DETAILED ACTION
2. The RCE amendment, filed on 2/4/2026, is acknowledged and considered.
Claim 16, 18-20, 22-24, 27-28, and 30-35 are pending.
Claims 32-35 are new.
Claims 16, 20, 24, and 28 are independent claims.
Claims 1-15, 17, 21, 25, and 29 are cancelled by Applicant.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16, 18-20, 22-24, 27-28, and 30-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 32-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
To expedite prosecution, all independent claims should include all the limitations of claim 16 and incorporate the limitations from the objected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 16, 18-20, 22-24, 27-28, and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al. by [US 12273445] in view of Li, et al. [CN 113163402].
As per claim 16: Guo, et al. teaches a method performed by a network function (NF) in a communication system, the method comprising:
determining to delete an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) context [Guo: col.3, line 9-22; the terminal device determines, based on the identification information of the first key in a first application session context, that the first application session establishment request message carries the identification information of the first key. The terminal device deletes the first key and the identification information of the first key when each application session request message that carries the identification information of the first key is responded to] of a terminal in an AKMA anchor function (AAnF); and [Guo: col.1, line 22-40; a terminal device may support an authentication and key management for applications (authentication and key management for applications, AKMA) service. Col.12, line 4-10; Based on the network architecture of the 5G system, an AKMA architecture defines network elements used in the AKMA procedure. The AKMA architecture includes UE, a (R)AN, an AUSF, an AMF, an AF, a NEF, an AKMA anchor function (AKMA anchor function, AAnF), and a UDM]
identifying the AAnF of the terminal; and [Guo: col.5, line 20-col.6, line 20; The first identifier identifies that the terminal device sends the first application session establishment request message and sets the first identifier on the terminal device. Col.12, line 19-35; The UE generate an AKMA key and AKMA key identification information, and initiate an application session establishment request message to the AF, where the application session request message carries the AKMA key identification information. The AF may request a communication key between the AF and the UE from the AAnF by using the AKMA key identification information. The AAnF request an AKMA key from the AUSF, and generate the communication key between the AF and the UE and validity time of the communication key based on the AKMA key. Thus, the session establishment request involves identification information associated to the terminal and is to identify the terminal that relates to the AAnF]
transmitting, to the AAnF, **an AKMA context remove request [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below] to delete the AKMA context of the terminal, [Guo: col.17, line 25-32; when the AAnF stores Kakma-1 corresponding to the A-KID-1, where upon a request message, Kakma-1 is deleted from the AAnF]
wherein the AKMA context of the terminal is deleted by the AAnF [Guo: col.19, line 17-21] **based on the AKMA context remove request. [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
Guo discloses when the AAnF stores Kakma-1 corresponding to the A-KID-1, where upon a request message, Kakma-1 is deleted from the AAnF [Guo: col.17, line 25-32, col.19, line 17-21, col.40, line 7-33]. Guo suggest transmitting to the AAnF, a request and deletion of the AKMA context of the terminal. However, Guo did not clearly teach context is deleted upon “an AKMA context remove request” and “based on the AKMA context remove request”.
Li discloses AUSF sends the authentication and key management notification request (AKMA keyNotification Request) message of the application service to the related AAnF. The AUSF sends the KMA key Notification Request message to different AAnF. Optionally, the AKMA key Notification Request carries one indication information, indicating information for indicating the key to -1 corresponding to kakma-1 is no longer valid. If the AKMA Key Notification Request message only informs the AAnF to delete the key, the indication information does not need to be carried [Li: para S303]. Further, AAnF according to AKMA key Notification Request, or according to the indication information carried in AKMA key Notification Request, deleting Kakma-1 and Key -1, or the Kakma-1 and Key (Key) -1 identification is invalid, or deleting Kakma-1, and marking the Key to the -1 mark as invalid. That is, the effective period of the key identifier is the same as that of the Kakma compared with directly deleting, the identification is invalid, which is convenient for the following process. Specifically, AAnF local can keep a mapping relationship, mapping relation at least comprises key, Kakma-1, Kakma-1, Kaf, the effective period of Kaf and at least 4 in the AF ID. After the AAnF receives the message in step 303, the key and Kakma-1 are identified as invy, so when the kaf expires, the AAnF can directly reply to the overdue indication information in the step 309 of the present invention and then deleting the key j-1, Kakma-1 and Kaf. If there is no such identification, the AAnF may not be clearly whether the key identifier requested by the AF is error or expired [Li: para S304]. Thus, the AKMA key notification request involves deleting AKMA content obviously suggest transmitting to the AAnFto delete, “an AKMA context remove request” and “based on the AKMA context remove request”, where one would be motivated to provide proper mapping relationship of content that is invalid or expired.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li with Guo to teach to delete content by “an AKMA context remove request” and “based on the AKMA context remove request” for the reason proper mapping relationship of content that is invalid or expired [Li: para S304].
Claim 18: Guo: col.13, line 30-33 in view of Li: para S303-S304 [suggesting “the AKMA context remove request”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 16]; discussing the method of claim 16, wherein the AKMA context remove request comprises a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the terminal.
Claim 19: Guo: col.22, line 10-20 [i.e. anchor key]; discussing the method of claim 16, wherein the AKMA context comprises at least one of a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), an AKMA key identifier (A- KID), or an AKMA anchor key (KAKMA).
As per claim 20: Guo, et al. teaches a method of authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) anchor function (AAnF) in a communication system, the method comprising: [Guo: col.1, line 22-40; a terminal device may support an authentication and key management for applications (authentication and key management for applications, AKMA) service. Col.12, line 4-10; Based on the network architecture of the 5G system, an AKMA architecture defines network elements used in the AKMA procedure. The AKMA architecture includes UE, a (R)AN, an AUSF, an AMF, an AF, a NEF, an AKMA anchor function (AKMA anchor function, AAnF), and a UDM]
receiving, from a network function (NF), **an AKMA context remove request [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below] to delete the AKMA context of a terminal in the AAnF; and [Guo: col.17, line 25-32; when the AAnF stores Kakma-1 corresponding to the A-KID-1, where upon a request message, Kakma-1 is deleted from the AAnF]
**based on the AKMA context remove request [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below] deleting, the AKMA context of the terminal, [Guo: col.19, line 17-21]
wherein the AAnF of the terminal is identified by the NF. [Guo: col.5, line 20-col.6, line 20; A terminal device sends a first application session establishment request message to a first application function network element. The first identifier identifies that the terminal device sends the first application session establishment request message and sets the first identifier on the terminal device. Col.12, line 19-35; The UE generate an AKMA key and AKMA key identification information, and initiate an application session establishment request message to the AF, where the application session request message carries the AKMA key identification information. The AF may request a communication key between the AF and the UE from the AAnF by using the AKMA key identification information. The AAnF request an AKMA key from the AUSF, and generate the communication key between the AF and the UE and validity time of the communication key based on the AKMA key. Thus, the session establishment request involves identification information associated to the terminal and is to identify the terminal that relates to the AAnF]
Guo discloses when the AAnF stores Kakma-1 corresponding to the A-KID-1, where upon a request message, Kakma-1 is deleted from the AAnF [Guo: col.17, line 25-32, col.19, line 17-21, col.40, line 7-33]. Guo suggest transmitting to the AAnF, a request and deletion of the AKMA context of the terminal. However, Guo did not clearly teach context is deleted upon “an AKMA context remove request” and “based on the AKMA context remove request”.
Li discloses AUSF sends the authentication and key management notification request (AKMA keyNotification Request) message of the application service to the related AAnF. The AUSF sends the KMA key Notification Request message to different AAnF. Optionally, the AKMA key Notification Request carries one indication information, indicating information for indicating the key to -1 corresponding to kakma-1 is no longer valid. If the AKMA Key Notification Request message only informs the AAnF to delete the key, the indication information does not need to be carried [Li: para S303]. Further, AAnF according to AKMA key Notification Request, or according to the indication information carried in AKMA key Notification Request, deleting Kakma-1 and Key -1, or the Kakma-1 and Key (Key) -1 identification is invalid, or deleting Kakma-1, and marking the Key to the -1 mark as invalid. That is, the effective period of the key identifier is the same as that of the Kakma compared with directly deleting, the identification is invalid, which is convenient for the following process. Specifically, AAnF local can keep a mapping relationship, mapping relation at least comprises key, Kakma-1, Kakma-1, Kaf, the effective period of Kaf and at least 4 in the AF ID. After the AAnF receives the message in step 303, the key and Kakma-1 are identified as invy, so when the kaf expires, the AAnF can directly reply to the overdue indication information in the step 309 of the present invention and then deleting the key j-1, Kakma-1 and Kaf. If there is no such identification, the AAnF may not be clearly whether the key identifier requested by the AF is error or expired [Li: para S304]. Thus, the AKMA key notification request involves deleting AKMA content obviously suggest transmitting to the AAnFto delete, “an AKMA context remove request” and “based on the AKMA context remove request”, where one would be motivated to provide proper mapping relationship of content that is invalid or expired.
Claim 22: Guo: col.13, line 30-33; discussing the method of claim 20, wherein the message comprises a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the terminal.
Claim 23: Guo: col.22, line 10-20 [i.e. anchor key]; discussing the method of claim 20, wherein the AKMA context comprises at least one of a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), an AKMA key identifier (A- KID), or an AKMA anchor key (KAKMA).
As per claim 24: Guo, et al. teaches a network function (NF) in a communication system, the NF comprising:
a transceiver; and [Guo: col. 8, line 22-23]
at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to: [Guo: col. 8, line 22-23]
determine to delete an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) context [Guo: col.3, line 9-22; the terminal device determines, based on the identification information of the first key in a first application session context, that the first application session establishment request message carries the identification information of the first key. The terminal device deletes the first key and the identification information of the first key when each application session request message that carries the identification information of the first key is responded to] of a terminal in an AKMA anchor function (AAnF), and [Guo: col.1, line 22-40; a terminal device may support an authentication and key management for applications (authentication and key management for applications, AKMA) service. Col.12, line 4-10; Based on the network architecture of the 5G system, an AKMA architecture defines network elements used in the AKMA procedure. The AKMA architecture includes UE, a (R)AN, an AUSF, an AMF, an AF, a NEF, an AKMA anchor function (AKMA anchor function, AAnF), and a UDM]
identifying the AAnF of the terminal, and [Guo: col.5, line 20-col.6, line 20; The first identifier identifies that the terminal device sends the first application session establishment request message and sets the first identifier on the terminal device. Col.12, line 19-35; The UE generate an AKMA key and AKMA key identification information, and initiate an application session establishment request message to the AF, where the application session request message carries the AKMA key identification information. The AF may request a communication key between the AF and the UE from the AAnF by using the AKMA key identification information. The AAnF request an AKMA key from the AUSF, and generate the communication key between the AF and the UE and validity time of the communication key based on the AKMA key. Thus, the session establishment request involves identification information associated to the terminal and is to identify the terminal that relates to the AAnF]
transmit, to the AAnF, **AKMA context remove request [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below] to delete the AKMA context of the terminal, [Guo: col.17, line 25-32; when the AAnF stores Kakma-1 corresponding to the A-KID-1, where upon a request message, Kakma-1 is deleted from the AAnF]
wherein the AKMA context of the terminal is deleted by the AAnF [Guo: col.19, line 17-21] **based on the AKMA context remove request. [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
Guo discloses when the AAnF stores Kakma-1 corresponding to the A-KID-1, where upon a request message, Kakma-1 is deleted from the AAnF [Guo: col.17, line 25-32, col.19, line 17-21, col.40, line 7-33]. Guo suggest transmitting to the AAnF, a request and deletion of the AKMA context of the terminal. However, Guo did not clearly teach context is deleted upon “an AKMA context remove request” and “based on the AKMA context remove request”.
Li discloses AUSF sends the authentication and key management notification request (AKMA keyNotification Request) message of the application service to the related AAnF [Li: para S303]. The AUSF sends the KMA key Notification Request message to different AAnF. Optionally, the AKMA key Notification Request carries one indication information, indicating information for indicating the key to -1 corresponding to kakma-1 is no longer valid. If the AKMA Key Notification Request message only informs the AAnF to delete the key, the indication information does not need to be carried. Further, AAnF according to AKMA key Notification Request, or according to the indication information carried in AKMA key Notification Request, deleting Kakma-1 and Key -1, or the Kakma-1 and Key (Key) -1 identification is invalid, or deleting Kakma-1, and marking the Key to the -1 mark as invalid. That is, the effective period of the key identifier of the embodiment is the same as that of the Kakma. compared with directly deleting, the identification is invalid, which is convenient for the following process. Specifically, AAnF local can keep a mapping relationship, mapping relation at least comprises key, Kakma-1, Kakma-1, Kaf, the effective period of Kaf and at least 4 in the AF ID. After the AAnF receives the message in step 303, the key and Kakma-1 are identified as invy, so when the kaf expires, the AAnF can directly reply to the overdue indication information in the step 309 of the present invention and then deleting the key j-1, Kakma-1 and Kaf. If there is no such identification, the AAnF may not be clearly whether the key identifier requested by the AF is error or expired [Li: para S304]. Thus, the AKMA key notification request involves deleting AKMA content obviously suggest transmitting to the AAnFto delete, “an AKMA context remove request” and “based on the AKMA context remove request”, where one would be motivated to provide proper mapping relationship of content that is invalid or expired.
Claim 26: Guo: col.13, line 30-33 in view of Li: para S303-S304 [suggesting “the AKMA context remove request”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 24]; discussing the NF of claim 24, wherein the AKMA context remove request comprises a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the terminal.
Claim 27: Guo: col.22, line 10-20 [i.e. anchor key]; discussing the NF of claim 24, wherein the AKMA context comprises at least one of a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), an AKMA key identifier (A- KID), or an AKMA anchor key (KAKMA).
As per claim 28: Guo, et al. teaches an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) anchor function (AAnF) in a communication system, the AAnF comprising: [Guo: col.1, line 22-40; a terminal device may support an authentication and key management for applications (authentication and key management for applications, AKMA) service. Col.12, line 4-10; Based on the network architecture of the 5G system, an AKMA architecture defines network elements used in the AKMA procedure. The AKMA architecture includes UE, a (R)AN, an AUSF, an AMF, an AF, a NEF, an AKMA anchor function (AKMA anchor function, AAnF), and a UDM]
a transceiver; and [Guo: col. 8, line 22-23]
at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to: [Guo: col. 8, line 22-23]
receive, from a network function (NF), **an AKMA context remove request [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below], to delete an AKMA context of a terminal in the AAnF, and [Guo: col.17, line 25-32; when the AAnF stores Kakma-1 corresponding to the A-KID-1, where upon a request message, Kakma-1 is deleted from the AAnF]
**based on the AKMA context remove request [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below], delete the AKMA context of the terminal, [Guo: col.19, line 17-21]
wherein the AAnF of the terminal is identified by the NF. [Guo: col.5, line 20-col.6, line 20; The first identifier identifies that the terminal device sends the first application session establishment request message and sets the first identifier on the terminal device. Col.12, line 19-35; The UE generate an AKMA key and AKMA key identification information, and initiate an application session establishment request message to the AF, where the application session request message carries the AKMA key identification information. The AF may request a communication key between the AF and the UE from the AAnF by using the AKMA key identification information. The AAnF request an AKMA key from the AUSF, and generate the communication key between the AF and the UE and validity time of the communication key based on the AKMA key. Thus, the session establishment request involves identification information associated to the terminal and is to identify the terminal that relates to the AAnF]
Guo discloses when the AAnF stores Kakma-1 corresponding to the A-KID-1, where upon a request message, Kakma-1 is deleted from the AAnF [Guo: col.17, line 25-32, col.19, line 17-21, col.40, line 7-33]. Guo suggest transmitting to the AAnF, a request and deletion of the AKMA context of the terminal. However, Guo did not clearly teach context is deleted upon “an AKMA context remove request” and “based on the AKMA context remove request”.
Li discloses AUSF sends the authentication and key management notification request (AKMA keyNotification Request) message of the application service to the related AAnF. The AUSF sends the KMA key Notification Request message to different AAnF. Optionally, the AKMA key Notification Request carries one indication information, indicating information for indicating the key to -1 corresponding to kakma-1 is no longer valid. If the AKMA Key Notification Request message only informs the AAnF to delete the key, the indication information does not need to be carried [Li: para S303]. Further, AAnF according to AKMA key Notification Request, or according to the indication information carried in AKMA key Notification Request, deleting Kakma-1 and Key -1, or the Kakma-1 and Key (Key) -1 identification is invalid, or deleting Kakma-1, and marking the Key to the -1 mark as invalid. That is, the effective period of the key identifier is the same as that of the Kakma compared with directly deleting, the identification is invalid, which is convenient for the following process. Specifically, AAnF local can keep a mapping relationship, mapping relation at least comprises key, Kakma-1, Kakma-1, Kaf, the effective period of Kaf and at least 4 in the AF ID. After the AAnF receives the message in step 303, the key and Kakma-1 are identified as invy, so when the kaf expires, the AAnF can directly reply to the overdue indication information in the step 309 of the present invention and then deleting the key j-1, Kakma-1 and Kaf. If there is no such identification, the AAnF may not be clearly whether the key identifier requested by the AF is error or expired [Li: para S304].Thus, the AKMA key notification request involves deleting AKMA content obviously suggest transmitting to the AAnFto delete, “an AKMA context remove request” and “based on the AKMA context remove request”, where one would be motivated to provide proper mapping relationship of content that is invalid or expired.
Claim 30: Guo: col.13, line 30-33 in view of Li: para S303-S304 [suggesting “the AKMA context remove request”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 28]; discussing the AAnF of claim 28, wherein the AKMA context remove request comprises a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the terminal.
Claim 31: Guo: col.22, line 10-20 [i.e. anchor key]; discussing the AAnF of claim 28, wherein the AKMA context comprises at least one of a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), an AKMA key identifier (A- KID), or an AKMA anchor key (KAKMA).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Leynna Truvan
Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/L.TT/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/EDWARD ZEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435