Response to Amendment
The 112b rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
claim 1 – “liquid injecting portion” is deemed to read on a port or equivalent structure capable of allowing liquid to flow
claim 1 – “liquid discharging portion” is deemed to read on a port or equivalent structure capable of allowing liquid to flow
claim 5 line 2 – “adhesion preventing unit” is deemed to read on a spacer (Fig. 8B) or equivalent structure for forming a space inside of the housing portion
claim 14 line 2 – “adhesion preventing unit” is deemed to read on a spacer (Fig. 8B) or equivalent structure for forming a space inside of the housing portion.
claim 15 line 2 – “adhesion preventing unit” is deemed to read on a spacer (Fig. 8B) or equivalent structure for forming a space inside of the housing portion
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure does not support the negative limitation “configured to not house the container”, per MPEP2173.05(i) the mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 12, 14-15, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gilar et al (US20100132799A1 published 06/03/2010; hereinafter Gilar).
Regarding claim 1, Gilar teaches a frozen egg culturing device (a device 10’ – Fig. 5), comprising:
a housing portion (a vessel body 12' – Fig. 5);
a liquid injecting portion (a housing inlet 62 – Fig. 5);
a liquid discharging portion (a first chamber opening 26’ – Fig. 5); and
an egg outflow preventing portion (a dispenser housing 52 – Fig. 5), wherein
the egg outflow preventing portion is placed directly in the housing portion (the dispenser housing 52 is placed directly in the vessel body 12’ – Fig. 5) to partition the housing portion between a portion configured to house a container for containing a frozen egg (“configured to house a container for containing a frozen egg” does not positively recite the container or egg; per MPEP 2115 material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims) (a first portion of the vessel body 12' including chamber 22’ capable of housing a container containing a frozen egg – see annotated Fig. 5 below) and a portion on a side of the liquid injecting portion and the liquid discharging portion (“a portion on a side of the liquid injecting portion and the liquid discharging portion” is interpreted to be a side located outside of the housing portion since the claim does not explicitly require the claimed side portion to be inside the housing portion) (a second portion including inlet 62 and chamber opening 26’ – see annotated Fig. 5 below) (the dispenser housing 52 creates the partition between the first and second portions via the interface between surface 54 and interior wall of chamber 20 – paragraph 0069; see annotated Fig. 5 below).
[AltContent: rect]
Regarding claim 3, Gilar teaches the frozen egg culturing device according to claim 1, wherein the container for containing the frozen egg has a shape of letter V in a front view thereof (the second chamber 22’ is capable of housing a container having the container a shape of letter V – Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Gilar teaches the frozen egg culturing device according to 1, wherein the frozen egg is a frozen mammalian egg (the second chamber 22’ is capable of holding a frozen mammalian egg – Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Gilar teaches the frozen egg culturing device according to 1, further comprising an adhesion preventing unit in the housing portion (an abutment ridge 131 forms a space inside of the vessel body 12’ – Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Gilar teaches the frozen egg culturing device according to claim 3, wherein the frozen egg is a frozen mammalian egg (the sample dispenser 50 is capable of holding a frozen mammalian egg – Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Gilar teaches the frozen egg culturing device according to claim 3, further comprising an adhesion preventing unit in the housing portion (an abutment ridge 131 in the vessel body 12' suspending the sample dispenser 50 and forming a space inside of the vessel body 12’ – Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Gilar teaches the frozen egg culturing device according to claim 4, further comprising an adhesion preventing unit in the housing portion (an abutment ridge 131 forming a space inside of the vessel body 12’ – Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 21, Gilar teaches the frozen egg culturing device according to claim 1, wherein the frozen egg culturing device has a bag shape (the device 10’ is deemed to have a bag shape because a bag can have a cylindrical shape – Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 23, Gilar teaches the frozen egg culturing device according to claim 1, wherein the portion on the side of the liquid injecting portion and the liquid discharging portion is configured to not house the container (the second portion of the vessel body 12’ is capable of not housing the container – Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilar in view of Haywood et al (US20120058553A1 published 03/08/2012; hereinafter Haywood) .
Regarding claim 22, Gilar teaches the frozen egg culturing device according to claim 1, the egg outflow preventing portion is placed in a form of a wall (the dispenser housing 52 is in a form of a wall – Fig. 5) to partition the housing portion between the portion configured to house the container and the portion on the side of the liquid injection potion and the liquid discharging portion (the dispenser housing 52 partitions the vessel body 12' between the first and second portions – Fig. 5).
However, Gilar does not teach wherein the egg outflow preventing portion has a mesh structure.
Haywood teaches a device for transporting a biological sample wherein the egg outflow preventing portion (a sample holder 16 is dimensioned to be received in container 12 and to support a biological sample – paragraph 96) has a mesh structure (permeable mesh 92 and 94 preferably have a sufficiently small pore size to enable holder 16 to strain small pieces of the biological sample – paragraph 110 and Fig. 1). Haywood teaches to use the mesh so that the holder with sample can be immediately put into a container assembly to immerse the sample in the reagent for transport from remote locations (paragraph 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the dispenser housing 52, as taught by Gilar, with the mesh structure, taught by Haywood, to gain the advantage where the devices 10’ can be put into a container assembly for transport from remote locations. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Gilar and Haywood teach containers for biological samples.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Point 1: The applicant’s argument regarding Gilar where “the egg outflow preventing portion of the present invention is not provided in the container for containing a frozen egg" is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Gilar have been considered, and the prior art rejection has been modified in order to address the amended claim language. The examiner has presented a new interpretation where the “dispenser housing 52” reads on the “egg outflow preventing portion”.
Furthermore, the examiner points out that the limitation “a container for containing a frozen egg” is not positively recited and per MPEP 2115 material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.C.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798