017357DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed November 12, 2025 have been entered and considered.
Priority
Acknowledgment has been made of Applicant’s 371 priority of PCT/KR2020/009585, filing date July 21, 2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), and Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teaches:
A semiconductor light-emitting device [100, paragraph [0031], Fig. 1] comprising:
a first conductive electrode [122, paragraph [0038], Fig. 1];
a first conductive semiconductor layer [120, paragraph [0033-0034], Fig. 1] having one surface on the first conductive electrode [122, Fig. 1],
an active layer [130, paragraph [0033-0034], Fig. 1] on the one surface of the first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1];
a second conductive semiconductor layer [140, paragraph [0033], [0035], Fig. 1] on the active layer [130, Fig. 1];
a second conductive electrode [142, paragraph [0039], Fig. 1] on the second conductive semiconductor layer [140, Fig. 1];
an undoped semiconductor layer [112, paragraph [0036], Fig. 1] on another surface of the first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1]; and
a light-transmitting layer [110, paragraph [0032], [0036], Fig. 1] on a surface of the undoped semiconductor layer [112, Fig. 1] that is opposite to where the first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1] is disposed with respect to the undoped semiconductor layer [112, Fig. 1].
Kim et al. does not teach:
wherein the light-transmitting layer includes a material having electrical conductivity.
Sugawara et al. teaches:
wherein the light-transmitting layer [306, Col. 9, Lines 59-61; Col. 11, Lines 47-48, Fig. 3A] includes a material having electrical conductivity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara et al. into the teachings of Kim et al. to include wherein the light-transmitting layer includes a material having electrical conductivity, for the purpose of transmitting light and facilitating the flow of current to enable electrical processes.
Kim et al. and Sugawara et al. do not teach:
wherein when the light-transmitting layer is disposed to improve dielectrophoretic force of the semiconductor light-emitting device, the semiconductor light-emitting device is dispersed in a fluid to be seated on an assembly substrate during self-assembly of the semiconductor light- emitting device.
Choi et al. teaches:
wherein when the light-transmitting layer [1111, 1112, paragraph [0148], [0202], Fig. 12, 14-15, 19] is disposed to improve dielectrophoretic force of the semiconductor light-emitting device [1000, paragraph [0205], Fig. 11-12, 16-17], the semiconductor light-emitting device [1000, paragraph [0139], Fig. 11-12] is dispersed in a fluid [1200, paragraph [0146], Fig. 11-12] to be seated on an assembly substrate [1100, paragraph [0139], [0148], Fig. 11-12] during self-assembly of the semiconductor light- emitting device [1000, paragraph [0143], [0145], [0160], [0170], Fig. 11-12].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi et al. into the teachings of Kim et al. and Sugawara et al. to include wherein when the light-transmitting layer is disposed to improve dielectrophoretic force of the semiconductor light-emitting device, the semiconductor light-emitting device is dispersed in a fluid to be seated on an assembly substrate during self-assembly of the semiconductor light- emitting device, for the purpose of improving seating of device, improving connections, and shortening time required to assemble.
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. teach the semiconductor light-emitting device [100, Fig. 1] of claim 1.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al. and Choi et al. do not teach:
wherein the light- transmitting layer is a transparent electrode layer.
Sugawara et al. teaches:
wherein the light- transmitting layer [306, Col. 9, Lines 59-61, Fig. 3A] is a transparent electrode layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. to include wherein the light- transmitting layer is a transparent electrode layer, for the purpose of transmitting light and facilitating the flow of current to enable electrical processes.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), and Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoo (US 6949395 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. teach the semiconductor light-emitting device [100, Fig. 1] of claim 1.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. do not teach:
wherein the light-transmitting layer has at least one surface with a surface roughness.
Yoo teaches:
wherein the light-transmitting layer [100, Col. 5, Lines 29-34, Fig. 3A] has at least one surface with a surface roughness. [Col. 6, Lines 9-19, Fig. 3D; Col. 6, Lines 27-37, Fig. 3E]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yoo into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. to include wherein the light-transmitting layer has at least one surface with a surface roughness, for the purpose of improving reflective properties.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), and Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kuchiyama (WO 2020026606 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. teach the semiconductor light-emitting device [100, Fig. 1] of claim 3.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. do no teach:
wherein the light-transmitting layer has a thickness of about 30 nm to 500 nm.
Kuchiyama teaches:
wherein the light-transmitting layer [18, paragraph [0050], Fig. 1] has a thickness of about 30 nm to 500 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kuchiyama into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. to include wherein the light-transmitting layer has a thickness of about 30 nm to 500 nm, for the purpose of low resistance and high transmittance.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), and Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tamura et al. (US 7173277 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. teach the semiconductor light-emitting device [100, Fig. 1] of claim 1.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. do not teach:
wherein the light- transmitting layer is a semiconductor layer doped with an n-type dopant.
Tamura et al. teaches:
wherein the light- transmitting layer [45, Col. 13, Lines 28-40, 59-67, Fig. 8] is a semiconductor layer doped with an n-type dopant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tamura et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. to include wherein the light- transmitting layer is a semiconductor layer doped with an n-type dopant, for the purpose of improving performance, resistance and efficiency, and transmitting light.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A) and Tamura et al. (US 7173277 B2) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Tasaki et al. (US 9172005 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Tamura et al. teach the semiconductor light-emitting device [100, Fig. 1] of claim 5.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Tamura et al. do not teach:
wherein the light- transmitting layer has electrical conductivity that is equal to or higher than that of the first conductive semiconductor layer.
Tasaki et al. teaches:
wherein the light- transmitting layer [106, Col. 7, Lines 41-44, Fig. 1] has electrical conductivity that is equal to or higher than that of the first conductive semiconductor layer [101/103, Col. 6, Lines 62-67 to Col. 7, Line 1, Fig. 1-2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tasaki et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Tamura et al. to include wherein the light- transmitting layer has electrical conductivity that is equal to or higher than that of the first conductive semiconductor layer, for the purpose of improving electrical conductivity of device and improving performance.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A) and Tamura et al. (US 7173277 B2) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kuchiyama (WO 2020026606 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Tamura et al. teach the semiconductor light-emitting device [100, Fig. 1] of claim 5.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Tamura et al. do not teach:
wherein the light-transmitting layer has a thickness of about 50 nm to 200 nm.
Kuchiyama teaches:
wherein the light-transmitting layer [18, paragraph [0050], Fig. 1] has a thickness of about 50 nm to 200 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kuchiyama into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Tamura et al. to include wherein the light-transmitting layer has a thickness of about 50 nm to 200 nm, for the purpose of low resistance and high light transmittance.
Claims 8-10, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A), and Kim et al. (US 8368846 B2). Kim et al. (US 8368846 B2) will hereby be referred to as Kim ‘846.
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. teaches:
wherein each of the semiconductor light-emitting devices [100, Fig. 1] further comprises:
a first conductive electrode [122, paragraph [0038], Fig. 1];
a first conductive semiconductor layer [120, paragraph [0033-0034], [0059], Fig. 1] having one surface on the first conductive electrode [122, Fig. 1],
an active layer [130, paragraph [0033-0034], Fig. 1] on the one surface of the first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1];
a second conductive semiconductor layer [140, paragraph [0033], [0035], Fig. 1] on the active layer [130, Fig. 1];
a second conductive electrode [142, paragraph [0039], Fig. 1] on the second conductive semiconductor layer [140, Fig. 1];
an undoped semiconductor layer [112, paragraph [0036], Fig. 1] on another surface of the first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1]; and
a light-transmitting layer [110, paragraph [0032], Fig. 1] on a surface of the undoped semiconductor layer [112, Fig. 1] that is opposite to where the first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1] is disposed with respect to the undoped semiconductor layer [112, Fig. 1].
Kim et al. does not teach:
wherein the light-transmitting layer includes a material having electrical conductivity.
Sugawara et al. teaches:
wherein the light-transmitting layer [306, Col. 9, Lines 59-61; Col. 11, Lines 47-48, Fig. 3A] includes a material having electrical conductivity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara et al. into the teachings of Kim et al. to include wherein the light-transmitting layer includes a material having electrical conductivity, for the purpose of transmitting light and facilitating the flow of current to enable electrical processes.
Kim et al. and Sugawara et al. do not teach:
wherein when the light-transmitting layer is disposed to improve dielectrophoretic force of the semiconductor light-emitting devices, the semiconductor light-emitting devices are dispersed in a fluid to be seated on an assembly substrate during self-assembly of the semiconductor light-emitting devices.
Choi et al. teaches:
wherein when the light-transmitting layer [1111, 1112, paragraph [0148], [0202], Fig. 12, 14-15, 19] is disposed to improve dielectrophoretic force of the semiconductor light-emitting devices [1000, paragraph [0205], Fig. 11-12, 16-17], the semiconductor light-emitting devices [1000, paragraph [0139], Fig. 11-12] are dispersed in a fluid [1200, paragraph [0146], Fig. 11-12] to be seated on an assembly substrate [1100, paragraph [0139], [0148], Fig. 11-12] during self-assembly of the semiconductor light-emitting devices [1000, paragraph [0143], [0145], [0160], [0170], Fig. 11-12].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi et al. into the teachings of Kim et al. and Sugawara et al. to include wherein when the light-transmitting layer is disposed to improve dielectrophoretic force of the semiconductor light-emitting devices, the semiconductor light-emitting devices are dispersed in a fluid to be seated on an assembly substrate during self-assembly of the semiconductor light-emitting devices, for the purpose of improving seating of device, improving connections, and shortening time required to assemble.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. do not teach:
A display device comprising:
a base;
semiconductor light-emitting devices disposed on the base and each including conductive electrodes; and
wiring electrodes disposed on the base and electrically connected to the conductive electrodes of the semiconductor light-emitting devices.
Kim ‘846 teaches:
A display device comprising:
a base [160, Col. 9, Lines 61-64, Fig. 10];
semiconductor light-emitting devices [combination of 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, and 136, Col. 10, Lines 1-6, Fig. 10] disposed on the base [160, Fig. 10] and each including conductive electrodes [135, 136, Col. 10, Lines 1-12, Fig. 10]; and
wiring electrodes [173, 174, Col. 10, Lines 6-12, Fig. 10] disposed on the base [160, Fig. 10] and electrically connected to the conductive electrodes [135, 136, Fig. 10] of the semiconductor light-emitting devices [combination of 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, and 136, Col. 10, Lines 1-6, Fig. 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘846 into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. to include A display device comprising: a base; semiconductor light-emitting devices disposed on the base and each including conductive electrodes; and wiring electrodes disposed on the base and electrically connected to the conductive electrodes of the semiconductor light-emitting devices, for the purpose of connecting the semiconductor light-emitting device to the display device in order for the display device to function properly and electrically connecting features within the device.
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 8.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein the semiconductor light- emitting devices are transferred to one surface of a temporary substrate, and
wherein the semiconductor light-emitting devices are separated from the temporary substrate and dispersed in the fluid to be seated on the assembly substrate during the self- assembly.
Choi et al. teaches:
wherein the semiconductor light- emitting devices [150, paragraph [0092-0093], Fig. 6] are transferred to one surface of a temporary substrate [112, paragraph [0092-0093], [0096-0097], Fig. 6], and
wherein the semiconductor light-emitting devices [150/1000, paragraph [0096-0097], [0132], [0139] Fig. 6/10-12] are separated from the temporary substrate [112, Fig. 6] and dispersed in the fluid [1200, paragraph [0130], [0146], Fig. 11-12] to be seated on the assembly substrate [1100, paragraph [0139], [0143], [0148], Fig. 11-12] during the self- assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein the semiconductor light- emitting devices are transferred to one surface of a temporary substrate, and wherein the semiconductor light-emitting devices are separated from the temporary substrate and dispersed in the fluid to be seated on the assembly substrate during the self- assembly, for the purpose of improving seating of device, improving connections, and shortening time required to assemble.
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 9.
Kim et al. further teaches:
wherein each of the semiconductor light-emitting devices [100, Fig. 1] is disposed such that the light-transmitting layer [110, Fig. 1] faces the bottom.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. do not teach:
The base
wherein the base portion further includes a reflective layer disposed at least at a position corresponding to a position where each of the semiconductor light-emitting devices is disposed.
Kim ‘846 teaches:
The base [160, Col. 9, Lines 61-64, Fig. 10]
wherein the base [160, Fig. 10] portion further includes a reflective layer [112, Col. 9, Lines 61-64, Fig. 10] disposed at least at a position corresponding to a position where each of the semiconductor light-emitting devices [combination of 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, and 136, Fig. 10] is disposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘846 into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include The base, wherein the base portion further includes a reflective layer disposed at least at a position corresponding to a position where each of the semiconductor light-emitting devices is disposed, for the purpose of improving light transmittance and connecting features within the device for proper functionality of the device.
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 8.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein the light-transmitting layer is a transparent electrode layer.
Sugawara et al. teaches:
wherein the light-transmitting layer [306, Col. 9, Lines 59-61, Fig. 3A] is a transparent electrode layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein the light-transmitting layer is a transparent electrode layer, for the purpose of transmitting light and facilitating the flow of current to enable electrical processes.
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. teaches:
Semiconductor light-emitting devices [100, Fig. 1], each including conductive electrodes [122/142, Fig. 1],
wherein each of the semiconductor light-emitting devices [100, Fig. 1] further comprises:
a conductive light transmitting layer [110, Fig. 1];
a first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1] on the conductive light transmitting layer [110, Fig. 1];
an active layer [130, Fig. 1] on the first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1];
a first conductive electrode [122, Fig. 1] on the first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1] and separated from the active layer [130, Fig. 1];
a second conductive semiconductor layer [140, Fig. 1] on the active layer [130, Fig. 1];
a second conductive electrode [142, Fig. 1] on the second conductive semiconductor layer [140, Fig. 1]; and
an undoped semiconductor layer [112, Fig. 1] on another surface of the first conductive semiconductor layer [120, Fig. 1],
wherein the light transmitting layer [110, Fig. 1] is on a surface of the undoped semiconductor layer [112, Fig. 1].
Kim et al. does not teach:
conductive light transmitting layer
Sugawara et al. teaches:
conductive light transmitting layer [306, Col. 9, Lines 59-61; Col. 11, Lines 47-48, Fig. 3A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara et al. into the teachings of Kim et al. to include the conductive light transmitting layer, for the purpose of transmitting light and facilitating the flow of current to enable electrical processes.
Kim et al. and Sugawara et al. do not teach:
wherein the conductive light transmitting layer is disposed to improve dielectrophoretic force of the semiconductor light-emitting devices, the semiconductor light-emitting devices are dispersed in a fluid to be seated on an assembly substrate during self-assembly of semiconductor light-emitting devices.
Choi et al. teaches:
wherein the conductive light transmitting layer [1111, 1112, paragraph [0148], [0202], Fig. 12, 14-15, 19] is disposed to improve dielectrophoretic force of the semiconductor light-emitting devices [1000, paragraph [0205], Fig. 11-12, 16-17], the semiconductor light-emitting devices [1000, paragraph [0139], Fig. 11-12] are dispersed in a fluid [1200, paragraph [0146], Fig. 11-12] to be seated on an assembly substrate [1100, paragraph [0139], [0148], Fig. 11-12] during self-assembly of semiconductor light-emitting devices [1000, paragraph [0143], [0145], [0160], [0170], Fig. 11-12].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi et al. into the teachings of Kim et al. and Sugawara et al. to include wherein the conductive light transmitting layer is disposed to improve dielectrophoretic force of the semiconductor light-emitting devices, the semiconductor light-emitting devices are dispersed in a fluid to be seated on an assembly substrate during self-assembly of semiconductor light-emitting devices, for the purpose of improving seating of device, improving connections, and shortening time required to assemble.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. do not teach:
A base
Kim ‘846 teaches:
a base [160, Col. 9, Lines 61-64, Fig. 10]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘846 into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. to include a base, for the purpose of connecting the semiconductor light-emitting device to the display device in order for the display device to function properly, and electrically connecting features within the device.
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 16.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein the conductive light transmitting layer includes one of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), indium zinc tin oxide (IZTO).
Sugawara et al. teaches:
wherein the conductive light transmitting layer [306, Col. 11, Lines 47-48, Fig. 3A] includes one of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), indium zinc tin oxide (IZTO).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein the conductive light transmitting layer includes one of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), indium zinc tin oxide (IZTO), for the purpose of transmitting light, facilitating the flow of current to enable electrical processes, and to utilize a material with a high conductivity.
Regarding claim 18, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 16.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein the semiconductor light-emitting devices are transferred to one surface of a temporary substrate, and
wherein the semiconductor light-emitting devices are separated from the temporary substrate and dispersed in the fluid to be seated on the assembly substrate during the self- assembly.
Choi et al. teaches:
wherein the semiconductor light-emitting devices [150, paragraph [0092-0093], Fig. 6] are transferred to one surface of a temporary substrate [112, paragraph [0092-0093], [0096-0097], Fig. 6], and
wherein the semiconductor light-emitting devices [150/1000, paragraph [0096-0097], [0132], [0139] Fig. 6/10-12] are separated from the temporary substrate [112, Fig. 6] and dispersed in the fluid [1200, paragraph [0130], [0146], Fig. 11-12] to be seated on the assembly substrate [1100, paragraph [0139], [0143], [0148], Fig. 11-12] during the self- assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Choi et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein the semiconductor light-emitting devices are transferred to one surface of a temporary substrate, and wherein the semiconductor light-emitting devices are separated from the temporary substrate and dispersed in the fluid to be seated on the assembly substrate during the self- assembly, for the purpose of improving seating of device, improving connections, and shortening time required to assemble.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A), and Kim ‘846 (US 8368846 B2) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Chae (US 20180166470 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 10.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Kim et al., Sugawara et al. and Choi et al. do not teach:
further comprising a connection electrode extending from the first conductive electrode and the second conductive electrode of each of the semiconductor light-emitting devices to the a wire electrode.
Kim ‘846 teaches:
further comprising a connection electrode [177, 178, Col. 10, Lines 6-12, Fig. 10] extending from the first conductive electrode [136, Fig. 10] and the second conductive electrode [135, Fig. 10] of each of the semiconductor light-emitting devices [combination of 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, and 136, Fig. 10] to the a wire electrode [173, 174, Fig. 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘846 into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include further comprising a connection electrode extending from the first conductive electrode and the second conductive electrode of each of the semiconductor light-emitting devices to the a wire electrode, for the purpose of connecting features within the device.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein the connection electrode includes a transparent material.
Chae teaches:
wherein the connection electrode [120, paragraph [0045], Claim 7, Fig. 1] includes a transparent material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chae into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein the connection electrode includes a transparent material, for the purpose of connecting features within the device without impeding light, and improving performance and efficiency.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A), and Kim ‘846 (US 8368846 B2) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Nagai (US 8356913 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 9.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein the base includes a light-transmitting material.
Nagai teaches:
wherein the base [10, Col. 3, Lines 25-35; Col. 10, Lines 32-33, Fig. 1] includes a light-transmitting material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nagai into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein the base includes a light-transmitting material, for the purpose of emitting light without impeding it, and improving efficiency.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A), and Kim ‘846 (US 8368846 B2) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yoo (US 6949395 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 8.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein the light-transmitting layer has at least one surface with a surface roughness.
Yoo teaches:
wherein the light-transmitting layer [100, Col. 5, Lines 29-34, Fig. 3A] has at least one surface with a surface roughness. [Col. 6, Lines 9-19, Fig. 3D; Col. 6, Lines 27-37, Fig. 3E]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yoo into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein the light-transmitting layer has at least one surface with a surface roughness, for the purpose of improving reflective properties.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A), and Kim ‘846 (US 8368846 B2) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Tamura et al. (US 7173277 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 8.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein the light-transmitting layer is a semiconductor layer doped with an n-type dopant.
Tamura et al. teaches:
wherein the light-transmitting layer [45, Col. 13, Lines 28-40, 59-67, Fig. 8] is a semiconductor layer doped with an n-type dopant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tamura et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein the light-transmitting layer is a semiconductor layer doped with an n-type dopant, for the purpose of improving performance, resistance and efficiency, and transmitting light.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A), and Kim ‘846 (US 8368846 B2) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Kuchiyama (WO 2020026606 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 18.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein the conductive light transmitting layer has a minimum thickness of about of about 50 nm and a maximum thickness of about 200 nm.
Kuchiyama teaches:
wherein the conductive light transmitting layer [17, paragraph [0051], Fig. 1] has a minimum thickness of about of about 50 nm and a maximum thickness of about 200 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kuchiyama into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein the conductive light transmitting layer has a minimum thickness of about of about 50 nm and a maximum thickness of about 200 nm, for the purpose of lower resistance and high light transmittance.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A), in view of Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A), and Kim ‘846 (US 8368846 B2) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kamiyama et al. (US 7612381 B2).
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 teach the display device of claim 16.
Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 do not teach:
wherein an interface between the conductive light transmitting layer and undoped semiconductor layer has an irregular pattern.
Kamiyama et al. teaches:
wherein an interface between the conductive light transmitting layer [311, Col. 13, Lines 65-66, Fig. 10] and undoped semiconductor layer [312, Col. 14, Lines 16-19, Fig. 10] has an irregular pattern [A4, Fig. 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kamiyama et al. into the teachings of Kim et al., Sugawara et al., Choi et al. and Kim ‘846 to include wherein an interface between the conductive light transmitting layer and undoped semiconductor layer has an irregular pattern, for the purpose of improving light extraction efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 8 and 16 and dependent claims 9 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues on pages 1-9, Section: Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§102 and 103, in remarks filed November 12, 2025 that independent claims 1, 8 and 16 have been amended similarly, and dependent claims 9 and 18 have been amended similarly, and the current prior art of record does not teach the amendments to independent claims 1, 8 and 16 and dependent claims 9 and 18. Examiner agrees with Applicant, however after further search and consideration of the prior art, the amendments to independent claims 1, 8 and 16, and dependent claims 9 and 18 can be overcome by newly sited source Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A).
Applicant's arguments on page 9, Section: Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§102 and 103, in remarks filed November 12, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that primary reference Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A) does not teach a light-transmitting layer that includes material having electrical conductivity. The Office Action dated August 12, 2025 states the light-transmitting layer is formed of Silicon or Aluminum Oxide, Applicant argues these materials are poor conductors and do not have electrical conductivity in a practical sense. This argument is not persuasive because claim 1 states “wherein the light-transmitting layer includes a material having electrical conductivity”. Although poor conductors, Silicon and Aluminum Oxide are materials having electrical conductivity. To further continue prosecution, Examiner has combined secondary reference Sugawara et al. (US 6020602 A), with primary reference Kim et al. (KR 20180117352 A) to include a more electrically conductive light-transmitting layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine these references for the purpose of transmitting light and facilitating the flow of current to enable electrical processes.
In summary, the amendments to independent claims 1, 8 and 16, and dependent claims 9 and 18 can be overcome by newly sited source Choi et al. (KR 20190085892 A). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claims 1, 8 and 16 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the conductivity of the light-transmitting layer are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 1/28/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815