DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 5/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that Example 1 of Satoshi does not teach the claimed range, examiner points out that the range value for f1/fw ≈ 3.15, which lies just outside the claimed range by at least 0.15, which would render the range prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.05 I). Therefore, Satoshi still reads on feature b of claim 23 and independent claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23, 26, 29-30, 32-40, 42, 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Machida WO 2019097719 (hereinafter “Machida”).
Regarding claim 23, Machida teaches a method for manufacturing a zoom optical system comprising a front-side lens group having positive refractive power (Machida fig. 25 – G1, see also para. 0130), a first middle lens group having negative refractive power (Machida fig. 25 – G2, see also para. 0130), a second middle lens group having positive refractive power (Machida fig. 25 – G3-G4, where the combined refractive power is approximately 46.17 as calculated), and a succeeding lens group (Machida fig. 25 – G5-G7), the lens groups being arranged in order from an object side along an optical axis (Machida fig. 25), wherein
the method comprising either a feature A or a feature B, wherein,
the feature A comprises a step of disposing the front- side lens group, the first middle lens group, the second middle lens group and the succeeding lens group in a lens barrel so that:
intervals of the lens groups adjacent to each other change at zooming,
the succeeding lens group includes a first focusing lens group disposed closest to the object side in the succeeding lens group and a second focusing lens group disposed immediately adjacent to the first focusing lens group on an image side of the first focusing lens group, with no lens group disposed between the first focusing lens group and the second focusing lens group,
upon focusing, the first focusing lens group and the second focusing lens group are moved along the optical axis independently of each other,
upon focusing from an infinity object to a short-distance object, the first focusing lens group and the second focusing lens group move toward an image along the optical axis,
the succeeding lens group includes at least one lens group disposed on the image side of the second focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing ions, and
the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
2.30 <fl/fw < 8.00
-6.00 < fFs/fw < 6.00
0.10 < (-fN)/fL < 0.75
where
fl: focal length of the front-side lens group,
fw: focal length of the zoom optical system in a wide-angle end state,
fFs: focal length of a focusing lens group having strongest refractive power among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group,
fN: focal length of a lens disposed second closest to the image side in the zoom optical system, and
fL: focal length of a lens disposed closest to the image side in the zoom optical system, and
the feature B comprises a step of disposing the front-side lens group (G1), the first middle lens group (G2), the second middle lens group (G3-G4) and the succeeding lens group (G5-G7) in a lens barrel so that:
intervals of the lens groups adjacent to each other change at zooming (Machida fig. 25 – arrows below each lens group indicate movement during zooming),
the second middle lens group (G3-G4) consists of two lens groups (G3 and G4),
the succeeding lens group (G5-G7) includes a first focusing lens group (Machida fig. 25 - G5) disposed closest to the object side in the succeeding lens group (Machida fig. 25) and a second focusing lens group (Machida fig. 1 - G6) disposed immediately adjacent to the first focusing lens group (G5) on an image side of the first focusing lens group (Machida fig. 25 – G6 is immediately adjacent to G5), with no lens group disposed between the first focusing group and the second focusing group (Machida fig. 25 – no lens groups are disposed between G5 and G6),
upon focusing, the first focusing lens group (G5) and the second focusing lens group (G6) are moved along the optical axis (Machida fig. 25 – arrows below G5 and G6 indicate focusing movement),
the succeeding lens group (G5-G7) includes at least one lens group (G7) disposed on the image side of the second focusing lens group (Machida fig. 25 – G7 is disposed on the image side of G6), and
the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
3.30 < f1/fw < 8.00 (Machida table 5, 93.169/24.8 ≈ 3.76 as calculated),
-6.00 < fFs/fw < 6.00 (Machida table 5, 85.936/24.8 ≈ 3.47 as calculated)
where
f1: focal length of the front-side lens group,
fw: focal length of the zoom optical system in a wide- angle end state, and
fFs: focal length of a focusing lens group having strongest refractive power among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group.
Regarding claim 26, Machida teaches a method for manufacturing a zoom optical system comprising a front-side lens group having positive refractive power (Machida fig. 25 – G1, see also para. 0130), a first middle lens group having negative refractive power (Machida fig. 25 – G2, see also para. 0130), a second middle lens group having positive refractive power (Machida fig. 25 – G3-G4, where the combined refractive power is approximately 46.17 as calculated), and a succeeding lens group (Machida fig. 25 – G5-G7), the lens groups being arranged in order from an object side along an optical axis (Machida fig. 25), wherein
intervals of the lens groups adjacent to each other change at zooming (Machida fig. 25 – arrows below each lens group indicate movement during zooming),
the second middle lens group (G3-G4) consists of two lens groups (G3 and G4),
the succeeding lens group (G5-G7) includes a first focusing lens group (Machida fig. 25 - G5) disposed closest to the object side in the succeeding lens group (Machida fig. 25) and a second focusing lens group (Machida fig. 1 - G6) disposed immediately adjacent to the first focusing lens group (G5) on an image side of the first focusing lens group (Machida fig. 25 – G6 is immediately adjacent to G5), with no lens group disposed between the first focusing group and the second focusing group (Machida fig. 25 – no lens groups are disposed between G5 and G6),
upon focusing, the first focusing lens group (G5) and the second focusing lens group (G6) are moved along the optical axis (Machida fig. 25 – arrows below G5 and G6 indicate focusing movement),
the succeeding lens group (G5-G7) includes at least one lens group (G7) disposed on the image side of the second focusing lens group (Machida fig. 25 – G7 is disposed on the image side of G6), and
the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
3.30 < f1/fw < 8.00 (Machida table 9, 93.169/24.8 ≈ 3.76 as calculated),
-6.00 < fFs/fw < 6.00 (Machida table 9, 85.936/24.8 ≈ 3.47 as calculated)
where
f1: focal length of the front-side lens group,
fw: focal length of the zoom optical system in a wide- angle end state, and
fFs: focal length of a focusing lens group having strongest refractive power among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group.
Regarding claim 29, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.10<BFw/fw<1.00 (Machida table 9, 13.25/24.8 ≈ 0.53 as calculated)
where
BFw: back focus of the zoom optical system in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding claim 30, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.20<|fFs|/f1<2.00 (Machida table 9, 85.936/93.169 ≈ 0.92 as calculated).
Regarding claim 32, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.10<MTF1/MTF2<3.00 (Machida table 9, |14.947-5.206|/|10.165-3.568| ≈ 1.48 as calculated)
where
MTF1: absolute value of a moving amount of the first focusing lens group upon focusing from an infinity object to a short-distance object in a telephoto end state, and
MTF2: absolute value of a moving amount of a focusing lens group closest to the first focusing lens group among the other focusing lens groups upon focusing from an infinity object to a short-distance object in the telephoto end state.
Regarding claim 33, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.10<βF1w/βF2w<3.00
where
βF1w: combined lateral magnification of focusing lens groups positioned on the object side of a focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state, and
βF2w: lateral magnification of the focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
Machida does not specifically teach wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.20<βF2w<1.80, however the general structure of the claimed zoom lens is shown in figure 1 of Machida’s zoom lens, as evidenced by its anticipation of claim 26. Because the general structure is the same, and the claimed ranges are met, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the lateral magnification of the focusing lens groups would fall within the claimed range. See MPEP §2114(I). Further, Machida teaches the same range value in para. 0042 as part of a range, however the actual value for each embodiment is not specified.
Regarding claim 34, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.50<βF1w<2.60
where
βF1w: combined lateral magnification of focusing lens groups positioned on the object side of a focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
Machida does not specifically teach wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.20<βF2w<1.80, however the general structure of the claimed zoom lens is shown in figure 1 of Machida’s zoom lens, as evidenced by its anticipation of claim 26. Because the general structure is the same, and the claimed ranges are met, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the lateral magnification of the focusing lens groups would fall within the claimed range. See MPEP §2114(I).
Regarding claim 35, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.20<βF2w<1.80
where
βF2w: lateral magnification of a focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
Machida does not specifically teach wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.20<βF2w<1.80, however the general structure of the claimed zoom lens is shown in figure 1 of Machida’s zoom lens, as evidenced by its anticipation of claim 26. Because the general structure is the same, and the claimed ranges are met, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the lateral magnification of the focusing lens groups would fall within the claimed range. See MPEP §2114(I).
Regarding claim 36, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
{<βF1w+(1/(βF1w)}^−2 ≤0.25
where
βF1w: combined lateral magnification of focusing lens groups positioned on the object side of a focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
Machida does not specifically teach wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.20<βF2w<1.80, however the general structure of the claimed zoom lens is shown in figure 1 of Machida’s zoom lens, as evidenced by its anticipation of claim 26. Because the general structure is the same, and the claimed ranges are met, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the lateral magnification of the focusing lens groups would fall within the claimed range. See MPEP §2114(I).
Regarding claim 37, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
{βF2w+(1/βF2w)}^−2 ≤0.25
where
βF2w: lateral magnification of the focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
Machida does not specifically teach wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.20<βF2w<1.80, however the general structure of the claimed zoom lens is shown in figure 1 of Machida’s zoom lens, as evidenced by its anticipation of claim 26. Because the general structure is the same, and the claimed ranges are met, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the lateral magnification of the focusing lens groups would fall within the claimed range. See MPEP §2114(I).
Regarding claim 38, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.10<|fFs|/|fRF|<4.00 (Machida table 9, 85.936/|-41.791| ≈ 2.06)
where
fRF: focal length of a lens group disposed side by side on the image side of a focusing lens group closest to the image side in the at least one lens group.
Regarding claim 39, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
2ωw>75.0° (Machida table 9, 2ωw = 85.32)
where
2ωw: full angle of view of the zoom optical system in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding claim 40, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
ft/fw>3.50 (Machida table 9, 222/24.8 ≈ 8.95 as calculated)
where
ft: focal length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state.
Regarding claim 42, Machida teaches an optical apparatus comprising a lens barrel including the zoom optical system according to claim 26 (Machida fig. 31).
Regarding claim 44, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein the second focusing lens group (G6) consists of a single lens (Machida fig. 25).
Regarding claim 45, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Machida further teaches wherein upon zooming from wide-angle end state to telephoto end state, the first focusing lens group (G5) moves toward the object side along the optical axis (Machida fig. 25 – G5 moves to the object side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida WO 2019097719 (hereinafter “Machida”).
Regarding claim 27, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Machida further teaches 93.169/(- -21.68) ≈ 4.30 as calculated from table 9, which lies just outside the claimed range of 4.30<f1/(−fM1w)<10.00 (4) where fM1w: focal length of the first middle lens group in the wide-angle end state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the claimed range of 4.30<f1/(−fM1w)<10.00, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida WO 2019097719 (hereinafter “Machida”) as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Herbert Gross (Handbook of Optical Systems)1 (hereinafter “Gross” of record).
Regarding claim 41, Machida teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Machida does not specify that an aperture stop is provided between the two lens groups in the second middle group, however Machida does teach an aperture stop (Machida fig. 25 - S).
In a similar field of endeavor, Gross teaches that the stop may be moved for the purpose of influencing the oblique field aberrations (Gross p. 378 line number 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the aperture stop provided between the two lens groups in the second middle group as taught by Gross in the zoom optical system of Shiratori in order to influence the oblique field aberrations (Gross p. 378 line number 12).
Claims 23, 26-27,29-31, 33-39, 40, 42, 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi JP 2015215438 (hereinafter “Satoshi” of record).
Regarding claim 23, Satoshi teaches a method for manufacturing a zoom optical system comprising a front-side lens group having positive refractive power (Satoshi fig. 1 – L1, see the refractive power indicated in para. 0056), a first middle lens group having negative refractive power (Satoshi fig. 1 – L2, see the refractive power indicated), a second middle lens group having positive refractive power (Satoshi fig. 1 – L3 and L4, where the combined refractive power is approximately 50.18 as calculated), and a succeeding lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 – L5-L7), the lens groups being arranged in order from an object side along an optical axis (Satoshi fig. 1), wherein
the method comprising either a feature A or a feature B, wherein,
the feature A comprises a step of disposing the front- side lens group, the first middle lens group, the second middle lens group and the succeeding lens group in a lens barrel so that:
intervals of the lens groups adjacent to each other change at zooming,
the succeeding lens group includes a first focusing lens group disposed closest to the object side in the succeeding lens group and a second focusing lens group disposed immediately adjacent to the first focusing lens group on an image side of the first focusing lens group, with no lens group disposed between the first focusing lens group and the second focusing lens group,
upon focusing, the first focusing lens group and the second focusing lens group are moved along the optical axis independently of each other,
upon focusing from an infinity object to a short-distance object, the first focusing lens group and the second focusing lens group move toward an image along the optical axis,
the succeeding lens group includes at least one lens group disposed on the image side of the second focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing ions, and
the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
2.30 <fl/fw < 8.00
-6.00 < fFs/fw < 6.00
0.10 < (-fN)/fL < 0.75
where
fl: focal length of the front-side lens group,
fw: focal length of the zoom optical system in a wide-angle end state,
fFs: focal length of a focusing lens group having strongest refractive power among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group,
fN: focal length of a lens disposed second closest to the image side in the zoom optical system, and
fL: focal length of a lens disposed closest to the image side in the zoom optical system, and
the feature B comprises a step of disposing the front-side lens group (L1), the first middle lens group (L2), the second middle lens group (L3-L4) and the succeeding lens group (L5-L7) in a lens barrel so that:
intervals of the lens groups adjacent to each other change at zooming (Satoshi fig. 1 – arrows below each lens group indicate movement during zooming),
the second middle lens group (L3-L4) consists of two lens groups (L3 and L4),
the succeeding lens group (L5-L7) includes a first focusing lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 - L5) disposed closest to the object side in the succeeding lens group (Satoshi fig. 1) and a second focusing lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 - L6) disposed immediately adjacent to the first focusing lens group (L5) on an image side of the first focusing lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 – L6 is immediately adjacent to L5), with no lens group disposed between the first focusing group and the second focusing group (Satoshi fig. 1 – no lens groups are disposed between L5 and L6),
upon focusing, the first focusing lens group (L5) and the second focusing lens group (L6) are moved along the optical axis (Satoshi fig. 1 – arrows above L5 and L6 indicate focusing movement),
the succeeding lens group (L5-L7) includes at least one lens group (L7) disposed on the image side of the second focusing lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 – L7 is disposed on the image side of L6), and
the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
-6.00 < fFs/fw < 6.00 (Satoshi para. 0056 - -99.67/28.90 ≈ -3.45 as calculated)
where
f1: focal length of the front-side lens group,
fw: focal length of the zoom optical system in a wide- angle end state, and
fFs: focal length of a focusing lens group having strongest refractive power among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group.
Satoshi further teaches 91.02/28.90 ≈ 3.15 as calculated in para. 0056, which lies just outside the claimed range of 3.30 < f1/fw < 8.00.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the claimed range of 3.30 < f1/fw < 8.00, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 26, Satoshi teaches a method for manufacturing a zoom optical system comprising a front-side lens group having positive refractive power (Satoshi fig. 1 – L1, see the refractive power indicated in para. 0056), a first middle lens group having negative refractive power (Satoshi fig. 1 – L2, see the refractive power indicated), a second middle lens group having positive refractive power (Satoshi fig. 1 – L3 and L4, where the combined refractive power is approximately 50.18 as calculated), and a succeeding lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 – L5-L7), the lens groups being arranged in order from an object side along an optical axis (Satoshi fig. 1), wherein
intervals of the lens groups adjacent to each other change at zooming (Satoshi fig. 1 – arrows below each lens group indicate movement during zooming),
the second middle lens group (L3-L4) consists of two lens groups (L3 and L4),
the succeeding lens group (L5-L7) includes a first focusing lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 - L5) disposed closest to the object side in the succeeding lens group (Satoshi fig. 1) and a second focusing lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 - L6) disposed immediately adjacent to the first focusing lens group (L5) on an image side of the first focusing lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 – L6 is immediately adjacent to L5), with no lens group disposed between the first focusing group and the second focusing group (Satoshi fig. 1 – no lens groups are disposed between L5 and L6),
upon focusing, the first focusing lens group (L5) and the second focusing lens group (L6) are moved along the optical axis (Satoshi fig. 1 – arrows above L5 and L6 indicate focusing movement),
the succeeding lens group (L5-L7) includes at least one lens group (L7) disposed on the image side of the second focusing lens group (Satoshi fig. 1 – L7 is disposed on the image side of L6), and
the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
-6.00 < fFs/fw < 6.00 (Satoshi para. 0056 - -99.67/28.90 ≈ -3.45 as calculated)
where
f1: focal length of the front-side lens group,
fw: focal length of the zoom optical system in a wide- angle end state, and
fFs: focal length of a focusing lens group having strongest refractive power among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group.
Satoshi further teaches 91.02/28.90 ≈ 3.15 as calculated in para. 0056, which lies just outside the claimed range of 3.30 < f1/fw < 8.00.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the claimed range of 3.30 < f1/fw < 8.00, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 27, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Satoshi further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
4.30<f1/(−fM1w)<10.00 (4) (Satoshi para. 0056 – 91.02/19.38 ≈ 4.70 as calculated)
where
fM1w: focal length of the first middle lens group in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding claim 29, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Satoshi teaches 38.66/28.90 ≈ 1.34 which lies just outside the claimed range of 0.10<BFw/fw<1.00 where BFw: back focus of the zoom optical system in the wide-angle end state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to a value within the claimed range of 0.10<BFw/fw<1.00, since a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art, but are merely close that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 30, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Satoshi further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.20<|fFs|/f1<2.00 (Satoshi para. 0056 – 99.67/91.02 ≈ 1.10 as calculated).
Regarding claim 31, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Satoshi further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.20<f1/(−fRw)<5.00 (Satoshi para. 0054 and 0056 – 91.02/67.6 ≈ 1.35 as calculated)
where
fRw: focal length of the succeeding lens group in the wide-angle end state.
Regarding claim 33, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Satoshi does not specify wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.10<βF1w/βF2w<3.00 where βF1w: combined lateral magnification of focusing lens groups positioned on the object side of a focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state, and βF2w: lateral magnification of the focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have 0.10<βF1w/βF2w<3.00, since it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 34, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Satoshi does not specify wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.50<βF1w<2.60 where βF1w: combined lateral magnification of focusing lens groups positioned on the object side of a focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have 0.50<βF1w<2.60, since it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 35, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Satoshi does not specify wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: 0.20<βF2w<1.80 where βF2w: lateral magnification of a focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have 0.20<βF2w<1.80, since it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 36, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Satoshi does not specify wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: {<βF1w+(1/(βF1w)}^−2 ≤0.25 where βF1w: combined lateral magnification of focusing lens groups positioned on the object side of a focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have {βF2w+(1/βF2w)}^−2 ≤0.25, since it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 37, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Satoshi does not specify wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied: {βF2w+(1/βF2w)}^−2 ≤0.25 where βF2w: lateral magnification of the focusing lens group closest to the image side among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group upon focusing on an infinity object in the wide-angle end state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have {βF2w+(1/βF2w)}^−2 ≤0.25, since it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 38, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Satoshi further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.10<|fFs|/|fRF|<4.00 (Satoshi para. 0056 – 99.67/626.19 ≈ 0.16 as calculated)
where
fRF: focal length of a lens group disposed side by side on the image side of a focusing lens group closest to the image side in the at least one lens group.
Regarding claim 39, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Satoshi further teaches that 2ωw = 73.6 which lies just outside the claimed range. However, Satoshi teaches 2ωw = 82.4 in paragraph 0060 which is within the claimed range of 2ωw>75.0° where 2ωw: full angle of view of the zoom optical system in the wide-angle end state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a value within the claimed range of 2ωw>75.0°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 40, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Satoshi further teaches wherein the following conditional expression is satisfied:
ft/fw>3.50 (Satoshi para. 0056 – 204.00/28.90 ≈ 7.06 as calculated)
where
ft: focal length of the zoom optical system in a telephoto end state.
Regarding claim 42, Satoshi teaches an optical apparatus comprising a lens barrel (Satoshi para. 0047) including the zoom optical system according to claim 26 (Satoshi para. 0047).
Regarding claim 45, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26, and Satoshi further teaches wherein upon zooming from wide-angle end state to telephoto end state, the first focusing lens group (Lp) moves toward the object side along the optical axis (Satoshi fig. 1 – L5 moves to the object side, see also para. 0011).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi JP 2015215438 (hereinafter “Satoshi”) as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Herbert Gross (Handbook of Optical Systems)2 (hereinafter “Gross” of record).
Regarding claim 41, Satoshi teaches the zoom optical system according to claim 26.
Satoshi does not specify that an aperture stop is provided between the two lens groups in the second middle group, however Satoshi does teach an aperture stop (Satoshi para. 0020).
In a similar field of endeavor, Gross teaches that the stop may be moved for the purpose of influencing the oblique field aberrations (Gross p. 378 line number 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the aperture stop provided between the two lens groups in the second middle group as taught by Gross in the zoom optical system of Shiratori in order to influence the oblique field aberrations (Gross p. 378 line number 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-16, 18, 22, 28, 43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record does not teach nor disclose “a zoom optical system comprising a front-side lens group having positive refractive power, a first middle lens group having negative refractive power, a second middle lens group having positive refractive power, and a succeeding lens group, the lens groups being arranged in order from an object side along an optical axis, wherein
intervals of the lens groups adjacent to each other change at zooming,
the succeeding lens group includes a first focusing lens group disposed closest to the object side in the succeeding lens group and a second focusing lens group disposed immediately adjacent to the first focusing lens group on an image side of the first focusing lens group, with no lens group disposed between the first focusing lens group and the second focusing lens group,
upon focusing, the first focusing lens group and the second focusing lens group are moved along the optical axis independently of each other, upon focusing from an infinity object to a short- distance object, the first focusing lens group and the second focusing lens group move toward an image along the optical axis, the succeeding lens group includes at least one lens group disposed on the image side of the second focusing lens group, and the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
2.30 < f1/fw < 8.00
-6.00 < fFs/fw < 6.00
0.10 < (-fN)/fL < 0.75
where f1: focal length of the front-side lens group,
fw: focal length of the zoom optical system in a wide- angle end state,
fFs: focal length of a focusing lens group having strongest refractive power among the focusing lens groups included in the succeeding lens group,
fN: focal length of a lens disposed second closest to the image side in the zoom optical system, and
fL: focal length of a lens disposed closest to the image side in the zoom optical system.”
Also, claims 4-6, 8, 11-16, 18, 22, 43 depend upon claim 1 so they are allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 28, the prior art of record does not disclose nor teach “the zoom optical system according to claim 26, wherein the second middle lens group includes at least two lens groups having positive refractive power, and the following conditional expression is satisfied:
1.50<f1/fM21<7.00
where
fM21: focal length of a lens group closest to the object side among lens groups included in the second middle lens group” in combination with all the limitations of claim 26.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 Gross, Herbert. “Methods of Improving a Design.” Handbook of Optical Systems, vol. 3, Wiley-VCH, Weinheim, 2007, pp. 377–379.
2 Gross, Herbert. “Methods of Improving a Design.” Handbook of Optical Systems, vol. 3, Wiley-VCH, Weinheim, 2007, pp. 377–379.