DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 currently recites:
“wherein in the processing apparatus, in each step of…a pressing slide is lowered…” should read
“wherein, in each step of…a pressing slide of the processing apparatus is lowered…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9 and 13-15 all newly recite the phrase “consisting of.” There is no support in the specification as originally filed for this particular transitional phrase. In fact the drawings show an additional mold a piercing or flanging mold in at least Figure 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin Gonzalez et al. (hereafter “Martin”)(US 2016/0263640), newly presented.
With regards to claim 13, Martin discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a hot press formed member for a multistage process, the apparatus comprising:
a heating unit for heating the strip material [furnace system, paragraph 0009];
a processing unit (system 1) including a processing apparatus in which a plurality of molds including a forming mold (press tool 20, paragraph 0039) and a trimming mold (trimming tool 30, paragraph 0043) are mounted on one press, as seen in at least Figure 1; and
a transfer unit for transferring the strip material heated in the heating unit to the processing unit [transferring device, paragraph 0009];
wherein the one press includes a pressing slide (mobile upper body 3) and a press bolster (fixed lower body 2), and a material position control unit is provided on a surface on which the plurality of molds on the press bolster are disposed [ paragraph 0025].
Martin discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for a supply unit for continuously supplying a strip material. Martin discloses that a plurality of blanks undergo manufacturing steps simultaneously [paragraph 0008]. It is considered to be well-known to provide a supply unit or manually feed material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a supply unit since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for forming, with a reasonable expectation of success. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Martin discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the plurality of molds including (a) one or more molds selected from the group consisting of a notching mold and a blanking mold. Martin discloses another mold that can perform further trimming and/or piercing operations [tool 40, paragraph 0049]. It is considered to be well-known that forming stations can perform stamping, bending, blanking, flanging, stretching, hemming, piercing, trimming, pressing, drawing, roll forming, hydroforming, or any other metal forming operations It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a blanking or notching instead of trimming or piercing since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for forming, with a reasonable expectation of success. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Martin discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a material position control unit in the form of a cylinder. It is considered to be well-known that a material position control unit includes cylinders, clutches or brakes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a cylinder since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for control, with a reasonable expectation of success. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
With regards to claim 14, Martin discloses wherein the processing apparatus further includes a temperature control unit for of any of the molds/tools [paragraph 0062]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the temperature control unit between the press and the one or more molds since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725