DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on December 19, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 13-24 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365 is acknowledged. The prior-filed applications (PCT/US2021/070963 filed on July 27, 2021; and PRO 63/057494 filed on July 28, 2020) are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 30, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“a plurality of inertial measurement units (IMUs)” in claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 8.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof:
[0030] … an inertial measurement unit (e.g., containing at least a 3-axis accelerometer and a 3-axis gyroscope)…
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of claim 1 follows.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a wearable respiratory motion sensor system. Thus, the claim is directed to a product/machine, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The following limitations set forth a judicial exception:
“…compute three-dimensional displacements of a rib cage and an abdomen of the subject based on the generated accelerometer and gyroscope signals.”
These limitations describe a mathematical calculation. Furthermore, the limitations also describe a mental process as the skilled artisan is capable of performing the recited limitations and making a mental assessment thereafter. Examiner also notes that nothing from the claims suggest that the limitations cannot be practically performed by a human, or using simple pen/paper.
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, integrates the identified judicial exception into a practical application.
For this part of the 101 analysis, the following additional limitations are considered:
“A wearable respiratory motion sensor system, comprising: a plurality of inertial measurement units (IMUs) to be positioned on a subject and generate accelerometer and gyroscope signals; and a processor…”
These additional limitations do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Rather, the additional limitations are each recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity, i.e., mere data gathering steps necessary to perform the identified judicial exception do not integrate the claims into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The additional limitations also do not add significantly more to the identified judicial exception because they pertain to well-understood, routine, and conventional IMUs and a generically recited processor.
Dependent claims 2-12 also fail to add something more to the abstract independent claims as they merely further limit the abstract idea, recite limitations that do not integrate the claims into a practical application for substantially similar reasons as set forth above, and/or do not recite significantly more than the identified abstract idea for substantially similar reasons as set forth above.
Therefore, claims 1-12 are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(A)(1)
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2016/0038083) (hereinafter “Ding”).
Ding was cited in applicant’s IDS filed on March 30, 2023.
With respect to claim 1, Ding teaches a wearable respiratory motion sensor system (smart garment 10/200 depicted in Figs. 1-6), comprising: a plurality of inertial measurement units (IMUs) to be positioned on a subject and generate accelerometer and gyroscope signals (par.0037 “stretchable garments that includes… accelerometers and/or gyroscopes”; par.0061 “IMU 25a can include accelerometers, gyroscopes, magnetometers, or a combination thereof”); and a processor (microprocessor 22 in Fig. 2) to compute three-dimensional displacements of a rib cage and an abdomen of the subject based on the generated accelerometer and gyroscope signals (par.0142-0143 “sensing component [which par.0061 sets forth that IMU can be accelerometers, gyroscopes, etc.]… used to measure the contraction and expansion of the rib cage and chest cavity during breathing… used to determine breathing patterns”; see also par.0108 “3D displays”)
With respect to claim 2, Ding teaches wherein the IMUs are fixed directly to the rib cage and the abdomen of the subject (Figs. 2 and 6; par.0142-0143, 0146).
With respect to claim 3, Ding teaches wherein the IMUs are fixed to at least one wearable strap (Figs. 2 and 6).
With respect to claim 4, Ding teaches wherein the at least one wearable strap includes a first wearable strap configured to be worn around the rib cage of the subject, and a second wearable strap configured to be worn around the abdomen of the subject (Figs. 2 and 6; par.0142-0143, 0146).
With respect to claim 5, Ding teaches wherein the at least one wearable strap includes a first wearable strap configured to be worn around the upper rib cage of the subject, a second wearable strap configured to be worn around the lower rib cage of the subject, and a third wearable strap configured to be worn around the abdomen of the subject (Figs. 2 and 6; par.0066, 0069, 0139, 0140-0146).
With respect to claim 6, Ding teaches wherein the IMUs are configured to be fixed to the subject via at least one adhesive pad (Figs. 2 and 6; par.0146, 0149).
With respect to claim 7, Ding teaches wherein the at least one adhesive pad includes a first adhesive pad configured to fix a first one of the IMUs on the rib cage of the subject, and a second adhesive pad configured to fix a second one of the IMUs on the abdomen of the subject (Figs. 2 and 6; par.0143, 0146, 0149).
With respect to claim 8. Ding teaches wherein the at least one adhesive pad includes a first adhesive pad configured to fix a first one of the IMUs on the upper rib cage of the subject, a second adhesive pad configured to fix a second one of the IMUs on the lower rib cage of the subject, and a third adhesive pad configured to fix a third one of the IMUs on the abdomen of the subject (Figs. 2 and 6; par.0066, 0069, 0139-0149).
With respect to claim 9, Ding teaches wherein the processor is to use a signal processing method to remove an influence of sensor bias errors and an influence of gravity on the generated accelerometer and gyroscope signals (Figs. 2 and 6; par.0061-62, 0137, 0151).
With respect to claim 10, Ding teaches wherein the signal processing method includes compensation of a varying influence of gravity based on bending motions of the subject (Figs. 2 and 6; par.0061-62, 0146, 0188, 0202).
With respect to claim 11, Ding teaches wherein the processor is to compute tidal volume and respiratory rate associated with respiration based on the computed three-dimensional displacements (Figs. 2 and 6; par.0071, 0108, 0123, 0143).
With respect to claim 12, Ding teaches wherein the processor is to compute tidal volume based on the computed three-dimensional displacements using one of a transfer function, a finite impulse response (FIR) filter, or an infinite impulse response (IIR) filter (par.0070-71, 0108, 0123, 0137, 0143, 0191-0192, 0195, 0199-0201).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PUYA AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791