DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Due to applicant’s amendment filed on August 17, 2026, the claims objections and the 112(b) rejections in the previous office action (dated 05/12/2026), are hereby withdrawn.
The status of the claim(s) is as follows:
Claims 1, 9, 15 and 18 were previously presented,
Claims 53 and 54 have been amended,
Claims 2-3, 5-8, 10-14, 16, 19, 21-22, 26, 28, 30-38, 40-43, 45, 47-52 have been cancelled,
Claims 4, 17, 20, 23-25, 27, 29, 39, 44 and 46 were and still are withdrawn from further consideration.
Therefore, claims 1, 9, 15, 18, 53 and 54 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 54, ln. 3, the phrase, “…its… renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to which aforementioned structure(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required.
Examiner's note: The forgoing analysis may not be exhaustive. Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sendo (US 8016105 B2; hereinafter Sendo).
Regarding claim 1, Sendo discloses a package comprising:
a container (i.e. the combination of box (2) having an outer casing (4) and inner frame (6) – is what examiner equates to the claimed container) with an access; and
an inner pack (i.e. in the form of wrapper (14)) located within the container such that the inner pack is accessible via the access,
the inner pack comprising a sheet material that is arranged to form the inner pack,
wherein the inner pack comprises a first end wall proximate to the access and a second end wall distal to the access longitudinally distant from the first end wall, the first end wall comprising a first flap (i.e. in the form of outer flap (26)) and a second flap (i.e. in the form of an inner flap (24)) which extend from opposing sides of the first end wall and are attached to each other and configured to seal the inner pack, and
wherein the sheet material comprises a portion (i.e. in the form of a separable area (20)), the portion comprising the whole of the first flap of the first end wall, that is at least partially separable from a remainder of the sheet material to unseal the inner pack and allow access to the inside of the inner pack (see Sendo Col. 3 ln. 48-67),
wherein the inner pack further comprises a first line of weakening (i.e. in the form of separating line (18)) configured to aid separation of the portion of the sheet material from the remainder of the sheet material to allow access to the inner pack,
wherein the inner pack comprises a plurality of side walls extending between the first end wall and the second end wall, and wherein the first line of weakening extends at least partially around at least one of the plurality of side walls to define the portion that is separable from the remainder of the sheet material of the inner pack (see annotated Sendo Fig. 3 below),
wherein the plurality of side walls comprise a first side wall, and the first line of weakening extends at least partially across the first side wall of the inner pack (see annotated Sendo Fig. 3 below),
wherein the first line of weakening is configured such that the portion that is separable from the remainder of the sheet material comprises the whole of the first flap and a section of the first side wall (see annotated Sendo Fig. 3 below),
wherein the first side wall is joined to the first end wall along a first edge, and the first line of weakening extends partially along the first edge from an extremity of the first flap (Sendo Col. 3 ln. 20 – Col. 4 ln. 10 and Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 15, Sendo further discloses wherein the first line of weakening extending across the first side wall is U-shaped, and wherein the first line of weakening extending through the first side wall comprises a lower portion and two side portions, the two side portions having a draft angle of between 10 degrees and 40 degrees with respect to a longitudinal axis of the inner pack (see Sendo Figs. 2-3 (annotated above)).
Regarding claim 18, Sendo further discloses wherein the first end wall further comprises third (i.e. the end flap (22) to the left of the first flap (26)) and fourth (i.e. the end flap (22) that is between the first flap (26) and the second flap (24)) flaps, and wherein the first line of weakening is configured such that the portion that is separable from the remainder of the sheet material further comprises at least a part of the third and fourth flaps, wherein the third and fourth flaps are joined to third and fourth side walls along third and fourth edges, respectively, and wherein the first line of weakening extends from the first edge at least partially along the third and fourth edges (via slits (28); see annotated Sendo Fig. 3 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 53 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sendo in view of Lutzig et al. (US 8136661 B2 – art of record; hereinafter Lutzig).
Regarding claim 9, Sendo as above further teaches all the structural limitations as set forth in claim 1, except for wherein a first part of the first flap is sealed to the second flap by a resealable adhesive.
Lutzig is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and Sendo, which is a [cigarette] package having an inner pack. Lutzig teaches a resealable inner pack or liner (1) comprising a sheet material that is arranged to form the inner pack or liner, wherein the inner pack or liner comprises a first end wall (i.e. the upper portion where the flaps (10 and 11) are overlapping – see Lutzig Figs. 1-2) and a second end wall (i.e. the lower portion opposite the upper portion) longitudinally distant from the first end wall, the first end wall comprising a first flap (10) and a second flap (11) which extends from opposing sides of the first end wall (see Lutzig Figs. 1-2) and are attached to each other and configured to seal the inner pack (via a resealable adhesive (100); Lutzig Col. 3 ln. 53 – Col. 4 ln. 24 and see claim 1, “…with an adhesive for resealably attaching the first section and the second section to reclose the opening…”; emphasis added).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a similar resealable adhesive (as taught by Lutzig) between the first flap and the second flap (of Sendo) to make the overall inner pack (of Sendo) resealable to preserve the freshness of the contents of the overall inner pack. Since, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07
Regarding claim 53, Sendo as above further teaches the first flap is configured to extend over the first end wall of the inner pack towards the opposing side of the first end wall such that the first flap overlaps the second flap (see Sendo Fig. 2).
However, Sendo fails to teach wherein the first flap is larger than the second flap.
Lutzig further teaches the first flap (10) being larger than the second flap (11; see annotated Lutzig Fig. 2 below).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first flap (of Sendo) larger than the second flap (as taught by Lutzig) because the resultant structure(s) will work equally well. Since, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A)
Regarding claim 54, modified Sendo as above further teaches wherein the distance between the first flap and the opposing side of the first end wall is smaller than the distance between the second flap and its opposing side of the first end wall (see annotated Lutzig Fig. 2 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102 and 103 rejections of the pending claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 102 and 103 rejections (presented in the previous office action) have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sendo (US 8016105 B2; hereinafter Sendo), Lutzig et al. (US 20080308432 A1 – art of record; hereinafter Lutzig) and others.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited documents are listed on the attached PTO-892 form.
/B. V. P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736