DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “configured” in claims 5 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “configured” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how the nanoparticle is “configured”, which implies modification of some sort, such that it is capable of securing the lipid bilayer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 16-24, 26, 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chaparro et al., (Applied Materials & Interfaces, 2018, cited in IDS).
Chaparro et al. teaches “lipid bilayers composed of mixtures of 1,2-dioleoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DOPC) and 1,2-dioleoyl-sn-glycer-3-phospho-(1’-rac-glycerol) (DOPG) stabilize the folded state of nitroreductase (NfsB), increasing the rate of refolding relative to unfolding of enzyme molecules on the bilayer surface” (Abstract). Note: NfsB is a protein-based enzyme.
“The impact of lipid composition on NfsB stability on SLBs [supported lipid bilayers] was determined by preparing SLBs composed of DOPC, DOPG, and DOPC/DOPG mixtures (with 15, 25, 35, 50, 75% DOPG) on fused silica surfaces via vesicle fusion” (p. 19506, left column, 2nd paragraph) (clm. 7 and 8). DOPC is zwitterionic and DOPG is anionic, as per claims 1-3. The fused silica suffices as the “nanoparticle configured to secure said lipid bilayer” as per claims 5 and 20.
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it teaches a composition comprising a lipid bilayer composed of zwitterionic and/or anionic phospholipids. Here, the prior art is capable of performing the intended use insofar as it fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaparro et al., (Applied Materials & Interfaces, 2018, cited in IDS) as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Gao et al., (J Mater Chem B Mater Biol Med. 2013).
Chaparro et al., which is taught above, differs from claims 5 and 20 assuming for the sake of argument that it does not teach a nanoparticle configured to secure the lipid bilayer.
Gao et al. teaches, “the applications of conventional liposomes face challenges due to their inherit instability. Liposomes, particularly with sub-100 nm size, are prone to fuse with each other to reduce their surface tension, leading to payload loss or undesired mixing” (p. 2, 1st paragraph).
Gao et al. further teaches, “an emerging strategy to stabilize liposomes is to bind tiny nanoparticles to liposome surfaces (Figure 7). Particularly, the non-specific adsorption of charged nanoparticles onto phospholipid bilayers provides steric and electro static repulsions. In a density-dependent manner, these adsorbed nanoparticles prevent liposomes from fusing with each other to from larger vesicles” (p. 7, 2nd paragraph).
Gao et al. also teaches use of nanoscale vesicles, such as “exosomes”, which are “vesicles approximately 40~100 nm in size” that can cross the “blood brain barrier” enabling delivery to the brain (p. 10, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to use a nanoparticle as a means for securing the lipid bilayer of Chaparro et al., since lipid bilayers are recognized in the art as inherently unstable, as taught by Gao et al. Nanoparticles and nano-sized vesicles are known means for securing lipid bilayers to prevent fusing, leading to payload loss or undesired mixing. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use the nanoparticles of Gao et al. to secure the lipid bilayers of Chaparro et al.
Conclusion
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612