DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 and 8-12 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8-10, and 12 are amended.
Claims 5-7 and 13-15 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al., (hereinafter Cheng), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0239417, in view of Zhou et al., (hereinafter Zhou), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0215123, and in further view of Cao et al., (hereinafter Cao), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0393754.
As per claim 1, Cheng discloses a method by a network [fig. 6, paragraphs 0006, 0007, 0379, a method by a network (a method for downlink transmission in cellular wireless communication networks)], the method comprising:
transmitting a downlink control channel including downlink control information [fig. 2, Abstract, paragraphs 0056, 0077, 0236, 0253, 0275, transmitting a downlink control channel including downlink control information (receiving first downlink control information (DCI) from the BS; UE detects a PDCCH with a configured DCI format)], wherein the downlink control information includes resource assignment information for a downlink data channel [fig. 2, paragraphs 0056, 0236, 0253, 0275, wherein the downlink control information includes resource assignment information for a downlink data channel (UE may monitor the PDCCH(s) to find possible assignments; the scheduling DCI of the dynamic downlink assignment)];
transmitting the downlink data channel based on the resource assignment information [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0077, 0379-0384, transmitting the downlink data channel based on the resource assignment information (a Transport Block (TB) transmitted in the first PDSCH; the first PDSCH in action 604 is scheduled by a first DCI format)]; and
receiving hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the downlink data channel [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0051, 0150, 0154, 0157, 0249, 0259, receiving hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the downlink data channel (the payload of HARQ-ACK feedback for a HARQ process may be fixed and configured; the HARQ/ACK corresponding to the PDSCH)],
a sequence is determined based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel [table 5, paragraphs 0078, 0128, 0132, 0143, 0145, 0217, 0335, 0343, a sequence is determined based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel (UE may transmit the message; message may include at least one of: a parameter for indicating whether the UE supports mismatch compensation between different polarization modes (e.g., circular-polarization-compensation); MCS information is used for decoding and demodulating data from the scheduled PDSCH)].
Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the downlink data channel includes a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), wherein a sequence of the DMRS is generated based on a sequence generator initialized with a first sequence initialization value.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the downlink data channel includes a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) [fig. 4, paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0018, 0019, 0105, 0106, 0123, wherein the downlink data channel includes a demodulation reference signal (demodulating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH))], wherein a sequence of the DMRS is generated based on a sequence generator initialized with a first sequence initialization value [fig. 4, paragraphs 0012, 0018, 0019, 0105, 0123, wherein a sequence of the DMRS is generated based on a sequence generator initialized with a first sequence initialization value (the sequence initialization of the DMRS; uses the cell ID for sequence initialization; used in demodulating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in the modified Cheng by including wherein the sequence is sequence-initialized as taught by Zhou because it would provide the modified Cheng's method with the enhanced capability of increasing the system capacity [Zhou, paragraph 0004].
The modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel, the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier.
However, Cao teaches wherein, based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel, the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier [fig. 1, 2, 9A, paragraphs 0095, 0097, 0132, 0140, wherein, based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel, the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier (mapping rules between cell identifier/SSB index/beam index/BWP index and polarization; a specific group of cells may use Left-Hand Circular Polarization (LHCP), and another group of cells may use Right-Hand Circular Polarization (RHCP))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in the modified Cheng by including initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier as taught by Cao because it would provide the modified Cheng's method with the enhanced capability of improving resource switching efficiency [Cao, paragraphs 0002, 0098].
As per claim 2, Cheng discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the circular polarization is right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), or left-handed circular polarization (LHCP) [paragraphs 0125, 0126, 0133, 0134, wherein the circular polarization is right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), or left-handed circular polarization (circular-polarized, e.g., left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) or right-hand circular polarization (RHCP))].
As per claim 3, Cheng discloses the method of claim 1,
a parameter related to the circular polarization 2Mʎ, where ʎ is determined as 0 or 1 depending on the circular polarization information, and M is a positive integer [table 6, paragraphs 0066, 0125, 0133, 0144, 0145, 0244, 0321, 0322, 0335-0340, a parameter related to the circular polarization 2Mʎ, where ʎ is determined as 0 or 1 depending on the circular polarization information, and M is a positive integer (the UE when the parameter circular-polarization is ‘true’ may be different from the value of the CQI when the parameter circular-polarization is ‘false’)].
Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sequence initialization value is determined based on a parameter.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first sequence initialization value is determined based on a parameter [fig. 4, paragraphs 0012, 0018, 0019, 0105, 0123, wherein the first sequence initialization value is determined based on a parameter (the sequence initialization of the DMRS; uses the cell ID for sequence initialization; used in demodulating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in the modified Cheng by including wherein the sequence is sequence-initialized as taught by Zhou because it would provide the modified Cheng's method with the enhanced capability of increasing the system capacity [Zhou, paragraph 0004].
As per claim 4, Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, Cheng discloses circular polarization [paragraphs 0125, 0126, 0133, 0134]. Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the following equation
where ʎ is determined as 0 or 1 depending on the polarization information,
is a slot index,
is an identification value for sequence identification, and l is an index of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the sequence initialized according to the following equation
where ʎ is determined as 0 or 1 depending on the polarization information,
is a slot index,
is an identification value for sequence identification, and l is an index of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol [paragraphs 0014-0017, wherein the CSI RS included in the downlink signal is generated based on the sequence sequence-initialized according to the following equation where ʎ is determined as 0 or 1 depending on the polarization information, is a slot index, is an identification value for sequence identification, and l is an index of an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol (
, where, n.sub.s is a slot index in a radio frame, and l is an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol index in a slot)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in the modified Cheng by including wherein the sequence is sequence-initialized as taught by Zhou because it would provide the modified Cheng's method with the enhanced capability of increasing the system capacity [Zhou, paragraph 0004].
As per claim 8, Cheng discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the network is configured to determine the circular polarization on the downlink data channel based on the cell identifier related to the network [paragraphs 0122, 0128, 0133-0136, 0143-0145, wherein the network is configured to determine the circular polarization on the downlink data channel based on the cell identifier related to the network (parameters based on the assumption that circular-polarized antennas are used by the BS (e.g., a gNB))].
As per claim 9, Cheng discloses the method of claim 8, Cheng discloses circular polarization [paragraphs 0125, 0126, 0133, 0134]. Cheng does not explicitly disclose further comprising transmitting a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), wherein the PSS and the SSS include a sequence initialized using a sequence initialized value determined based on the polarization related to the cell identifier.
However, Zhou teaches transmitting a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), wherein the PSS and the SSS include a sequence initialized using a sequence initialized value determined based on the polarization related to the cell identifier [fig. 5, paragraphs 0012, 0019, 0063, 0067, 0079, transmitting a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), wherein the PSS and the SSS include a sequence initialized using a sequence initialized value determined based on the polarization related to the cell identifier (uses the cell ID for sequence initialization; downlink synchronization of a user equipment in different beam directions, it is needed that a synchronization channel (similar to a primary synchronization signal (PSS)/a secondary synchronization signal (SSS))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in the modified Cheng by transmitting a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) as taught by Zhou because it would provide the Cheng's modified method with the enhanced capability of increasing the system capacity [Zhou, paragraph 0004].
As per claim 10, Cheng discloses a method by a user equipment (UE) [fig. 6, paragraphs 0006, 0007, 0379, a method by a user equipment (a method for downlink transmission in cellular wireless communication networks)], the method comprising:
receiving, from a network, a downlink control channel including downlink control information [fig. 2, Abstract, paragraphs 0056, 0077, 0236, 0253, 0275, receiving, from a network, a downlink control channel including downlink control information (receiving first downlink control information (DCI) from the BS; UE detects a PDCCH with a configured DCI format)], wherein the downlink control information includes resource assignment information for a downlink data channel [fig. 2, paragraphs 0056, 0236, 0253, 0275, wherein the downlink control information includes resource assignment information for a downlink data channel (UE may monitor the PDCCH(s) to find possible assignments; the scheduling DCI of the dynamic downlink assignment)]
receiving, from the network, the downlink data channel based on the resource assignment information [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0077, 0379-0384, receiving, from the network, the downlink data channel based on the resource assignment information (a Transport Block (TB) transmitted in the first PDSCH; the first PDSCH in action 604 is scheduled by a first DCI format)]; and
transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the downlink data channel [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0051, 0150, 0154, 0157, 0249, 0259, transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the downlink data channel (the payload of HARQ-ACK feedback for a HARQ process may be fixed and configured; the HARQ/ACK corresponding to the PDSCH)],
a sequence is determined based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel [table 5, paragraphs 0078, 0128, 0132, 0143, 0145, 0217, 0335, 0343, a sequence is determined based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel (UE may transmit the message; message may include at least one of: a parameter for indicating whether the UE supports mismatch compensation between different polarization modes (e.g., circular-polarization-compensation); MCS information is used for decoding and demodulating data from the scheduled PDSCH)].
Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the downlink data channel includes a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), wherein a sequence of the DMRS is generated based on a sequence generator initialized with a first sequence initialization value.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the downlink data channel includes a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) [fig. 4, paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0018, 0019, 0105, 0106, 0123, wherein the downlink data channel includes a demodulation reference signal (demodulating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH))], wherein a sequence of the DMRS is generated based on a sequence generator initialized with a first sequence initialization value [fig. 4, paragraphs 0012, 0018, 0019, 0105, 0123, wherein a sequence of the DMRS is generated based on a sequence generator initialized with a first sequence initialization value (the sequence initialization of the DMRS; uses the cell ID for sequence initialization; used in demodulating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in the modified Cheng by including wherein the sequence is sequence-initialized as taught by Zhou because it would provide the modified Cheng's method with the enhanced capability of increasing the system capacity [Zhou, paragraph 0004].
The modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel, the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier.
However, Cao teaches wherein, based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel, the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier [fig. 1, 2, 9A, paragraphs 0095, 0097, 0132, 0140, wherein, based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel, the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier (mapping rules between cell identifier/SSB index/beam index/BWP index and polarization; a specific group of cells may use Left-Hand Circular Polarization (LHCP), and another group of cells may use Right-Hand Circular Polarization (RHCP))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in the modified Cheng by including initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier as taught by Cao because it would provide the modified Cheng's method with the enhanced capability of improving resource switching efficiency [Cao, paragraphs 0002, 0098].
As per claim 11, Cheng discloses the method of claim 10,
wherein the circular polarization is right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), or left-handed circular polarization (LHCP) [paragraphs 0125, 0126, 0133, 0134, wherein the circular polarization is right-handed circular polarization (RHCP), or left-handed circular polarization (circular-polarized, e.g., left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) or right-hand circular polarization (RHCP))].
As per claim 12, Cheng discloses a non-terrestrial network (NTN) [fig. 1, paragraphs 0058, 0063, 0007, 0379, a non-terrestrial network (Downlink Transmission in NTN; NTN scenarios)], comprising:
a radio frequency (RF) transceiver; and a processor connected to the RF transceiver [fig. 7, paragraphs 0385, 0387, 0395, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver; and a processor connected to the RF transceiver (processor 728 may process the data 730 and the instructions 732 received from the memory 734, and information transmitted and received via the transceiver 720)], wherein the processor is configured to:
control the RF transceiver to transmit a downlink control channel including downlink control information [fig. 2, Abstract, paragraphs 0056, 0077, 0236, 0253, 0275, transmit a downlink control channel including downlink control information (receiving first downlink control information (DCI) from the BS; UE detects a PDCCH with a configured DCI format)], wherein the downlink control information includes resource assignment information for a downlink data channel [fig. 2, paragraphs 0056, 0236, 0253, 0275, wherein the downlink control information includes resource assignment information for a downlink data channel (UE may monitor the PDCCH(s) to find possible assignments; the scheduling DCI of the dynamic downlink assignment)];
control the RF transceiver to transmit the downlink data channel based on the resource assignment information [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0077, 0379-0384, transmit the downlink data channel based on the resource assignment information (a Transport Block (TB) transmitted in the first PDSCH; the first PDSCH in action 604 is scheduled by a first DCI format)]; and
control the RF transceiver to receive hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the downlink data channel [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0051, 0150, 0154, 0157, 0249, 0259, receive hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for the downlink data channel (the payload of HARQ-ACK feedback for a HARQ process may be fixed and configured; the HARQ/ACK corresponding to the PDSCH)],
a sequence is determined based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel [table 5, paragraphs 0078, 0128, 0132, 0143, 0145, 0217, 0335, 0343, a sequence is determined based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel (UE may transmit the message; message may include at least one of: a parameter for indicating whether the UE supports mismatch compensation between different polarization modes (e.g., circular-polarization-compensation); MCS information is used for decoding and demodulating data from the scheduled PDSCH)].
Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the downlink data channel includes a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), wherein a sequence of the DMRS is generated based on a sequence generator initialized with a first sequence initialization value.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the downlink data channel includes a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) [fig. 4, paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0018, 0019, 0105, 0106, 0123, wherein the downlink data channel includes a demodulation reference signal (demodulating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH))], wherein a sequence of the DMRS is generated based on a sequence generator initialized with a first sequence initialization value [fig. 4, paragraphs 0012, 0018, 0019, 0105, 0123, wherein a sequence of the DMRS is generated based on a sequence generator initialized with a first sequence initialization value (the sequence initialization of the DMRS; uses the cell ID for sequence initialization; used in demodulating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the NTN described in the modified Cheng by including wherein the sequence is sequence-initialized as taught by Zhou because it would provide the modified Cheng's NTN with the enhanced capability of increasing the system capacity [Zhou, paragraph 0004].
The modified Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel, the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier.
However, Cao teaches wherein, based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel, the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier [fig. 1, 2, 9A, paragraphs 0095, 0097, 0132, 0140, wherein, based on a circular polarization applied to the downlink data channel, the first sequence initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier (mapping rules between cell identifier/SSB index/beam index/BWP index and polarization; a specific group of cells may use Left-Hand Circular Polarization (LHCP), and another group of cells may use Right-Hand Circular Polarization (RHCP))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the NTN described in the modified Cheng by including initialization value is determined based on the circular polarization and a cell identifier as taught by Cao because it would provide the modified Cheng's NTN with the enhanced capability of improving resource switching efficiency [Cao, paragraphs 0002, 0098].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liberg et al., U.S. Publication No. 2022/0337308 discloses the network node can transmit a downlink signal or channel in the first cell according to a first polarization mode.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469