DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 5/11/26 have been received. Claim 4 has been amended. Claim 5 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiyama et al. (US 2022/0029199) as cited in IDS dated 1/23/23 in view of Ji et al. (US2022/0131195).
Regarding claim 1, Fujiyama discloses a lithium secondary battery (abstract) comprising:
a non-aqueous electrolyte solution ([0045]-[0046]) containing a lithium salt([0161], [0166]), an organic solvent([0167]-[0181]), a first additive represented by Formula 1 below([0051]-[0062]),
a positive electrode including a lithium iron phosphate-based composite oxide([0046]);
a negative electrode including a negative electrode active material([0216]-[0221]); and
a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode([0243]-[0245]),
wherein an amount of the first additive is 0.01 mass % to 5 mass % ([0063]) which overlaps the claim range of 0.1 wt% to 5 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte solution:
wherein in Formula 1 above, R1 and R2 are the same as or different from each other, and are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C10 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3-C15 cycloalkyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C6-C30 aryl group([0051]-[0062]), leaching of iron from lithium iron phosphate during storage of the battery can be suppressed by action of the compound represented by Formula (1) contained in the non-aqueous electrolyte solution([0050]) but does not explicitly disclose a second additive represented by Formula 2 below; wherein an amount of the second additive is 0.1 wt% to 5 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte solution:
wherein in Formula 2 above, Cy1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C30 heterocyclic group, and
L1 is a direct bond, or a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C10 alkylene group.
Ji teaches electrolyte additives for energy storage devices comprising compounds containing one, two, or more triple-bonded moieties (abstract). Ji teaches the electrolyte additives can provide high voltage stability of cathodes by forming a stable passivation layer on the surface of the cathode([0030]). Ji teaches this can mitigate parasitic reactions occurring on the surface of the cathode, leading to minimized electrolyte decomposition, loss of active Li and impedance rise on the electrode/electrolyte interface([0030]). Ji teaches a positive electrode including a lithium iron phosphate based composite oxide ([0056], [0112], [0119]). Ji teaches a second additive represented by Formula 2 below (propargyl 1H-imidazole-1-carboxylate [0082]-[0083]); wherein an amount of the second additive is 0.1 wt% to 5 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte solution(additive at less than 5 wt% or about 0.2 wt% or less [0077]):
wherein in Formula 2 above, Cy1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C30 heterocyclic group, and
L1 is a direct bond, or a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C10 alkylene group([0082]-[0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the non-aqueous electrolyte solution of Fujiyama with a second additive represented by Formula 2 below; wherein an amount of the second additive is 0.2 wt% to 5 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte solution:
wherein in Formula 2 above, Cy1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C2-C30 heterocyclic group, and
L1 is a direct bond, or a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C10 alkylene group as taught by Ji in order to provide minimized electrolyte decomposition, loss of active Li and impedance rise on the electrode/electrolyte interface.
Regarding claim 2, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses R1 and R2 are the same as or different from each other, and are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C3-C15 cycloalkyl group(Fujiyama, [0061]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses Cy1 of Formula 2 above is a nitrogen-containing heterocyclic group, L1 is represented by —(CH2)n—, and n is an integer of 1 to 10(Ji, propargyl 1H-imidazole-1-carboxylate [0082]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses the amount of the first additive is 0.1 wt% to 1 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte solution(Fujiyama, 0.1 mass % to 1 mass% [0063]) and the amount of the second additive is 0.1 wt% to 1 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte solution (Ji, about 0.2 wt% or less [0077]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama discloses Formula (1) compound was included in the non-aqueous electrolyte solution, the battery characteristics (specifically, discharge capacity and battery resistance) after storage were improved (Fujiyama [0334]) and the electrolyte additives can provide high voltage stability of cathodes by forming a stable passivation layer on the surface of the cathode(Ji [0030]). Modified Fujiyama discloses DCC (N,N′-dicyclohexylcarbodiimide; a compound in which R11 and R12 are both cyclohexyl groups), which is a specific example of a compound represented by Formula (1), was added in such a manner that the content to the total mass of a non-aqueous electrolyte solution to be eventually prepared was 0.5 mass % (Fujiyama [0280]), the electrolyte composition may contain the compound as an additive at less than 5 weight % or about 0.2 wt% or less (Ji, [0077]) but does not explicitly disclose the weight ratio of the first additive and the second additive is 1:5 to 5:1(claim 6) and the weight ratio of the first additive and the second additive is 1:2 to 2:1(claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of modified Fujiyama with the weight ratio of the first additive and the second additive is 1:5 to 5:1 and the weight ratio of the first additive and the second additive is 1:2 to 2:1 in order to balance battery characteristics (specifically, discharge capacity and battery resistance) after storage and a secondary battery having more improved overall performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 8, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte solution further comprises lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate as a third additive(Ji [0098]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses the organic solvent comprises a cyclic carbonate-based solvent and a linear carbonate-based solvent(Fujiyama [0172]-[0177]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses the lithium iron phosphate-based composite oxide is represented by Formula 3 below:
wherein in Formula 3, 0 ≤ x (Fujiyama [0195]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses the positive electrode comprises a positive electrode current collector (Fujiyama [0205]), and a positive electrode active material layer formed on the positive electrode current collector(Fujiyama [0205]), and a positive electrode active material included in the positive electrode active material layer is composed of the lithium iron phosphate-based composite oxide(Fujiyama [0195]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses the negative electrode active material comprises graphite(Fujiyama [0222]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses the first additive is represented by Formula 1-1 below:
(Fujiyama [0342]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Fujiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujiyama further discloses the second additive is represented by Formula 2-1 below:
(Ji [0082]-[0083]).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Such synergistic effect is evidenced by the comparative data provided in the present application. In particular, Examples used both the first additive and the second additive in the non- aqueous electrolyte solution provide superior results in terms of capacity retention, resistance increase rate, and metal dissolution amount, compared to Comparative Examples 2 and 3 used the first additive and the second additive only, respectively. See Table 1 of the present application, part of which is reproduced below.
Examiner’s answer: The showing of Table 1 does not appear to be commensurate in scope with the claim. Examples in Table 1 require Formula 1-1 and Formula 2-1 whereas the claim does not require such specificity.
Applicant’s argument: Fujiyama does not contemplate use in combination with a second additive as claimed while Ji does not disclose the first additive as claimed. In addition, Ji requires the use of high-capacity positive active materials such as NCM, NCA, and LCO, instead of LFP used in Fujiyama.
Examiner’s answer: Fujiyama discloses further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by any of the following Formulas (2) to (9) ([0020]-[0028]) and from the viewpoint of more effectively improving the battery characteristics after storage, the non-aqueous electrolyte solution may further contain at least one selected from Formula (2) to Formula (9) ([0064]). Ji teaches the use of positive active materials such as LFP ([0112], [0119]).
Applicant’s argument: Neither Fujiyama nor Ji recognizes the problems associated with the use of the first additive or the second additive alone. Therefore, the disclosures of Fujiyama and Ji do not provide any technical means for solving the problems arising from the use of either additive alone.
Examiner’s answer: Fujiyama discloses when using the non-aqueous solution, it is thought that leaching of iron from lithium iron phosphate during storage of the battery can be suppressed by action of the compound represented by Formula (1) ([0050]). Ji teaches when used as electrolyte additives, triple-bonded compounds can be easier to be reduced and able to produce a characteristic SEI with dense and low impedance, which can effectively suppress the decomposition of electrolyte, HF generation and LiF formation upon cycling ([0053]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724