DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on June 1, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 11, 12, 15-22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Camilleri et al. (IDS FR2982250. Camilleri hereinafter) .
With respect to claim 11, Camilleri discloses a flow cup (1. Figs. 1 and 2) for a spray gun (7), which has a material outlet (at 13) which is embodied for direct and/or indirect connection to a spray gun, the flow cup having a material container (1, 13 and 16) which on at least one end side is closed by a disk-shaped end wall (4), a ventilation device (6) by way of which air can flow into the flow cup to enable pressure equalization when material flows out of the flow cup by way of (via) the material outlet, wherein the end wall is provided with a concavity (Fig. 2) which extends uniformly (radially) across the end wall and wherein the concave end wall adjoins a circumferential wall (of 3) of the flow cup at an angle of more than 90° (See Fig. 2 with additional annotations below with Interpretations A and B), and wherein the circumferential wall extends from the concave end wall. Alternatively, a change in form or shape (the angle of the concavity or the circumferential wall) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
With respect to claim 12, Camilleri discloses wherein the location of the concave end wall which protrudes furthest inwards (Fig. 2) due to the concavity, has an offset relative to an outer peripheral region (at 9) of the end wall.
With respect to claim 15, Camilleri discloses wherein the circumferential wall (of 3) of the flow cup, proceeding (starts) from the end side that is closed by the concave end wall, widens conically (towards the spray gun 7. Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 16, Camilleri discloses wherein a circumferential periphery (9) is provided which projects outward in relation to the concave end wall.
With respect to claim 17, Camilleri discloses wherein the ventilation device comprises a closure element (8) which can be moved (removed) between at least one open position in which air can flow into the flow cup and a closed position (capped) in which no air can flow through the ventilation device into the flow cup.
With respect to claim 18, Camilleri discloses wherein a movable closure element (8. Claim 4) of the ventilation device, in a closed position (pressed through the bottom wall (4) to abutment on the bottom wall (4) by its flange (8). Claim 4) in which no air can flow through the ventilation device into the flow cup, is set back in (inward) relation to a circumferential periphery (9).
With respect to claim 19, Camilleri discloses wherein a movable closure element (8. Claim 4) of the ventilation device in an open position (non-pressed), in which air can flow through the ventilation device into the flow cup, projects in relation to a circumferential periphery (9).
With respect to claim 20, Camilleri discloses wherein the concave end wall is releasably connected to the material container (at least from the adaptor 13 and sealing plug 16. Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 21, Camilleri discloses wherein the concavity of the end wall is a concave curvature toward the inside of the material container (Figs. 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 22, Camilleri discloses wherein the offset relative to the outer peripheral region of the end wall has a depth of 1 % to 4% of the diameter of the end wall (Fig. 2). Alternatively, a change in form or shape (the height of the outer peripheral region or the depth of the concavity) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a depth of 1 % to 4% of the diameter of the end wall, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 25, Camilleri discloses wherein the concave end wall, is part of a (deep cylindrical) cover of the flow cup and is releasably connected to the material container (at least from the adaptor 13 and sealing plug 16. Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camilleri in view of Kruse at el. (IDS. DE102015006483. Kruse hereinafter).
With respect to claim 13, Camilleri discloses the flow cup as in claim 11 except for wherein the ventilation device comprises an off-center ventilation opening through the concave end wall, which is disposed with an offset relative to the center of the end wall.
However, Kruse teaches a flow cup (302a. Fig. 11) for a spray gun (1) wherein the ventilation device comprises an off-center ventilation opening (36a) through the concave end wall (36), which is disposed with an offset relative to the center of the end wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an off-center ventilation opening, as taught by Kruse, to Camilleri’s flow cup, in order to provide fastening, guiding and/or latching ([0076]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the ventilation opening off-center in order to provide ventilation. It has been held that rearranging parts (relocating the ventilation opening) of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-13, 15-22 and 25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the reference and/or the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 August 7, 2026