DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III (claims 7-13, 17, 32-38, and 42) in the reply filed on February 12, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 2-6,14-16,18-25,27-31,39-41 and 43-51 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Braun (EP 9946 A1).
Braun discloses a target assembly with a corresponding method for an x-ray apparatus, the target assembly comprising: a target housing (30); an entrance path (13) formed in an entrance part of the target housing for accepting an incident electron beam (11); a target member (21) for generating x-rays under electron beam illumination through the entrance path; and an exit path (20) formed in an exit part of the target housing for allowing generated x-rays to exit the target assembly, the exit path covered by an x-ray transmissive window (12), wherein the exit path comprises an exit bore formed in the exit part and configured to limit the generation of x-rays by impact of scattered electrons (p. 12:22-23: substantially reducing reback-scatter and off-focus x-ray radiation), which have been reflected from the target member, onto an inside of the bore (p. 11:29-31: the main purpose of the anode enclosure 30 is to absorb electrons back-scattered from the focal spot).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braun as applied to claims 1 and 26 above, and further in view of Sellers (US 3383510).
Braun discloses claims 1 and 26. Braun further discloses wherein the exit bore is provided with a material (for 20).
However, Braun fails to disclose a liner of aluminium, beryllium or carbon.
Sellers teaches a liner of aluminium, beryllium or carbon (col. 3:32-38).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Braun with the teaching of Sellers, since one would have been motivated to make such a modification for modifying the energy as desired (Sellers: col. 3:40-46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-13, 17, 32, 34-38, and 42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 7 and its dependent claim(s), if any, the prior art (e.g., Braun) discloses a target assembly for an x-ray apparatus, the target assembly comprising: a target housing (30); an entrance path (13) formed in an entrance part of the target housing for accepting an incident electron beam (11); a target member (21) for generating x-rays under electron beam illumination through the entrance path; and an exit path (20) formed in an exit part of the target housing for allowing generated x-rays to exit the target assembly, the exit path covered by an x-ray transmissive window (12), wherein the exit path comprises an exit bore formed in the exit part and configured to limit the generation of x-rays by impact of scattered electrons (p. 12:22-23: substantially reducing reback-scatter and off-focus x-ray radiation), which have been reflected from the target member, onto an inside of the bore (p. 11:29-31: the main purpose of the anode enclosure 30 is to absorb electrons back-scattered from the focal spot).
However, the prior art fails to disclose or fairly suggest a target assembly for an x-ray apparatus, the target assembly including: wherein the exit bore is provided with a liner predominantly composed of a material having lower atomic number than the atomic number of the predominant material of a surface of the exit part inward of the liner, the atomic number being lower than 16, the liner extending substantially around a cross-section of the bore, in combination with all of the other recitations in the claim.
Regarding claim 32 and its dependent claim(s), if any, the prior art (e.g., Braun) discloses a similar method.
However, the prior art fails to disclose or fairly suggest a method of modifying a target assembly for an x-ray apparatus, wherein the modification comprises providing the exit bore with a liner predominantly composed of, a material having lower atomic number than the atomic number of the predominant material of a surface of the exit part inward of the liner, the atomic number being optionally lower than 16, the liner extending substantially around a cross-section of the bore, in combination with all of the other recitations in the claim.
Conclusion
/Chih-Cheng Kao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884