DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on September 16, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 17, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The structure [A], structure [B], and structure [C] of claim 1 and structure [D] of claim 1, structure [D] of claim 2, and claim 4, denote wavy lines which causes confusion. Do the wavy lines indicate the main chain of the polymer? The examiner invites the applicant to clarify.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the one or more repeating units of structure [C] are located between at least one of… iii) two units of structure [D]”. However, claim 1 recites “wherein one or more repeating units of structure [C] are located between at least one of… iii) on unit of structure [A] and one unit of structure [B]”, which causes confusion. Which definition does limitation iii) fall under? The examiner invites the applicant to clarify.
Claims 5-14 are rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A (meth)acrylate-functionalized polymer comprising at least one unit of structure [A], at least one unit of structure [B], and at least one unit of structure [C], wherein:
Structure [A] is:
wherein R1 and R3 are the same or different and are H or alkyl, R2 and R4 are different and are either an organic moiety bearing at least one (meth)acrylate functional group or H;
structure [B] is:
wherein R7 and R9 are the same or different and are H or alkyl, R8 and R10 are different and are independently selected from:
—(R11O)nR12, wherein R11 is a divalent alkylene moiety, R12 is H or a C1-C26 alkyl, and n is an integer of 1 or more;
R19 wherein R19 is a C2-C34 branched or straight chained alkyl;
—R2O—(C═O)OH wherein R20 is a C2-C26 branched or straight chained alkylene; or
H; and
wherein R13, R14, R15, and R16 are the same or different and are independently selected from the group consisting of H and organic moieties,
subject to the proviso that structure [C] is different from structure [A] and structure [B]; and
wherein one or more repeating units of structure [C] are located between at least one of i) two units of structure [A], ii) two units of structure [B], or iii) one unit of structure [A] and one unit of structure [B].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 102807643).
The examiner will refer to the English translation of Wang et al. provided in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al disclose in Table 2 a styrene-maleic copolymer (SMA) having the following structure (Table 2 polymer 1):
Wherein the monomer
reads on A,
wherein the monomer:
Reads on B,
And wherein the monomer:
Reads on C.
Wang et al. do not particularly teach one or more repeating units of structure [C] are located between at least one of i) two units of structure [A], ii) two units of structure [B], or iii) one unit of structure [A] and one unit of structure [B].
However, once the monomers are connected together to form the copolymer, [C] will be located between [A] and [B] as shown in below:
Thereby meeting the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. teach a polymer 1 comprising the monomer
Thereby reading on structure [D] and meeting the claim limitations wherein R17 and R18 are H.
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. do not particularly teach one or more repeating units of structure [C] are located between at least one of i) two units of structure [A], ii) two units of structure [B], iii) two units of structure (D), iv) one unit of structure [A] and one unit of structure [B], v) one unit of structure [A] and one unit of structure [D], or vi) one unit of structure [B] and one unit of structure [D].
However, once the monomers are connected together to form the copolymer, [C] will be located between [A] and [B] as shown above, thereby meeting the claim limitation.
Regrading claim 4 and 6, Wang et al. teach the monomer A shown below:
Thereby meeting the claim limitation wherein R4 is the claimed structure, R5 is an divalent alkylene, and R6 is H of instant claim 4 and 6.
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. teach R1, R3, R7, and R9 are each H as shown in the structures above, thereby meeting the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. teach R5 is a propylene, not an ethylene or oligooxyethylene as recited in the instant claim.
However, Wang et al. teach other monomer such as hydroxyethyl acrylate and hydroxylethyl methacrylate, which would form an ethylene group in R5 [0019]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a monomer to form R5 as an ethylene instead of the monomer used in polymer 1 because Wang et al. teach both are suitable monomers.
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. teach R13 in structure [C] is phenyl and R14, R15, and R16 is H, thereby meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. do not teach R19 is branched saturated alkyl as shown in the structure above.
However, Wang et al. teach other monomers can be used such as isooctanol, which would form a branched C8 saturated alkyl group in R19 [0018]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use isooctanol instead of the monomer used in polymer 1 because Wang et al. teach both are suitable monomers.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 102807643 as listed on IDS dated 1/20/2023) in view of Sharaby (US 4871801 as listed on IDS dated 1/20/2023).
The polymer of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Wang et al. do not teach R5 is a poly(ester) moiety comprising caprolactone residues.
Sharaby teaches in Example 29, SMA 3000A (styrene methacrylate copolymer) and TONE M-100 (vinyl chloride/acrylated caprolactone) are reacted together to form a product, thereby reading on the claim limitation (See Table VI). Sharaby offers the motivation that the styrene methacrylate copolymer reacted with the vinyl chloride/acrylated caprolactone results in improved physical properties [col 4, line 4-8]. Wang et al. is also concerned with improving the physical properties of SMA copolymers [0022]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the vinyl chloride/acrylated caprolactone of Sharaby with reasonable expectation that the physical properties of the SMA copolymer would improve.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 102807643 as listed on IDS dated 1/20/2023) in view of Vasudevan et al. (US 20180010003 as listed on IDS dated 1/20/2023).
The polymer of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claims 10-12, Wang et al. do not teach structure [B] as recited in the instant claims.
Vasudevan et al. teach a styrene maleic copolymer reacted with BRIJ IC20-70 to form the copolymer shown below [0032]:
Thereby reading on R11 is a divalent ethylene moiety of instant claim 10, a C12-18 straight chain saturated alkyl and thereby lying within the claimed range of instant claim 11, and n is 4-20 and thereby lying within the claimed range of instant claim 12. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the SMA copolymer of Wang et al. with the monomer taught by Vasudevan et al. since it is well known in the industry.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 102807643 as listed on IDS dated 1/20/2023) in view of Thanawalla et al. (US 4722947 as listed on IDS dated 1/20/2023).
The polymer of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al. is silent on the number average molecular weight of the polymer.
Thanawalla et al. teach a copolymer having the formula shown below:
Thanawalla et al. teach the molecular weight of the copolymer is between 1,000 to 20,000 g/mol (equivalent to 1,000 to 20,000 Da) (claim 1), thereby lying within the claimed range. Thanawalla et al. teach if the intended ending use for the copolymer is a coating composition, a molecular weight within this range offers good solvency and low viscosity [col 7, line 33-62]. Wang et al. is also concerned with the SMA copolymer is used for a coating film [0022]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an copolymer having the molecular weight taught by Thanawalla et al. with the SMA copolymer of Wang et al. with reasonable expectation that the solvency and viscosity of the coating would improve.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763