DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daghighian et al (US 10, 547, 340) in view of Yao et al. (USPUB 2016/0049818).
As to Claim 1, Daghighian discloses a mobile power supply device, comprising: a housing; a circuit board, wherein the circuit board are arranged in the housing (Figure 6A); and a data line, wherein one end of the data line is electrically connected to the circuit board and is fixedly connected to the housing (Elements 129 and 136); wherein the housing has at least one flat surface (Figure 6A); the data line is configured for being flexibly bent and is at least partially embedded in the flat surface in a U-shape or an S-shape (Figure 6A, Element 166). Daghighian does not expressly disclose a cell. Yao discloses a portable battery cell with connectors (Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Yao’s portable cell, and add it to the device of Daghighian in order to make it capable of providing power.
As to Claim 2, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, wherein adjacent segments of a curved part of the data line are parallel to each other (Daghighian Figure 6A, Element 126).
As to Claim 3, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein a center spacing L of adjacent segments of a curved part of the data line is at least 3 mm. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the size based upon application, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to Claim 4, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, wherein a center spacing L of adjacent segments of a curved part of the data line is less than or equal to 9 mm . However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the size based upon application, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to Claim 5, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, wherein a width of the circuit board is Y, and a diameter of the cell is D, wherein Y is less than or equal to 95% of D. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the size based upon application, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to Claim 6, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, wherein a length of the cell is L3, and a length of the mobile power supply device is L4, wherein L4 is less than or equal to 1.3 times L3. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the size based upon application, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to Claim 7, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, wherein a diameter of the cell is D, and a height of the mobile power supply device is M, wherein M is less than or equal to 1.8 times D. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the size based upon application, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to Claim 8, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 5, wherein a diameter D of the cell is 21 mm, and a length L3 of the cell is 70 mm. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the size based upon application, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to Claim 9, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, wherein the data line comprises an interface end, and the interface end at least comprises a type-c interface; when the type-c interface is embedded in the flat surface, a socket direction of the type-c interface is parallel to a long-axis direction of the housing (Daghighian Column 5, line 53-Column 6, line 11).
As to Claim 10, Daghighianand Yao disclose the The mobile power supply device according to claim 9, wherein the interface end further comprises at least one Lightning interface, and the Lightning interface is oppositely arranged to the type-c interface; when the type-c interface and the Lightning interface are embedded in the flat surface, a central axis line of the type-c interface and the Lightning interface is parallel to the long-axis direction of the housing (Daghighian Column 5, line 53-Column 6, line 11).
As to Claim 11, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, wherein the housing is provided with a groove corresponding to the data line; after the data line is embedded in the groove, an upper surface of the data line is basically flush with the flat surface (Daghighian Figure 6B, Element 138).
As to Claim 12, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, wherein the housing is provided with a groove corresponding to the data line; one end of the data line fixedly connected to the housing is provided with a connector; and a part of the connector is embedded in the groove to form a part surface of the flat surface (Daghighian Figure 6B, Elements 129 and 136).
As to Claim 13, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 1, wherein adjacent segments of a curved part of the data line extend linearly along a long-axis direction of the housing (Daghighian Figure 6A).
As to Claim 14, Daghighiandisclsoes a mobile power supply device, comprising: a housing; a circuit board, wherein the circuit board are arranged in the housing; latch slots, wherein the latch slots are configured for a latch connection to an electrical operation tool (Figure 6A); and a data line, wherein one end of the data line is electrically connected to the circuit board (Elements 129 and 136); wherein the housing has at least one flat surface; the data line is configured for being flexibly bent and is at least partially embedded in the flat surface, and the latch slots are located on the flat surface (Figure 6A, Element 166). Daghighian does not expressly disclose a cell. Yao discloses a portable battery cell with connectors (Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Yao’s portable cell, and add it to the device of Daghighian in order to make it capable of providing power.
As to Claim 15, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 14, wherein the latch slots comprise a first latch slot and a second latch slot; the first latch slot is configured for the latch connection to a first electrical device; the second latch slot is configured for the latch connection to a second electrical device; when the first latch slot and the second latch slot are latched and connected to electrical devices corresponding to the first latch slot and the second latch slot, the first latch slot and the second latch slot do not interfere with each other (Daghighian Column 5, line 53-Column 6, line 11).
As to Claim 16, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 14, wherein the data line comprises an interface end, and the interface end comprises at least one universal serial bus (USB) interface; the housing is provided with a groove corresponding to the interface end, and the groove is communicated with a latch slot adjacent to the groove (Daghighian Column 5, line 53-Column 6, line 11).
As to Claim 17, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 16, wherein a length direction of the latch slot is perpendicular to a length direction of the groove adjacent to the latch slot (Daghighian Figure 6A).
As to Claim 18, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 15, wherein the first latch slot and the second latch slot are distributed at two opposite ends of the flat surface, respectively (Daghighian Column 5, line 53-Column 6, line 11).
As to Claim 19, Daghighiandiscloses a mobile power supply device, comprising: a housing; a circuit board, wherein the circuit board are arranged in the housing; tool discharge terminals, wherein the tool discharge terminals are electrically connected to the circuit board and are configured for a connection to corresponding terminals of an electrical operation tool (Figure 6A); and a data line, wherein one end of the data line is electrically connected to the circuit board (Figure 6A, Elements 129 and 136); wherein the housing has at least one flat surface; the data line is configured for being flexibly bent and is at least partially embedded in the flat surface; and an area is arranged away from the tool discharge terminals, wherein the data line is embedded in the area (Figure 6A, 166). Daghighian does not expressly disclose a cell. Yao discloses a portable battery cell with connectors (Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Yao’s portable cell, and add it to the device of Daghighian in order to make it capable of providing power.
As to Claim 20, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 19, wherein the flat surface is provided with a first end and a second end along a length direction of the flat surface, wherein the first end and the second end are opposite to each other; the data line is arranged near the first end, and the tool discharge terminals are arranged on a side adjacent to the second end (Daghighian Column 5, line 53-Column 6, line 11).
As to Claim 21, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 19, wherein the tool discharge terminals comprise at least positive and negative terminals and a signal terminal, wherein the signal terminal is configured for a signal transmission with the electrical operation tool (Daghighian Column 5, line 53-Column 6, line 11).
As to Claim 22, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 20, wherein the housing is provided with a first side and a second side along a length direction of the housing, wherein the first side and the second side are opposite to each other, and the first side and the second side are adjacent accordingly to the first end and the second end, respectively; the tool discharge terminals are arranged on the second side, and the first side partially protrudes outward from an edge (Daghighian Column 5, line 53-Column 6, line 11).
As to Claim 23, Daghighiandiscloses a mobile power supply device, comprising: a housing, wherein the housing is provided with a first side and a second side along a length direction of the housing, and the first side and the second side are opposite to each other (Figure 6A); a circuit board, wherein the circuit board are arranged in the housing and electrically connected (Elements 129 and 136); and tool discharge terminals, wherein the tool discharge terminals are electrically connected to the circuit board and are configured for a connection to corresponding terminals of an electrical operation tool; wherein the tool discharge terminals are arranged on the first side or the second side; among the first side and the second side, a side away from the tool discharge terminals partially protrudes outward from an edge of the side (Column 5, line 53 – Column 6, line 11). Daghighian does not expressly disclose a cell. Yao discloses a portable battery cell with connectors (Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of this invention to take the teachings of Yao’s portable cell, and add it to the device of Daghighian in order to make it capable of providing power.
As to Claim 24, Daghighianand Yao disclose the mobile power supply device according to claim 23, further comprising a data line, wherein one end of the data line is electrically connected to the circuit board; the housing has at least one flat surface; the data line is configured for being flexibly bent and is at least partially embedded in the flat surface; and an area is arranged adjacent to the side partially protruding outward from the edge, wherein the data line is embedded in the area (Daghighian Column 5, line 53 – Column 6, line 11).
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859