Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment to claims 1 and 4-9, the claim objection is withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claims 12 and 16, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 12-14 and 16 is withdrawn.
The applicant’s arguments directed to the 35 USC 103 rejection, beginning on page 6, are made in view of the presently presented unexamined amended claim language dated 4/28/2026. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 11-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (EP 3357699 as supplied by the applicant) in view of Yamada (US Pub No. 20200317942) and in further view of Nuriel et al., (WO 2019077603 as supplied by the applicant).
Claim 1: Kondo discloses a method of digital printing an image on a fabric [Abstract], comprising:
generating a look-up table by printing a gradient pattern on the fabric using at least one inkjet color ink composition and at least one functional composition [Figures 6-8], said gradient pattern comprises a plurality of areas, each of said areas receive an amount of said color ink composition and an amount of said at least one functional composition [the functional liquid includes penetrants, surfactants, and the like, and is a liquid with a function to enhance a penetration effect into the medium 95 of the colored inks discharged onto the medium 95 on which the image is formed … printing on the medium 95 using parameters of colored ink discharge amounts per unit surface area (referred to below as colored ink duty) and functional liquid discharge amounts per unit surface area (referred to below as functional liquid duty) in Figures 6-8, p0080 & p0083-0085];
subjecting the fabric having said gradient pattern thereon to at least one functional test that measures a physical or a mechanical performance property of the printed fabric, and recording for each amount of said color ink composition, an optimal amount of said at least one functional composition, based on an optimal result of said functional test, wherein said optimal amount is a minimal amount is of said at least one functional composition that affords a desired functional result selected from wash fastness, rub fastness, and hand feel, thereby generating said look-up table [performed visual evaluations [i.e., functional test] of the graininess of printed images … e.g., regions where graininess was visible are indicated by "x", and regions where graininess was not visible are indicated by "O" according to proportions shown in Figures 6-8 … configuration may be made such that actuation of the adjustment function can be selected by a user in the normal mode, or so as to be actuated in the aforementioned graininess amelioration mode [desired functional result] … an adjustment function may be provided to enable further fine adjustment of the functional liquid discharge amount [interpreted as an optimal amount] after highlight area determination at step S102 and changing the discharge condition, p0083-0085, p0097 & p0099-0100];
digitally printing the image on the fabric using said at least one color ink composition [image processing after the rasterization processing of above step S4 is then executed to output the generated print data to the controller 1 … controller 1 executes printing based on the print data by controlling each of the units of the printing apparatus 100, p0097 & p0105-0106]; and
digitally printing an amount of said at least one functional composition on at least a portion of the image [Discharge in the highlight areas having the specific lightness or greater is performed with discharge conditions to discharge colored ink and functional liquid, and so the colored ink soaks into and wets out the surface of the medium 95, p0106], wherein:
said amount of said at least one functional composition is determined for said portion based on an amount of said color ink composition in said portion and said look-up table [print information includes image data to be formed on the medium 95, and print conditions related to the type of medium, the specific lightness, the functional liquid discharge amount, and the like. In the description of the present flowchart, the type of medium 95, the specific lightness (L* value), and the functional liquid discharge amount correspond to those of the respective tables of Fig. 6 to Fig. 8, p0102];
said at least one functional composition comprises at least one functional agent [the functional liquid includes penetrants, surfactants, and the like, and is a liquid with a function to enhance a penetration effect into the medium 95 of the colored inks discharged onto the medium 95 on which the image is formed, p0080].
Kondo does not appear to disclose that measures a physical or a mechanical performance property of the printed fabric, where an optimal amount is a minimal amount or where the desired functional result is selected from wash fastness, rub fastness, and hand feel.
Yamada discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] at least one functional test that measures a physical or a mechanical performance property of the printed fabric, and recording for each amount of said color ink composition [i.e., set of compositions includes an ink composition and a coating composition, the ink composition containing a pigment, resin particles (Hereinafter also referred to as the first resin particles), and water, and the coating composition containing resin particles (Hereinafter also referred to as the second resin particles) and water, p0025], an optimal amount of said at least one functional composition [the Young's modulus of the film being 25 MPa or less, the ink composition gives good feel and texture to the resulting printing … Young's modulus of the film being 1 MPa or more, the ink composition gives a printing superior in fastness to rubbing owing to its good adhesion to fibers of the fabric that is the recording medium … Young's modulus of the film can be adjusted to be in these ranges by customizing the ingredients [i.e., optimizing] of the ink composition … plurality of preferable compositions (described in Examples 1-29 Tables 1-5) depending on the desired result disclosed in at least the multiple paragraphs cited and summarized in at least Table 6, p0027, p0036, p0039, p0049, p0054-0055, p0068-0072, p0075, p0080 & p0173], based on an optimal result of said functional test [Ink compositions were prepared by mixing materials according to the formulae given in Tables 1, 3, and 5 below … Coating compositions were obtained by mixing materials according to the formulae given in Tables 2, 4, and 5 and then stirring the mixture thoroughly, p0027, p0036, p0039, p0049, p0054-0055, p0068-0072, p0075, p0080 & p0142-0145], wherein said optimal amount is a minimal amount is of said at least one functional composition that affords a desired functional result selected from wash fastness, rub fastness, and hand feel, thereby generating said look-up table [Young's modulus of dried film of the ink composition is from 1 to 25 MPa, preferably from 1 to 20 MPa, preferably from 5 to 25 MPa, more preferably from 5 to 20 MPa … set of compositions according to this embodiment for inkjet textile printing, by contrast, gives a printing that is superior in feel and texture, which is primarily because the Young's modulus of dried film of the coating composition is 50 MPa or less, and also in fastness to rubbing, which owes to the fact that the Young's modulus of dried film of the coating composition is higher than that of dried film of the ink composition. The set of compositions according to this embodiment for ink jet textile printing is also superior in ejection stability … average particle diameter of the pigment is preferably 50 nm or more and 300 nm or less, more preferably 55 nm or more and 200 nm or less, even more preferably 60 nm or more and 150 nm or less, still more preferably 65 nm or more and 100 nm or less … pigment content of the ink composition is preferably from 1.0% to 15% by mass, more preferably from 2.0% to 10% by mass, even more preferably from 3.0% to 7.0% by mass, on a solids basis, of the total amount (100% by mass) of the ink composition … resin particles preferably contain 1.0% by mass or more and 5.0% by mass or less, more preferably 1.5% by mass or more and 4.2% by mass, even more preferably 2.0% by mass or more and 3.5% by mass or less, still more preferably 2.5% by mass or more and 3.0% by mass or less urethane resin per 1.0 part by mass of the pigment particles … crosslinking group can be of any kind(s) that crosslinks resin particles, but preferably includes any of a blocked isocyanate group and the silanol group to ensure better fastness to rubbing (wet) … sets of compositions were found to be good, as demonstrated by “3” or better grades in feel and texture, fastness to rubbing (dry), and fastness to rubbing (wet), p0025, p0036, p0039, p0048-0049, p0148-0168 & p0173];
digitally printing the image on the fabric using said at least one color ink composition [ink jet textile printing has a step of attaching the ink and coating compositions included in a set of compositions according to an embodiment to a recording medium including a fabric, p0093]; and
digitally printing an amount of said at least one functional composition on at least a portion of the image [the ink composition is attached to a recording medium, for example by ink jet ejection of the ink composition to a surface of the fabric that is the recording medium (region for image formation), to form an image, p0095],
wherein: said amount of said at least one functional composition is determined for said portion based on an amount of said color ink composition in said portion and said look-up table [Ink compositions were prepared by mixing materials according to the formulae given in Tables 1, 3, and 5 … Coating compositions were obtained by mixing materials according to the formulae given in Tables 2, 4, and 5, p0142-0143];
said at least one functional composition comprises at least one functional agent [ink compositions can optionally contain additives, such as softening agents, waxes, dissolution aids, viscosity modifiers, pH-adjusting agents, such as triethanolamine, humectants, such as glycerol, antioxidants, antimolds/preservatives, such as PROXEL XL2 (trade name of an Arch Chemicals product), fungicides, anticorrosives, and chelating agents for capturing metal ions that would affect dispersion (e.g., sodium ethylenediaminetetraacetate), as extra ingredients. Of these, those substances that are also organic solvents, such as glycerol, are also included in the organic solvent(s), p0081 & p0142].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to have improved Kondo by subjecting the ink composition performance of subjecting the fabric having said gradient pattern thereon to at least one functional test that measures a physical or a mechanical performance property of the printed fabric, and recording for each amount of said color ink composition, an optimal amount of said at least one functional composition, based on an optimal result of said functional test, wherein said optimal amount is a minimal amount is of said at least one functional composition that affords a desired functional result selected from wash fastness, rub fastness, and hand feel, thereby generating said look-up table; digitally printing the image on the fabric using said at least one color ink composition; digitally printing an amount of said at least one functional composition on at least a portion of the image; said amount of said at least one functional composition is determined for said portion based on an amount of said color ink composition in said portion and said look-up table; said at least one functional composition comprises at least one functional agent as taught by Yamada because it provides a means for definitively evaluating and rating an ink composition when evaluating a superior feel and texture in addition to fastness to dry and wet rubbing as discussed by Yamada in at least paragraphs 0173-0175.
Yamada appears to fail to disclose a minimal amount.
Nuriel discloses an optimal amount is a minimum amount of the at least one functional composition [the threshold is a minimal or optimal amount of the at least one colored ink composition that is sufficient for passing a fastness test … by analyzing the effect of the fastness test, identifying the minimal and/or optimal percent of ink coverage, thereby determining the threshold, page 3 lines 27-28 & page 4 lines 24-29].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Kondo in view of Yamada the support wherein said uniformly applying is effected at a minimal amount that allows passing a second functional test that is different than said functional test as taught by Nuriel because it evaluates the optimal amount of ink that needs to be place on the fabric needed to comply with a fastness score as standard in the industry as discussed by Nuriel on at least pages 12-13.
Claim 2: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said portion is defined by a raster image processor that controls a printing step of the image [When converting image data from an application into print data, the printer driver performs resolution conversion processing, color conversion processing, halftone processing, rasterization processing, command appending processing, etc., p0065].
Claim 3: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 2, wherein said portion of the image is one or more pixels of the image as stored in a raster image processor information [rasterization processing at step S4 is processing to rearrange pixel data (for example, 2-bit data) arrayed in a matrix pattern according to a dot formation sequence during printing, p0072].
Claim 4: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 1.
Kondo nor Yamada appear to disclose wherein said digitally printing the image and said digitally printing said functional composition are effected at a different printing resolution.
Nuriel discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] wherein said digitally printing the image and said digitally printing said functional composition are effected at a different printing resolution [the printing resolution of the colored ink composition(s) is different than a printing resolution of the transparent colorless ink composition, page 3 lines 33-34].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel the support wherein said digitally printing the image and said digitally printing said functional composition are effected at a different printing resolution as taught by Nuriel because it allows the use of the composition to be printed with larger dots when its needed volume is greater by changing its resolution.
Claim 5: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said digitally printing the image and said digitally printing said at least one functional composition are effected without limitation as to the order in which said at least one inkjet color ink composition and said at least one functional composition as printed [The printing apparatus 100 of the present embodiment has printing modes including a "normal mode" in which the front face of the medium 95 is printed with colored inks, and a "bleed-through mode" in which colored inks discharged onto the front face of the medium 95 are caused by a functional liquid to penetrate through the medium toward the reverse face (bleed-through) thereof, such that the reverse face is penetration printed together with printing the front face of the medium 95 with colored inks, p0079 & p0081].
Claim 6: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 5.
Although Kondo discloses pretreating the fabric prior [woven fabric and the nonwoven fabric may be coated with a pretreatment agent in order to enhance color development and adhesion properties, p0027], Kondo does not appear to explicitly disclose an option wherein said digitally printing the image is effected prior to said digitally printing said functional composition.
Yamada discloses an option wherein said digitally printing the image is effected prior to said digitally printing said functional composition [the coating composition [i.e., functional composition] is attached by ink jet ejection, it is preferred to attach it after attaching the ink composition … ink and coating compositions prepared were attached to a piece of cotton broadcloth (fabric) by ink jet printing using the aforementioned modified ink jet printer, the ink and coating compositions ejected from different rows of nozzles. The ink and coating compositions used were those under the same Example number. As for recording conditions, a recording was made under the conditions of 23 to 24 ng/dot and 720×720 dpi. In the printing job, both ink and coating compositions were ejected during each pass of the carriage. The resulting recording had an overlap of dots formed by the ink composition and dots formed by the coating composition, p0095 & p0148].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel the support wherein said digitally printing the image is effected prior to said digitally printing said functional composition as taught by Yamada because it allows the application of the composition to be modified according to the features or surface of the material being printed to produce an expected product.
Claim 7: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 5.
Although Kondo discloses pretreating the fabric prior [woven fabric and the nonwoven fabric may be coated with a pretreatment agent in order to enhance color development and adhesion properties, p0027], Kondo does not appear to explicitly disclose an option wherein said digitally printing the image is effected subsequently to said digitally printing said at least one functional composition.
Yamada discloses where both the ink and coating compositions are ejected during each pass of the inkjet printing pass [the coating composition [i.e., functional composition] is attached by ink jet ejection, it is preferred to attach it after attaching the ink composition … ink and coating compositions prepared were attached to a piece of cotton broadcloth (fabric) by ink jet printing using the aforementioned modified ink jet printer, the ink and coating compositions ejected from different rows of nozzles. The ink and coating compositions used were those under the same Example number. As for recording conditions, a recording was made under the conditions of 23 to 24 ng/dot and 720×720 dpi. In the printing job, both ink and coating compositions were ejected during each pass of the carriage. The resulting recording had an overlap of dots formed by the ink composition and dots formed by the coating composition, p0095 & p0148].
At the time of the invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have recognized in the invention of Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel that applying the functional composition subsequent to ink composition as disclosed by Yamada would produce equivalent results differing only, in that case, in the order because the Applicant has not disclosed that printing the image subsequently to printing the at least one functional composition provides a particular advantage or is exclusive in its purpose.
Claim 8: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 1, of wherein said functional composition is suitable for a digital printhead and essentially devoid of a colorant [the discharge condition for the colored ink and the functional liquid is changed to a discharge condition that obtains substantially the same lightness to the lightness that would be obtained when the colored ink alone is discharged. This enables graininess to be ameliorated while also reproducing a color of substantially the same brightness (lightness), p0018 & p0112 – The Examiner notes that although the functional liquid is not explicitly disclosed as being devoid of colorant, the disclosure of this paragraph includes where its use does not change the resulting print response by maintaining the color’s lightness. If the liquid had a colorant, the lightness would not be “substantially the same” as discussed by Kondo. Therefore, the disclosure is interpreted to indicate the liquid is devoid of colorant].
Nuriel also discloses wherein said functional composition is suitable for a digital printhead and essentially devoid of a colorant [digitally printing a transparent colorless ink composition on at least a portion of the image, wherein: the transparent colorless ink composition includes a binder and is essentially devoid of a colorant, page 3 lines 17-20 & 31-33].
Claim 9: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said functional agent is selected from the group consisting of a softening agent, an adhesion agent, a rub-resistant agent, a friction-coefficient reducing agent, an optical brightening agent, a fabric-bleaching agent, a cross-linking agent, a dye migration blocking agent, and a matting agent [the functional liquid includes penetrants, surfactants, and the like, and is a liquid with a function to enhance a penetration effect into the medium 95 of the colored inks discharged onto the medium 95 on which the image is formed, p0080].
Kondo does not appear to disclose any specific agent.
Yamada discloses wherein said functional agent is selected from the group consisting of a softening agent, an adhesion agent, a rub-resistant agent, a friction-coefficient reducing agent, an optical brightening agent, a fabric-bleaching agent, a cross-linking agent, a dye migration blocking agent, and a matting agent [ink compositions can optionally contain additives, such as softening agents, waxes, dissolution aids, viscosity modifiers, pH-adjusting agents, such as triethanolamine, humectants, such as glycerol, antioxidants, antimolds/preservatives, such as PROXEL XL2 (trade name of an Arch Chemicals product), fungicides, anticorrosives, and chelating agents for capturing metal ions that would affect dispersion (e.g., sodium ethylenediaminetetraacetate), as extra ingredients. Of these, those substances that are also organic solvents, such as glycerol, are also included in the organic solvent(s) described above, p0081].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel the support wherein said functional agent is selected from the group consisting of a softening agent, an adhesion agent, a rub-resistant agent, a friction-coefficient reducing agent, an optical brightening agent, a fabric-bleaching agent, a cross-linking agent, a dye migration blocking agent, and a matting agent as taught by Yamada because the use of surfactant(s) in an amount in any of these ranges tends to further improve the wettability of the ink composition after it adheres to a recording medium as taught by Yamada in at least paragraph 0080.
Claim 11: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said look-up table is generated for a given fabric and/or a given printing machine [The printing apparatus 100 accordingly pre-stores plural conversion tables in the storage unit 114 corresponding to the type of the medium 95, p0098].
Claim 12: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 11, further comprises, prior to said digitally printing said gradient pattern or the image, uniformly applying at least one functional composition on at least an area of the fabric corresponding to said gradient pattern or the image [woven fabric and the nonwoven fabric may be coated with a pretreatment agent in order to enhance color development and adhesion properties … printing on the medium 95 using parameters of colored ink discharge amounts per unit surface area (referred to below as colored ink duty) and functional liquid discharge amounts per unit surface area (referred to below as functional liquid duty) in Figures 6-8, p0027 & p0083-0085].
Claim 13: Kondo in view of Yamada discloses the method of claim 12.
Kondo discloses further utilize a lightness value in addition to graininess evaluation used to generate an initial look-up table [Figure 6] to finely adjust the functional liquid [Fig. 8 lists the converted discharge conditions resulting from converting the discharge conditions in the graininess table of Fig. 6 where graininess is visible, to discharge conditions where substantially the same color is reproduced and graininess is ameliorated … an adjustment function may be provided to enable further fine adjustment of the functional liquid discharge amount after highlight area determination at step S102 and changing the discharge condition, p0097 & p0100].
Kondo does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein said uniformly applying is effected at a minimal amount that allows passing a second functional test that is different than said functional test that is used for generating said look-up table.
Yamada discloses a second functional test that is different than said functional test [e.g., Each of the printings obtained in [Production of Printings] above was cut into a size of 20×20 cm, and the tension-curvature curve was measured using KES-FB1-A tensile and shear tester (trade name of a Kato Tech product) under the conditions of a shear tension of 10 gf/cm and a shear angle of ±8° … Each of the printings obtained in [Production of Printings] above was rubbed using AB-301 Color Fastness Rubbing Tester (trade name of a Tester Sangyo product) under the conditions of a rubbing finger shape of 45R, a load of 200 gf, a reciprocating distance of 20 cm, and a speed of 10 cm/s … The optical density OD was measured in the same way as in the testing of [Fastness to Rubbing (dry)] above except that the JIS standard fabric for staining of color fastness test was replaced with a JIS standard fabric for staining of color fastness test impregnated with an equal mass of water in the test, p0150, p0156 & p0163].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Kondo in view of Yamada the support to conduct a second functional test that is different than said functional test as disclosed by Li because provides further verification of the preservation of the printed image and flexibility of the underlying textile substrate.
Neither Kondo nor Yamada appear to disclose uniformly applying is effected at a minimal amount.
Nuriel discloses wherein said uniformly applying is effected at a minimal amount that allows passing a second functional test that is different from said functional test that is used for generating said look-up table [the threshold is a minimal or optimal amount of the at least one colored ink composition that is sufficient for passing a fastness test … by analyzing the effect of the fastness test, identifying the minimal and/or optimal percent of ink coverage, thereby determining the threshold, page 3 lines 27-28 & page 4 lines 24-29].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Kondo in view of Yamada the support wherein said uniformly applying is effected at a minimal amount that allows passing a second functional test that is different than said functional test as taught by Nuriel because it evaluates the optimal amount of ink that needs to be place on the fabric needed to comply with a fastness score as standard in the industry as discussed by Nuriel on at least pages 12-13.
Claim 15: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein digitally printing the image comprises applying an immobilizing composition on the fabric [woven fabric and the nonwoven fabric may be coated with a pretreatment agent in order to enhance color development and adhesion properties, p0027].
Claim 16: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 15, wherein said immobilizing composition is a functional composition [woven fabric and the nonwoven fabric may be coated with a pretreatment agent in order to enhance color development and adhesion properties, p0027].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (EP 3357699 as supplied by the applicant) in view of Yamada (US Pub No. 20200317942) and in further view of Nuriel et al., (WO 2019077603 as supplied by the applicant) and Li et al., (US Pub No. 20030129365 as previously cited).
Claim 14: Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel discloses the method of claim 12.
Although Kondo discloses pretreating the material with an adhesion agent [woven fabric and the nonwoven fabric may be coated with a pretreatment agent in order to enhance color development and adhesion properties, p0027], Kondo, Yamada nor Nuriel appear to disclose drying said at least one functional composition prior to said digitally printing said gradient pattern or the image [printing on the medium 95 using parameters of colored ink discharge amounts per unit surface area (referred to below as colored ink duty) [i.e., gradient pattern of some type] and functional liquid discharge amounts per unit surface area (referred to below as functional liquid duty) in Figures 6-8, p0080 & p0083-0085].
Li discloses drying said at least one functional composition prior to said digitally printing [the treatment is applied to the substrate textile by impregnation or coating, which is then followed by a drying process, p0013].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Kondo in view of Yamada and Nuriel the support for drying said at least one functional composition prior to said digitally printing as disclosed by Li because it been found that by ironing the print on the textile substrate with or without steam, or by drying the printed article in a home dryer, the color fastness of the printed article may be improved as discussed by Li in at least paragraph 0015.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakamura et al., US Patent No. 11525064, discloses a generated performance lookup table with a relationship between an ink jet composition for textile printing where a plurality of functional result tests are reflected in the generated table reflected in at least Figures 1 and 2.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARBARA D REINIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682