DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to the nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (JP 2011216228 A), hereinafter Yamamoto.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Yamamoto teaches a method for manufacturing an electrode for a secondary battery (Figs. 1A and 1B) comprising a pressing, in this case a press treatment, by applying a load to an electrode active material slurry, in this case an electrode kneaded product, during drying of the electrode active material slurry coated as one or more layers on a current collector [0023].
Yamamoto is silent as to a solid content of the electrode active material slurry being specifically 70 wt% to 98 wt%, as required by claim 1, or 80 wt% to 90 wt%, as required by claim 2. However, Yamamoto teaches the wt% of the solvent in the electrode kneaded product being 10 wt% to 30 wt% [0051]. This is equivalent to a solid content of 70 wt% to 90 wt%, which lies within the claimed range of claim 1 and overlaps with the claimed range of claim 2. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art to select a solid content in the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pressing is performed by a press roll [0038]. Yamamoto is silent as to the press roll specifically applying linear pressure to the electrode active material slurry. However, considering the stationary nature of a press roll and the alignment shown in Fig. 2, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the press roll to inherently apply linear pressure to the electrode active material slurry.
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto teaches the method of claim 1, further performing drying after the pressing until the solid content of the electrode active material slurry reaches 100 wt% [0063]. This lies within the claimed range of 99 wt% to 100 wt%. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art to select a solid content after drying in the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of Gong et al. (CN 111564639 A), hereinafter Gong.
Yamamoto teaches the method of claim 3. Yamamoto is silent as to how much pressure is applied in the press treatment. However, Gong teaches a method for preparing an electrode for a secondary battery (pg. 2, ¶ 9) comprising applying a slurry with solid content of 50 to 80 wt% to a current collector (pg. 5, ¶ 8) followed by rolling at a pressure of 1 to 3 MPa (pg. 5, ¶ 13). This is equivalent to about 10.20 to 50.99 kgf/cm, which lies within the claimed range of 0.5 kgf/cm to 0.1 ton/cm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Yamamoto and Gong are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrode manufacturing methods comprising press rolling high solid content electrode active material slurries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto with the rolling pressure taught by Gong. Doing so would have helped to produce a secondary battery electrode with good flexibility, thermodynamic stability, and processing performance ((pg. 6, ¶ 11).
Conclusion
/DUSTIN VAN KIRK/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722