DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The rejections from the Office Action of 10/16/2025 are hereby withdrawn. New grounds for rejection are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “at least two transformers” in the preamble. The claim then goes on to recite the terms “the active transformer” and “the transformer” through out the claim, both of which lack antecedent basis.
Claims 3, 4, 8, and 12 also recite the term “the transformer.” This term lacks antecedent basis for the same reason.
Claims 2-13, 18, 19, and 21 are rejected based on their dependence from Claim 1.
Claim 20 depends from cancelled Claim 15, which leaves the scope of Claim 20 unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-13, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berler et al. (US 20170227592 A1)[hereinafter “Berler”]; Moore et al., Partial Discharge Investigation of a Power Transformer Using Wireless Wideband Radio-Frequency Measurements, IEEE, 2006 [hereinafter “Moore”]; and Ashtekar (US 20200194191 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Berler discloses a method for networked monitoring of at least two transformers [See the transformer bank in Figs. 1, 4, and 5.Paragraph [0014] – “The current art in on-line transformer bushing monitoring systems measures the test tap current or voltage and processes the signal using Fourier transformation to permit the comparison of signals and calculation of bushing power factor and capacitance values. A system for on-line bushing monitoring and geo-magnetically induced current monitoring in the embodiments herein can utilize a Hall Effect current transducer in the same manner as the current art for GIC monitoring, but obtains the harmonic component of the signals through the measurement of bushing test tap current which provide a more reliable measurement method since the bushings provide a capacitive voltage divider that is not subject to saturation which is a drawback of using current transformers to obtain the signals.”], wherein the following is performed:
receiving an electromagnetic signal by a monitoring component at the active transformer, the signal being specific to at least one transformer parameter of the transformer [Paragraph [0014] – “A system for on-line bushing monitoring and geo-magnetically induced current monitoring in the embodiments herein can utilize a Hall Effect current transducer in the same manner as the current art for GIC monitoring, but obtains the harmonic component of the signals through the measurement of bushing test tap current which provide a more reliable measurement method since the bushings provide a capacitive voltage divider that is not subject to saturation which is a drawback of using current transformers to obtain the signals.”],
carrying out a frequency evaluation based on the received signal by the monitoring component [Paragraph [0014] – “The current art in on-line transformer bushing monitoring systems measures the test tap current or voltage and processes the signal using Fourier transformation to permit the comparison of signals and calculation of bushing power factor and capacitance values. A system for on-line bushing monitoring and geo-magnetically induced current monitoring in the embodiments herein can utilize a Hall Effect current transducer in the same manner as the current art for GIC monitoring.”Paragraph [0015] – “The system provides bushing power factor, capacitance and imbalance output data as well as the DC component of the transformer's neutral current and harmonic voltage components for the system voltage up to the 10.sup.th harmonic (600 Hz for a 60 Hz power system or 500 Hz for a 50 Hz system).”] by an evaluation component, wherein the evaluation component comprises at least one DPU (data processing unit)[Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0017] – “data processing and communication (MDC) module 102”], and
outputting monitoring information about a result of the frequency evaluation to a network for transmission to a processing system [Fig. 1 depicts a communication path (“network”) between Harmonics Analyzer 112 and CPU 114.] for evaluating the transformer parameter based on the monitoring information [Paragraph [0020] – “The data is then processed by the central processing unit 114 to provide a DC neutral current magnitude output. The harmonic levels for each harmonic bushing voltage, as calculated for the bushing monitoring function, are output for the Geo-magnetic induced current monitor data over the communications network.”], wherein the outputting is performed by at least one of a network interface [Fig. 1 depicts a communication path (“network interface”) between Harmonics Analyzer 112 and CPU 114.] or a wireless interface.
Berler discloses that the signal is a low frequency signal [Paragraph [0015] – “The system provides bushing power factor, capacitance and imbalance output data as well as the DC component of the transformer's neutral current and harmonic voltage components for the system voltage up to the 10.sup.th harmonic (600 Hz for a 60 Hz power system or 500 Hz for a 50 Hz system).”], but fails to disclose that the monitoring component has a receiving antenna configured to receive the signal; that the monitoring is non-invasive to the transformer by receiving the signal without contact with respect to the transformer; and the monitoring components monitor a plurality of different transformers, wherein on the basis of the distance to the transformers, the transformer parameters of the different transformers are distinguished in the signal, so that on the basis of the monitoring information the state of the transformer is determined in the form of a partial discharge of the transformer. However, Moore discloses the use of a remote antenna for measuring transformer partial discharges that produces an EM signal [Abstract – “The remote detection of a transformer internal partial discharge (PD) has been demonstrated using mobile wideband radio-frequency receiving equipment. The PD is externally detectable due to coupling within the transformer tank, causing impulsive signals to be radiated from external connections. A wideband direction-finding technique using a four-antenna array has shown the source of the radiation to be the tertiary winding connections; the radiated impulse has characteristics typical of this method of emission.”See Figs. 1, 2, and 4.], wherein on the basis of the distance to the transformers, the transformer parameters of the different transformers are distinguished in the signal [See the triangulation of Fig. 4 and Abstract – “A wideband direction-finding technique using a four-antenna array has shown the source of the radiation to be the tertiary winding connections; the radiated impulse has characteristics typical of this method of emission.”]. It would have been obvious to use such a sensor to gather transformer data in order to detect transformer partial discharges from multiple transformers and to be able to identify which components of such transformers are problematic.
Berler and Moore fail to disclose detecting a detection parameter by an audio sensor, wherein the detection parameter is specific for an on or off switching of mechanical circuit breakers at the transformer.
However, Ashtekar discloses detecting a detection parameter by an audio sensor, wherein the detection parameter is specific for an on or off switching of mechanical circuit breakers [Paragraph [0009] – “Embodiments of the present invention provide circuit interrupters that include non-contact optical or acoustic sensor systems that can obtain signal data to measure displacement over time, optionally along with obtaining electric current measurements during an arcing event triggered by a “breaker open” or “breaker close” event.”]. It would have been obvious to use an acoustic sensor to detect breaker operations in order to better understand the cause of discharges.
Regarding Claim 2, Berler discloses that the frequency evaluation is implemented as a Fourier transform by which the received signal is decomposed into its frequency components in order to carry out the evaluation of the transformer parameter on the basis of the frequency components [Paragraph [0014] – “The current art in on-line transformer bushing monitoring systems measures the test tap current or voltage and processes the signal using Fourier transformation to permit the comparison of signals and calculation of bushing power factor and capacitance values. A system for on-line bushing monitoring and geo-magnetically induced current monitoring in the embodiments herein can utilize a Hall Effect current transducer in the same manner as the current art for GIC monitoring, but obtains the harmonic component of the signals through the measurement of bushing test tap current which provide a more reliable measurement method since the bushings provide a capacitive voltage divider that is not subject to saturation which is a drawback of using current transformers to obtain the signals.”Paragraph [0015] – “The system provides bushing power factor, capacitance and imbalance output data as well as the DC component of the transformer's neutral current and harmonic voltage components for the system voltage up to the 10.sup.th harmonic (600 Hz for a 60 Hz power system or 500 Hz for a 50 Hz system).”].
Regarding Claim 3, Berler discloses that the monitoring component is structurally separate from the transformer and the processing system [Figs. 1, 4, and 5, Bushing Sensors 104 and DC Hall Effect Sensor 108].
Regarding Claim 4, Berler discloses that the signal is generated in the form of an electromagnetic field by the transformer during operation [Paragraph [0021] – “the signals from the bushing sensors (see 104 in FIG. 1) Hall effect current transducer (see 108 of FIG. 1) are analyzed using Fourier Analysis”], the monitoring component being arranged at least spatially on the transformer [Fig. 1, Bushing Sensors 104] or at a distance from the transformer within reception range of the signal [Fig. 1, DC Hall Effect Sensor 108].
Regarding Claim 5, Berler discloses that the signal is implemented as a low frequency signal [Paragraph [0015] – “The system provides bushing power factor, capacitance and imbalance output data as well as the DC component of the transformer's neutral current and harmonic voltage components for the system voltage up to the 10.sup.th harmonic (600 Hz for a 60 Hz power system or 500 Hz for a 50 Hz system).”50/60 Hz being the fundamental frequency.].
Regarding Claim 6, Berler discloses that the following is carried out to evaluate the at least one transformer parameter:
receiving the output monitoring information by the processing system [Paragraph [0017] – “a harmonics analyzer 112 which is coupled to a central processing unit or CPU 114”], and
performing a process of the received monitoring information by an evaluation element to use a result of the processing as information about the transformer parameter [Paragraph [0020] – “The data is then processed by the central processing unit 114 to provide a DC neutral current magnitude output. The harmonic levels for each harmonic bushing voltage, as calculated for the bushing monitoring function, are output for the Geo-magnetic induced current monitor data over the communications network.”].
Regarding Claim 8, Berler discloses that the transformer parameter is implemented as an electrical parameter of the transformer, in order to perform the process at least for measuring current at the transformer or for detecting a load profile of the transformer [Paragraph [0014] – “A system for on-line bushing monitoring and geo-magnetically induced current monitoring in the embodiments herein can utilize a Hall Effect current transducer in the same manner as the current art for GIC monitoring, but obtains the harmonic component of the signals through the measurement of bushing test tap current which provide a more reliable measurement method since the bushings provide a capacitive voltage divider that is not subject to saturation which is a drawback of using current transformers to obtain the signals.”].
Regarding Claim 10, Berler discloses that the frequency evaluation is carried out for frequencies at least in the range from 10 Hz to 100 Hz in order to carry out the evaluation of the transformer parameter likewise on the basis of specific frequency components in this range [Paragraph [0015] – “The system provides bushing power factor, capacitance and imbalance output data as well as the DC component of the transformer's neutral current and harmonic voltage components for the system voltage up to the 10.sup.th harmonic (600 Hz for a 60 Hz power system or 500 Hz for a 50 Hz system).”50/60 Hz being the fundamental frequency.].
Regarding Claim 11, Berler discloses that at least the carrying out of the frequency evaluation or the evaluation of the transformer parameter are carried out in real time [Inherent, see the process of Fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 12, Berler discloses that a state of the transformer is monitored during operation [Paragraph [0014] – “A system for on-line bushing monitoring and geo-magnetically induced current monitoring in the embodiments herein can utilize a Hall Effect current transducer in the same manner as the current art for GIC monitoring, but obtains the harmonic component of the signals through the measurement of bushing test tap current which provide a more reliable measurement method since the bushings provide a capacitive voltage divider that is not subject to saturation which is a drawback of using current transformers to obtain the signals.”See also the alarms as in, for example, Paragraphs [0016] and [0022].].
Regarding Claim 13, Berler discloses that the network is at least partially implemented as the internet [Paragraph [0024] – “The communications network provides local and remote data over TCP/IP, Modbus, DNP 3.0 and IEC 61850 protocols over RS485, RS232 (see outputs 117 in FIG. 1), Ethernet or other available connections using fiber optic, wire, cellular or radio transmission.”].
Regarding Claim 21, Moore discloses that the distance between the monitoring component and the at least one transformer is a minimum distance in the range of 0.5 meters to 3 meters [See Figs. 1 and 4. Fig. 4 depicts a distance of ~8m between the transformer and antenna.].
Claim(s) 14, 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berler et al. (US 20170227592 A1)[hereinafter “Berler”], Brand (US 20160018519 A1), and Ashtekar (US 20200194191 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Berler discloses a monitoring component for networked monitoring of at least one transformer [See the transformer and system in Figs. 1, 4, and 5.Paragraph [0014] – “The current art in on-line transformer bushing monitoring systems measures the test tap current or voltage and processes the signal using Fourier transformation to permit the comparison of signals and calculation of bushing power factor and capacitance values. A system for on-line bushing monitoring and geo-magnetically induced current monitoring in the embodiments herein can utilize a Hall Effect current transducer in the same manner as the current art for GIC monitoring, but obtains the harmonic component of the signals through the measurement of bushing test tap current which provide a more reliable measurement method since the bushings provide a capacitive voltage divider that is not subject to saturation which is a drawback of using current transformers to obtain the signals.”], comprising:
a receiving component [Figs. 1, 4, and 5, Bushing Sensors 104 and DC Hall Effect Sensor 108] for receiving an electromagnetic signal at the active transformer, wherein the signal is specific to at least one transformer parameter of the transformer, wherein the receiving component has a receiving antenna [Paragraph [0014] – “A system for on-line bushing monitoring and geo-magnetically induced current monitoring in the embodiments herein can utilize a Hall Effect current transducer in the same manner as the current art for GIC monitoring, but obtains the harmonic component of the signals through the measurement of bushing test tap current which provide a more reliable measurement method since the bushings provide a capacitive voltage divider that is not subject to saturation which is a drawback of using current transformers to obtain the signals.”] which is configured to receive the signal as a low frequency signal [Paragraph [0015] – “The system provides bushing power factor, capacitance and imbalance output data as well as the DC component of the transformer's neutral current and harmonic voltage components for the system voltage up to the 10.sup.th harmonic (600 Hz for a 60 Hz power system or 500 Hz for a 50 Hz system).”],
an evaluation component comprising at least one DPU (data processing unit) [Fig. 1, Harmonics Analyzer 112] for carrying out a frequency evaluation on the basis of the received signal [Paragraph [0014] – “The current art in on-line transformer bushing monitoring systems measures the test tap current or voltage and processes the signal using Fourier transformation to permit the comparison of signals and calculation of bushing power factor and capacitance values. A system for on-line bushing monitoring and geo-magnetically induced current monitoring in the embodiments herein can utilize a Hall Effect current transducer in the same manner as the current art for GIC monitoring.”Paragraph [0015] – “The system provides bushing power factor, capacitance and imbalance output data as well as the DC component of the transformer's neutral current and harmonic voltage components for the system voltage up to the 10.sup.th harmonic (600 Hz for a 60 Hz power system or 500 Hz for a 50 Hz system).”],
an output component, wherein the output component is configured as at least one of a network interface and a wireless interface [Fig. 1, Output port of Harmonics Analyzer 112] for outputting monitoring information about a result of the frequency evaluation to a network for transmission to a processing system [Fig. 1 depicts a communication path (“network”) between Harmonics Analyzer 112 and CPU 114.] for evaluation of the transformer parameter based on the monitoring information [Paragraph [0020] – “The data is then processed by the central processing unit 114 to provide a DC neutral current magnitude output. The harmonic levels for each harmonic bushing voltage, as calculated for the bushing monitoring function, are output for the Geo-magnetic induced current monitor data over the communications network.”Also, reporting is performed through elements 115 and 117.].
Berler fails to disclose an audio sensor to detect an airborne sound as a detection parameter, so that on the basis of the monitoring information the state of the transformer is determined in the form of a partial discharge of the transformer. However, Brand discloses the use of a remote acoustic sensor [See Fig. 1 and Paragraph [0075] – “Referring now to the figures of the drawing in detail and first, particularly, to FIG. 1 thereof, there is shown a device 1 for creating a high frequency acoustic spectrum image for an object 2.”] for detecting partial discharges of a transformer [Paragraphs [0046]-[0049]]. It would have been obvious to use such a measurement device in obtaining transformer monitoring data in order to monitor the transformer (and other transformers) for partial discharges.
Berle and Brand fail to disclose that the detection parameter detected by the audio sensor is specific for an on or off switching of mechanical circuit breakers at the transformer.
However, Ashtekar discloses detecting a detection parameter by an audio sensor, wherein the detection parameter is specific for an on or off switching of mechanical circuit breakers [Paragraph [0009] – “Embodiments of the present invention provide circuit interrupters that include non-contact optical or acoustic sensor systems that can obtain signal data to measure displacement over time, optionally along with obtaining electric current measurements during an arcing event triggered by a “breaker open” or “breaker close” event.”]. It would have been obvious to use an acoustic sensor to detect breaker operations in order to better understand the cause of discharges.
Regarding Claim 16, Berler discloses a system for networked monitoring of at least one transformer, comprising: a monitoring component according to claim 14 [See the transformer and system in Figs. 1, 4, and 5.], and the processing system for evaluating the transformer parameter based on the monitoring information [Paragraph [0020] – “The data is then processed by the central processing unit 114 to provide a DC neutral current magnitude output. The harmonic levels for each harmonic bushing voltage, as calculated for the bushing monitoring function, are output for the Geo-magnetic induced current monitor data over the communications network.”].
Regarding Claim 18, Berler discloses that the signal is in the frequency range from 40 Hz to 70 Hz, with a frequency of essentially 50 Hz or 60 Hz [Paragraph [0015] – “The system provides bushing power factor, capacitance and imbalance output data as well as the DC component of the transformer's neutral current and harmonic voltage components for the system voltage up to the 10.sup.th harmonic (600 Hz for a 60 Hz power system or 500 Hz for a 50 Hz system).”50/60 Hz being the fundamental frequency.].
Regarding Claim 20, Berler discloses that the low frequency signal is in the range from 40 Hz to 70 Hz [Paragraph [0015] – “The system provides bushing power factor, capacitance and imbalance output data as well as the DC component of the transformer's neutral current and harmonic voltage components for the system voltage up to the 10.sup.th harmonic (600 Hz for a 60 Hz power system or 500 Hz for a 50 Hz system).”50/60 Hz being the fundamental frequency.].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berler et al. (US 20170227592 A1)[hereinafter “Berler”]; Moore et al., Partial Discharge Investigation of a Power Transformer Using Wireless Wideband Radio-Frequency Measurements, IEEE, 2006 [hereinafter “Moore”]; Ashtekar (US 20200194191 A1); and Bastard et al. (US 5784233 A)[hereinafter “Bastard”].
Regarding Claim 7, Berler fails to disclose that the evaluation elements has at least one neural network to perform the process in accordance with machine learning on the basis of a learned information of the evaluation elements.
However, Bastard discloses the use of a neural network in such a context in order to ascertain the state of a transformer [Abstract – “A preprocessing circuit receives signals representative of a current circulating in a primary winding and of a current circulating in a secondary winding of a transformer. The signals representative of currents are used to calculate the values of a through current and a differential current. The preprocessing circuit performs a spectral analysis and provides a neural network with signals representative of the fundamental component of the through current, of the fundamental component of the differential current, of the second harmonic and of the fifth harmonic of the differential current. The neural network identifies fault conditions and normal operation states, and supplies a triggering and/or alarm signal to an output when a fault condition is detected.”]. It would have been obvious to use a neural network in analyzing the transformer sensor values in order to more effectively monitor the transformer.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berler et al. (US 20170227592 A1)[hereinafter “Berler”]; Moore et al., Partial Discharge Investigation of a Power Transformer Using Wireless Wideband Radio-Frequency Measurements, IEEE, 2006 [hereinafter “Moore”]; Ashtekar (US 20200194191 A1); and Wells (US 8457912 B1).
Regarding Claim 9, Berler fails to disclose that the following is carried out at least before or during or after the output: detecting a time information about a time of receiving the signal by the monitoring component, associating the time information with the monitoring information to output the monitoring information with the associated time information, performing the process based on the time information.
However, Wells discloses performing power distribution system monitoring in which measured values are timestamped [See Fig. 1B, steps 110 and 112] and synchronized [See Fig. 1B, step 114] to facilitate frequency domain analysis [See Fig. 1B, step 116Column 3 lines 31-38 – “While the data is gathered in the time domain, the analysis is performed in the harmonic domain. For illustration purposes, this will be referred to as the harmonic content of the signal. One can use fast Fourier transforms (FFTs) to quickly convert the data from the time domain to the harmonic domain. (An inverse FFT can be used to return data from the harmonic domain to the time domain.) Once the data is in the harmonic domain, analysis can proceed.”]. It would have been obvious to timestamp measurement values and synchronize the measurement values prior to frequency domain analysis in order to ensure that the analysis is performed properly.
Regarding Claim 19, Berler fails to disclose that the processing is based on sorting the received monitoring information in time based on the associated time information.
However, Wells discloses performing power distribution system monitoring in which measured values are timestamped [See Fig. 1B, steps 110 and 112] and synchronized [See Fig. 1B, step 114] to facilitate frequency domain analysis [See Fig. 1B, step 116Column 3 lines 31-38 – “While the data is gathered in the time domain, the analysis is performed in the harmonic domain. For illustration purposes, this will be referred to as the harmonic content of the signal. One can use fast Fourier transforms (FFTs) to quickly convert the data from the time domain to the harmonic domain. (An inverse FFT can be used to return data from the harmonic domain to the time domain.) Once the data is in the harmonic domain, analysis can proceed.”]. It would have been obvious to timestamp measurement values and synchronize the measurement values prior to frequency domain analysis in order to ensure that the analysis is performed properly.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berler et al. (US 20170227592 A1)[hereinafter “Berler”]; Brand (US 20160018519 A1); Ashtekar (US 20200194191 A1); and Wells (US 8457912 B1).
Regarding Claim 17, Berler fails to disclose that the monitoring component comprises a time component to provide time information at least about a time interval for the frequency evaluation or about a time of receiving the signal by the monitoring component.
However, Wells discloses performing power distribution system monitoring in which measured values are timestamped [See Fig. 1B, steps 110 and 112] and synchronized [See Fig. 1B, step 114] to facilitate frequency domain analysis [See Fig. 1B, step 116Column 3 lines 31-38 – “While the data is gathered in the time domain, the analysis is performed in the harmonic domain. For illustration purposes, this will be referred to as the harmonic content of the signal. One can use fast Fourier transforms (FFTs) to quickly convert the data from the time domain to the harmonic domain. (An inverse FFT can be used to return data from the harmonic domain to the time domain.) Once the data is in the harmonic domain, analysis can proceed.”]. It would have been obvious to timestamp measurement values and synchronize the measurement values prior to frequency domain analysis in order to ensure that the analysis is performed properly.
Response to Amendment
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant’s argument is found convincing and the corresponding rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant argues:
The prior art references of record fail to disclose the subject matter of the amended claims.
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner agrees. New grounds for rejection are presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ramírez-Niño et al., Acoustic measuring of partial discharge in power Transformers, Meas. Sci. Technol., 2009
US 20120092114 A1 – POWER TRANSFORMER CONDITION MONITOR
US 7113134 B1 – Transformer Antenna Device And Method Of Using The Same
US 4689752 A – System And Apparatus For Monitoring And Control Of A Bulk Electric Power Delivery System
Koshizuka et al. (US 20100039737 A1) – Discloses that discharges correspond to breaker switching.
US 20060164097 A1 – Electrical Switching Apparatus And Method Including Fault Detection Employing Acoustic Signature
/KYLE R QUIGLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857