DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/16/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 09/16/2025. Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9 and 12 have been amended. Claims 6-7 are cancelled. Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Main argument:
The Office has not established a prima facie case of obviousness for at least the features of "based on the reception time difference being greater than cyclic prefix (CP), time adjustment is performed using the information on the reception time difference, wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline"
as recited in amended claim 1 … However, Baldemair does not disclose or suggest the claimed technique for adjusting the transmit timing parameter, namely the feature of "wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline" as recited in amended claim 1. For at least these reasons, the Office has not established a prima facie case of obviousness for at least the features of "based on the reception time difference being greater than cyclic prefix (CP), time adjustment is performed using the information on the reception time difference, wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline" as recited in amended claim 1.
Response:
Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. By attacking references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness, where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Ode (US 2014/0204871) provides an overall multi-transmission-point framework, that teaches a UE receiving signals from multiple transmission points, selecting a reference transmission point, determining reception-time differences relative to the reference transmission point, and reporting the time information.
Baldemair (US 2010/0265968) teaches that when the delay spread (relative arrival-time difference) exceeds a cyclic prefix duration, synchronization timing should be adjusted to maintain proper OFDM reception (¶0035), which provides a reason for performing the time adjustment based on the measured reception-time difference (¶0043).
Ly (US 2018/0109344) teaches a UE performing initial access procedure for establishing communication with a base station. Ly teaches that the UE receives synchronization signals and broadcast system information from one or more cells and selects a serving cell based on the received broadcast signals (¶0003). Ly further teaches the base stations broadcast primary synchronization signals, secondary synchronization signals and physical broadcast channels, therefore teaching a receipt of synchronization signals and a physical broadcast channel. Ly shows downlink reference signals are utilized by the UE to select a serving cell and that the UE may utilize synchronization signals to perform an initial acquisition or neighbor cell search (¶0020), and upon powering on, listens to synchronization signals and broadcast channels to obtain synchronization information necessary for initial access to the network, where after initial access, the UE establishes a connection with the serving base station and transitions into an RRC connected state (¶0003).
Bergstrom (US 20190223178) teaches the specific mechanisms in which timing is adjusted. The wireless device transmission timing is adjusted based on timing advance commands received from the network (¶0005). Bergstrom further teaches that the timing advance command is expressed as multiples of 16Ts and is relative to the current uplink timing, where Ts is a time unit (¶0009). It also teaches applying smaller or larger timing adjustments using corresponding smaller or larger multiples of a time unit (N1, N2), where the time unit may be a predefined time unit such as Ts (¶0080), and that the time unit may be a fixed predefined value or determined by a predefined rule (¶0085). A POSITA would have found it obvious to implement the timing adjustment needed by Baldemair within Ode’s multi-transmission-point system using Bergstrom specific timing-adjustment mechanisms because it provides a standardized way to correct timing misalignments while maintaining synchronization, while Ly covers the initial access procedure.
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Ode (US 2014/0204871), Ode hereinafter and Baldemair et al. (US 2010/0265968), Baldemair hereinafter, Ly et al. (US 2018/0109344), Ly hereinafter, and further in view of Bergstrom et al. (US 20190223178), Bergstrom hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Ode teaches a method of operating a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: (Fig. 1, 3, 20, 27 & ¶0041 - FIG. 1 illustrates an example of a wireless communication system … ¶0043 - FIG. 3 illustrates an example of CoMP transmission …);
obtaining signals from a plurality of transmission points (TPs); (¶0117 - data is transmitted to a user terminal UE from a plurality of base stations TP (Transmission Points));
selecting at least one TP based on the signals obtained from the plurality of TPs; (¶0123 - In a wireless communication system using wireless channel quality such as reception power or the like, a serving base station… are selected to execute CoMP transmission);
selecting a reference TP from the selected at least one TP; (¶0168 - Here, the newly selected base station 200.sub.2 may be used as a serving base station, and the currently connected base station 200.sub.1 may be used as a non-serving base station);
obtaining information on a reception time difference based on the reference TP; (¶0135 - A reception time difference between base stations obtained with measurement may be used for controlling CoMP transmission. ¶0434 - The measurement and calculation unit for reception time difference 144 measures and calculates reception time differences T.sub.diff.sub.--.sub.enb1-enb3 to T.sub.diff.sub.--.sub.enb1-enbm between the base station 200.sub.1 and the base stations 200.sub.3-200.sub.m. Please also see ¶0143);
and transmitting the information on the reception time difference to the selected at least one TP, (¶0144 - the user terminal 100 measures the reception power of radio waves from the connected base station 200.sub.1 and the other base station 200.sub.2, respectively, to report the measurement result to the base station 200.sub.1. ¶0436 - Also, similarly to the reporting of wireless channel quality described in the first embodiment, all of the reception times may be reported (transmitted) to the base station 200.sub.1, or, for example, the least three reception time differences T.sub.diff may be reported (transmitted) to the base station 200.sub.1. Please also see ¶0145);
Yet, Ode does not explicitly teach receiving a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel; receiving downlink reference signal; performing initial cell search based on the synchronization signal and the downlink reference signal; establishing connection with a base station; wherein the information on the reception time difference information is obtained by comparing a time of a signal received from the reference TP and a time of a signal received from the selected at least one TP other than the reference TP, and based on the reception time difference being greater than cyclic prefix (CP), time adjustment is performed using the information on the reception time difference wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline.
However, in the analogous art, Baldemair explicitly teaches wherein the information on the reception time difference information is obtained by comparing a time of a signal received from the reference TP and a time of a signal received from the selected at least one TP other than the reference TP, and based on the reception time difference being greater than cyclic prefix (CP), time adjustment is performed using the information on the reception time difference (Fig. 1, 3-4 & ¶0035 - if the delay spread exceeds the cyclic prefix duration, then a more selective approach is needed to select the optimal synchronization time. ¶0043 - A serving base station may use the synchronization time difference reported by the mobile terminal to adjust one or more timing parameters used for received signal processing with respect to signals transmitted to the serving base station by the mobile terminal. ¶0045 - The first base station is further configured to use the time difference to calculate a mobile terminal transmit timing parameter for use by the mobile terminal for transmitting to the second base station (e.g., when the first base station is serving the mobile terminal), or to adjust a base station transmit timing parameter for the first base station (e.g., when the first base station is a target base station for a handover of the mobile terminal), or both);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Baldemair to the teaching of Ode. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication systems, and particularly relates to signal timing measurements in an Orthogonal Frequency Division MultipleHuangg (OFDM) wireless communication system (¶0003, Baldemair).
Yet, Ode and Baldemair do not explicitly teach receiving a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel; receiving downlink reference signal; performing initial cell search based on the synchronization signal and the downlink reference signal; establishing connection with a base station; wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline.
However, in the analogous art, Ly explicitly teaches receiving a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel; (Fig. 5 & ¶0003 - For example, a UE may receive synchronization signals and system information broadcast by one or more cells and select a serving cell based on the signal strength of the broadcast signals. ¶0057 - In some examples, the base stations 110, 112, and 114/116 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH));
receiving downlink reference signal; (¶0003 - Mobility management within a wireless communication network is typically implemented using a downlink-based mobility framework in which downlink reference signals are utilized by a user equipment (UE) to select a serving cell to which the UE connects);
performing initial cell search based on the synchronization signal and the downlink reference signal; (Fig. 5, 13, 15 & ¶0003 - downlink reference signals are utilized by a user equipment (UE) to select a serving cell to which the UE connects. For example, a UE may receive synchronization signals and system information broadcast by one or more cells and select a serving cell based on the signal strength of the broadcast signals. ¶0020 - In some aspects of the disclosure, the user equipment may utilize the first synchronization signal to perform an initial acquisition or a neighbor cell search…¶0098 - In the example, shown in FIG. 5, at 502, the UE 202 may first receive synchronization signals from a BS 210. For example, upon powering on, the UE 202 may listen to synchronization and/or broadcast channels to obtain the synchronization information necessary for initial access to the network);
establishing connection with a base station; (¶0003 - Once connected to the network through the serving cell, the UE may continue to monitor signals from the serving cell as well as other neighboring cells. ¶0008 - For example, when a UE transitions into the Radio Resource Control (RRC)-connected state, the base station may switch from transmitting long periodicity synchronization signals to short periodicity synchronization signals. In some examples, the base station may signal the configuration and allocated resources for the short periodicity synchronization signals to the UE during the RRC connection setup procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ly to the teachings of Ode and Baldemair. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to synchronization in next generation (5G) wireless networks (¶0002, Ly).
Yet, Ode, Baldemair and Ly do not explicitly teach wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline.
However, in the analogous art, Bergstrom explicitly teaches wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline (Fig. 1-2, 7 & ¶0005 - Wireless device 12 transmission timing may be adjusted based on timing advance (TA) commands (in a medium access control (MAC) message) received from the network… ¶0009 - According to the current requirements of the Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), the wireless device shall adjust the timing of its transmissions with a relative accuracy better than or equal to within ±4*TS to the signaled timing advance value compared to the timing of preceding uplink transmission, where TS is a time unit. The timing advance command is expressed in multiples of 16*TS and is relative to the current uplink timing. Please also see ¶0080 and ¶0085).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bergstrom to the teachings of Ode and Baldemair and Ly. The motivation would be because the embodiments provided herein provide methods, wireless devices and network nodes that determine timing adjustment parameters based on numerology parameter(s) and then adjust the timing of a transmission based on the timing adjustment parameter (¶0025, Bergstrom).
Re. Claim 3, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom teach Claim 1.
Ode further teaches the information on the reception time difference is transmitted to the reference TP (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0145 - Moreover, the user terminal 100 measures and calculates a reception time difference of the radio waves between the connected base station 200.sub.1 and the other base station 200.sub.2. The user terminal 100 notifies the measured and calculated result of the reception time difference to the connected base station 200.sub.1).
Re. Claim 5, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom teach Claim 3.
Ode further teaches the information on the time difference is transmitted to at least one UE associated with the reference TP through the reference TP (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0155 - Moreover, the base station 200.sub.1 notifies execution of CoMP transmission for at least one of uplink transmission and downlink transmission to the user terminal 100. The notification of execution of CoMP transmission may include information about CoMP transmission timing. CoMP transmission timing may include information about transmission and reception timing for CoMP transmission).
Re. Claim 10, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom teach Claim 1.
Ode further teaches the TP is at least one of a base station, a remote radio head (RRH) or an access point (AP) (Fig. 1-6, 16 & ¶0255 - Also, CoMP transmission may be executed using a remote radio header (RRH) instead of one of the base stations, at least).
Re. Claim 12, Ode teaches a user equipment (TE) comprising: at least one transmitter; at least one receiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions for enabling the at least one processor to perform specific operations, wherein the specific operations comprise: (Fig. 20, 24, 27, 32, 38, 40);
obtaining signals from a plurality of transmission points (TPs); (¶0117 - data is transmitted to a user terminal UE from a plurality of base stations TP (Transmission Points));
selecting at least one TP based on the signals obtained from the plurality of TPs; (¶0123 - In a wireless communication system using wireless channel quality such as reception power or the like, a serving base station… are selected to execute CoMP transmission);
selecting a reference TP from the selected at least one TP; (¶0168 - Here, the newly selected base station 200.sub.2 may be used as a serving base station, and the currently connected base station 200.sub.1 may be used as a non-serving base station);
obtaining information on a reception time difference information based on the reference TP; (¶0135 - A reception time difference between base stations obtained with measurement may be used for controlling CoMP transmission. ¶0434 - The measurement and calculation unit for reception time difference 144 measures and calculates reception time differences T.sub.diff.sub.--.sub.enb1-enb3 to T.sub.diff.sub.--.sub.enb1-enbm between the base station 200.sub.1 and the base stations 200.sub.3-200.sub.m. Please also see ¶0143);
and transmitting the information on the reception time difference to the selected at least one TP, (¶0144 - the user terminal 100 measures the reception power of radio waves from the connected base station 200.sub.1 and the other base station 200.sub.2, respectively, to report the measurement result to the base station 200.sub.1. ¶0436 - Also, similarly to the reporting of wireless channel quality described in the first embodiment, all of the reception times may be reported (transmitted) to the base station 200.sub.1, or, for example, the least three reception time differences T.sub.diff may be reported (transmitted) to the base station 200.sub.1. Please also see ¶0145);
Yet, Ode does not explicitly teach receiving a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel; receiving downlink reference signal; performing initial cell search based on the synchronization signal and the downlink reference signal; establishing connection with a base station; wherein the information on the reception time difference is obtained by comparing a time of a signal received from the reference TP and a time of a signal received from the selected at least one TP other than the reference TP, and based on the reception time difference being greater than cyclic prefix (CP), time adjustment is performed using the information on the reception time difference, wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline.
However, in the analogous art, Baldemair explicitly teaches wherein the information on the reception time difference is obtained by comparing a time of a signal received from the reference TP and a time of a signal received from the selected at least one TP other than the reference TP, and based on the reception time difference being greater than cyclic prefix (CP), time adjustment is performed using the information on the reception time difference, (Fig. 1, 3-4 & ¶0035 - if the delay spread exceeds the cyclic prefix duration, then a more selective approach is needed to select the optimal synchronization time. ¶0043 - A serving base station may use the synchronization time difference reported by the mobile terminal to adjust one or more timing parameters used for received signal processing with respect to signals transmitted to the serving base station by the mobile terminal. ¶0045 - The first base station is further configured to use the time difference to calculate a mobile terminal transmit timing parameter for use by the mobile terminal for transmitting to the second base station (e.g., when the first base station is serving the mobile terminal), or to adjust a base station transmit timing parameter for the first base station (e.g., when the first base station is a target base station for a handover of the mobile terminal), or both);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Baldemair to the teaching of Ode. The motivation would be because the invention relates to wireless communication systems, and particularly relates to signal timing measurements in an Orthogonal Frequency Division MultipleHuangg (OFDM) wireless communication system (¶0003, Baldemair).
Yet, Ode and Baldemair do not explicitly teach receiving a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel; receiving downlink reference signal; performing initial cell search based on the synchronization signal and the downlink reference signal; establishing connection with a base station; wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline.
However, in the analogous art, Ly explicitly teaches receiving a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel; (Fig. 5 & ¶0003 - For example, a UE may receive synchronization signals and system information broadcast by one or more cells and select a serving cell based on the signal strength of the broadcast signals. ¶0057 - In some examples, the base stations 110, 112, and 114/116 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH));
receiving downlink reference signal; (¶0003 - Mobility management within a wireless communication network is typically implemented using a downlink-based mobility framework in which downlink reference signals are utilized by a user equipment (UE) to select a serving cell to which the UE connects);
performing initial cell search based on the synchronization signal and the downlink reference signal; (Fig. 5, 13, 15 & ¶0003 - downlink reference signals are utilized by a user equipment (UE) to select a serving cell to which the UE connects. For example, a UE may receive synchronization signals and system information broadcast by one or more cells and select a serving cell based on the signal strength of the broadcast signals. ¶0020 - In some aspects of the disclosure, the user equipment may utilize the first synchronization signal to perform an initial acquisition or a neighbor cell search…¶0098 - In the example, shown in FIG. 5, at 502, the UE 202 may first receive synchronization signals from a BS 210. For example, upon powering on, the UE 202 may listen to synchronization and/or broadcast channels to obtain the synchronization information necessary for initial access to the network);
establishing connection with a base station; (¶0003 - Once connected to the network through the serving cell, the UE may continue to monitor signals from the serving cell as well as other neighboring cells. ¶0008 - For example, when a UE transitions into the Radio Resource Control (RRC)-connected state, the base station may switch from transmitting long periodicity synchronization signals to short periodicity synchronization signals. In some examples, the base station may signal the configuration and allocated resources for the short periodicity synchronization signals to the UE during the RRC connection setup procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ly to the teachings of Ode and Baldemair. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to synchronization in next generation (5G) wireless networks (¶0002, Ly).
Yet, Ode, Baldemair and Ly do not explicitly teach wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline.
However, in the analogous art, Bergstrom explicitly teaches wherein the time adjustment includes adding or subtracting a multiple of a predetermined time unit from a reference timeline (Fig. 1-2, 7 & ¶0005 - Wireless device 12 transmission timing may be adjusted based on timing advance (TA) commands (in a medium access control (MAC) message) received from the network… ¶0009 - According to the current requirements of the Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), the wireless device shall adjust the timing of its transmissions with a relative accuracy better than or equal to within ±4*TS to the signaled timing advance value compared to the timing of preceding uplink transmission, where TS is a time unit. The timing advance command is expressed in multiples of 16*TS and is relative to the current uplink timing. Please also see ¶0080 and ¶0085).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bergstrom to the teachings of Ode and Baldemair and Ly. The motivation would be because the embodiments provided herein provide methods, wireless devices and network nodes that determine timing adjustment parameters based on numerology parameter(s) and then adjust the timing of a transmission based on the timing adjustment parameter (¶0025, Bergstrom).
Re. Claim 13, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom teach Claim 12.
Ode further teaches the UE communicates with at least one of a mobile terminal, a network or an autonomous vehicle other than a vehicle including the UE (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0008 - CoMP transmission is a technology for a plurality of base stations to execute coordinated transmission and reception for communications between a user terminal and the plurality of base stations. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0016 - JR includes a technology that executes MIMO reception at a plurality of base stations via a network, or executes reception diversity among base stations).
Claims 2, 4 and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom, and further in view of Hwang, (US 2022/0279367), Hwang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 2, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom teach Claim 1.
Yet, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom do not explicitly teach the reference TP is set based on at least one of a cell id, a beam index set or a transmission and reception (TRP) id.
However, in the analogous art, Hwang explicitly teaches the reference TP is set based on at least one of a cell id, a beam index set or a transmission and reception (TRP) id (Fig. 11 & ¶0190 - For example, the assistance information may include at least one of information on a PCI and a global cell ID for each of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, TP ID information of a candidate NR TP for measurement, TP timing information on a reference NR TP, PRS configuration information on a reference NR TP (or cell) or a candidate TP (or cell) for a reference signal timing difference (RSTD) reference, information on a system frame number (SFN) timing offset between a serving NR cell and an NR assistance data reference cell, … a PRS block index or a beam-specific index transmitted in a beam sweeping periodicity… Fig. 11 & ¶0192 - …when sending the ProvideAsisstanceData message, the LMF 1150 may transmit a PRS block index or a beam index indicating a specific beam (or a measurement beam) to be used by each of the reference cell … for measuring PRS transmission time, to each cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Hwang to the teachings of Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom. The motivation would be since a terminal is movable in a wireless communication system, mobility management for the terminal may be required in order to provide an appropriate quality of service to the terminal. As a part of the mobility management, localization of terminal may be required (¶0006, Hwang).
Re. Claim 4, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom teach Claim 3.
Yet, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom do not explicitly teach the information on the reception time difference is transmitted to the reference TP along with at least one of cell id information, beam index information or TRP id information.
However, in the analogous art, Hwang explicitly teaches the information on the reception time difference is transmitted to the reference TP along with at least one of cell id information, beam index information or TRP id information (Fig. 11 & ¶0190 - For example, the assistance information may include at least one of information on a PCI and a global cell ID for each of the reference cell and the neighboring cell, TP ID information of a candidate NR TP for measurement, TP timing information on a reference NR TP, PRS configuration information on a reference NR TP (or cell) or a candidate TP (or cell) for a reference signal timing difference (RSTD) reference, information on a system frame number (SFN) timing offset between a serving NR cell and an NR assistance data reference cell, … a PRS block index or a beam-specific index transmitted in a beam sweeping periodicity… Fig. 11 & ¶0192 - …when sending the ProvideAsisstanceData message, the LMF 1150 may transmit a PRS block index or a beam index indicating a specific beam (or a measurement beam) to be used by each of the reference cell … for measuring PRS transmission time, to each cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Hwang to the teachings of Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom. The motivation would be since a terminal is movable in a wireless communication system, mobility management for the terminal may be required in order to provide an appropriate quality of service to the terminal. As a part of the mobility management, localization of terminal may be required (¶0006, Hwang).
Re. Claim 11, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom teach Claim 1.
Yet, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom do not explicitly teach the TP is at least one of an array antenna set generating a beam within a transmission object, a panel or a reflector.
However, in the analogous art, Hwang explicitly teaches the TP is at least one of an array antenna set generating a beam within a transmission object, a panel or a reflector (Fig. 3 & ¶0066 - Furthermore, the communication unit 310 may include at least one antenna array including multiple antenna elements. Moreover, the communication unit 310 may perform beamforming).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Hwang to the teachings of Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom. The motivation would be since a terminal is movable in a wireless communication system, mobility management for the terminal may be required in order to provide an appropriate quality of service to the terminal. As a part of the mobility management, localization of terminal may be required (¶0006, Hwang).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN 116456328A), Huang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom teach Claim 1.
Yet, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom do not explicitly teach the information on the reception time difference is set based on preset resolution.
However, in the analogous art, Huang explicitly teaches the information on the reception time difference is set based on preset resolution (Fig. 3 & ¶0047-¶0051 - …the expected reception time difference threshold is equal to a length of a Cyclic Prefix (CP); or, the expected receive time difference threshold is equal to the length of one time domain symbol; or, the expected receive time difference threshold is equal to 0.5 slot; or, the expected receive time difference threshold is equal to the length of half the time domain symbol; or, the length of the expected receive time difference threshold is not limited).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Huang to the teachings of Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom. The motivation would be because aspects of the invention reasonably and effectively perform data scheduling of the terminal device based on capability information (¶0006, Huang).
Re. Claim 9, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom teach Claim 1.
Yet, Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom do not explicitly teach the information on the reception time difference is set by further considering a preset table.
However, in the analogous art, Huang explicitly teaches the information on the reception time difference is set by further considering a preset table (Fig. 3 & ¶0047-¶0051 - …the expected reception time difference threshold is equal to a length of a Cyclic Prefix (CP); or, the expected receive time difference threshold is equal to the length of one time domain symbol; or, the expected receive time difference threshold is equal to 0.5 slot; or, the expected receive time difference threshold is equal to the length of half the time domain symbol; or, the length of the expected receive time difference threshold is not limited).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Huang to the teachings of Ode and Baldemair and Ly and Bergstrom. The motivation would be because aspects of the invention reasonably and effectively perform data scheduling of the terminal device based on capability information (¶0006, Huang).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2020/0288421) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-14.
Davydov et al. (US 2016/0254938) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-11.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B /CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2465