DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claim 6 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Anmelder (DE 102012005021 A1). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification failed to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed drive mechanism that drives the conveyor, the drive mechanism passing between at least two of the sections as claimed in claim 8.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, drive mechanism that drives the conveyor and the drive mechanism passing between at least two of the sections claimed in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: drive mechanism in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchholz (US 4,026,037) in view of Wurster (De 10 2012 005 021 A1).
Buchholz discloses a dryer 10 for drying veneers (abstract) comprising a plurality of sections 12, 14 in which drying means 57, 66, 76 (Fig. 2) for drying the veneers are present, wherein in at least one of the sections 12, 14, there is a means for generating a negative pressure in the respective section (col. 7, lines 44-52, blower fan or other gas impelling means). Wherein the means comprises at least one suction device or fan 57 (col. 7, lines 44-52, blower fan or other gas impelling means) for sucking air out of the interior of the respective section (Fig. 2, col. 5, lines 25-30) . Wherein the at least one fan 57 is arranged on the upper side of the respective section 12 (Fig. 2). However, Buchholz does not disclose wherein sealing means are provided for sealing an interior of the respective section, and wherein the sealing means comprise seal on a chain for driving rollers in a region of an end-side outer wall of the respective section. Wurster discloses a dryer 10 comprising sealing means 26, 28, 30, 32, 38, 40, 42, 44 for sealing an interior of the respective section (Fig. 1), wherein the sealing means 26, 28, 30, 32, 38, 40, 42, 44 comprise seal on a chain 20, 22 for driving rollers in a region of an end-side outer wall of the respective section (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dryer of Buchholz to include sealing means are provided for sealing an interior of the respective section, and wherein the sealing means comprise seal on a chain for driving rollers in a region of an end-side outer wall of the respective section as taught by Wurster in order to seal the interior of the dryer to the outside.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchholz (US 4,026,037) in view of Wurster (De 10 2012 005 021 A1) as applied to claim 2 as above, and furthe in view of McMahon, Jr. (US 5,603,168).
The dryer of Buchholz as modified by Wurster as above includes all that is recited in claim 4 except for a circulating air fan and the at least one fan is arranged in each case above the circulating air fan. McMahon, Jr. discloses a dryer for drying veneers (abstract) comprising a circulating air fan 22 and at least one fan 140 for sucking air out of an interior of a dryer section 16a (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dryer of Buchholz to include a circulating air fan and to arrange the at least one fan above the circulating air fan as taught by McMahon, Jr. in order to evenly distribute the air within the dryer section.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchholz (US 4,026,037) in view of Wurster (De 10 2012 005 021 A1) as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Tsuboi (JP 2000230781 A).
The dryer of Buchholz as modified by Wurster as above includes all that is recited in claim 7 except for sealing devices for sealing rollers in the region of the end-side outer wall. Tsuboi discloses a veneer dryer comprising means 24, 25 for sealing the interior of the dryer section 1; wherein the means 24, 25 have sealing devices 25 for sealing rollers 23 in the region of the end-side outer wall (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the dryer of Buchholz to include means for sealing the interior of the respective section; wherein the means have sealing devices for sealing rollers in the region of the end-side outer wall as taught by Tsuboi in order to shield the air inside the dryer (Tsuboi, abstract).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMahon, Jr. (US 5,603,168) in view of Wurster (De 10 2012 005 021 A1).
McMahon, Jr discloses a dryer 10 for drying veneers (abstract) comprising a plurality of sections 16, a conveyor that conveys the panels through the sections (col. 5, lines 29-43, col. 6, lines 14-17), a drive mechanism 84 that drives the conveyor, a recirculating fan 22 that aids in drying the panel in each section 16 (Fig. 1), an exhaust fan 140 that sucks air from at least one of the sections 16a and generates a negative pressure in the respective section 16a (Fig. 1). However, McMahon, Jr does not disclose the drive mechanism passing between at least two of the sections, a drive mechanism seal that seals an interior of the respective section by sealing between he drive mechanism and an end-side outer wall of the respective section. Wurster discloses a dryer 10 comprising a conveyor 12 that conveys the workpieces through the sections (Fig. 4, section with walls 16, 18 and section without walls 16, 18), a drive mechanism 20, 22 that drives the conveyor 12, the drive mechanism 20,22 passing between at least two of the sections (Fig. 4), a drive mechanism seal 26, 28, 30, 32, 38, 40, 42, 44 seals an interior of the respective section by sealing between the drive mechanism 20, 22 and an end-side outer wall 16, 18 of the respective section (Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the dryer of Buchholz to include a drive mechanism passing between at least two of the sections, a drive mechanism seal that seals an interior of the respective section by sealing between he drive mechanism and an end-side outer wall of the respective section as taught by Wurster in order to seal the interior of the dryer to the outside.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMahon, Jr. (US 5,603,168) in view of Wurster (De 10 2012 005 021 A1) as applied to claim 8 as above, and further in view of Tsuboi (JP 2000230781 A).
The dryer of McMahon, Jr. as modified by Wurster as above includes all that is recited in claim 9 except for a roller seal that seal between a roller and the end-side outer wall. Tsuboi discloses a veneer dryer comprising means 24, 25 for sealing the interior of the dryer section 1; wherein the means 24, 25 have roller seal 25 that seal between rollers 23 and the end-side outer wall (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the dryer of Buchholz to include a roller seal that seal between a roller and the end-side outer wall as taught by Tsuboi in order to shield the air inside the dryer (Tsuboi, abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY