DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The following structural formulas have poor resolution and are difficult to read: the structural formulas in lines 1-3 of p. 12; the structural formulas on pp. 28-47; the structural formulas on pp. 54-57; the structural formulas on pp. 65-68; the structural formulas on pp. 72-76; the structural formulas in line 1 of p. 84; the 3rd structural formula in line 16 of p. 85; the structural formulas in line 2 of p. 87 (synthesis of Compound 1-136); the structural formulas in line 2 of p. 89 (synthesis of Compound 1-177); the structural formulas in line 2 of p. 92 (synthesis of Compound 1-201); the structural formulas in line 2 of p. 89 (synthesis of Compound 1-177); the structural formulas in line 2 of p. 94 (synthesis of Compound 1-229); the structural formulas in line 2 of p. 97 (synthesis of Compound 1-236); the structural formulas of the 3rd column of Table 9; the structural formulas in line 2 of p. 99 (synthesis of Compound 1-266); the structural formulas of the 3rd column of Table 10; the structural formulas in line 2 of p. 101 (synthesis of Compound 1-263); the structural formulas of the 3rd columns of Tables 11-16; and the structural formulas describing the synthesis Compounds 1-301, 1-327, 1-345, 1-422, 1-430, 2-5, 2-67, and 3-57.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formulas of the claim have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formulas of the claim have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formulas of the claim have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formulas of the claim have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al. (KR 10-2011-0105285 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Je”) in view of Lee (US 2006/0103298 A1) (hereafter “Lee”) and Kang et al. (KR 10-2019-0002206 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Kang”).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 11: Je discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode that is an anode, a second electrode that is a cathode, and an organic material layer provided between the first electrode and the second electrode {p. 22, line 19 through p. 23, line 3}.
The organic material layer comprises a light emitting layer comprising the compound shown below as a host material {(p. 22, line 19 through p. 23, line 3: The host material of Example 1 is Compound 7.), (p. 6, structure of Compound 7)}.
The emitting material is a phosphorescent light emitting material {p. 22, line 19 through p. 23, line 3}.
The organic layer further comprises a hole transfer layer between the anode and the light emitting layer as well as an electron transfer layer between the light emitting layer and the cathode {p. 22, line 19 through p. 23, line 3}.
Je does not teach that the light emitting layer comprises an additional host material.
Lee teaches that the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device can comprise two host materials {paragraphs [0028]-[0035]}.
Lee teaches that the use of a second host material can reduce the crystallization of the first host material {paragraphs [0031]-[0032]}.
Lee teaches that the first host can be an arylamine {paragraph [0029]}. Lee teaches that the second host can be a triazine derivative {paragraph [0031]}.
It is noted that Lee does not require that one host be a hole transporting host and the other be an electron transporting host, but rather this arrangement is an option {paragraphs [0029]-[0031]}.
Kang teaches an organic light emitting device comprising the compound shown below as a host material for a phosphorescent dopant in a light emitting layer {p. 15, lines 5-7 describing Device Example 2 as well as the description of Device Example 2 in Table 1 on p. 16: The compound of synthesis example 2 is the host material of the device.), (p. 12, synthesis example 2, the compound shown below)}.
Kang teaches that the compounds of the disclosure of Kang allow for organic light emitting devices having improved efficiency, lower driving voltage, and improved lifetime {p. 2, lines 20-24}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Je by including a 2nd host in the light emitting layer, based on the teaching of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the crystallization of the host material, as taught by Lee. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to use the compound of Kang shown above as the 2nd host material, based on the teaching of Lee and Kang. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a compound known to allow for organic light emitting devices having improved efficiency, lower driving voltage, and improved lifetime, as taught by Kang.
Regarding claim 12: Je as modified by Lee and Kang teaches all of the features with respect to claim 11, as outlined above.
Je as modified by Lee and Kang does not exemplify a specific ratio between the first host and the second host.
However, Lee teaches that preferably the first host and the second host are present at a ratio of about 1:3 to 3:1 {paragraph [0033]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to have further modified the device of Je by incorporating the second host material such that the first host and the second host are present at a ratio of about 1:3 to 3:1, based on the teaching of Lee. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the preferred host concentrations taught by Lee in order to provide a device having optimal performance.
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al. (KR 10-2011-0105285 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Je”) in view of Lee (US 2006/0103298 A1) (hereafter “Lee”) and Kang et al. (KR 10-2019-0002206 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Kang”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arai et al. (JP 2015-126140 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Arai”).
Regarding claims 7-8: Je as modified by Lee and Kang teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Je does not teach that the material of the electron transfer layer has the structure of the instant Formula 3.
Arai teaches materials useful in electron transporting layers of organic light emitting devices {paragraphs [0012] and [0047]}. The material includes a triazine derivative and an organometallic compound {paragraphs [0012] and [0047]}. The triazine derivative can have the structure shown below {paragraphs [0021]-[0022] and [0078]-[0079]}.
Arai teaches that the electron transport layer material of Arai allows for organic light emitting devices having good durability and good luminescence {paragraph [0010]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Lee by using the electron transport layer material of Arai described above (including the triazine derivative shown above) as the material of the electron transfer layer, based on the teaching of Arai. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a material known to allow for organic light emitting devices having good durability and good luminescence, as taught by Arai.
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al. (KR 10-2011-0105285 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Je”) in view of Lee (US 2006/0103298 A1) (hereafter “Lee”) and Kang et al. (KR 10-2019-0002206 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Kang”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Montenegro et al. (US 2018/0019405 A1) (hereafter “Montenegro”).
Regarding claims 9-10: Je as modified by Lee and Kang teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Je does not teach that the material of the hole transfer layer has the structure of the instant Formula 4.
Montenegro teaches materials useful in electron transporting layers of organic light emitting devices {paragraphs [0004] and [0118]-[0119]}. The materials include the compound having the structure shown below {paragraph [0093] and pp. 23 and 198, the compound shown below}.
Montenegro teaches that the hole transport layer materials of Montenegro have high thermal stability and allow for organic light emitting devices having good durability, low driving voltage, and good efficiency {paragraph [0010]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Lee by using the hole transport layer material of Montenegro described above as the material of the hole transfer layer, based on the teaching of Montenegro. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a material having good thermal stability known to allow for organic light emitting devices having good durability, low driving voltage, and good efficiency, as taught by Montenegro.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al. (KR 10-2011-0105285 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Je”) in view of Lee (US 2006/0103298 A1) (hereafter “Lee”) and Kim et al. (US 2022/0199915 A1) (hereafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 11: Je discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode that is an anode, a second electrode that is a cathode, and an organic material layer provided between the first electrode and the second electrode {p. 22, line 19 through p. 23, line 3}.
The organic material layer comprises a light emitting layer comprising the compound shown below as a host material {(p. 22, line 19 through p. 23, line 3: The host material of Example 1 is Compound 7.), (p. 6, structure of Compound 7)}.
The emitting material is a phosphorescent light emitting material {p. 22, line 19 through p. 23, line 3}.
The organic layer further comprises a hole transfer layer between the anode and the light emitting layer as well as an electron transfer layer between the light emitting layer and the cathode {p. 22, line 19 through p. 23, line 3}.
Je does not teach that the light emitting layer comprises an additional host material.
Lee teaches that the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device can comprise two host materials {paragraphs [0028]-[0035]}.
Lee teaches that the use of a second host material can reduce the crystallization of the first host material {paragraphs [0031]-[0032]}.
Lee teaches that the first host can be an arylamine {paragraph [0029]}. Lee teaches that the second host can be a triazine derivative {paragraph [0031]}.
It is noted that Lee does not require that one host be a hole transporting host and the other be an electron transporting host, but rather this arrangement is an option {paragraphs [0029]-[0031]}.
Kim teaches an organic light emitting device comprising the compound shown below as a host material for a phosphorescent dopant in a light emitting layer {paragraph [0177] and pp. 123-124}.
Kim teaches that the compounds of the disclosure of Kim allow for organic light emitting devices having improved efficiency and improved lifetime {paragraphs [0015]-[0016] and [0186]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Je by including a 2nd host in the light emitting layer, based on the teaching of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the crystallization of the host material, as taught by Lee. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to use the compound of Kim shown above as the 2nd host material, based on the teaching of Lee and Kim. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a compound known to allow for organic light emitting devices having improved efficiency, lower driving voltage, and improved lifetime, as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 12: Je as modified by Lee and Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 11, as outlined above.
Je as modified by Lee and Kim does not exemplify a specific ratio between the first host and the second host.
However, Lee teaches that preferably the first host and the second host are present at a ratio of about 1:3 to 3:1 {paragraph [0033]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to have further modified the device of Je by incorporating the second host material such that the first host and the second host are present at a ratio of about 1:3 to 3:1, based on the teaching of Lee. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the preferred host concentrations taught by Lee in order to provide a device having optimal performance.
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al. (KR 10-2011-0105285 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Je”) in view of Lee (US 2006/0103298 A1) (hereafter “Lee”) and Kim et al. (US 2022/0199915 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arai et al. (JP 2015-126140 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Arai”).
Regarding claims 7-8: Je as modified by Lee and Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Je does not teach that the material of the electron transfer layer has the structure of the instant Formula 3.
Arai teaches materials useful in electron transporting layers of organic light emitting devices {paragraphs [0012] and [0047]}. The material includes a triazine derivative and an organometallic compound {paragraphs [0012] and [0047]}. The triazine derivative can have the structure shown below {paragraphs [0021]-[0022] and [0078]-[0079]}.
Arai teaches that the electron transport layer material of Arai allows for organic light emitting devices having good durability and good luminescence {paragraph [0010]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Lee by using the electron transport layer material of Arai described above (including the triazine derivative shown above) as the material of the electron transfer layer, based on the teaching of Arai. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a material known to allow for organic light emitting devices having good durability and good luminescence, as taught by Arai.
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je et al. (KR 10-2011-0105285 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Je”) in view of Lee (US 2006/0103298 A1) (hereafter “Lee”) and Kim et al. (US 2022/0199915 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Montenegro et al. (US 2018/0019405 A1) (hereafter “Montenegro”).
Regarding claims 9-10: Je as modified by Lee and Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Je does not teach that the material of the hole transfer layer has the structure of the instant Formula 4.
Montenegro teaches materials useful in electron transporting layers of organic light emitting devices {paragraphs [0004] and [0118]-[0119]}. The materials include the compound having the structure shown below {paragraph [0093] and pp. 23 and 198, the compound shown below}.
Montenegro teaches that the hole transport layer materials of Montenegro have high thermal stability and allow for organic light emitting devices having good durability, low driving voltage, and good efficiency {paragraph [0010]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Lee by using the hole transport layer material of Montenegro described above as the material of the hole transfer layer, based on the teaching of Montenegro. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a material having good thermal stability known to allow for organic light emitting devices having good durability, low driving voltage, and good efficiency, as taught by Montenegro.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786