DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/9/2023, 4/30/2024, 7/18/2024, 9/18/2024, 1/23/2025, and 5/28/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 66-74, 79-87, 93-99, 102-104, 107-109, 111, and 112 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/18/2025.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: PROCESSING SYSTEM FOR PROCESSING AN OBJECT PROPERLY.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 88-92, 101, 105, 106, and 110 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
88. A processing system comprising:
an irradiation system that irradiates an object with an energy beam;
a material supply member that supplies a build material irradiated with the energy beam; and
a measurement apparatus that obtains information related to a height of a surface of the object,
a relative position between the measurement apparatus and the material supply member is changeable.
101. A processing method comprising:
irradiating an object with an energy beam by using an irradiation system;
supplying a build material irradiated with the energy beam by using a material supply member;
obtaining information related to a height of a surface of the object by using a measurement apparatus; and
changing a distance between the material supply member and the surface based on a measured result by the measurement apparatus.
105. A processing method comprising:
irradiating an object with an energy beam by using an irradiation system;
supplying a build material irradiated with the energy beam by using a material supply member; and
changing a distance between the material supply member and a surface of the object to increase it when a height of the surface is lower than a desired height.
106. A processing method comprising:
irradiating an object with an energy beam by using an irradiation system;
supplying a build material irradiated with the energy beam by using a material supply member; and
changing a distance between a surface of the object and a concentration area of the build material supplied by the material supply member to decrease it when a height of the surface of the object is lower than a desired height.
110. A processing method comprising:
irradiating an object with an energy beam by using an irradiation system;
supplying a build material irradiated with the energy beam by using a material supply member; and
obtaining information related to a height of a surface of the object by using a measurement apparatus,
a relative position between the measurement apparatus and the material supply member is changeable.
Step 1: The claims recite a processing system (claim 88) and a processing method (claims 101, 105, 106, and 110). Thus, the claims are to a manufacture, machine, or a process, which are statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One: The limitations “a relative position between the measurement apparatus and the material supply member is changeable” (claims 88 and 110), “changing a distance between…” (claims 101, 105, and 106), fall into the “mental process group of abstract ideas because the change could practically be performed in the human mind or physically by a human. Note that even if most humans would use a physical aid to perform the change, the use of such physical aid does not negate the mental nature of these limitations.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Besides the abstract ideas, the claims recite additional elements of “a measurement apparatus that obtains information related to a height of a surface of the object” (claim 88) and “obtaining information related to a height of a surface of the object using a measurement apparatus” (claims 101 and 110). These additional elements represent mere data gathering that is necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and is at a high level of generality. As such, they are nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a processing system. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: The claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the recited exception. The additional elements are mere instructions to apply to an exception and cannot provide an inventive concept. The limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, the limitations do not amount to significantly more. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. The claims are not eligible.
Note: Dependent claims 89-92 include mere instructions to apply to an exception and do not provide any inventive concept. These claims are also not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 50-59, 75, 78, 88-92, 100, 101, 105, 106, and 110 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Puigardeu Aramendia et al. [Puigardeu Aramendia] (US PGPub 2021/0178674).
As to claim 50
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing system (apparatus 101, see Fig. 2) comprising:
an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) that irradiates an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) that supplies a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5);
a measurement apparatus (sensing unit 141, see Fig. 2) that obtains information (heights of the top layer; see paragraph 0028, line 4) related to a height of a surface of the object (see paragraph 0028, lines 1-6); and
a distance change apparatus (controller 111, see Fig. 2) that changes a distance between the material supply member and the surface based on a measured result by the measurement apparatus (see paragraph 0037, lines 1-4), the distance change apparatus being configured to change the distance between the material supply member and the surface so that the material supply member moves toward one direction relative to the surface when the height of the surface is lower than a desired height (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10) and to change the distance between the material supply member and the surface so that the material supply member moves toward another direction opposite to the one direction relative to the surface when the height of the surface is higher than the desired height (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-9 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 51
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 50, wherein
the distance change apparatus is configured to change the distance between the material supply member and the surface to increase it when the height of the surface is lower than a desired height and to change the distance between the material supply member and the surface to decrease it when the height of the surface is higher than the desired height (see paragraph 0037, lines 1-14).
As to claim 52
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 50, wherein
the information related to the height of the surface of the object includes at least one of an information indicating the height of the object and an information indicating an ideal height of the object (see paragraph 0037, lines 10-14).
As to claim 53
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 50, wherein
the information related to the height of the surface of the object includes an information related to a difference between the height of the object and an ideal height of the object (see paragraph 0037, lines 10-14).
As to claim 54
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing system (apparatus 101, see Fig. 2) comprising:
an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) that irradiates an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) that supplies a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5);
a measurement apparatus (sensing unit 141, see Fig. 2) that obtains information (heights of the top layer; see paragraph 0028, line 4) related to a height of a surface of the object; and
a distance change apparatus (controller 111, see Fig. 2) that changes a distance between the material supply member and the surface based on a measured result by the measurement apparatus (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 55
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 54, wherein
the information related to the height of the surface of the object includes at least one of an information indicating the height of the object and an information indicating an ideal height of the object (see paragraph 0037, lines 10-14).
As to claim 56
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 54, wherein
the information related to the height of the surface of the object includes an information related to a difference between the height of the object and an ideal height of the object (see paragraph 0037, lines 10-14).
As to claim 57
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 50 further comprising a movement apparatus that moves the irradiation system along a first movement direction,
the measurement apparatus obtains the information related to the height of the surface at a front side along the first movement direction (see paragraph 0028, lines 1-10).
As to claim 58
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 50 further comprising:
an obtaining unit (at least one light detector; see paragraph 0028, line 8) that obtains an irradiation system control information for controlling the irradiation system before the object is processed (see paragraph 0028, lines 4-8); and
a control unit (processor 13, see Fig. 1/processor 115, see Fig. 2) that control the irradiation system based on the irradiation system control information obtained by the obtaining unit (see paragraph 0015, lines 10-12),
the processing system controlling a build amount by means of the distance change apparatus changing the distance between the material supply member and the surface without changing the irradiation system control information after a processing of the object is started (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 59
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 50 wherein
the distance change apparatus controls the material supply member to move the material supply member (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 75
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing system (apparatus 101, see Fig. 2) comprising:
an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) that irradiates an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) that supplies a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5); and
a distance change apparatus (controller 111, see Fig. 2) that changes a distance between the material supply member and a surface of the object to increase it when a height of the surface is lower than a desired height (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 78
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing system (apparatus 101, see Fig. 2) comprising:
an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) that irradiates an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) that supplies a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5); and
a concentration area change apparatus (controller 111, see Fig. 2) that changes a distance between a surface of the object and a concentration area of the build material supplied by the material supply member to decrease it when a height of the surface of the object is lower than a desired height (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 88
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing system (apparatus 101, see Fig. 2) comprising:
an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) that irradiates an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) that supplies a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5); and
a measurement apparatus (sensing unit 141, see Fig. 2) that obtains information (heights of the top layer; see paragraph 0028, line 4) related to a height of a surface of the object (see paragraph 0028, lines 1-6),
a relative position between the measurement apparatus and the material supply member is changeable (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 89
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 88, wherein
the information related to the height of the surface of the object includes at least one of an information indicating the height of the object and an information indicating a relationship between the height of the object and an ideal height of the object (see paragraph 0037, lines 10-14).
As to claim 90
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 88, wherein
the information related to the height of the surface of the object includes an information related to a difference between the height of the object and an ideal height of the object (see paragraph 0037, lines 10-14).
As to claim 91
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 88, wherein
the measurement apparatus is disposed at a position that is fixed relative to a terminal optical element of the irradiation system (see paragraph 0028, lines 1-10).
As to claim 92
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 88 wherein
the measurement apparatus includes at least one of an irradiation apparatus that irradiates the object with a light and an optical element that optically receives a light from the object,
a position of the material supply member is changeable relative to at least one of the irradiation apparatus and the optical element (see paragraph 0028, lines 1-10).
As to claim 100
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing method comprising:
irradiating an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) by using an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
supplying a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam by using a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5);
obtaining information (heights of the top layer; see paragraph 0028, line 4) related to a height of a surface of the object by using a measurement apparatus (sensing unit 141, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0028, lines 1-6); and
changing a distance between the material supply member and the surface based on a measured result by the measurement apparatus (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-9), changing the distance the material supply member and the surface including changing the distance between the material supply member and the surface so that the material supply member moves toward one direction relative to the surface when the height of the surface is lower than a desired height (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10) and to change the distance between the material supply member and the surface so that the material supply member moves toward another direction opposite to the one direction relative to the surface when the height of the surface is higher than the desired height (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 101
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing method comprising:
irradiating an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) by using an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
supplying a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam by using a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5);
obtaining information (heights of the top layer; see paragraph 0028, line 4) related to a height of a surface of the object by using a measurement apparatus (sensing unit 141, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0028, lines 1-6); and
changing a distance between the material supply member and the surface based on a measured result by the measurement apparatus (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 105
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing method comprising:
irradiating an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) by using an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
supplying a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam by using a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5); and
changing a distance between the material supply member and a surface of the object to increase it when a height of the surface is lower than a desired height (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 106
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing method comprising:
irradiating an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) by using an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
supplying a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam by using a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5); and
changing a distance between a surface of the object and a concentration area of the build material supplied by the material supply member to decrease it when a height of the surface of the object is lower than a desired height (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
As to claim 110
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses a processing method comprising:
irradiating an object (three-dimensional objects; see paragraph 0024, line 2) with an energy beam (electro-magnetic energy; see paragraph 0030, line 7) by using an irradiation system (exposure unit 143, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0030, lines 1-9);
supplying a build material (powder; see paragraph 0026, line 4) irradiated with the energy beam by using a material supply member (powder distributor 103, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0026, lines 1-5; paragraph 0029, lines 1-4; and paragraph 0030, lines 1-5); and
obtaining information (heights of the top layer; see paragraph 0028, line 4) related to a height of a surface of the object by using a measurement apparatus (sensing unit 141, see Fig. 2) (see paragraph 0028, lines 1-6),
a relative position between the measurement apparatus and the material supply member is changeable (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 64 and 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puigardeu Aramendia et al. [Puigardeu Aramendia] (US PGPub 2021/0178674) in view of Aoki (US PGPub 2018/0221990).
As to claim 64
Puigardeu Aramendia discloses the processing system according to claim 50
outputting the information related to the position of the object at which the additive processing is performed based on a fluctuation of the distance between the material supply member and the surface when the additive processing is performed (see paragraph 0037, lines 4-14 and paragraph 0044, lines 2-10).
However, Puigardeu Aramendia fails to specifically disclose the processing system further comprising an output apparatus that outputs information related to a position at which an additive processing is performed on the object by irradiating the build material with the energy beam.
Aoki discloses a processing system (machining system 1, see Figs. 1 and 2) comprising an output apparatus (display 39, see Fig. 6) that outputs information (laser-beam irradiation position; see paragraph 0062, lines 2) related to a position at which an additive processing is performed on the object by irradiating the build material with the energy beam (see paragraph 0062, lines 1-4).
Puigardeu Aramendia and Aoki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is machining a workpiece/object. At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Puigardeu Aramendia’s invention with Aoki’s in order to include an output apparatus to Puigardeu Aramendia’s apparatus 101, since doing so would allow an operator to easily confirm a laser-beam irradiation position (see Aoki paragraph 0062, lines 4-6).
As to claim 65
Aoki discloses the processing system according to claim 64, wherein
the output apparatus includes a display apparatus (display 39, see Fig. 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 60-63, 70, 76, and 77 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Puigardeu Aramendia and Aoki fail to specifically disclose the processing system
wherein
the material supply member supplies the build material from a plurality of material supply ports directed toward different directions,
the processing system changes a concentration area of the build material supplied from the plurality of material supply ports by means of the distance change apparatus moving the material supply member (in regards to dependent claim 60).
Also, Puigardeu Aramendia and Aoki fail to specifically disclose the processing system wherein
the material supply member supplies the build material from a plurality of material supply ports directed toward different directions,
the processing system changes a distance between the object and a concentration area of the build material supplied from the plurality of material supply ports by means of the distance change apparatus moving the material supply member (in regards to dependent claim 61).
Further, Puigardeu Aramendia and Aoki fail to specifically disclose the processing system wherein
the material supply member includes:
a first material supply member having a first material supply port directed toward a first direction; and
a second material supply member having a second material supply port directed toward a second direction that is different from the first direction,
the processing system changes a concentration area of the build material supplied from the first and second material supply ports by means of the distance change apparatus moving either one of the first and second material supply members (in regards to dependent claims 62 and 76).
Additionally, Puigardeu Aramendia and Aoki fail to specifically disclose the processing system wherein
the material supply member includes:
a first material supply member having a first material supply port directed toward a first direction; and
a second material supply member having a second material supply port directed toward a second direction that is different from the first direction,
the processing system changes a concentration area of the build material supplied from the first and second material supply ports by means of the distance change apparatus moving the first and second material supply members by different moving distances (in regards to dependent claims 63 and 77).
Further, Puigardeu Aramendia and Aoki fail to specifically disclose the processing system wherein the material supply member includes:
a first material supply member having a first material supply port directed toward a first direction; and
a second material supply member having a second material supply port directed toward a second direction that is different from the first direction,
the processing system changes a concentration area of the build material supplied from the first and second material supply ports by means of the direction change apparatus changing changed amount of directions of the first and second material supply members so that they are different from each other (in regards to dependent claim 70).
Accordingly, dependent claims 60-63, 70, 76, and 77 include allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/Michael J Brown/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115