DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted January 25, 2023, has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
4. All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Specification
5. The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claims 2 and 4 respectively recite that a distance from the second vertical frame bone becomes 2/5 and 3/5 of the sitance between the pair of vertical frame bones but these values are not recited in the instant disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
6. Claim 6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 9-12 recite “the side in the horizontal direction” and “the side in the vertical direction” but these sides lack antecedent basis and it is unclear which sides are being limited since there are four sides to a rectangle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee KR2016-0065622, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee KR2016-0065622.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a liquid lead storage battery comprising a positive electrode plate including a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode mixture, wherein: the positive electrode current collector includes a grid-like substrate with a rectangular shape and a lug 110 continuous with the grid-like substrate (para 0030); the positive electrode mixture is held in the grid-like substrate (para 0029); the grid-like substrate includes a frame bone forming four sides of the rectangular shape (121 to 124, para 0029), and a plurality of intermediate bones connected to the frame bone and present inward of the frame bone; the frame bone includes an upper frame bone 121 located on an upper side of the grid-like substrate and extending in a horizontal direction, a lower frame bone 122 located on a lower side of the grid-like substrate and extending in the horizontal direction, and a pair of vertical frame bones 123/124 extending in a vertical direction; the lug 110 protrudes upward from a position offset from a center of the upper frame bone in a longitudinal direction to a side closer to either of the pair of vertical frame bones (closer to 123); the plurality of intermediate bones includes a plurality of vertical intermediate bones 131/132 extending from the upper frame bone toward the lower frame bone side or from the lower frame bone toward the upper frame bone side (paras 0028, 0034-0036), and a plurality of horizontal intermediate bones 141-144 extending from one of the pair of vertical frame bones toward the other side or from the other of the pair of vertical frame bones toward the one side (paras 0042-0048); at least part of a plurality of the vertical intermediate bones present in a range between a center between the pair of vertical frame bones and a first vertical frame bone being the vertical frame bone on a side where the lug is not present, are first vertical intermediate bones extending from the lower frame bone side toward the upper frame bone side while obliquely expanding from each other, and directly reaching the upper frame bone; the vertical intermediate bones extending from the lower frame bone side toward the upper frame bone side while obliquely expanding from each other all directly reach the upper frame bone since e.g. the vertical intermediate bone on the right is formed of multiple segments of vertical intermediate bone (see annotated Fig below); angles formed by the first vertical intermediate bones and the upper frame bone on the first vertical frame bone side are less than 90° (see annotated Fig); and connection points of the first vertical intermediate bones to the upper frame bone are present only in the range (see entire disclosure and especially Fig. 2 and paras 0028, 0034-0036, 0042-0048).
If it is not inherent that the range of Lee begins at “a center” between the pair of vertical frame bones, then it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the plate such that the positive electrode plate of the battery of Lee is designed such that the range begins at a center of the plate to ensure ideal electrode active material distribution around the lug since Lee teaches that this is an important consideration (para 0062). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee describes connection points of the first vertical intermediate bones to the upper frame bone being present only in the range, said range being present only up to a position where a distance from the first vertical bone becomes a fraction of a distance between the pair of vertical frame bones as described and shown above. Lee does not specifically recite wherein the fraction of the distance is 2/5. However, the claim recites “a distance between the pair of vertical frame bones” which can be any distance designated by the skilled artisan and does not mean a specific distance, such as the total distance between said pair of vertical frame bones. Accordingly, the range is inherently 2/5 of a particular distance between the vertical frame bone pair.
Regarding Claims 3-4 and 7, Lee discloses second vertical intermediate bones (see annotated Fig above) extending from the upper frame bone toward the lower frame bone while obliquely expanding from each other such that at least part of the plurality of vertical intermediate bones in a range between the center (shown previously) and a second vertical frame bone (being on the lug side), said range being present only up to a position where a distance from the second vertical bone becomes a fraction of a distance between the pair of vertical frame bones as described and shown above. Lee does not specifically recite wherein the fraction of the distance is 2/5. However, the claim recites “a distance between the pair of vertical frame bones” which can be any distance designated by the skilled artisan and does not mean a specific distance, such as the total distance between said pair of vertical frame bones. Accordingly, the range is inherently 2/5 of a particular distance between the vertical frame bone pairs.
Regarding Claims 5 and 8, the skilled artisan would be capable of drawing lines extending the first vertical intermediate bones downward below the lower fame bone converging to a single point and lines extending the second vertical intermediate bones above the upper frame bone converging to a single point, since this requires only a decision to draw lines and does not actually have any structural significance.
Regarding Claims 6 and 9-12, Lee discloses in para 0032 that the rectangular shape forming the frame bone is a shape in which the sides in the horizontal direction are longer than the sides in the vertical direction since the length of the upper and lower frames 121/122 are 142 mm while the length of the side frames 123/124 are 114 mm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Buckethal US Patent 4118553, Mrotek US Patent 5308719, Schaeffer US PG Publication 2012/0047719, Takahashi JP2002042821, Kawaguchi JP2014197456, and Kawaguchi JP2017183278 all teach similar structures to what is claimed (see figures) but lack the specifically recited variation of oblique expansion between intermediate bones from both the top and bottom frame bones.
/LISA S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729