DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The election of species requirement as previously set forth on 02/25/2026 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (WO 2020040298) (Hatakeyama).
In reference to claims 1-3 and 6-8, Hatakeyama teaches an organic electroluminescent device including a host compound (e.g. the compounds below, in box) [057]), a thermally activated delayed phosphor (e.g. compound DCN3 below [060]) and a compound having a boron atom (e.g. the Boron compound below [0130]) as components of the light emitting layer between an anode and a cathode (Hatakeyama [004] to [005]).
Hatakeyama further teaches that the use of these materials as taught realizes a spectrum with good halftone width and a good color, high external quantum efficiency, improved roll-off and long life (Hatakeyam [036]).
Given that Hatakeyama discloses the device configuration that encompasses the presently claimed device, including a light emitting layer comprising the components above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use device configuration, which is both disclosed by Hatakeyama and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: DCN3 reads on a first host wherein d is 1, R1 a carbazole, f is 1, and Ar1 is a substituted phenyl, the host compound reads on formula 2 wherein each of X1 is N, each of Ar2 is a substituted phenyl, and the boron compound reads on a formula (4) wherein DEFG and H are ach benzene, each Y1 is B, one of X2 is O and each other of X2 is N-Ar3 and Ar3 is phenyl.
For Claim 2: Reads on substituted phenyl.
For Claim 3: Reads on formula 5.
For Claim 6: Reads on formula 8.
For Claim 7-8: Reads on 0.05 (per the instant specification same as compound 4-121).
In reference to claims 1-5 and 7-8, Hatakeyama teaches an organic electroluminescent device including a host compound (e.g. the compound below, in box [057]), a thermally activated delayed phosphor (e.g. compound DCN3 below [060]) and a compound having a boron atom (e.g. the Boron compound below [0130]) as components of the light emitting layer between an anode and a cathode (Hatakeyama [004] to [005]).
Hatakeyama further teaches that the use of these materials as taught realizes a spectrum with good halftone width and a good color, high external quantum efficiency, improved roll-off and long life (Hatakeyama [036]).
Given that Hatakeyama discloses the device configuration that encompasses the presently claimed device, including a light emitting layer comprising the components above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use device configuration, which is both disclosed by Hatakeyama and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: DCN3 reads on a first host wherein d is 1, R1 a carbazole, f is 1, and Ar1 is a substituted phenyl, the host compound reads on formula 2 wherein one of X1 is N, each of Ar2 is a hydrogen or a carbazole, and the boron compound reads on a formula (4) wherein DEFG and H are ach benzene, each Y1 is B, one of X2 is O and each other of X2 is N-Ar3 and Ar3 is phenyl.
For Claim 2: Reads on substituted phenyl.
For Claim 3: Reads on formula 5.
For Claim 4: Reads on formula 6.
For Claim 5: Reads on formula (7).
For Claim 7-8: Reads on 0.05 (per the instant specification same as compound 4-121).
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786