DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed August 13, 2026, which amends claims 1, 3, 8, and 10 and cancels claims 2, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 16. Claims 1, 3-8, and 10 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed August 13, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 11, 13, 15, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meng et al. (US 2011/0095273) as set forth in the Office action mailed May 28, 2026.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed August 13, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipanovic et al. (Journal of Labelled Compounds and Radiopharmaceuticals-Vol. XXIV, No. 6 pages 741-743) in view of Giles et al. (Tetrahedron Letters 2015, 56, 747-749) as set forth in the Office action mailed May 28, 2026.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed August 13, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 2 and 9 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 17/779,920 as set forth in the Office action mailed May 28, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stipanovic et al. (Journal of Labelled Compounds and Radiopharmaceuticals-Vol. XXIV, No. 6 pages 741-743) (hereafter “Stipanovic”) in view of Giles et al. (Tetrahedron Letters 2015, 56, 747-749) (hereafter “Giles”) and Prechtl et al. (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2007, 46, 2269–2272) (hereafter “Prechtl”).
Regarding claims 1, 3-8, and 10, Stipanovic teaches the method of deuterating an aromatic compound by using the acid exchange method (page 741 summary). Stipanovic teaches that the to perform the acid exchange method, the aromatic compound is in a solution with heavy water, trifluoroacetic acid (catalyst), and tetrahydrofuran (THF) as the solvent and the solution is heated to 75 C (page 741 summary).
Stipanovic does not teach where the solution contains an anhydride which is a compound that could be hydrolyzed by the heavy water and where the temperature of the reaction is between 80 C and 150 C.
Giles teaches a method of deuterating aromatic compound using a deuterated trifluoroacetic acid exchange method (page 747 second and third paragraphs). Giles teaches that deuterated trifluoroacetic acid can be prepared quantitatively from trifluoroacetic anhydride and heavy water in essentially anhydrous fashion (page 747 third paragraph). Giles teaches that the acid catalyzed method can be done at a temperature between 80 C and 150 C, such as 110 C (page 748 Scheme 1).
Prechtl teaches a method of deuterating aromatic compounds using a deuterium/hydrogen exchange reaction where heavy water is the deuterium source (Title and page 2270 left column Scheme 3). Prechtl teaches that solvent used for the reaction is cyclohexane (page 2270 left column Scheme 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stipanovic to replace trifluoroacetic acid with trifluoracetic anhydride as taught by Giles. The motivation would have been to do in the reaction in essentially an anhydrous fashion.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to increase the reaction temperature in the method of Stipanovic to a temperature between 80 C and 150 C, such as 110 C as taught by Giles. Since Giles teaches acid catalyzed exchange reactions can occur at 110 C it would have been obvious to try to increase the reaction temperature to find the best reaction temperature to perform the reaction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to solvent used for the exchange reaction of Stipanovic, THF, with cyclohexane, as taught by Prechtl. The substitution would have been solvent for deuterium/hydrogen exchange reaction where heavy water is used as the deuterium source for another solvent. One ordinary skill in the art would expect that cyclohexane can be used as a solvent for the reaction with aromatic compounds.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-6, 8 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-11 of copending Application No. 17/779,920 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are copending Application No. 17/779,920 are a species of the claimed invention and anticipated the claims of the instant application.
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/779,920 corresponds to claims 1 and 4 of the instant application.
Claim 3 of copending Application No. 17/779,920 corresponds to claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 5 of copending Application No. 17/779,920 corresponds to claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of copending Application No. 17/779,920 corresponds to claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 8 of copending Application No. 17/779,920 corresponds to claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim 10 of copending Application No. 17/779,920 corresponds to claim 11 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759