DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on JANG as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler, the Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose “selecting one from among a plurality of different durations, each of the plurality of different durations being set in advance, setting a second time for transmitting a second synchronization signal based on the first time and the selected one of the plurality of different durations,” as recited by independent claim 1. In response the Applicant is respectfully reminded that it has been held that one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where, as here, the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). As set forth in the previous action JANG discloses a first type signal (FIG.6, Step.610), a first synchronization signal (FIG.6, Step.620) and a second synchronization signal (FIG.6, Step.630) wherein a delay exists between the first synchronization signal and second synchronization signal [0100]. JANG further discloses that a positioning communication period may be defined by configuration information included in the first positioning start message 610 [0099]. The positioning communication period comprises a plurality of selectable predetermined durations [0116] of which are used to define a delay timing between signals [0100]. As demonstrated in the previous action JANG does not explicitly disclose a selectable predetermined delay occurring specifically before the transmission of the second synchronization signal (FIG.6, Step.630). Alternatively, Kuechler discloses a first (FIG.7, Step.701), second (FIG.7, Step.702), and third (FIG.7, Step.704) type signal. Each signal comprises a reconfigurable preamble including a number of symbols which may yield different time durations for the SHR of the UWB frame. As packet 704 (FIG.7, Step.704) corresponds to the transmission of the claimed second synchronization signal Kuechler teaches a reconfigurable duration which delays the transmission of the second synchronization signal. The Examiner maintains that JANG as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler disclose the above limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 54 recites the new limitation ”wherein the first synchronization signal has a duration that is based on a signal strength associated with the first type signal” of which was absent from the previously filled claims. While the claims and specification disclose variable durations between the transmission and reception of signals, but the Examiner finds no support for a variable duration in the claimed “first synchronization signal” itself. Further, the Examiner does not find support for varying the duration of a signal based on a signal strength associated with the first type signal. It suggested applicant amend the claim to be consisted with the disclosed “first synchronization signal.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-13, 15, 17, 23-25, 47 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG(US20200305142A1) in view of Ekbal(US20110292819A1) and further in view of Kuechler(US10559149B1)
Regarding claim 1, JANG disclosesA method of operating a first user equipment for allowing one or both of the user equipment (“the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102, the electronic device 104, or the server 108) “ [0041]) and a second user equipment to determine an estimate of a distance between the first user equipment and the second user equipment (“user equipment 710 (e.g., the electronic device 101 )” [0115]), the method comprising; […] receiving, by the first user equipment, the second type signal (FIG.6, Step 620), sent from the second user equipment in response (“At step 620, the processor 120 may transmit a first response message” [0107]) to the first type signal (FIG.6, Step.610), the second type signal being a first synchronization signal (“At step 620, the processor 120 may transmit a first response message, including information indicating a positioning communication period “ [0107]), determining a first time at which the second type signal is received from the second user equipment (“The external electronic device 102 may include time information (e.g., a time value) indicating the period of time that the external electronic device 102 spends processing the first positioning start message (e.g., generating a response message) in the response message, and may transmit the response message to the electronic device 101”[0100]), and in response to receiving the first synchronization signal […], transmitting, by the first user equipment, the second synchronization (“ The external electronic device 102 may include time information (e.g., a time value) indicating the period of time that the external electronic device 102 spends processing the first response message (e.g., generating the final message) in the final message, and may transmit the final message to the electronic device 101.” [0108]) signal at the second time (FIG.6, Step.630), wherein one or both of the first user equipment and the second user equipment are able to determine the estimate of the distance between the first user equipment and the user equipment (“At step 640, the processor 120 may calculate the distance between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102” [0109]), the estimate of the distance is based on a first duration and a second duration, the first duration is time period between the first time and the second time (“the processor 120 may calculate the distance between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102 based on the point in time at which the first response message is transmitted, the point in time at which the final message is received, and the time information” [0109]), and the second duration is a time period between a time of transmission by the second user equipment of the first synchronization signal and a time of reception by the second user equipment of the second synchronization signal (“on the point in time at which the first response message is transmitted, the point in time at which the final message is received” [0109]).
JANG discloses the transmission and reception of a first signal type, a first synchronization signal, and a second synchronization signal in order to estimate a distance between a first and second device. Jang does not explicitly disclose nor limit a low power mode, a high power mode, or wherein the first type signal is an explicit beacon signal. Ekbal discloses the method wherein, while operating in a low power mode of operation (“a relatively simple form of gain control may be employed (e.g., to maintain low power consumption)” [0038]), transmitting, by the user equipment, a first type signal as a beacon signal (“ the device 202 may send messages to the device 204 to request initiation of a ranging operation” [0033]) requesting the second user equipment to transmit a second type signal being a synchronization signal, the first type signal being decodable by the second user equipment when the second user equipment is operating in the low power mode of operation (“the device 204 may send messages to the device 202 to respond to the ranging request” [0033]) after transmitting the first type signal, operating in a high power mode of operation (“to facilitate highly accurate leading edge detection (e.g., to enable ranging accuracy on the order of one foot or less), a more robust form of gain control may be invoked during ranging operations.” [0038]) in which the first user equipment monitors for the second type signal transmitted by the second user equipment in response to the first type signal (“ by specifying that certain packets are sent at specific times relative to the sending or receipt of other packets, the devices may more efficiently monitor for received packets.” [0041]), a power consumption of the first user equipment when in the low power mode of operation is lower than a power consumption of the first user equipment when in the high power mode of operation (“a relatively simple form of gain control may be employed (e.g., to maintain low power consumption). However, to facilitate highly accurate leading edge detection (e.g., to enable ranging accuracy on the order of one foot or less), a more robust form of gain control may be invoked during ranging operations”[0038]).
Ekbal teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG with the teachings of Ekbal to incorporate the features of a low power mode, high power mode, and a beacon signal so as to gain the advantage of improving accuracy and reducing total power consumption [0038]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
JANG as modified by Ekbal disclose the transmission and reception of a first signal type, a first synchronization signal, and a second synchronization signal including a delay between the first and second synchronization signal. Jang as modified by Ekbal do not appear to disclose wherein the delay between the first and second synchronization signal adjustable and is selected in advance. Kuechler discloses, selecting one from among a plurality of different durations, each of the plurality of different durations being set in advance (“The SHR preamble is composed of a (ranging) preamble and a start-of-frame delimiter (“SFD”). The SFD signals the end of the preamble and the beginning of the PHR. The numbers of symbols in the preamble are specified according to application requirements. There can be 16, 64, 1024, or 4096 symbols in the preamble, yielding different time durations for the SHR of the UWB frame.” [Col.7, ll.51-58]), setting a second time for transmitting a second synchronization signal based on the first time and the selected one of the plurality of different durations (FIG.7, Step.704).
Kuechler teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication system ranging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG as modified by Ekbal with the teachings of Kuechler to incorporate the features of selecting a predetermined duration so as to gain the advantage of improving ranging estimation and reducing power consumption [Col.10, Par.2, Kuechler]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Jang discloses wherein, determining the estimate of the distance between the first user equipment and the second user equipment based on the first duration and the second duration(“the processor 120 may calculate the distance between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102 based on the point in time at which the first response message is transmitted, the point in time at which the final message is received, and the time information” [0109]).
Regarding claim 3, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Jang discloses wherein, determining the estimate of the distance between the first user equipment and the second user equipment based on the first duration and the second duration comprises receiving an indication of the estimate of the distance, the indication transmitted by the second user equipment (“ At step 670, the processor 120 may transmit a second response message, including information indicating the determined period and the calculated distance, to the external electronic device 102 “ [0112]).
Regarding claim 4, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 3. Jang discloses wherein, the indication of the estimate of the distance is received from an infrastructure equipment of a wireless communications network (“FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an electronic device 101 in a network environment 100” [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Jang discloses wherein, receiving, by the first user equipment, an indication of the second duration, the indication of the second duration being transmitted by the second user equipment (FIG.6, Step 670).
Regarding claim 6, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Jang discloses wherein, the first duration is a predetermined duration (“The external electronic device 102 may operate in the sleep state during a predetermined period of sleep time (during a period of time corresponding to the positioning communication period) “ [0108]).
Regarding claim 7, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Jang discloses wherein transmitting an indication of the first duration to the second user equipment (“ At step 670, the processor 120 may transmit a second response message, including information indicating the determined period and the calculated distance, to the external electronic device 102 “ [0112]).
Regarding claim 9, JANG as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler disclose all the limitations of claim 1. JANG fails to set forth the method of claim 9. Kuechler discloses the method wherein, the beacon signal is transmitted at a power level, and the method further comprises determining the power level based a use case to which the estimate of the distance is to be provided (“In the process block 903, the signal quality detector 1103 in the initiator will measure the predetermined metric (e.g., determine the strength of the signal transmitting the response packet) and associate it with the particular transmitting responder. “[Cols.11-12, ll.66-4] of Samuelsson).
Kuechler teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication system ranging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG as modified by Ekbal with the teachings of Kuechler to incorporate the features of application dependent variable beacon signal power so as to gain the advantage of improving ranging estimation and reducing power consumption [Col.10, Par.2, Kuechler]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Jang discloses wherein, the first type signal is a Bluetooth Low Energy beacon signal (“an electronic device according to an embodiment may use Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication” [0007]).
Regarding claim 11, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Jang discloses wherein, receiving, […], another first type signal transmitted […] by the second user equipment (“The processor 120 may establish a wireless communication channel for positioning communication with the external electronic device 102, and may transmit a message indicating the start of positioning to the external electronic device 102” [0106], wherein transmitting [the first type signal] […] is in response to receiving the […] signal transmitted by the second user equipment (“The external electronic device 102 may transmit the first positioning start message to the electronic device 101 in response to reception of the message” [0106])
JANG discloses the transmission of an additional first type signal by the second device before the transmission of the initial first type signal. Jang does not explicitly disclose nor limit a low power mode, or wherein the first type signal is an explicit beacon signal. As explained in detail above, Ekbal discloses the use of an initial low power mode [0038] and wherein the first type signals are beacon signals [0033].
Ekbal teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG with the teachings of Ekbal to incorporate the features of an initial low power mode and wherein the first type signals are beacon signals so as to gain the advantage of improving accuracy and reducing total power consumption [0038]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Jang discloses wherein, determining a received power level associated with the other first type signal (“The processor 120 may recognize a changing trend based on variation in the strength (e.g., received signal strength indicator (RSSI))” [0059]), wherein transmitting the first type signal as the beacon signal is in response to determining that the received power level associated with the other first type signal is above a predetermined threshold (“If the strength (e.g., RSSI) of a received signal is greater than a predetermined threshold value, the processor 120 may determine to activate positioning communication using UWB communication” [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Jang discloses wherein, the first user equipment is configured to transmit and receive signals on a wireless access interface provided by an infrastructure equipment of a wireless communications network (“The antenna module 197 may transmit or receive a signal or power to or from the outside (e.g., the external electronic device) of the electronic device 101” [0041] &FIG.1, Part.102), and the method further comprises receiving a signal having a same structure as the second type signal, the signal transmitted by the infrastructure equipment for allowing the first user equipment to synchronize with the infrastructure equipment or for determining a location of the first user equipment (“At step 610, the processor 120 receives a first positioning start message from the external electronic device 102 via a wireless communication channel (e.g., UWB communication channel) established using the wireless communication module 192” [0106]).
Regarding claim 15, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Jang discloses wherein, the first user equipment is configured to transmit and receive signals on a wireless access interface provided by an infrastructure equipment of a wireless communications network (“The antenna module 197 may transmit or receive a signal or power to or from the outside (e.g., the external electronic device) of the electronic device 101” [0041] &FIG.1, Part.102), and the second type signal has a same structure as a random access preamble for transmission on a random access channel of the wireless access interface (“At step 620, the processor 120 may transmit a first response message, including information indicating a positioning communication period, to the external electronic device “ [0107]).
Regarding claim 17, JANG as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. JANG fails to set forth the method of claim 17. Kuechler discloses the method wherein, the beacon signal is selected from one of a plurality of beacon signal sequences (“The message contained in the beacon may vary based on each transmitter zone.” [ Col.6, ll33-34] of Kuechler).
Kuechler teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication system ranging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG as modified by Ekbal with the teachings of Kuechler to incorporate the features of a plurality of beacon signal sequences so as to gain the advantage of improving the flexibility of the beacon signal [Col.6, Par.2, Kuechler]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 23, JANG discloses
A method of operating a first user equipment for allowing one or both of the first user equipment (“the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102, the electronic device 104, or the server 108) “ [0041]) and a second user equipment to determine an estimate of a distance between the first user equipment and the second user equipment (“user equipment 710 (e.g., the electronic device 101 )” [0115]), the method comprising:[…] receiving, by the first user equipment, the second type signal sent from the second user equipment in response to the first type signal (FIG.6, Step 620), the second type signal being a first synchronization signal (“information indicating a positioning communication period“ [0107]), determining a first time at which the second type signal is received from the second user equipment (“The external electronic device 102 may include time information (e.g., a time value) indicating the period of time that the external electronic device 102 spends processing the first positioning start message (e.g., generating a response message) in the response message, and may transmit the response message to the electronic device 101”[0100]), repeating, a number of times (“The external electronic device 102 may calculate the distance between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102 by performing the same steps as steps 610, 620, 630, and 640.” [0113]), the steps of: In response to receiving the first synchronization signal or a further synchronization signal, transmitting a synchronization signal, and receiving a further synchronization signal, […]and in response to receiving a further synchronization signal […] transmitting the first user equipment, the final synchronization signal at the second time (FIG.6, Step.630), wherein one or both of the first user equipment and the second user equipment are able to determine the estimate of the distance between the first user equipment and the second user equipment (“At step 640, the processor 120 may calculate the distance between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102” [0109]), the estimate of the distance is based on a first duration and a second duration, the first duration is a time period between the first time and the second time (“the processor 120 may calculate the distance between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102 based on the point in time at which the first response message is transmitted, the point in time at which the final message is received, and the time information” [0109]), and the second duration is a time period between a time of transmission by the second user equipment of the first synchronization signal and a time of reception by the second user equipment of the final synchronization signal (“on the point in time at which the first response message is transmitted, the point in time at which the final message is received” [0109]).
JANG discloses the transmission and reception of a first signal type, a first synchronization signal, and a second synchronization signal in order to estimate a distance between a first and second device. Jang does not explicitly disclose nor limit a low power mode, a high power mode, or wherein the first type signal is an explicit beacon signal. Ekbal discloses the method wherein, while operating in a low power mode of operation (“a relatively simple form of gain control may be employed (e.g., to maintain low power consumption)” [0038]), transmitting, by the first user equipment, a first type signal as a beacon signal (“ the device 202 may send messages to the device 204 to request initiation of a ranging operation” [0033]) requesting the second user equipment to transmit a second type signal being a synchronization signal, the first type signal being decodable by the second user equipment when the second user equipment is operating in the low power mode of operation (“the device 204 may send messages to the device 202 to respond to the ranging request” [0033]) after transmitting the first type signal, operating in a high power mode of operation (“to facilitate highly accurate leading edge detection (e.g., to enable ranging accuracy on the order of one foot or less), a more robust form of gain control may be invoked during ranging operations.” [0038]) in which the first user equipment monitors for the second type signal transmitted by the second user equipment in response to the first type signal (“ by specifying that certain packets are sent at specific times relative to the sending or receipt of other packets, the devices may more efficiently monitor for received packets.” [0041]) a power consumption of the first user equipment when in the low power mode of operation is lower than a power consumption of the first user equipment when in the high power mode of operation (“a relatively simple form of gain control may be employed (e.g., to maintain low power consumption). However, to facilitate highly accurate leading edge detection (e.g., to enable ranging accuracy on the order of one foot or less), a more robust form of gain control may be invoked during ranging operations”[0038]).
Ekbal teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG with the teachings of Ekbal to incorporate the features of a low power mode, high power mode, and a beacon signal so as to gain the advantage of improving accuracy and reducing total power consumption [0038]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
JANG as modified by Ekbal disclose the transmission and reception of a first signal type, a first synchronization signal, and a second synchronization signal including a delay between the first and second synchronization signal. Jang as modified by Ekbal do not appear to disclose wherein the delay between the first and second synchronization signal adjustable and is selected in advance. Kuechler discloses, selecting one from among a plurality of different durations, each of the plurality of different durations being set in advance (“The SHR preamble is composed of a (ranging) preamble and a start-of-frame delimiter (“SFD”). The SFD signals the end of the preamble and the beginning of the PHR. The numbers of symbols in the preamble are specified according to application requirements. There can be 16, 64, 1024, or 4096 symbols in the preamble, yielding different time durations for the SHR of the UWB frame.” [Col.7, ll.51-58]), setting a second time for transmitting a final synchronization signal based on the first time and the selected one of the plurality of different durations (FIG.7, Step.704).
Kuechler teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication system ranging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG as modified by Ekbal with the teachings of Kuechler to incorporate the features of selecting a predetermined duration so as to gain the advantage of improving ranging estimation and reducing power consumption [Col.10, Par.2, Kuechler]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 24, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 23. Jang discloses wherein the number of times is a predetermined number of times (“The external electronic device 102 may calculate the distance between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102 by performing the same steps as steps 610, 620, 630, and 640.” [0113]).
Regarding claim 25, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 23. Jang discloses wherein in one repetition of the steps, receiving a further synchronization signal comprises receiving an indication that no additional further synchronization signal will be transmitted by the second user equipment (“If the state of the user equipment 710, which stops moving, is maintained during a predetermined period of time […] positioning communication may be suspended or deactivated” [0121]).
Regarding claim 47, JANG discloses
Circuitry for a user equipment, the circuitry comprising; transmitter (FIG.8, Part.260) circuitry configured to transmit first type signals and second type signals (FIG.6, Steps.610&620) , receiver circuitry (FIG.8, Part.822) configured to receive second type signals(FIG.6, Step.620), and controller circuitry configured to control the transmitter circuitry and the receiver circuitry so that the user equipment is operable (“The processor 120 may perform transmission or reception of a signal with the UWB communication circuit 220 via an SPI communication scheme” [0124]): […]to receive the second type signal sent from the other user equipment in response to the first type signal, the second type signal being a first synchronization signal (“information indicating a positioning communication period“ [0107]), to determine a first time at which the second type signal is received from the other user equipment (“The external electronic device 102 may include time information (e.g., a time value) indicating the period of time that the external electronic device 102 spends processing the first positioning start message (e.g., generating a response message) in the response message, and may transmit the response message to the electronic device 101”[0100]), […] and in response to receiving the first synchronization signal, […] to transmit the second synchronization signal at the second time (FIG.6, Step.630), wherein one or both of the user equipment and the other user equipment are able to determine an estimate of [[the]] a distance between the user equipment and the other user equipment (“At step 640, the processor 120 may calculate the distance between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102” [0109]), the estimate of the distance is based on a first duration and a second duration, the first duration is a time period between the first time and the second time (“the processor 120 may calculate the distance between the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102 based on the point in time at which the first response message is transmitted, the point in time at which the final message is received, and the time information” [0109]), and the second duration is a time period between a time of transmission by the other user equipment of the first synchronization signal and a time of reception by the other user equipment of the second synchronization signal (“on the point in time at which the first response message is transmitted, the point in time at which the final message is received” [0109]).
JANG discloses the transmission and reception of a first signal type, a first synchronization signal, and a second synchronization signal in order to estimate a distance between a first and second device. Jang does not explicitly disclose nor limit a low power mode, a high power mode, or wherein the first type signal is an explicit beacon signal. Ekbal discloses the method wherein, while operating in a low power mode of operation (“a relatively simple form of gain control may be employed (e.g., to maintain low power consumption)” [0038]), to transmit a first type signal as a beacon signal equipment (“ the device 202 may send messages to the device 204 to request initiation of a ranging operation” [0033]) requesting another user equipment to transmit a second type signal being a synchronization signal, the first type signal being decodable by the other user equipment when the other user equipment is operating in the low power mode of operation (“the device 204 may send messages to the device 202 to respond to the ranging request” [0033]), after transmitting the first type signal, to operate in a high power mode of operation (“to facilitate highly accurate leading edge detection (e.g., to enable ranging accuracy on the order of one foot or less), a more robust form of gain control may be invoked during ranging operations.” [0038]) in which the user equipment monitors for the second type signal transmitted by the other user equipment in response to the first type signal (“ by specifying that certain packets are sent at specific times relative to the sending or receipt of other packets, the devices may more efficiently monitor for received packets.” [0041]), a power consumption of the user equipment when in the low power mode of operation is lower than a power consumption of the user equipment when in the high power mode of operation (“a relatively simple form of gain control may be employed (e.g., to maintain low power consumption). However, to facilitate highly accurate leading edge detection (e.g., to enable ranging accuracy on the order of one foot or less), a more robust form of gain control may be invoked during ranging operations”[0038]).
Ekbal teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG with the teachings of Ekbal to incorporate the features of a low power mode, high power mode, and a beacon signal so as to gain the advantage of improving accuracy and reducing total power consumption [0038]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
JANG as modified by Ekbal disclose the transmission and reception of a first signal type, a first synchronization signal, and a second synchronization signal including a delay between the first and second synchronization signal. Jang as modified by Ekbal do not appear to disclose wherein the delay between the first and second synchronization signal adjustable and is selected in advance. Kuechler discloses, to select one from among a plurality of different durations, each of the plurality of different durations being set in advance (“The SHR preamble is composed of a (ranging) preamble and a start-of-frame delimiter (“SFD”). The SFD signals the end of the preamble and the beginning of the PHR. The numbers of symbols in the preamble are specified according to application requirements. There can be 16, 64, 1024, or 4096 symbols in the preamble, yielding different time durations for the SHR of the UWB frame.” [Col.7, ll.51-58]), to set a second time for transmitting a second synchronization signal based on the first time and the selected one of the plurality of different durations (FIG.7, Step.704).
Kuechler teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication system ranging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG as modified by Ekbal with the teachings of Kuechler to incorporate the features of selecting a predetermined duration so as to gain the advantage of improving ranging estimation and reducing power consumption [Col.10, Par.2, Kuechler]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 54, Jang as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Jang discloses, wherein the first synchronization signal has a duration that is based on a signal strength associated with the first type signal (“The processor 120 may determine the positioning communication period” [0073] & “The period may be dynamically determined based on the strength of a signal (e.g., an advertising or broadcasting packet) received via the wireless communication channel (e.g., the BLE communication channel and/or UWB communication channel). For example, as the value of the strength is higher, the period may be set to be shorter.” [0075])
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG(US20200305142A1) as modified by Ekbal(US20110292819A1) and Kuechler(US10559149B1), as applied in claims 1, 23, and 47 above, and further in view of Novak(US20140334388A1).
Regarding claim 14, JANG as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. JANG fails to set forth the method of claim 14. Novak discloses the method wherein, the signal transmitted by the infrastructure equipment is one of a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), or a positioning reference signal (PRS) (“the Prox-RS may be applied to an existing signal, such as primary and secondary synchronization signals (PSS/SSS), or other reference signals or beacons [0037]).
Novak teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless communication systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JANG as modified by Ekbal and Kuechler with the teachings of Novak to incorporate the features of a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), or a positioning reference signal (PRS) so as to gain the advantage of improving detection [0083]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s Disclosure.
Lee(US20200182996A1) is considered analogous art to the instant application as it discloses in [0148] “in operation 810, the first electronic device 210 may start a ranging operation (Ranging poll) by transmitting a data frame including RCDT(0) IE to the second electronic device 220”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646