DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 04/06/2026. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, and 14-15 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 04/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 8, and 12 have been amended; Claims 2, 6, 9, and 13 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, and 14-15 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). See MPEP §2111.
See also In re Suitco Surface, Inc., 603 F.3d 1255, 1259, 94 USPQ2d 1640, 1643 (Fed. Cir. 2010); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 10 of Applicant Remarks that, “Teyeb fails to teach or suggest the specific claim limitation of distinctively setting and reporting “cell-Level measurements and beam-Level measurements of the PCell that are obtained up to the moment at which the terminal detected the connection failure,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), Claim 1 does not require a particular field name, labeling scheme, or separate categorization format beyond the recited setting of cell-level measurement information and beam-level measurement information of the PCell based on measurements obtained up to the failure moment. Teyeb Para. [0029] teaches that , upon detection of RLF, the UE stores RLF information in a VarRLF-Report and sets measResultLastServCell to include RSRP and RSRQ of the PCell, if available, based on measurements collected up to the moment the UE detected RLF. This teaches setting measurement information for the last serving cell/PCell based on measurements obtained up to the failure moment, and because RSRP and RSRQ are measurement quantities used in NR-beam level measurement/reporting, Teyeb reasonably teaches or suggest both the cell-level and beam-level PCell measurement information recited in Claim 1.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 11 of Applicant Remarks that, 3GPP2020 “does not teach or suggest the specific and detailed rule of the present invention, where the determination of whether the highest RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR is "listed first" in the beam-level measurement information of the serving cell experiencing a connection failure relies entirely on the availability of each respective measurement quantity,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under the BRI, the Claim 1 language requiring that the highest available RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR be “listed first” reasonably encompasses using the corresponding measurement quantity as the sorting quantity because sorting, as generally understood, involves rearranging items into an order, such as ascending/increasing or descending/decreasing order, according to a linear relationship. 3GPP2020 teaches this concept in Section 5.5.5.2 by providing that, for beam measurement information included in a measurement report, the UE uses the trigger quantity as the sorting quantity, if available; otherwise uses RSRP if available; otherwise uses RSRQ if available; otherwise uses SINR, and orders the beam measurement results according to the selected sorting quantity. Thus, where beam results are sorted in decreasing order using RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR as the sorting quantity, the highest value of the selected available quantity is listed first.
Separately, pgs. 157-158 of 3GPP2020 expressly teach, in the serving cell measurement context, including beam measurement information for each serving cell configured with servingCellMO and selecting the highest measured RSRP is RSRP results are available, otherwise the highest measured RSRQ if RSRQ results are available, otherwise the highest measured SINR. Thus, 3GPP2020 teaches the claimed availability-based ordering of beam-level measurement information, and Teyeb supplies the connection-failure/PCell context. Applicant’s argument addresses 3GPP2020 in isolation and therefore does not overcome the combination as applied.
In conclusion, the system of Teyeb/3GPP2020 teaches the limitations of “distinctively setting and reporting “cell-Level measurements and beam-Level measurements of the PCell that are obtained up to the moment at which the terminal detected the connection failure” and “where the determination of whether the highest RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR is "listed first" in the beam-level measurement information of the serving cell experiencing a connection failure relies entirely on the availability of each respective measurement quantity.” Accordingly, Teyeb/3GPP2020 teaches the claimed subject matter in the amended Claim 1, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 is upheld.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to independent Claim(s) 5, 8, and 12 and the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 1 are equally applicable to independent Claim(s) 5, 8, and 12 and the dependent claims.
The additional references cited but not relied upon further confirm that these concepts were known in the art. Da Silva et al. (US 2021/0195451) teaches beam-level measurement reporting for PCell/PSCell/Scell measurements. Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US 2023/0284312) teaches RLF reporting including available RSRP, RSRQ, and SINR measurements of the source PCell and availability-based ordering. Also, Teyeb et al. (US 2023/0262546) similarly teaches RLF-related reporting with available PCell measurement quantities and ordering.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb and Ramachandra (US 2023/0086398, previously presented), Teyeb hereinafter, in view of 3GPP; TSG RAN; NR; RRC protocol specification (Release 16), 3GPP TS 38.331 V16.1.0 (2020-07), 2020-07-24, 3GPP2020 hereinafter; 3GPP2020 was presented in the IDS submitted on 01/25/2023.
Regarding Claim 1, Teyeb teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising (Figs. 3-8; Paras. [0066-0114]):
detecting a connection failure with a primary cell (PCell) serving the terminal (Fig. 3; Para. [0066] - FIG. 3 is a message flow diagram illustrating various embodiments of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, UE 302 detects a radio link failure (RLF) (e.g. due to physical layer problem, random access problem, reaching maximum number of RLF retransmissions) for a link between the UE and a master node 304; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
setting cell level measurement information of the PCell based on measurements obtained up to the connection failure (Fig. 3; Para. [0067] - In at least one embodiment, in response to detecting the RLF, the UE generates and stores a RLF report regardless of whether not fast MCG failure recovery is configured; Para. [0029] – Table 5.3.11.3 3> set the measResultLastServCell to include the RSRP and RSRQ, if available, of the PCell based on measurements collected up to the moment the UE detected radio link failure; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
setting beam level measurement information of the PCell, to include available measurement quantities of the PCell based on measurements obtained up to the moment at which the terminal detected the connection failure(Fig. 3; Para. [0067] - In at least one embodiment, in response to detecting the RLF, the UE generates and stores a RLF report regardless of whether not fast MCG failure recovery is configured; Para. [0029] – Table 5.3.11.3 3> set the measResultLastServCell to include the RSRP and RSRQ, if available, of the PCell based on measurements collected up to the moment the UE detected radio link failure; See also Paras. [0069-0074]; Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]),
transmitting, to a base station, a first message including an indicator indicating that reporting of information related to the connection failure is available (Fig. 3; Para. [0068] - In response to detecting the RLF, UE also initiates a fast MCG link recovery procedure (this assumes that the UE is configured for MCG failure recovery). Initiating the fast MCG link recovery procedure comprises the UE 302 transmitting MCG failure information to the MN 304 via a secondary node (SN) 306. For example, the MCG failure information is transmitted to the SN 306 using the SCG leg of split SRB1 or SRB3. Additionally, if the UE has no radio link failure reports stored, the UE initializes a radio link failure report list (with zero entries) and adds the generated radio link failure report as one element to the radio link failure report list. In one embodiment, an indication is included in this entry to indicate that the RLF report was generated while MCG failure recovery was available. The RRC format that is used to encode the RLF report could be based on the MN (in both intra-RAT and inter-RAT DC cases). Some fields of the RLF report (e.g., failed PCell identity) could be included both within the RLF report and also directly in the message (MCG failure information) to aid the SN's forwarding of the RLF report message to the MN; See also Paras. [0069-0074]; Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
receiving, from the base station, a second message requesting the information related to the connection failure (Fig. 3; Para. [0075] - As shown in FIG. 3, after UE 302 transmits the RRC response message, the UE 302 may receive a request from the network to send the RLF report(s) (e.g. UEInformationRequest message with the rlf-ReportReq IE included); See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
and in response to the second message, transmitting, to the base station, a third message including the cell level measurement information and the beam level measurement information of the PCell (Fig. 3; Para. [0075] - In response, the request, UE 302 transmits one or more of its stored RLF reports to the requestor; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]),
Yet, Teyeb does not expressly teach setting beam level measurement information of the PCell, to include available measurement quantities of the PCell based on measurements obtained up to the moment at which the terminal detected the connection failure, ordered such that: a highest reference signal received power (RSRP) is listed first in case that one or more measurement results are available, a highest reference signal received quality (RSRQ) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and one or more RSRQ measurement results are available, and a highest signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and no RSRQ measurement results is available.
However, 3GPP2020 teaches
setting beam level measurement information of the PCell, to include available measurement quantities of the PCell based on measurements obtained up to the moment at which the terminal detected the connection failure, ordered such that: a highest reference signal received power (RSRP) is listed first in case that one or more measurement results are available, a highest reference signal received quality (RSRQ) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and one or more RSRQ measurement results are available, and a highest signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and no RSRQ measurement results is available (Section 5.5.5.1 General and Section 5.5.5.2 Reporting of beam measurement information (See Figures 1 and 2); See also Section 5.5.2.1 General; Section 5.5.3.1 General; Section 5.5.3.3 Derivation of cell measurement results; Section 5.5.5.3 Sorting of cell measurement results).
Examiner’s Note: 3GPP2020 Section 5.5.5.1 teaches setting beam level measurement information of the PCell by requiring that, for each serving cell configured with a servingCellIMO, the UE includes beam measurement information according to the associated report configuration (i.e., the PCell, as the serving cell, is configured to have beam measurement information included in the measurement report according to Section 5.5.5.2). Section 5.5.5.2 further teaches that in case RSRP values for reference signals are available, the UE uses RSRP as the sorting quantity and orders the beam measurement results accordingly (i.e., the beam associated with the highest RSRP value is listed first in the beam level measurement information of the PCell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Teyeb’s invention of a method for providing RLF information (Teyeb §Abstract) with 3GPP2020’s invention of “Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN” (3GPP2020 pg. 21) because 3GPP2020’s invention provides a standardized RRC measurement framework in which a network configures a UE to perform and report various types of radio measurements, including per-cell and per-reference-signal measurements, using dedicated RRC signaling (3GPP2020 pg. 127).
Figure 1: Excerpt from 3GPP2020 Section 5.5.5.1, illustrating serving-cell measurement reporting and inclusion of beam measurement information in a measurement report based on the associated report configuration.
Figure 2: Excerpt from 3GPP2020 showing beam measurement reporting rules, including use of RSRP as a sorting quantity and ordering of beam measurement results.
Regarding Claim 5, Teyeb teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: (Figs. 3-8; Paras. [0066-0114]):
receiving, from a terminal, a first message including an indicator indicating that reporting of information related to a connection failure is available (Fig. 3; Para. [0068]; See also Paras. [0069-0074]; Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150);
transmitting, to the terminal, a second message requesting the information related to the connection failure (Fig. 3; Para. [0067, 0075]; Para. [0029]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
and in response to the second message, receiving, from the terminal, a third message including cell level measurement information of a primary cell (PCell) on which the connection failure is detected that is based on measurements obtained up to a moment at which the connection failure is detected and beam level measurement information of the PCell that is based on measurements obtained up to the moment at which the connection failure is detected, (Fig. 3; Para. [0067, 0075]; Para. [0029]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]),
Yet, Teyeb does not expressly teach wherein the beam level measurement information of the PCell includes available measurement quantities of the PCell, ordered such that: a highest reference signal received power (RSRP) is listed first in case that a one or more RSRP measurement results are available, a highest reference signal received quality (RSRQ) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and one or more RSRQ measurement results are available, and a highest signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and no RSRQ measurement results is available.
However, 3GPP2020 teaches
wherein the beam level measurement information of the PCell includes available measurement quantities of the PCell, ordered such that: a highest reference signal received power (RSRP) is listed first in case that a one or more RSRP measurement results are available, a highest reference signal received quality (RSRQ) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and one or more RSRQ measurement results are available, and a highest signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and no RSRQ measurement results is available (Section 5.5.5.1 General and Section 5.5.5.2 Reporting of beam measurement information; See also Section 5.5.2.1 General; Section 5.5.3.1 General; Section 5.5.3.3 Derivation of cell measurement results; Section 5.5.5.3 Sorting of cell measurement results).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Teyeb’s invention of a method for providing RLF information (Teyeb §Abstract) with 3GPP2020’s invention of “Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN” (3GPP2020 pg. 21) because 3GPP2020’s invention provides a standardized RRC measurement framework in which a network configures a UE to perform and report various types of radio measurements, including per-cell and per-reference-signal measurements, using dedicated RRC signaling (3GPP2020 pg. 127).
Regarding Claim 8, Teyeb teaches a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising (Fig. 9; Para. [0115]):
a transceiver (Fig. 9, elements 945, 947, and 948; Para. [0115]);
and a controller configured to (Fig. 9, elements 902 and 955; Para. [0115]):
detect a connection failure with a primary cell (PCell) serving the terminal (Fig. 3; Para. [0066]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
set cell level measurement information of the PCell based on measurements obtained up to a moment at which the terminal detected the connection failure (Fig. 3; Para. [0067]; Para. [0029]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
set beam level measurement information of the PCell, to include available measurement quantities of the PCell based on measurements obtained up to the moment at which the terminal detected the connection failure (Fig. 3; Para. [0067]; Para. [0029]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
transmit, to a base station via the transceiver, a first message including an indicator indicating that reporting of information related to the connection failure is available (Fig. 3; Para. [0068]; See also Paras. [0069-0074]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
receive, from the base station via the transceiver, a second message requesting the information related to the connection failure (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
and in response to the second message, transmit, to the base station via the transceiver, a third message including the cell level measurement information of the PCell and the beam level measurement information of the PCell (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]),
Yet, Teyeb does not expressly teach set beam level measurement information of the PCell, to include available measurement quantities of the PCell based on measurements obtained up to the moment at which the terminal detected the connection failure ordered such that: a highest reference signal received power (RSRP) is listed first in case that one or more RSRP measurement results are available, a highest reference signal received quality (RSRQ) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and one or more RSRQ measurement results are available, and a highest signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR) is listed first incase that no RSRP measurement result is available and no RSRQ measurement results is available.
However, 3GPP2020 teaches
set beam level measurement information of the PCell, to include available measurement quantities of the PCell based on measurements obtained up to the moment at which the terminal detected the connection failure ordered such that: a highest reference signal received power (RSRP) is listed first in case that one or more RSRP measurement results are available, a highest reference signal received quality (RSRQ) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and one or more RSRQ measurement results are available, and a highest signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR) is listed first incase that no RSRP measurement result is available and no RSRQ measurement results is available, (Section 5.5.5.1 General and Section 5.5.5.2 Reporting of beam measurement information; See also Section 5.5.2.1 General; Section 5.5.3.1 General; Section 5.5.3.3 Derivation of cell measurement results; Section 5.5.5.3 Sorting of cell measurement results).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Teyeb’s invention of a method for providing RLF information (Teyeb §Abstract) with 3GPP2020’s invention of “Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN” (3GPP2020 pg. 21) because 3GPP2020’s invention provides a standardized RRC measurement framework in which a network configures a UE to perform and report various types of radio measurements, including per-cell and per-reference-signal measurements, using dedicated RRC signaling (3GPP2020 pg. 127).
Regarding Claim 12, Teyeb teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising (Fig. 10; Para. [0116]):
a transceiver (Fig. 10, elements 1045, 1047, and 1048; Para. [0116]);
a controller configured to (Fig. 10, elements 1002 and 1055; Para. [0116]):
receive, from a terminal via the transceiver, a first message including an indicator indicating that reporting of information related to a connection failure is available, (Fig. 3; Para. [0068]; See also Paras. [0069-0074]; Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
transmit, to the terminal via the transceiver, a second message requesting the information related to the connection failure, (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]);
and in response to the second message, receive, from the terminal via the transceiver, a third message including cell level measurement information of a primary cell (PCell) on which the connection failure is detected that is based on measurements obtained up to a moment at which the connection failure is detected and beam level measurement information of the PCell that is based on measurements obtained up to the moment at which the connection failure is detected (Fig. 3; Para. [0067, 0075]; Para. [0029]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0017-0045]; Fig. 3, Para. [0066-0087]; Fig. 4, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 5, Para. [0093-0102]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0107]; Fig. 7, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 8, Para. [0111-0114]; Para. [0117-0150]),
Yet, Teyeb does not expressly teach wherein the beam level measurement information includes available measurement quantities of the PCell, ordered such that: a highest reference signal received power (RSRP) is listed first incase that one or more RSRP measurement results are available, a highest reference signal received quality (RSRQ) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and one or more RSRQ measurement results are available, and a highest signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and no RSRQ measurement results is available.
However, 3GPP2020 teaches
wherein the beam level measurement information includes available measurement quantities of the PCell, ordered such that: a highest reference signal received power (RSRP) is listed first incase that one or more RSRP measurement results are available, a highest reference signal received quality (RSRQ) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and one or more RSRQ measurement results are available, and a highest signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR) is listed first in case that no RSRP measurement result is available and no RSRQ measurement results is available (Section 5.5.5.1 General and Section 5.5.5.2 Reporting of beam measurement information; See also Section 5.5.2.1 General; Section 5.5.3.1 General; Section 5.5.3.3 Derivation of cell measurement results; Section 5.5.5.3 Sorting of cell measurement results).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Teyeb’s invention of a method for providing RLF information (Teyeb §Abstract) with 3GPP2020’s invention of “Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN” (3GPP2020 pg. 21) because 3GPP2020’s invention provides a standardized RRC measurement framework in which a network configures a UE to perform and report various types of radio measurements, including per-cell and per-reference-signal measurements, using dedicated RRC signaling (3GPP2020 pg. 127).
Regarding Claims 3, 10, and 14, Teyeb in view of 3GPP2020 teaches Claims 1, 8, and 12.
Yet, Teyeb does not expressly teach wherein index information of each of the reference signals is stored in the beam level measurement information of the PCell.
However, 3GPP2020 teaches
wherein index information of each of the reference signals is stored in the beam level measurement information of the PCell (Section 5.5.5.1 General and Section 5.5.5.2 Reporting of beam measurement information; See also Section 5.5.2.1 General; Section 5.5.3.1 General; Section 5.5.3.3 Derivation of cell measurement results; Section 5.5.5.3 Sorting of cell measurement results).
The examiner interprets rsIndexResults and maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport as index information of the reference signals.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Teyeb’s invention of a method for providing RLF information (Teyeb §Abstract) with 3GPP2020’s invention of “Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN” (3GPP2020 pg. 21) because 3GPP2020’s invention provides a standardized RRC measurement framework in which a network configures a UE to perform and report various types of radio measurements, including per-cell and per-reference-signal measurements, using dedicated RRC signaling (3GPP2020 pg. 127).
Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 15, Teyeb in view of 3GPP2020 teaches Claims 1, 5, and 12.
Yet, Teyeb does not expressly teach wherein the at least one reference signal is a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS).
However, 3GPP2020 teaches
wherein each of the reference signals is a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (Section 5.5.5.1 General and Section 5.5.5.2 Reporting of beam measurement information; See also Section 5.5.2.1 General; Section 5.5.3.1 General; Section 5.5.3.3 Derivation of cell measurement results; Section 5.5.5.3 Sorting of cell measurement results).
The examiner interprets SS/PBCH blocks to be SSB blocks. Further, the examiner notes that Section 5.5.5.2 teaches that the reference signals may be SS/PBCH based or CSI-RS based.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Teyeb’s invention of a method for providing RLF information (Teyeb §Abstract) with 3GPP2020’s invention of “Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN” (3GPP2020 pg. 21) because 3GPP2020’s invention provides a standardized RRC measurement framework in which a network configures a UE to perform and report various types of radio measurements, including per-cell and per-reference-signal measurements, using dedicated RRC signaling (3GPP2020 pg. 127).
Regarding Claim 7, Teyeb in view of 3GPP2020 teaches Claim 5.
Yet, Teyeb does not expressly teach wherein index information of each of the reference signals is included in the beam level measurement information of the PCell, and wherein each of the reference signals is a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS).
However, 3GPP2020 teaches
wherein index information of each of the reference signals is included in the beam level measurement information of the PCell, and wherein each of the reference signals is a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (Section 5.5.5.1 General and Section 5.5.5.2 Reporting of beam measurement information; See also Section 5.5.2.1 General; Section 5.5.3.1 General; Section 5.5.3.3 Derivation of cell measurement results; Section 5.5.5.3 Sorting of cell measurement results).
wherein each of the reference signals is a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (Para. [0170] - In addition, for NR, a UE can have measurements based on more than one reference signals, such as SSB and CSI-RS. This can also create ambiguity in an RLF report. For example, in such a scenario, the UE does not know if it should sort the measurements based on only one reference signal and report both measurements, or if it should sort based on both reference signals and report accordingly; See also Paras. [0172, 0182, 0184, 0185, 0193, 0198, 0200, 0201, 0204]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Teyeb’s invention of a method for providing RLF information (Teyeb §Abstract) with 3GPP2020’s invention of “Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN” (3GPP2020 pg. 21) because 3GPP2020’s invention provides a standardized RRC measurement framework in which a network configures a UE to perform and report various types of radio measurements, including per-cell and per-reference-signal measurements, using dedicated RRC signaling (3GPP2020 pg. 127).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Da Silva et al. (US 2021/0195451) – Para. [0073]; See also Para. [0052, 0053, 0057-0062, 0064, 0066-0067, 0070, 0075-077, 0079-0087, 0090, 0093, 0095-0106, 0154, 0156, 0163, 0165]
Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US 2023/0284312) – Para. [0090-0171]
Teyeb et al. (US 2023/0262546) - Para. [0129-0179]
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468