DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The structure of formula (8) as claimed in claim 6 is not in the written description. The specification describes a formula (8) that is not the formula of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (WO 2020040298) (Hatakeyama).
In reference to claims 1-3, 5, and 7-8, Hatakeyama teaches an organic electroluminescent device including a host compound (e.g. the compound below, in box [057]), a thermally activated delayed phosphor (e.g. compound CC2TA below [060]) and a compound having a boron atom (e.g. the Boron compound below [0130]) as components of the light emitting layer between an anode and a cathode (Hatakeyama [004] to [005]).
Hatakeyama further teaches that the use of these materials as taught realizes a spectrum with good halftone width and a good color, high external quantum efficiency, improved roll-off and long life (Hatakeyama [036]).
Given that Hatakeyama discloses the device configuration that encompasses the presently claimed device, including a light emitting layer comprising the components above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use device configuration, which is both disclosed by Hatakeyama and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: CC2TA reads on a first host wherein fis 2, e is 1, Ar1 is a heterocyclic group having 9 carbon atoms, the host compound reads on formula 6 wherein one of X1 is N, each of Ar2 is a hydrogen or a carbazole, and the boron compound reads on a formula (4) wherein DEFG and H are ach benzene, each Y1 is B, one of X2 is O and each other of X2 is N-Ar3 and Ar3 is phenyl.
For Claim 2: Reads on heterocyclic group having 9 carbon atoms.
For Claim 3: Reads on formula 5.
For Claim 5: Reads on formula (7).
For Claim 7-8: Reads on 0.05 (per the instant specification same as compound 4-121).
In reference to claim 6, Hatakeyama teaches an organic electroluminescent device including a host compound of formula H1 ([0055-[0056]), a thermally activated delayed phosphor (e.g. compound CC2TA below [060]) and a compound having a boron atom (e.g. the Boron compound below [0130]) as components of the light emitting layer between an anode and a cathode (Hatakeyama [004] to [005]).
for example wherein in the formula H-1, L1 is a heteroarylene that is a triazine ring ([0055] to [0056]).
Hatakeyama discloses the compound H1 that encompasses the presently claimed compound of formula , including wherein L1 is a traizine. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Hatakeyama are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound H1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for formula H1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Hatakeyama and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Hatakeyama further teaches that the use of these materials as taught realizes a spectrum with good halftone width and a good color, high external quantum efficiency, improved roll-off and long life (Hatakeyama [036]).
Given that Hatakeyama discloses the device configuration that encompasses the presently claimed device, including a light emitting layer comprising the components above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use device configuration, which is both disclosed by Hatakeyama and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 6: Reads on formula (8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the present invention is based on a fundamentally different technical concept. Applicant specifically argues that the teaching of Hatakeyama does not assign charge transport functions to different host materials. This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing.
Initially, the claims only prefer that hole injection and electron injection occur into different materials and do not require such a scenario. Furthermore, the difference is not actually meaningful. Holes are not really injected, and all charge transport in these devices actually corresponds to the movement of electrons between electrodes. Moreover, the combination of materials is the same regardless of whether Applicant wished to receive electrons or remove electrons or to participate in reverse inter system crossing or emit light.
Similarly, Applicant argues that Hatakeyama designates one host, one dopant and an assistant dopant whereas Applicant claims two hosts and a dopant with a different goal. This argument is not convincing. The designation of the material as a host or dopant does not change its structure or the composition of the resulting layer. Renaming a material or component does not change the structure of the resulting composition. The fact that the instant applicant combines the materials for a different purpose does not differentiate the claims from the prior art.
Applicant argues that the claimed combination gives rise to unexpected results. However, such results do not appear to be a comparison to the prior art of record. Further, there is no indication of the statistical significance of the results and the results do not appear to be commensurate in scope with the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786