DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a calibration unit in claim 1.
See Applicant’s specification Par. 20, 49, and 51, “The controller 50 may be one or more processing devices such as one or more microprocessors, and the techniques of the present invention may be implemented in hardware software, or application-specific integrated circuitry”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites
, however it is not clear what I-th represents as the claims do not recite what the variable represents nor does the specification. For the purposes of examining it is considered to be the next iteration.
Claims 2-8 are rejected based on their inherited issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under step 1, claim 1 belongs to a statutory category of an apparatus.
Under Step 2A prong 1, the claims as a whole are identified as being directed to a judicial exception as claim 1 recite(s) “generating an offset mesh; setting an iteration index t of an iteration loop, wherein t is an integer; generating a point cloud matrix of a tth iteration; generating measurement errors of the tth iteration, wherein the measurement errors of the tth iteration comprise a set of range and incident angle information that is computed according to the point cloud matrix of the tth iteration; generating an offset profile of the tth iteration in form of a function of a range and an incident angle according to the measurement errors of the tth iteration; refining the point cloud matrix of the tth iteration by using the offset profile of the tth iteration with substituting the measurement errors of the tth iteration, such that a point cloud matrix of a t+lth iteration is obtained; updating the offset mesh by introducing the offset profile of the tth iteration thereto; and determining whether to output the point cloud matrix of the t+lth iteration and the updated offset mesh” which are directed to mathematical concepts and/or mental processes per applicants specification see pages 11-14 as examples.
Under Step 2A prong 2, evaluating whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application of that exception, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because “a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) apparatus, comprising: a laser source configured to generate a laser light; a scanner configured to scan the laser light beam along a three- dimensional (3D) target surface; a photodetector configured to detect a point cloud of reflected light from the target surface;” are considered to be data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. The elements of “a controller including a calibration unit that is configured to execute at least the following:” are considered to be generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
Under Step 2B, evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept both individually and in combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) apparatus, comprising: a laser source configured to generate a laser light; a scanner configured to scan the laser light beam a long a three-dimensional (3D) target surface; a photodetector configured to detect a point cloud of reflected light from the target surface;” are considered to be adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception per MPEP 2106.05(g) and are well-understood, routine, conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d)(see prior art of record). The elements of “a controller including a calibration unit that is configured to execute at least the following:” are considered to be well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
Claims 2-7 are also directed to the abstract ideas cited above.
In claim 8, “wherein the scanner is selected from a mirror, a polygonal mirror, or a MEMS device” the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because are considered to be generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use and are considered to be merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself per MPEP 2106.05(h) and are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities/elements previously known to the industry per MPEP 2106.05(d) (see prior art of record).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nolan Lunscher Deep Learning 3D Scans for Footwear Fit Estimation January 2018 hence forth NPL1 in view of Robust Extrinsic Parameter Calibration of 3d LIDAR using Lie Algebres June 2019, Hence forth NPL 2.
In claim 1, NPL1 discloses a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) apparatus (Section 2.4.3 “LIDAR”), comprising: a laser source configured to generate a laser light (Section 2.4.2 to 2.4.3 “laser sources”); a scanner configured to scan the laser light beam along a three- dimensional (3D) target surface (Section 2.4.2 “3D Scanner” Fig. 2.6); a photodetector configured to detect a point cloud of reflected light from the target surface (Section 2.4.3 “projecting light into, a scene or onto an object, and measuring how long that light takes to reflect and return to a sensor”); generating an offset mesh (Section 3.1 Page 24 “Mesh body”); setting an iteration index t of an iteration loop, wherein t is an integer (Section 4.4 Page 47, see Fig. 3.4); generating a point cloud matrix of a tth iteration (Section 4.4 Page 47, see Fig. 3.7); generating measurement errors of the tth iteration, wherein the measurement errors of the tth iteration comprise a set of range and incident angle information that is computed according to the point cloud matrix of the tth iteration (Table 4.1, Section 3.3 “elevation angle”); generating an offset profile of the tth iteration in form of a function of a range and an incident angle according to the measurement errors of the tth iteration (See Fig. 3.3, 4.5 and 4.7, page 44-45); refining the point cloud matrix of the tth iteration by using the offset profile of the tth iteration with substituting the measurement errors of the tth iteration, such that a point cloud matrix of a t+lth iteration is obtained (Section 4.5.1, Fig. 4.8 and 4.9 also see Fig. 3.7 and pages 30-32 “train a convolution neural network encoder and decoder”); updating the offset mesh by introducing the offset profile of the tth iteration thereto (page 49 “fine tuning on real data, Fig. 4.11”).
NPL 1 does not explicitly disclose a controller including a calibration unit that is configured to execute and determining whether to output the point cloud matrix of the t+lth iteration and the updated offset mesh.
NPL2 teaches a controller including a calibration unit that is configured to execute (See Fig. 3, examiner notes that the VELODYNE VLP-32C has a Linux-based processing core) and determining whether to output the point cloud matrix of the t+lth iteration and the updated offset mesh (Fig. 1, “optimal matrix X? yes/no”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have a controller including a calibration unit that is configured to execute and determining whether to output the point cloud matrix of the t+lth iteration and the updated offset mesh as taught by NPL2 in NPL1 in order to optimize the LIDAR matrix (NPL2 see Fig. 1) thus leading to an improved system.
In claim 2, NPL1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the calibration unit is further configured to execute the following: setting a convergence criterion; and comparing the offset meshes before and after the updating; wherein when a comparing result is in the convergence criterion, the point cloud matrix of the t+ltn iteration and the updated offset mesh are outputted.
NPL2 teaches wherein the calibration unit is further configured to execute the following: setting a convergence criterion (See Fig. 4 Section IV A); and comparing the offset meshes before and after the updating (Section IV A); wherein when a comparing result is in the convergence criterion, the point cloud matrix of the t+ltn iteration and the updated offset mesh are outputted (See Eqn . 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have wherein the calibration unit is further configured to execute the following: setting a convergence criterion; and comparing the offset meshes before and after the updating; wherein when a comparing result is in the convergence criterion, the point cloud matrix of the t+ltn iteration and the updated offset mesh are outputted as taught by NPL2 in NPL1 in order to optimize the LIDAR matrix (NPL2 see Fig. 1) thus leading to an improved system.
In claim 2, NPL1 discloses generating measurement errors of the t+Itn iteration, wherein the measurement errors of the t+]th iteration comprise a set of range and incident angle information that is computed according to the point cloud matrix of the t+lth iteration Table 4.1, Section 3.3 “elevation angle”); generating an offset profile of the t+h iteration in form of a function of a range and an incident angle according to the measurement errors of the t+h iteration (Table 4.1, Section 3.3 “elevation angle); refining the point cloud matrix of the t+Ath iteration by using the offset profile of the t+]th iteration with substituting the measurement errors of the t+h iteration, such that a point cloud matrix of a t+2th iteration is obtained (Section 4.5.1, Fig. 4.8 and 4.9 also see Fig. 3.7 and pages 30-32 “train a convolution neural network encoder and decoder”); updating the offset mesh by introducing the offset profile of the t+h iteration thereto (page 49 “fine tuning on real data, Fig. 4.11”).
NPL1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the calibration unit is further configured to execute the following: setting a convergence criterion; and comparing the offset meshes before and after the updating; wherein when a comparing result is out the convergence criterion, the calibration unit is further configured to execute the following: and determining whether to output the point cloud matrix of the t+2thiteration and the updated offset mesh according to the convergence criterion.
NPL2 teaches wherein the calibration unit is further configured to execute the following: setting a convergence criterion (See Fig. 4 Section IV A); and comparing the offset meshes before and after the updating; wherein when a comparing result is out the convergence criterion (See Fig. 4 Section IV A), the calibration unit is further configured to execute the following: and determining whether to output the point cloud matrix of the t+2thiteration and the updated offset mesh according to the convergence criterion (Fig. 1, “optimal matrix X? yes/no”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filled to have wherein the calibration unit is further configured to execute the following: setting a convergence criterion (See Fig. 4 Section IV A); and comparing the offset meshes before and after the updating; wherein when a comparing result is out the convergence criterion (See Fig. 4 Section IV A), the calibration unit is further configured to execute the following: and determining whether to output the point cloud matrix of the t+2thiteration and the updated offset mesh according to the convergence criterion as taught by NPL2 in NPL1 in order to optimize the LIDAR matrix (NPL2 see Fig. 1) thus leading to an improved system.
In claim 4, NPL1 discloses wherein the refining is executed by computing the difference between the range values of the point cloud matrix of the tth iteration and the offset profile of the tth iteration with substituting the measurement errors of the tth iteration , such that the point cloud matrix of the tth iteration have the range values different from those of the point cloud matrix of the t+lth iteration (See Fig. 3.3, 4.5 and 4.7, page 44-45).
In claim 5, NPL1 discloses herein the point cloud of the tth iteration and the point cloud of the t+lth iteration have the same altitude values and the same azimuth values (See Fig. 3.3, 4.5 and 4.7, page 44-45).
In claim 6, NPL1 discloses wherein the iteration loop is executed such that the offset mesh is updated more than once (Section 4.5.1, Fig. 4.8 and 4.9 also see Fig. 3.7 and pages 30-32 “train a convolution neural network encoder and decoder”).
In claim 7, NPL1 discloses herein the point cloud matrix of a first iteration is generated according to the point cloud detected by the photodetector (Section 2.4.3 “projecting light into, a scene or onto an object, and measuring how long that light takes to reflect and return to a sensor”).
In claim 8, NPL1 discloses wherein the scanner is selected from a mirror, a polygonal mirror, or a MEMS device (Section 2.4.3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20190370614 A1 Method And System For Classification Of An Object In A Point Cloud Data Set; US 20150084884 A1 EXTENDING THE FREE FINGERS TYPING TECHNOLOGY AND INTRODUCING THE FINGER TAPS LANGUAGE TECHNOLOGY
/B.J.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857