DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-18, 20 and 36-38 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. In light of the amendments to claims 18 and 20, the claim objections of claims 18 and 20 are withdrawn. The Examiner suggests for claim 18 replacing “the wireless device’s paging probability” with “a paging probability of the wireless device”.
3. Regarding claim 1, on pages 7-8, the applicant argues that Ma does not disclose “transmitting the paging message to the wireless device after transmitting the paging indication.”
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response. Ma Fig. 8 and Fig. 9 discloses corresponding the transmission and reception of paging messaging between the base station and mobile terminal. Ma Fig. 8 and Fig. 9 [0123]-[0129], [0291]-[0294], [0312]-[0315] disclose at steps 800 and 900 the base station transmitting (the wireless terminal receiving) a paging indication information associated with a paging operation. At steps 802 and 902, transmitting (by the base station to the wireless terminal) the paging related information based on the paging indication information. The transmitting steps are performed by the base station. Step 902 (transmitting the paging related information based on the paging indication information) is performed after step 900 (transmitting a paging indication information associated with a paging operation.) Ma Fig. 9 [0132]-[0315] is cited for further clarification of the rejection. Listing the additional sections of Ma does not constitute a new grounds of rejection for claim 1.
Instant Application – claim 1 limitation
Ma et al, US 2022/0369283
Transmitting the paging indication
Transmitting a paging indication information associated with a paging operation
Transmitting the paging message to the wireless device
Transmitting the paging related information based on the paging indication information
4. Claim 18 has been amended to include “wherein the control signaling comprises one or more of: a range of paging probabilities associated with each paging group, paging probability thresholds associated with each paging group, and traffic characteristics associated with each paging group.” Kim et al, US 2023/0134552 [0257], [0263], [0276], [0282] discloses the configuration information comprises paging probability thresholds associated with each terminal group set.
5. Regarding claim 36, on page 9, the applicant argues that Kim fails to teach monitoring an occasion for a paging indication indicative of the determined paging group to prepare the wireless device for receiving a paging message and in response to detecting the paging indication indicative of the determined paging group, receiving, from the RAN node, the paging message.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response. The Applicant did not address the teachings of Kim Fig. 20, Fig. 21, Fig. 22, [0257], [0259], [0287] relied on in the rejection the argued limitations.
Kim discloses “[0257] The terminal may compare a monitored WUS with a WUS assigned to a group to which the terminal belongs. When the terminal has discovered its own WUS, the terminal may monitor a corresponding PO, and otherwise, may not monitor the PO” which corresponds to “monitoring, an occasion for a paging indication indicative of the determined paging group” in claim 36.
Kim [0255] discloses “When the terminal has observed a WUS, the terminal may monitor the PO to receive a paging message” which corresponds to “and in response to detecting the paging indication indicative of the determined paging group, receiving, from the RAN node, the paging message” in claim 36 “to prepare the wireless device for receiving a paging message” supported by Kim, [0253], a short message indicator through PO monitoring prepares the terminal for receiving the paging message.
For these reasons, the prior rejection of claim(s) 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Kim et al, US 2023/0134552 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Kim et al, US 2023/0134552 hereafter Kim.
As for claim 36, Kim discloses:
A method, performed by a wireless device, for handling paging of the wireless device (Kim, Fig. 1, 115, The UE), wherein the wireless device is monitoring paging in a cell controlled by a Radio Access Network (RAN) node, the method comprising:
receiving, from a core network node (CN) assistance information for paging (Kim, FIG. 27, [0262], [0272], Receiving, at the terminal/from the CN, paging probability information for paging…a terminal determines a terminal group by using a RAN initiated paging probability (P.sub.RAN) and a CN initiated paging probability (P.sub.CN)),
receiving, from the RAN node, RAN signaling enabling the wireless device to determine its paging group (Kim, FIG. 27, [0262], [0272], Receiving, at the terminal/from the CN, paging probability information for paging… terminal determines a terminal group by using a RAN initiated paging probability)
determining the paging group based on the RAN signaling and the assistance information for paging (Kim, FIG. 27, [0262], [0272], A terminal determines a terminal group by using a RAN initiated paging probability (P.sub.RAN) and a CN initiated paging probability (P.sub.CN));
monitoring, an occasion for a paging indication indicative of the determined paging group (Kim, Fig. 20, Fig. 21, Fig. 22, [0255], [0257], [0259], [0287], a terminal belonging to one group may monitor a WUS occasion. The terminal may compare a monitored WUS with a WUS assigned to a group to which the terminal belongs. When the terminal has discovered its own WUS, the terminal may monitor a corresponding PO) to prepare the wireless device for receiving a paging message Kim, [0253], a short message indicator through PO monitoring prepares the terminal for receiving the paging message),
and in response to detecting the paging indication indicative of the determined paging group, receiving, from the RAN node, the paging message (Kim, Fig. 20, Fig. 21, Fig. 22, [0253], [0255], [0257], [0259], The terminal may compare a monitored WUS with a WUS assigned to a group to which the terminal belongs. When the terminal has discovered its own WUS, the terminal may monitor a corresponding PO…. When the terminal has observed a WUS, the terminal may monitor the PO to receive a paging message from the network/base station/RAN).
As for claim 37, LI discloses:
The paging group identifier is indicated by one or more bits of the paging indication, wherein the one or more bits are associated with the paging group (Kim, [0271], The gNB may determine a group of the terminal for WUSs by using the P.sub.CN and P.sub.RAN. The gNB may inform the terminal of the determined group. The Examiner interprets the informed/indication determined group to correspond to the paging group identifier. [0307], [0316]-[0317] transmitted messages comprise one or more bits).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 9-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI, US 2013/0344903 in view of Sony, WO 2020/091643 A1 (as cited in the IDS dated 01/24/2023) hereafter Sony and further in view of Ma et al, US 2022/0369283 hereafter Ma.
As for claim 1, LI discloses:
A method, performed by a Radio Access Network (RAN) node, for paging one wireless device of one or more wireless devices monitoring paging in a cell controlled by the RAN node (LI, Fig. 1, 120, [0034]-[0035], The Access Network Node 120 for paging a terminal device 110), the method comprising:
receiving, from a core network (CN) node, a paging request to page the wireless device, wherein the paging request is indicative of assistance information for paging of the wireless device (LI, Fig. 3, S2100, [0058]-[0060], Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038], Receiving, from the core network device, a group paging request including a group ID CNGroupID of a group of group-paged objects. The Examiner interprets the information received from the CN to correspond to the assistance information); and
transmitting, to the wireless device, a paging indication indicative of a paging group determined based on the paging request (LI, S2600, [0058]-[0061], Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038]-[0040], Transmitting, to the terminal device, a group paging message based on the paging request. the access network device 120 receives from the core network device 130 a group paging request including a group ID CNGroupID of a group of group-paged objects. The access network device 120 sends the allocated device ID RANDeviceID to the terminal devices 110. The access network device 120 constructs/determines one or more subgroups with some terminal devices 110 in the group of group-paged objects received from the core network node group ID CNGroupID of a group of group-paged objects).
LI does not explicitly disclose broadcasting RAN signaling for use in determining a paging group by the wireless device.
However, Sony discloses broadcasting RAN signaling for use in determining a paging group by the wireless device (Sony, page 15 lines 22-24, Broadcasting system information for use in determining initial group identifiers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LI with broadcasting RAN signaling for use in determining a paging group by the wireless device as taught by Sony to provide reduced power consumption (Sony, page 2 lines 10-13).
The combination of LI and Sony does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the wireless device, a paging indication indicative of a paging group determined based on a paging probability in the assistance information indicated by the paging probability of the assistance information to prepare the wireless device for receiving a paging message; and transmitting the paging message to the wireless device after transmitting the paging indication.
However, Ma discloses transmitting, to the wireless device, a paging indication indicative of a paging group determined based on a paging probability in the assistance information indicated by the paging probability of the assistance information to prepare the wireless device for receiving a paging message (Ma, Fig. 8, 800, Fig. 9, 900, [0123]-[0129], [0291]-[0294], [0312]-[0315], the BS may broadcast thresholds of dividing the paging probability into separate intervals and the UE determines its group ID according to the paging probability of the UE…the UE may be classified into a certain UE group based on both the UE ID/TMSI and the paging probability of the UE.); and transmitting the paging message to the wireless device after transmitting the paging indication (Ma, Fig. 8, 802, Fig. 9, 902, [0291]-[0295], [0312]-[0315], Transmitting the paging message to the wireless terminal after transmitting the paging indication information. The “paging operation” corresponds to transmitting/receiving a paging message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of LI and Sony with disclose transmitting, to the wireless device, a paging indication indicative of a paging group determined based on a paging probability in the assistance information indicated by the paging probability of the assistance information to prepare the wireless device for receiving a paging message; and transmitting the paging message to the wireless device after transmitting the paging indication as taught by Ma to improve the power efficiency of the UE (Ma, [0243]).
As for claim 2, LI discloses:
The paging group is indicated by formatting the paging indication based on the paging group of the wireless device (LI, [0045], The CNGroupID is mapped to bits of the RANDeviceID).
As for claim 4, LI discloses:
Formatting the paging indication comprises providing a paging group identifier in the paging indication (LI, [0045], The CNGroupID is mapped to bits of the RANDeviceID).
As for claim 5, LI discloses:
The paging group identifier is indicated by one or more bits of the paging indication, wherein the one or more bits are associated with the paging group (LI, [0045], The CNGroupID is mapped to bits of the RANDeviceID).
As for claim 6, LI discloses:
The paging group identifier is indicated by a dedicated bit of the paging indication, wherein the dedicated bit is associated with the paging group (LI, [0045], The CNGroupID is mapped to bits of the RANDeviceID).
As for claim 7, LI discloses:
The paging group identifier is indicated by a combination of bits of the paging indication, wherein the combination of bits is associated with the paging group (LI, [0045], The CNGroupID is mapped to bits of the RANDeviceID).
As for claim 9, the combination of LI and Sony does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the CN node, control signaling assisting the RAN node in determining paging groups based on paging probability and/or traffic characteristics.
However, Ma discloses receiving, from the CN node, control signaling assisting the RAN node in determining paging groups based on paging probability and/or traffic characteristics (Ma, Fig. 8, 800, [0123]-[0129], [0291]-[0294], the BS may broadcast thresholds of dividing the paging probability into separate intervals and the UE determines its group ID according to the paging probability of the UE…the UE may be classified into a certain UE group based on both the UE ID/TMSI and the paging probability of the UE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of LI and Sony with receiving, from the CN node, control signaling assisting the RAN node in determining paging groups based on paging probability and/or traffic characteristics as taught by Ma to improve the power efficiency of the UE (Ma, [0243]).
As for claim 10, LI discloses the control signaling comprises a paging group identifier for each paging group (LI, [0058], Receiving from the core network device a group paging request including a CoreGroupID).
As for claim 11, LI does not explicitly disclose the assistance information for paging comprises one or more of: a paging probability associated with the wireless device, and a traffic characteristic for the wireless device.
However, Sony discloses the assistance information for paging comprises one or more of: a paging probability associated with the wireless device, and a traffic characteristic for the wireless device (Sony, page 27, lines 7-10, Receiving, from the MME, information on UE paging probability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LI with the assistance information for paging comprises one or more of: a paging probability associated with the wireless device, and a traffic characteristic for the wireless device as taught by Sony to provide reduced power consumption (Sony, page 2 lines 10-13).
As for claim 12, LI discloses the paging request comprises a request to page a plurality of wireless devices (LI, Fig. 1, [0058]-[0061], The group paging request to page a plurality of terminal devices 110).
LI does not explicitly disclose wherein the assistance information for paging comprises paging probability.
However, Sony discloses wherein the assistance information for paging comprises paging probability (Sony, page 27, lines 7-10, Information on UE paging probability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LI with wherein the assistance information for paging comprises paging probability as taught by Sony to provide reduced power consumption (Sony, page 2 lines 10-13).
As for claim 13, LI discloses determining the paging indication indicative of the paging group based on the paging request (LI, [0058], Receiving from the core network device a group paging request including a CoreGroupID).
LI does not explicitly disclose determining the paging indication based on the control signaling.
However, Sony discloses determining the paging indication based on the control signaling (Sony, page 27, lines 7-10, Determining paging information based on the on UE paging probability information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LI with determining the paging indication based on the control signaling as taught by Sony to provide reduced power consumption (Sony, page 2 lines 10-13).
As for claim 14, LI does not explicitly disclose determining the paging indication comprises determining a paging occasion based on an increased maximum number of paging occasions per paging frame.
However, Sony discloses determining the paging indication comprises determining a paging occasion based on an increased maximum number of paging occasions per paging frame (Sony, page 15, lines 2-8, Determining a paging occasion based on more frequent paging occasions based on the group identifier of the paging group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LI with determining the paging indication comprises determining a paging occasion based on an increased maximum number of paging occasions per paging frame as taught by Sony to provide reduced power consumption (Sony, page 2 lines 10-13).
As for claim 15, LI does not explicitly disclose scheduling, based on the paging groups, a paging occasion for each paging group.
However, Sony discloses scheduling, based on the paging groups, a paging occasion for each paging group (Sony, page 13 line 30 to page 14 line 5, Scheduling, based on paging group identifiers, monitoring a paging occasion for paging group ids).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LI with scheduling, based on the paging groups, a paging occasion for each paging group as taught by Sony to provide reduced power consumption (Sony, page 2 lines 10-13).
As for claim 16, LI does not explicitly disclose scheduling, based on the paging groups, the paging occasion for each paging group, comprises multiplexing the paging occasions in time and/or in frequency.
However, Sony discloses scheduling, based on the paging groups, the paging occasion for each paging group, comprises multiplexing the paging occasions in time and/or in frequency (Sony, page 13 line 30 to page 14 line 5, Scheduling, based on paging group identifiers, monitoring a paging occasion for paging group ids).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LI with scheduling, based on the paging groups, the paging occasion for each paging group, comprises multiplexing the paging occasions in time and/or in frequency as taught by Sony to provide reduced power consumption (Sony, page 2 lines 10-13).
As for claim 17, LI does not explicitly disclose the RAN signaling enables the wireless device to determine a paging group based on a paging probability or traffic characteristics of the wireless device.
However, Sony discloses the RAN signaling enables the wireless device to determine a paging group based on a paging probability or traffic characteristics of the wireless device (Sony, page 27, lines 7-10, Receiving, from the MME, information on UE paging probability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LI with RAN signaling enables the wireless device to determine a paging group based on a paging probability or traffic characteristics of the wireless device as taught by Sony to provide reduced power consumption (Sony, page 2 lines 10-13).
8. Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI, US 2013/0344903 in view of Kim et al, US 2023/0134552 hereafter Kim.
As for claim 18, LI discloses:
A method, performed by a core network node, for paging one wireless device of one or more wireless devices monitoring paging in a cell controlled by a Radio Access Network (RAN) node (LI, Fig 1, 110, 120, 130, [0034], The core network device 130 for paging terminals device 110 monitoring paging in a cell controlled by the access network device 120), the method comprising:
transmitting, to the RAN node, a paging request to page the wireless device, wherein the paging request is indicative of assistance information for paging the wireless device (LI, Fig 1, 120, 130, [0038], Fig. 3, S2100, [0058], Transmitting, to the access network device 120, a group paging request including a group ID CNGroupID of a group of group-paged objects. The Examiner interprets the information received from the CN to correspond to the assistance information)
transmitting, to the RAN node, control signaling assisting the RAN node in determining paging groups (LI, Fig 1, 120, 130, Fig. 3, S2100, [0058], Transmitting, to the access network device 120, a group paging request including a group ID CNGroupID of a group of group-paged objects).
LI does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the wireless device, assistance information to assist the wireless device in updating its paging probability and an associated paging group of the paging probability…determining paging groups based on paging probability, wherein the control signaling comprises paging probability thresholds associated with each paging group.
However, Kim discloses transmitting, to the wireless device, assistance information to assist the wireless device in updating its paging probability (Kim, [0262], [0266], …the negotiated paging probability may be determined based on the number and frequency that paging has been transmitted to the terminal before…the MME may transmit the determined negotiated/updated paging probability to the terminal…A paging probability considered in LTE is a core network (CN) initiated paging probability (PCN).) and an associated paging group of the paging probability (Kim, [0269]-[0272], The AMF may inform the terminal and a gNB of the determined group (operations 2415 and 2420). For example, the AMF may transmit information on the determined group to at least one of the terminal and the gNB…a gNB determines a terminal group by using a RAN initiated paging probability and a CN initiated paging probability) …in determining paging groups based on paging probability (Kim, [0269]-[0272], The AMF may inform the terminal and a gNB of the determined group (operations 2415 and 2420). For example, the AMF may transmit information on the determined group to at least one of the terminal and the gNB…a gNB determines a terminal group by using a RAN initiated paging probability (P.sub.RAN) and a CN initiated paging probability (P.sub.CN)),
wherein the control signaling comprises paging probability thresholds associated with each paging group (Kim, [0257], [0263], [0276], [0282], The configuration information comprises paging probability thresholds associated with each terminal group set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LI with transmitting, to the wireless device, assistance information to assist the wireless device in updating its paging probability and an associated paging group of the paging probability…determining paging groups based on paging probability, wherein the control signaling comprises paging probability thresholds associated with each paging group as taught by Kim to reduce false wake-ups (Kim, [0010]).
As for claim 20, LI discloses the control signaling comprises a paging group identifier for each paging group (LI, [0017]-[0018], [0047], [0058], Receiving from the core network device a group paging request including a CoreGroupID).
9. Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI, US 2013/0344903 in view of Kim et al, US 2023/0134552 hereafter Kim.
As for claim 38, Kim does not explicitly disclose the paging group identifier is indicated by a dedicated bit of the paging indication, wherein the dedicated bit is associated with the paging group.
However, Li discloses the paging group identifier is indicated by a dedicated bit of the paging indication, wherein the dedicated bit is associated with the paging group (LI, [0045], The CNGroupID is mapped to bits of the RANDeviceID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the paging group identifier is indicated by a dedicated bit of the paging indication, wherein the dedicated bit is associated with the paging group as taught by Li to provide an improved group paging response solution is more effective (LI, [0022]).
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Shi et al, US 2022/0400442 [0119] discloses In the WUS configuration on grouping, the grouping parameter may be at least one of paging probability threshold information and UE group ID information for UE-ID based grouping.
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469