DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and certain species in the reply filed on 4/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 21-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ivanova et al (US 20050064467 A1).
Ivanova et al teach therapeutic cells comprising episomal expression vectors encoding a therapeutic gene of interest (e.g. an antibody) and a promoter with an S/MAR element upstream of the promoter. See the abstract, ¶’s [0011], [0020], [0092]-[0093], [0139] and Fig. 1B in particular. The S/MAR element nearest the EBP promoter in Fig. 1B is considered “upstream” of both the EBP promoter and the CMV promoter of the A1/A2 transgenes. The vectors may also include a marker, e.g., puromycin resistance (Fig. 1B). The cells may be mammalian, e.g. CHO or 293 (¶ [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanova et al (US 20050064467 A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 7, 11, 12 above, and further in view of Harbottle et al (WO 2019/057773, cited by applicants, 3/28/2019, US 2021/0403941 A1 is referenced below).
The teachings of Ivanova et al are as above and applied as before. Ivanova et al do not teach the use of T cell receptor (TCR) as a therapeutic transgene.
Harbottle et al teach the use of episomal S/MAR-comprising expression vectors, and cells comprising such, to deliver therapeutic TCRs in the treatment of disease. See the abstract, ¶’s [0011], [0023].
The claimed cells are essentially disclosed by Ivanova et al with the exception of the TCR transgene limitation. The ordinary skilled artisan, seeking to prepare therapeutic cells or compositions, would have been motivated to use a TCR transgene with the cells and vectors of Ivanova et al because Harbottle et al teaches them to be a well-known type of transgene that has utility for therapeutic T or NK cells. It would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to do this because of the known benefit of generating therapeutic cells and compositions for administration as taught by Ivanova and Harbottle et al. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivanova et al (US 20050064467 A1) and Harbottle et al (WO 2019/057773) as applied to claims 1-4, 7, 11, 12 above, and further in view of Xinxiang Medical (CN 107868781, cited by applicants, 4/3/2018).
The teachings of Ivanova and Harbottle et al are as above and applied as before. These references do not teach the use of S/MAR having at least 70% identity to SEQ ID NO: 3.
Xinxiang Medical teaches the use of an S/MAR element (SEQ ID NO: 2) having 83% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 3 for improving expression vectors in, e.g. CHO cells.
The claimed cells are essentially disclosed by Ivanova and Harbottle et al with the exception of the SEQ ID NO: 3 limitation. The ordinary skilled artisan, seeking to prepare therapeutic cells comprising expression vectors, would have been motivated to use SEQ ID NO: 2 of Xinxiang Medical with the cells and vectors of Ivanova and Harbottle et al because Xinxiang Medical teaches SEQ ID NO: 2 to be a well-known type of S/MAR that has utility for improving expression in CHO cells. It would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to do this because of the known benefit of generating therapeutic cells and compositions for administration as taught by Ivanova, Xinxiang Medical and Harbottle et al. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MICHAEL D BURKHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638