Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,4-11,13-15 and 17-20 have been
considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-11,13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EBRAHIM REZAGAH et al. (US 2022/0224457 A1; hereinafter "EBRAHIM REZAGAH"), in view of SELVANESAN et al. (US 2023/0171036 A1; hereinafter “SELVANESAN”), in view of MOON et al. (US 2022/0255680 A1; hereinafter “MOON”), and further in view of Young et al. (US 2021/0306103 A1; hereinafter “Young”).
Regarding claim 1, EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches an operation method of a transmitting terminal (FIG. 4 TX UE) in a communication system ([0288] a method for operating a user device in a wireless communication system), the operation method comprising:
transmitting first data to a receiving terminal (FIG. 4 RX UE) based on a first retransmission scheme ([0057] by the TX UE for the transmission (as well as retransmissions) of a packet to the RX UE, [0067] in the case of HARQ-based retransmissions, the base station has the added responsibility of assigning PUCCH resources to the TX UE so that it can inform the base station of the status (ACK/NACK) of a given transmission, [0098] in case the frequency location or subchannel of the initial transmission and the one or more retransmissions are the same);
transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) to the receiving terminal ([0065] The TX UE uses the resource information to send a sidelink control information (SCI) to the RX UE), the SCI including a first indicator indicating switching of a retransmission scheme ([0069] The TX UE is responsible for deciding whether the packet requires HARQ feedback or blind retransmissions, [0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions) and a second indicator ([0153] ACK or the explicit indication) indicating whether to reuse or release the resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme ([0234]-[0235] a second indicator in the form of a positive ACK governs whether a resource reserved for a first retransmission scheme is reused or released, in that upon reception of the positive ACK the TX UE stops transmitting further SCIs and the base station stops sending further DCIs for the packet); and
transmitting second data to the receiving terminal based on a second retransmission scheme initiated by the SCI ([0065] The TX UE uses the resource information to send a SCI to the RX UE to provide information regarding the resources where it can receive the transmission, [0066] multiple SCIs would be needed to inform the TX UE (and subsequently the RX UE) about the resources to be used for the retransmissions), ([0064] In the case of blind retransmissions, the base station will not provide information regarding the resources to be used for HARQ feedback, [0473] in case unexpected traffic arrives before a certain time before the HARQ-ACK for a HARQ-less transmission is reported to the base station, and the TX UE needs more resources, to be configured to reuse the HARQ-ACK feedback for a blind retransmission as a scheduling request, SR. e.g., by transmitting a NACK for the blind transmission in case more resources are required),
wherein the first retransmission scheme and the second retransmission scheme are distinguished according to whether a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is transmitted ([0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions).
However, EBRAHIM REZAGAH does not teach transmitting first data to a receiving terminal based on a first retransmission scheme using a resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme; based on the second indicator indicating reuse of the reserved resource, reusing the resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme, wherein based on the second indicator indicating release of the reserved resource, a retransmission procedure according to the second retransmission scheme is performed using a resource allocated by the SCI, and wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number.
In an analogous art, SELVANESAN teaches transmitting first data to a receiving terminal based on a first retransmission scheme (FIG. 19 step 1; [0461] The TX UE 402 sends over the sidelink connection 406 a request to the relay UE 400) using a resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme ([0329] the TX UE has assigned or allocated a set of PSFCH resources to be used by the relay UE to provide feedback);
based on the second indicator indicating reuse of the reserved resource ([0329] instead of using these resources for transmitting the status of the transmission from the TX UE to the relay node, they are used for reporting the status of the transmission from the relay node to the RX UE), transmitting second data to the receiving terminal based on a second retransmission scheme initiated by the SCI (FIG. 19 step 5; [0467] The TX UE 402 sends over the first sidelink connection 406 the SCI and the data of the transmission to the relay node 400 using the resources received in the assistance information message (AIM) or by combining resources indicated in the AIM with resources obtained by sensing), reusing the resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme ([0330] the resources on the PUCCH or PUSCH initially allocated for the relay UE are used for reporting the feedback, the overall feedback, from the RX UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SCI as taught by SELVANESAN within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide sidelink enhancement that improves a reliability for a transmission (SELVANESAN [0068]).
However, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH and SELVANESAN does not teach wherein based on the second indicator indicating release of the reserved resource, a retransmission procedure according to the second retransmission scheme is performed using a resource allocated by the SCI, and wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number.
In an analogous art, MOON teaches wherein based on the second indicator ([0125] ACK or separate signaling) indicating release of the reserved resource, a retransmission procedure according to the second retransmission scheme is performed using a resource allocated by the SCI (FIG. 7; [0120] disclose that the source terminal transmits a retransmission PSSCH to a target terminal together with a sidelink control information (SCI) including resource allocation and scheduling information for the retransmission PSSCH, [0125] discloses that, upon reception of an ACK or separate signaling, the target terminal assumes that a reserved resource for PSSCH retransmission has been released).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PSSCH retransmission as taught by MOON within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH and SELVANESAN. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reception performance and transmission delay time for an efficient signal method (MOON [0111]).
However, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN and MOON does not teach wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number.
In an analogous art, Young teaches wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number ([0045] discloses partial retransmission mode and total retransmission mode, [0077] discloses switching modes based on a threshold number of NACKs, including a threshold number of NACKs in a given time period of a threshold number of NACKs in a row).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NACKs as taught by Young within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN and MOON. One would have been motivated to do so in order to decrease or minimize data loss with all devices receiving the relevant packets (Young [0074]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches wherein the second indicator indicates a position of the reserved resource as well as reuse of the reserved resource ([0098] the resource location indication includes explicit time and frequency locations of the transmissions and/or one or more retransmissions, wherein, in case the frequency location or subchannel of the initial transmission and the one or more retransmissions are the same, the resource location indication includes at least one of: [0099] a bitmap indicating the time slots in which the retransmissions occur, [0473] reuse the HARQ-ACK feedback for a blind retransmission as a scheduling request, SR).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically SELVANESAN teaches wherein the SCI includes first-stage SCI and second-stage SCI ([0498] the control information comprising a 1.sup.st stage and/or a 2.sup.nd stage sidelink control information, SCI), the second indicator is included in the second-stage SCI when the first indicator is included in the first-stage SCI ([0500] a 1.sup.st stage SCI is provided including one or more additional parameters indicating whether the transmission is a first transmission or a second transmission, [0506] first destination information indicating the UE and second destination information indicating the receiving entity), and the second indicator is included in the first-stage SCI when the first indicator is included in the second-stage SCI ([0501] a 2.sup.nd stage SCI is provided including one or more parameters modified for indicating whether the transmission is a first transmission or a second transmission, [0506] first destination information indicating the UE and second destination information indicating the receiving entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SCI as taught by SELVANESAN within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide sidelink enhancement that improves a reliability for a transmission (SELVANESAN [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches wherein the first indicator is represented by a HARQ feedback enable/disable indicator included in second-stage SCI ([0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions, [0109] explicit and includes an explicit parameter indicating whether the packet to be transmitted uses HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions, [0173] wherein, responsive to the common DCI, the TX UE is expected to send the single SCI as an SCI comprising at least two stages).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically SELVANESAN teaches wherein the second indicator is represented by a backward indicator included in first-stage SCI ([0276] the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message, like Sidelink Control Information (SCI), and the data to the relaying entity using the resources, [0468] In FIG. 5, The relay node 400 sends over the first sidelink connection 406 to the TX UE 402 a HARQ feedback, FBI , indicating the status of the transmission from the TX UE 402 to the relay UE 400), ([0277] the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity, [0473] The relay UE 400 reports over the sidelink connection 406 the feedback received from the RX UE 404 to the TX UE 402).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink connection as taught by SELVANESAN within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide sidelink enhancement that improves a reliability for a transmission (SELVANESAN [0068]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches wherein when a retransmission operation of the first data is performed using second-stage SCI without first-stage SCI ([0070] For blind retransmissions, the TX UE would simply have to inform the RX UE via SCIs about the resources used for the (re)transmission of the packets, [0173] the TX UE is expected to send the single SCI as an SCI comprising at least two stages), a type of the SCI initiating the second retransmission scheme is second-stage SCI ([0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions including the second-stage SCI; [0173]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young specifically EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches wherein the reserved resource does not exist or wherein a retransmission operation of the first data is performed using first-stage SCI and second stage-SCI ([0070] based on the agreement that an SCI can contain only [2, 3 or 4] retransmission resource locations, multiple SCIs would be required if the total number of retransmissions (maximum 32) exceeds the number of retransmission resources that can be specified in an SCI, [0173] the TX UE is expected to send the single SCI as an SCI comprising at least two stages),
a type of the SCI initiating the second retransmission scheme is first-stage SCI ([0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions, [0109] explicit and includes an explicit parameter indicating whether the packet to be transmitted uses HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions including the first-stage SCI; [0173]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches wherein the second retransmission scheme is a blind retransmission scheme when the first retransmission scheme is a HARQ retransmission scheme ([0070] For blind retransmissions, the TX UE would simply have to inform the RX UE via SCIs about the resources used for the (re)transmission, [0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions, [0109] explicit and includes an explicit parameter indicating whether the packet to be transmitted uses HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions),
the second retransmission scheme is the HARQ retransmission scheme when the first retransmission scheme is the blind retransmission scheme ([0071] For HARQ-retransmissions, the TX UE can follow the same procedure as described for Mode 1 previously, [0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions, [0109] explicit and includes an explicit parameter indicating whether the packet to be transmitted uses HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions),
a HARQ feedback is transmitted when the HARQ retransmission scheme is used ([0067] In the case of HARQ-based retransmissions, assigning PUCCH resources to the TX UE so that it can inform the base station of the status (ACK/NACK) of a given transmission), and
a HARQ feedback is not transmitted when the blind retransmission scheme is used ([0064] In the case of blind retransmissions, the base station will not provide information regarding the resources to be used for HARQ feedback).
Regarding claim 11, EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches an operation method of a transmitting terminal (FIG. 4 TX UE) in a communication system ([0288] a method for operating a user device in a wireless communication system), the operation method comprising:
transmitting first data to a receiving terminal (FIG. 4 RX UE) based on a first retransmission scheme ([0057] by the TX UE for the transmission (as well as retransmissions) of a packet to the RX UE, [0067] in the case of HARQ-based retransmissions, the base station has the added responsibility of assigning PUCCH resources to the TX UE so that it can inform the base station of the status (ACK/NACK) of a given transmission, [0098] in case the frequency location or subchannel of the initial transmission and the one or more retransmissions are the same);
transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) to the receiving terminal ([0065] The TX UE uses the resource information to send a sidelink control information (SCI) to the RX UE), the SCI including an indicator ([0153] ACK or the explicit indication) indicating whether to reuse or release the resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme ([0234]-[0235] a second indicator in the form of a positive ACK governs whether a resource reserved for a first retransmission scheme is reused or released, in that upon reception of the positive ACK the TX UE stops transmitting further SCIs and the base station stops sending further DCIs for the packet); and
transmitting second data to the receiving terminal based on a second retransmission scheme initiated by the SCI ([0065] The TX UE uses the resource information to send a SCI to the RX UE to provide information regarding the resources where it can receive the transmission, [0066] multiple SCIs would be needed to inform the TX UE (and subsequently the RX UE) about the resources to be used for the retransmissions), ([0064] In the case of blind retransmissions, the base station will not provide information regarding the resources to be used for HARQ feedback, [0473] in case unexpected traffic arrives before a certain time before the HARQ-ACK for a HARQ-less transmission is reported to the base station, and the TX UE needs more resources, to be configured to reuse the HARQ-ACK feedback for a blind retransmission as a scheduling request, SR. e.g., by transmitting a NACK for the blind transmission in case more resources are required),
wherein the first retransmission scheme and the second retransmission scheme are distinguished according to whether a hybrid automatic repeat request 25 (HARQ) feedback is transmitted ([0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions).
However, EBRAHIM REZAGAH does not teach using a resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme; based on the second indicator indicating reuse of the reserved resource, reusing the resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme, and wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number.
In an analogous art, SELVANESAN teaches transmitting first data to a receiving terminal based on a first retransmission scheme (FIG. 19 step 1; [0461] The TX UE 402 sends over the sidelink connection 406 a request to the relay UE 400) using a resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme ([0329] the TX UE has assigned or allocated a set of PSFCH resources to be used by the relay UE to provide feedback);
based on the second indicator indicating reuse of the reserved resource ([0329] instead of using these resources for transmitting the status of the transmission from the TX UE to the relay node, they are used for reporting the status of the transmission from the relay node to the RX UE), transmitting second data to the receiving terminal based on a second retransmission scheme initiated by the SCI (FIG. 19 step 5; [0467] The TX UE 402 sends over the first sidelink connection 406 the SCI and the data of the transmission to the relay node 400 using the resources received in the assistance information message (AIM) or by combining resources indicated in the AIM with resources obtained by sensing), reusing the resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme ([0330] the resources on the PUCCH or PUSCH initially allocated for the relay UE are used for reporting the feedback, the overall feedback, from the RX UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SCI as taught by SELVANESAN within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide sidelink enhancement that improves a reliability for a transmission (SELVANESAN [0068]).
However, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH and SELVANESAN does not teach wherein based on the second indicator indicating release of the reserved resource, a retransmission procedure according to the second retransmission scheme is performed using a resource allocated by the SCI, and wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number.
In an analogous art, MOON teaches wherein based on the second indicator ([0125] ACK or separate signaling) indicating release of the reserved resource, a retransmission procedure according to the second retransmission scheme is performed using a resource allocated by the SCI (FIG. 7; [0120] disclose that the source terminal transmits a retransmission PSSCH to a target terminal together with a sidelink control information (SCI) including resource allocation and scheduling information for the retransmission PSSCH, [0125] discloses that, upon reception of an ACK or separate signaling, the target terminal assumes that a reserved resource for PSSCH retransmission has been released).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PSSCH retransmission as taught by MOON within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH and SELVANESAN. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reception performance and transmission delay time for an efficient signal method (MOON [0111]).
However, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN and MOON does not teach wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number.
In an analogous art, Young teaches wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number ([0045] discloses partial retransmission mode and total retransmission mode, [0077] discloses switching modes based on a threshold number of NACKs, including a threshold number of NACKs in a given time period of a threshold number of NACKs in a row).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NACKs as taught by Young within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN and MOON. One would have been motivated to do so in order to decrease or minimize data loss with all devices receiving the relevant packets (Young [0074]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches wherein the indicator indicates a position of the reserved resource as well as reuse of the reserved resource ([0098] the resource location indication includes explicit time and frequency locations of the transmissions and/or one or more retransmissions, wherein, in case the frequency location or subchannel of the initial transmission and the one or more retransmissions are the same, the resource location indication includes at least one of: [0099] a bitmap indicating the time slots in which the retransmissions occur, [0473] reuse the HARQ-ACK feedback for a blind retransmission as a scheduling request, SR).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically SELVANESAN teaches wherein the SCI includes first- stage SCI and second-stage SCI ([0498] the control information comprising a 1.sup.st stage and/or a 2.sup.nd stage sidelink control information, SCI), and
the indicator is represented by a backward indicator included in the first-stage SCI ([0276] the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message, like Sidelink Control Information (SCI), and the data to the relaying entity using the resources, [0468] In FIG. 5, The relay node 400 sends over the first sidelink connection 406 to the TX UE 402 a HARQ feedback, FBI , indicating the status of the transmission from the TX UE 402 to the relay UE 400), ([0277] the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity, [0473] The relay UE 400 reports over the sidelink connection 406 the feedback received from the RX UE 404 to the TX UE 402).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink connection as taught by SELVANESAN within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide sidelink enhancement that improves a reliability for a transmission (SELVANESAN [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches an operation method of a receiving terminal (FIG. 4 RX UE) in a communication system ([0288] a method for operating a user device in a wireless communication system), the operation method comprising:
receiving first data from a transmitting terminal (FIG. 4 TX UE) based on a first retransmission scheme ([0057] by the TX UE for the transmission (as well as retransmissions) of a packet to the RX UE, [0067] in the case of HARQ-based retransmissions, the base station has the added responsibility of assigning PUCCH resources to the TX UE so that it can inform the base station of the status (ACK/NACK) of a given transmission, [0098] in case the frequency location or subchannel of the initial transmission and the one or more retransmissions are the same);
receiving sidelink control information (SCI) from the transmitting terminal ([0065] The TX UE uses the resource information to send a sidelink control information (SCI) to the RX UE), the SCI including a first indicator indicating switching of a retransmission scheme ([0069] The TX UE is responsible for deciding whether the packet requires HARQ feedback or blind retransmissions, [0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions) and a second indicator ([0153] ACK or the explicit indication) indicating whether to reuse or release the resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme ([0234]-[0235] a second indicator in the form of a positive ACK governs whether a resource reserved for a first retransmission scheme is reused or released, in that upon reception of the positive ACK the TX UE stops transmitting further SCIs and the base station stops sending further DCIs for the packet); and
receiving second data from the transmitting terminal based on a second retransmission scheme initiated by the SCI ([0065] The TX UE uses the resource information to send a SCI to the RX UE to provide information regarding the resources where it can receive the transmission, [0066] multiple SCIs would be needed to inform the TX UE (and subsequently the RX UE) about the resources to be used for the retransmissions), ([0064] In the case of blind retransmissions, the base station will not provide information regarding the resources to be used for HARQ feedback, [0473] in case unexpected traffic arrives before a certain time before the HARQ-ACK for a HARQ-less transmission is reported to the base station, and the TX UE needs more resources, to be configured to reuse the HARQ-ACK feedback for a blind retransmission as a scheduling request, SR. e.g., by transmitting a NACK for the blind transmission in case more resources are required),
wherein the first retransmission scheme and the second retransmission scheme are distinguished according to whether a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is transmitted ([0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions).
However, EBRAHIM REZAGAH does not teach transmitting first data to a receiving terminal based on a first retransmission scheme using a resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme; based on the second indicator indicating reuse of the reserved resource, reusing the resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme, and wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number.
In an analogous art, SELVANESAN teaches transmitting first data to a receiving terminal based on a first retransmission scheme (FIG. 19 step 1; [0461] The TX UE 402 sends over the sidelink connection 406 a request to the relay UE 400) using a resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme ([0329] the TX UE has assigned or allocated a set of PSFCH resources to be used by the relay UE to provide feedback);
based on the second indicator indicating reuse of the reserved resource ([0329] instead of using these resources for transmitting the status of the transmission from the TX UE to the relay node, they are used for reporting the status of the transmission from the relay node to the RX UE), transmitting second data to the receiving terminal based on a second retransmission scheme initiated by the SCI (FIG. 19 step 5; [0467] The TX UE 402 sends over the first sidelink connection 406 the SCI and the data of the transmission to the relay node 400 using the resources received in the assistance information message (AIM) or by combining resources indicated in the AIM with resources obtained by sensing), reusing the resource reserved for the first retransmission scheme ([0330] the resources on the PUCCH or PUSCH initially allocated for the relay UE are used for reporting the feedback, the overall feedback, from the RX UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SCI as taught by SELVANESAN within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide sidelink enhancement that improves a reliability for a transmission (SELVANESAN [0068]).
However, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH and SELVANESAN does not teach based on the second indicator indicating release of the reserved resource, the second data is received through a resource allocated by the SCI, and wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number.
In an analogous art, MOON teaches based on the second indicator ([0125] ACK or separate signaling) indicating release of the reserved resource, the second data is received through a resource allocated by the SCI (FIG. 7; [0120] disclose that the source terminal transmits a retransmission PSSCH to a target terminal together with a sidelink control information (SCI) including resource allocation and scheduling information for the retransmission PSSCH, [0125] upon reception of an ACK or separate signaling, the target terminal assumes that a reserved resource for PSSCH retransmission has been released).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PSSCH retransmission as taught by MOON within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH and SELVANESAN. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the reception performance and transmission delay time for an efficient signal method (MOON [0111]).
However, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN and MOON does not teach wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number.
In an analogous art, Young teaches wherein the first retransmission scheme is switched to the second retransmission scheme based on a number of negative acknowledgements (NACKs) for the first data reaching a predetermined number ([0045] discloses partial retransmission mode and total retransmission mode, [0077] discloses switching modes based on a threshold number of NACKs, including a threshold number of NACKs in a given time period of a threshold number of NACKs in a row).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NACKs as taught by Young within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN and MOON. One would have been motivated to do so in order to decrease or minimize data loss with all devices receiving the relevant packets (Young [0074]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically SELVANESAN teaches wherein the SCI includes first-stage SCI and second-stage SCI ([0498] the control information comprising a 1.sup.st stage and/or a 2.sup.nd stage sidelink control information, SCI), the second indicator is included in the second-stage SCI when the first indicator is included in the first-stage SCI ([0500] a 1.sup.st stage SCI is provided including one or more additional parameters indicating whether the transmission is a first transmission or a second transmission, [0506] first destination information indicating the UE and second destination information indicating the receiving entity), and the second indicator is included in the first-stage SCI when the first indicator is included in the second-stage SCI ([0501] a 2.sup.nd stage SCI is provided including one or more parameters modified for indicating whether the transmission is a first transmission or a second transmission, [0506] first destination information indicating the UE and second destination information indicating the receiving entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a SCI as taught by SELVANESAN within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide sidelink enhancement that improves a reliability for a transmission (SELVANESAN [0068]).
Regarding claim 18, EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches wherein the first indicator is represented by a HARQ feedback enable/disable indicator included in second-stage SCI ([0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions, [0109] explicit and includes an explicit parameter indicating whether the packet to be transmitted uses HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions, [0173] wherein, responsive to the common DCI, the TX UE is expected to send the single SCI as an SCI comprising at least two stages).
However, EBRAHIM REZAGAH does not teach wherein the second indicator is represented by a backward indicator included in first-stage SCI.
In an analogous art, the combination of SELVANESAN and MOON, specifically SELVANESAN teaches wherein the second indicator is represented by a backward indicator included in first-stage SCI ([0276] the transmitting entity is to send a sidelink control message, like Sidelink Control Information (SCI), and the data to the relaying entity using the resources, [0468] In FIG. 5, The relay node 400 sends over the first sidelink connection 406 to the TX UE 402 a HARQ feedback, FBI , indicating the status of the transmission from the TX UE 402 to the relay UE 400), ([0277] the relaying entity is to send a HARQ feedback to the transmitting entity, [0473] The relay UE 400 reports over the sidelink connection 406 the feedback received from the RX UE 404 to the TX UE 402).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink connection as taught by SELVANESAN within the system of EBRAHIM REZAGAH. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide sidelink enhancement that improves a reliability for a transmission (SELVANESAN [0068]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches wherein when a retransmission operation of the first data is performed using second-stage SCI without first-stage SCI ([0070] For blind retransmissions, the TX UE would simply have to inform the RX UE via SCIs about the resources used for the (re)transmission of the packets, [0173] the TX UE is expected to send the single SCI as an SCI comprising at least two stages), a type of the SCI initiating the second retransmission scheme is second-stage SCI ([0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions including the second-stage SCI; [0173]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of EBRAHIM REZAGAH, SELVANESAN, MOON and Young, specifically EBRAHIM REZAGAH teaches wherein the reserved resource does not exist or wherein a retransmission operation of the first data is performed using first-stage SCI and second stage-SCI ([0070] based on the agreement that an SCI can contain only [2, 3 or 4] retransmission resource locations, multiple SCIs would be required if the total number of retransmissions (maximum 32) exceeds the number of retransmission resources that can be specified in an SCI, [0173] the TX UE is expected to send the single SCI as an SCI comprising at least two stages), a type of the SCI initiating the second retransmission scheme is first-stage SCI ([0105] a retransmission type indication indicating whether the one or more retransmissions over the sidelink are HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions, [0109] explicit and includes an explicit parameter indicating whether the packet to be transmitted uses HARQ-based retransmissions or blind retransmissions including the first-stage SCI; [0173]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0078753 A1 (PARK et al.) discloses a resource allocation method for transmitting and receiving a sidelink signal, and a device for the same.
US 2022/0210802 A1 (HWANG et al.) discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system supporting multi-transport block scheduling.
US 2023/0179343 A1 (NAVRÁTIL et al.) discloses systems and/or methods for optimizing aggregated feedback frequencies.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413