DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on June 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant elects the following without traverse: Species I - the first barcoded index primer of SEQ ID NO: 204; Species II - the second barcoded index primer of SEQ ID NO: 234; Species III - the barcode sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4; and Species IV - the linker sequence of SEQ ID NO: 104. Species I, II, and III read on elected claims.
Claims 1-7 are pending and examined herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 2 shows barcodes F and R, but the specification does not disclose barcodes F and R. Additionally, figure 2 shows universal sequences U1 and U2, but the claims recite universal sequences A and B.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites “barcode sequences set forth in Table 1”. SEQ ID NOs of the barcode sequences of Table 1 should be included in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the composition of claims 1-6, does not reasonably provide enablement for a composition of claim 7, wherein an identifying nucleotide
sequence is attached to an affinity reagent by a linker comprising (a) a cleavable protein
photocrosslinker; or (b) a fluorescent moiety.
The invention of parent claim 1 is directed to a composition of a nucleotide sequence attached to an affinity reagent and used for identification of proteins. The identification of a target protein is achieved by amplification of a part of the nucleotide sequence using primers corresponding to the affinity reagent with specificity to the target protein.
Claim 7 adds additional limitations of a cleavable protein photocrosslinker or a fluorescent moiety as parts of the linker.
The art of DNA amplification for detection purposes is very mature. However, prior art is silent on using cleavable protein photocrosslinkers and fluorescent moieties together with detection by DNA amplification. Prior art is also silent on problems that could be solved by using cleavable protein photocrosslinkers and fluorescent moieties in the disclosed composition.
The specification fails to disclose how one of ordinary skill in the art should use cleavable protein photocrosslinkers and fluorescent moieties of instant invention. The only example disclosed in the specification ([0055]-[0060]) fails to mention cleavable protein photocrosslinkers and fluorescent moieties.
Based on the above findings, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to teach the skilled artisan how to use the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brofelth et al. (IDS; Commun Biol. 2020 Jul 3;3(1):339).
Regarding claim 1, Brofelth teaches a composition for multiplex identification and quantification of target molecules in a plurality of samples (Abstract; pg. 2, col. 2, par. 2-3; pg. 3, col. 1, par. 1). The affinity reagents are scFv antibodies with specificity to 17 different target antigens (Table 1 and pg. 2, col. 2, par. 2). Fig. 3 demonstrates a unique identifying nucleotide sequence attached to a scFv (barcode oligo) and two primers (primer 1 and index primer). The 8 bp region in the middle of the barcode oligo is a scFv-specific tag, which is the unique identifying nucleotide sequence relative to other affinity reagents of claim 1.
The identifying nucleotide sequence is flanked by a first amplifying nucleotide sequence and a second amplifying nucleotide sequence (20 bp boxes in the barcoded oligo).
The first barcoded index primer (index primer of Fig. 3) comprises a P7 sequence (universal sequence A) and a 20 bp sequence configured to anneal to the first amplifying nucleotide sequence of the barcode oligo.
The second barcoded index sequence (the primer 1 of Fig. 3) comprises a P5 sequence (universal sequence B) and a 20 bp sequence configured to anneal to the second amplifying nucleotide sequence.
Regarding claim 5, Brofelth teaches affinity reagents are antibodies. Specifically, the reference teaches 17 scFv antibodies (pg. 2, col. 2, par. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brofelth in view of Groff et al. (Biotechnol Adv. 2015 Dec;33(8):1787-98).
The teachings of Brofelth have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 6, Brofelth fails to teach the affinity reagents of the plurality are peptide aptamers or nucleic acid aptamers.
Regarding claim 6, Groff teaches Modern affinity reagents: Recombinant antibodies and aptamers (Title). Specifically, Groff teaches aptamers as alternative affinity reagents that are similar to antibodies in that they can bind to proteins (pg. 1791, col. 1, last par.) and can be used to detect and characterize their targets (pg. 1791, col. 2, par. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Brofelth, by employing nucleic acid aptamers as taught by Groff, as affinity reagents for detection of protein targets, as an obvious matter of simple substitution of one known affinity reagent (aptamers) for another (antibodies) to obtain predictable results.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because aptamers are known in the art as alternative affinity reagents to antibodies for detection of protein targets (Groff, pg. 1791, col. 1, last par. and col. 2, par. 2).
Subject Matter Free of the Prior Art
Claims 2-4 and 7 are free of the prior art.
The prior art neither teaches nor suggests: a primer of SEQ ID NO:204 (claim 2); a primer of SEQ ID NO:234 (claim 3); an identifying nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 and a barcode sequence of SEQ ID NO:4 (claim 4); and an identifying nucleotide sequence attached to an affinity reagent by a linker comprising a cleavable protein photocrosslinker or a fluorescent moiety (claim 7).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER ALEXANDROVIC VOLKOV/
Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/REBECCA M GIERE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677