (US 20170126023).
As to claim 5, 22 and 28, Yi in view of Iwata teaches the method according to claim 1 and teaches the electronic device according to claim 14 and teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 24.
Yi does not disclose/teach wherein an absolute value of a difference between the first current value and the second current value is less than two times the first current value, and the absolute value of the difference between the first current value and the second current value is less than two times the second current value.
Jung teaches an absolute value of a difference between the first current value and the second current value is less than two times the first current value, and the absolute value of the difference between the first current value and the second current value is less than two times the second current value ([0054] the start step determined in operation 112 is an initial charging step of the fast charging mode. [0072]..the next four charging steps correspond to the four charging steps of the fast charging mode in Table 1 above with charging currents of 4.125 A, 3.3 A, …. Therefore the difference between absolute values of 4.125 A and 3.3A are less than two times 4.125 A and 3.3A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yi wherein an absolute value of a difference between the first current value and the second current value is less than two times the first current value, and the absolute value of the difference between the first current value and the second current value is less than two times the second current value in order to prevent a reduction in battery life by dynamically adjusting the battery charging steps based on the measured battery voltage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859