DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received April 7, 2026 have been entered into the record. Currently, claims 1 and 5-6 are amended; claims 2, 4, and 18 are cancelled; and claims 7-12 and 19 are withdrawn; resulting in claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 13-17 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho, et al. (WO 2019/066369 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches a carbon-sulfur composite including a carbonized metal-organic framework (MOF) and a sulfur compound introduced to at least a part of an outside surface and an inside of the carbonized metal-organic framework (¶ [0013], Ln. 1-4). As Cho teaches that the carbonized metal-organic framework is combined with sulfur and heated such that the sulfur compound may impregnate the carbonized metal-organic framework (¶ [0045], Ln. 1-4), there would be a higher content of sulfur-carbon composite on the outside surface of the carbonized metal-organic framework. In this case, the sulfur-carbon composite (sulfur-doped second MOF) on at least a part of the outside surface of the carbonized metal-organic framework is the shell of the particle, with the remaining carbonized metal-organic framework (first MOF) being the core. Cho further teaches that the carbonized metal-organic framework may have a pore volume of 0.1 cc/g to 10 cc/g, further specifying that the preferred pore volume is 2.2 cc/g to 3.0 cc/g, and even more preferably 2.2 cc/g to 2.5 cc/g, within the claimed range of 1.5 cc/g to 4.5 cc/g (¶ [0030], Ln. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the carbonized metal-organic framework may have a specific surface area of 1000 m2/g to 4000 m2/g, further specifying that the preferred specific surface area is 1500 m2/g to 3000 m2/g, and even more preferably 2000 m2/g to 2500 m2/g, within the claimed range of 1500 m2/g to 3000 m2/g (¶ [0029], Ln. 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the metal of the metal-organic framework may be selected from the group consisting of copper (Cu), zinc (Zn), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), chromium (Cr), scandium (Sc), cobalt (Co), titanium (Ti),manganese (Mn), vanadium (V), aluminum (Al), magnesium (Mg), gallium (Ga), and indium (In) (¶ [0026], Ln. 1-5). Specifically, Example 1 uses zinc (¶ [0086], Ln. 1), such that zinc is the metal ion of the first MOF and second MOF.
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the ligand of the metal-organic framework may be selected from the group consisting of 1,4-benzenedicarboxylate (BDC), 1,3,5-benzenetricarboxlate (BTC), 1,1'-biphenyl-3,3',5,5'-tetracarboxylate (BPTC), and 2-(N,N,N',N'-tetrakis(4-carboxyphenyl)-biphenyl-4,4'-diamine (TCBTDA) (¶ [0026], Ln. 6-9). Specifically, Example 1 uses 1,4-benzenedicarboxylate (consisting of a carboxylate) (¶ [0086], Ln. 1), such that the ligand of the first MOF and second MOF comprises a carboxylate group.
Regarding claims 13 and 16-17, Cho teaches that the carbon-sulfur composite meeting the limitations of claims 1-4 above is used as a positive electrode active material of a lithium secondary battery, preferably a lithium-sulfur battery (¶ [0055], Ln. 1-3).
Regarding claim 14, Cho teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above and further teaches that the lithium-sulfur battery includes sulfur as a positive electrode active material (¶ [0056], Ln. 1). As a sulfur-carbon composite is formed, the carbon acts a sulfur carrier.
Regarding claim 15, Cho teaches that the positive electrode meeting the limitations of claim 13 above is used in a lithium secondary battery including the positive electrode, a negative electrode, a separator provided between the positive electrode and negative electrode, and an electrolyte including a lithium salt and an organic solvent (¶ [0070], Ln. 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, et al. (CN 110212194 A) in view of Cho, et al. (WO 2019/066369 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Cui teaches a porous carbon@nitrogen-doped porous carbon core-shell structure using a one-dimensional MOF@ZIF core-shell structure (¶ [0027], Ln. 1-2), further teaching that the MOF of the core is preferably one of Co-BTC, Zn/Co-BTC, or Zn/Co-MOF-74 (¶ [0013], Ln. 1-2). Thus, Cui teaches a porous carbon structure with a core comprising a first MOF (Co-BTC, Zn/Co-BTC, or Zn/Co-MOF-74) and a shell comprising a second MOF (ZIF), wherein the shell is doped with nitrogen. Cui does not expressly teach the pore volume of the porous carbon core-shell structure, and thus does not expressly teach that the pore volume is 1.5 cc/g to 4.5 cc/g.
Cho teaches a carbon-sulfur composite including a carbonized metal-organic framework (MOF) and a sulfur compound introduced to at least a part of an outside surface and an inside of the carbonized metal-organic framework (¶ [0013], Ln. 1-4). Cho teaches that the carbonized metal organic framework has a preferred pore volume is 2.2 cc/g to 3.0 cc/g, and even more preferably 2.2 cc/g to 2.5 cc/g (¶ [0030], Ln. 1-3). Cho teaches that this pore volume provides enough space for sulfur to be introduced without decreasing specific surface area (¶ [0030], Ln. 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pore volume of the porous carbon core-shell structure of Cui to have a pore volume of 2.2 cc/g to 2.5 cc/g based on the teachings of Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the porous carbon structures have similar roles in electrodes of lithium batteries and would find it obvious to look to the teachings of Cho for pore volume. Further, while Cui teaches doping the structure with nitrogen and Cho teaches introducing sulfur, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that nitrogen and sulfur are similar in size, and would find it obvious to apply the teaching to the porous carbon core-shell structure of Cui. One would be motivated to include this pore volume in order to provide enough space for nitrogen doping without decreasing specific surface area.
Regarding claim 5, Cui in view of Cho teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. ZIF includes zinc ions and the options for the core MOF (Co-BTC, Zn/Co-BTC, or Zn/Co-MOF-74) include cobalt and/or zinc ions.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
The previous rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends is overcome by Applicant’s cancellation of claim 4 in the response filed April 7, 2026.
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
In light of the Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to limit the pore volume of the porous carbon structure, the previous rejections of claims 1 and 4-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Cui, et al. (CN 110212194 A) have been overcome, however, upon further consideration, the reference is applicable under 35 U.S.C. 103 and used in combination with Cho, et al. (WO 2019/066369 A2) in the rejections above. Any arguments with respect to the reference that are still deemed valid will be addressed herein.
Applicant's arguments filed April 7, 2026 with respect to Cho, et al. (WO 2019/066369 A2) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, see pages 8-9 of the remarks, that the claimed invention requires two separate MOF structures with different elemental compositions forming a hierarchical arrangement and that Cho does not teach a core-shell structure comprising two distinct MOFs. This argument is not persuasive. In response to the Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a hierarchical structure) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). While it is acknowledged that paragraph [0034] of the instant specification defines a hierarchical structure as “a structure in which a shell is formed in the form of a separate layer on a core in a porous carbon structure having a core-shell structure,” the specification does not further indicate a core-shell structure must be hierarchical and the claim similarly does not require a hierarchical structure. As Cho teaches that the carbonized metal-organic framework is combined with sulfur and heated such that the sulfur compound may impregnate the carbonized metal-organic framework (¶ [0045], Ln. 1-4), there would be a higher content of sulfur-carbon composite on the outside surface of the carbonized metal-organic framework. In this case, the sulfur-carbon composite having a higher content of sulfur on at least a part of the outside surface of the carbonized metal-organic framework is the shell of the particle, with the remaining carbonized metal-organic framework being the core.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785