Claim Interpretation
All of the claims utilize the term “configured” (either explicitly or implicitly through their dependence on a claim that explicitly uses it) which is a way to express the claimed limitations with functional language. As a result, any prior art that is capable of anticipating or rendering obvious the limitations modified by functional language would read on the claims, even if the disclosure does not explicitly call for the intended usage of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha (KR 20140087780 A).
Regarding claim 1, Cha teaches a battery pack assembly guide jig for assembling a battery pack configured to support a case cover and case tray of the battery pack when said cover and tray are coupled to each other. See the encircled members of Cha’s disclosure below in their Figures 5 and 6. Although a case tray is not shown, it is clear that the assembly jig has the capacity clamp together to support a case tray and case cover of a battery pack.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Cha discloses a first guide configured to temporarily fix a first side edge of the case tray and a first side edge of the case cover. Cha continues to disclose a second guide configured to temporarily fix a second side edge of the case tray and a second side edge of the case cover where the second side edges are opposite the first side edges of the case tray and case cover, respectively. Cha also discloses a connector (enclosed by the oval) that is configured to connect the first guide and the second guide. As mentioned above, if the guides clamped together, they would be able to support a case tray and case cover coupled together.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 11, Cha discloses that the first and second guides are provided in a pair, i.e., each of the first guide and second guide is paired with another first and second guide, respectively. See the figure below:
Although the figure’s orientation seems to indicate that the guides are separated from each other by a predetermined distance in a width or length direction of the battery pack, the battery pack itself is not being claimed. The assembly jig of Cha is capable of supporting a battery pack such that the height direction corresponds with the direction of the distance between which the elements of the first guide pair are spaced. The battery itself is not claimed, therefore a rearrangement of the battery as previously described would not be an obvious modification of Cha (which would require a rejection under 35 USC 103, supported by MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C)). Therefore, an anticipatory rejection of claims 4, 5, and 11 is appropriate.
Regarding claim 6, Cha discloses a first and second connection member that configured to connect the first guide and second guide that are separated by a predetermined distance in the height direction. See Fig. 5 below:
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Cha’s first guide has a guiding body which a predetermined shape and a first tray insertion portion and a first cover insertion portion (the corners into which a case tray or case cover may be inserted) as shown below. Since the first guiding body has a predetermined shape, the insertion portions also are spaced from one another by a predetermined distance.
Regarding claim 8, the corners have an arbitrary, predetermined depth and extend in an up/down direction of the first guiding body.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Cha’s second guide is constructed in an identical way to the first guide, so the rationales of rejection for claims 7 and 8 also suffice as rationales for rejections of claims 9 and 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The state of the prior art does not teach the claimed guide members with insertion portions whose widths decrease from the top of the portion to the bottom of the portion. Although the Applicant mentions that purpose of the changing widths is to help secure/support the case cover more firmly (see paragraph [0086] of the published application), no motivation was found to modify Cha, the closest prior art, in such a way to read on the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsuo (US 2013/0108909 A1) discloses a battery pack case comprised of different grooved guides that allow for an easy assembly of a battery. The key difference is that Matsuo’s grooved guides are all parts of the battery case instead of only being assembly aids.
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722