DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 7/23/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 13-29 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/20/2023, 8/9/2024 and 11/15/2024 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN 111316401 A) to Ogino et al. (hereinafter Ogino) in view of (JP 2008266433 A) to Shingo et al. (hereinafter Shingo).
Ogino is directed to laminates for semiconductors. Ogino discloses in the Abstract that the “laminated body in the invention is middle layer between the supporting body and the object to be processed has to capable of separating adhesive”. “The invention is a multilayer body support back grinding for the wafer circuit face of body and the wafer has manner capable of separating adhesive intermediate layers, the intermediate layer comprises an adhesive layer and a release layer in contact with the one side of the wafer and the support-side contact, a peeling layer can absorb novolac resin.” Ogino discloses in the Background that the semiconductor is releasably mounted on the support for thinning. Ogino discloses in the description that
Ogino discloses in the problem to be solved section that a novolac resin is present in the peeling (release) layer. Ogino discloses that the adhesive may contain a polysiloxane, which is curable by a platinum catalyst that is a hydrosilyation cure catalyst. Ogino discloses the SAME organic NOVOLAK resin for the release layer.
As shown above Ogino discloses the SAME materials used to perform the SAME purpose in securing a chip to a support. Ogino discloses each and every element, but is silent regarding the release layer containing a branched polysilane.
Shingo is directed toward curing agents for resins. Ogino and Shingo are both directed toward compositions of resins that are used to form a film. Shingo teaches in the Abstract that polysilanes are excellent curatives for resins like an epoxy or a hydrosilation cured resin, such as a NOVOLAK resin cured by a hydrosilation reaction. Shingo teaches in the technical field that it is good for use in an optoelectronic material, Ogino discloses that be transparent is a benefit. Shingo teaches in the background section teaches why one skilled in the art would be motivated to add a silane to the novolac epoxy such as improved physical properties including heat resistance and etching resistance and cure a thin film, which are desirable when manufacturing semiconductor wafers mounted by adhesive to a support.
Shingo teaches in paragraph [0016] the branched silane (1a) (shown below) that reads on Applicants formula (B):
Shingo teaches that R1a may be an aryl group or a phenyl group to increase solvent solubility.
Shingo teaches that the polysilane has a MW of 500 to 50,000 that overlaps and reads On Applicants range of 50 to 30,000.
Shingo can be used as a curing agent even without the presence of an epoxy.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Ogino in view of the teachings of Shingo to modify the release layer of the film of Ogino by including the branched polysilane that improves properties and cures into a high strength film with a novolac epoxy allowing for machining of silicon wafers on a support and then allows removal for use, which forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-12.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766