Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, and 7-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant claims “charge rate”. The plain meaning of charge rate is the rate of charging, i.e. current level, or C-rate [1C=1 hour to fully recharge battery from empty using constant current]. ¶[03] of the published specification has a different meaning, SOC. Emend these claims to the more commonly understood meaning of the term, state of charge for improved clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because 201 in Figs. [1, 12] lack clear symbol text
Part numbers in Fig. 1 lack legend to clearly identify their parts.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Battery Management Unit
Diagnostic Charge recommendation determination unit
Diagnostic Charge execution determination unit
in claims 1-10 (interpreted as software part of the controller claimed in Claim 1, and/or one or more controllers working with the controller claimed in claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda et al (USPGNPN 20120126744) in view of Alexander (USPGPN 20170288418) and Tsurutani (USPGPN 20200101865; hereinafter Tsuru).
Independent Claim 1, Kuroda teaches an electric powered working machine (vehicle, see ¶’s [23, 138, 159-161]) with a secondary battery ([114, 214, 414, 614] in Figs. [3, 8, 12, 14], performing methods of Figs. [2, 4-7, 9, 10, 15, 16, esp. 5 & 9), comprising:
a battery management unit that manages the secondary battery ([112, 1182, 110, 102] of Fig. 3; [202, 208, 210, 212, 2181, 2182] in Fig. 8; [402, 408, 410, 412, 418] in Fig. 12; [612, 608, 602, 6181] in Fig. 14); and
a controller (118 in Fig. 3, 218 in Fig. 8, 500/518 in Fig. 12, 618 in Fig. 14) that controls a normal charge (normal) or a diagnostic charge (slow, ¶’s [10, 87-90], Figs. 5 & 9),
wherein the controller includes:
a diagnostic charge recommendation determination unit that determines whether to recommend the diagnostic charge or not based on an operation history of the secondary battery output from the battery management unit (112f interpretation, ¶’s [10, 98, 122] says the charging history is used in recommending a type of charging); and
a diagnostic charge execution determination unit that determines whether to execute the diagnostic charge or not based on a state of the secondary battery output from the battery management unit (s202 of Fig. 9), an estimated charge period necessary for the diagnostic charge (s202-s206 of Fig. 9), and a site work plan including a work start time (s202, s204, s214 of Fig. 9), when the diagnostic charge is determined to be recommended (Figs. 5 & 9, esp. 9, where 9 has site work plan decided in 214).
Kuroda fails to explicitly teach a normal charge without a rest period during charging or a diagnostic charge provided with a rest period during charging for the secondary battery, and that the non-quick charge mode is a diagnostic charge mode.
Tsuru teaches a charge mode which is a diagnostic charge mode (¶’s [5-52, 60-64, 66, 107, 108, with 50/51 on state of the battery, 60/61 on operation history of the battery, 107/108 on charging duration and working schedule for longer/less-rapid charging] along with Figs. [4-7, esp. 7] and abstract describes a system where diagnostic charging may be performed periodically to improve the reliability of the battery capacity)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kuroda with Tsuru to provide improved reliability.
Kuroda fails to explicitly teach a normal charge without a rest period during charging or a diagnostic charge provided with a rest period during charging for the secondary battery
Alexander teaches a normal charge without a rest period during charging or a diagnostic charge provided with a rest period during charging for the secondary battery (¶[62] states that the second/smart mode involves a pause between the two phases;
¶[75] states that there is a determination of whether there is sufficient time between the two phases in deciding to use the faster-first-default mode of charging operation rather than the slower-smart-second mode of charging operation;
See further ¶’s [28, 63-74]). Alexander teaches this method serves to provide optimum charging rates while also providing quick charging when required (¶’s [26, 28, 61, 63]) in order to extend life when timeliness is not required.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kuroda in view of Tsuru with Alexander to provide optimized charging and improved charging speed and life.
Dependent Claim 3, Kuroda is silent to wherein the battery management unit calculates each of charge rates before and after charging based on the operation history of the secondary battery in the diagnostic charge or the normal charge, and calculates each of a full charge capacity of the secondary battery or a degradation level of the secondary battery capacity based on the calculated charge rates before and after charging and a charged electric charge amount of the secondary battery.
Tsuru teaches the battery management unit calculates each of charge rates before and after charging based on the operation history of the secondary battery in the diagnostic charge or the normal charge, and calculates each of a full charge capacity of the secondary battery or a degradation level of the secondary battery capacity based on the calculated charge rates before and after charging and a charged electric charge amount of the secondary battery (¶’s [51, 52, 60-64, 107, 108, esp. 51, 52]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kuroda in view of Alexander with Tsuru to provide optimized charging and improved charging speed and life.
Dependent Claim 4, the combination of Kuroda, Tsuru, and Alexander teaches the diagnostic charge recommendation determination unit determines to recommend the diagnostic charge when a difference between a current time and a date of starting use of the secondary battery or a difference between the current time and a date of performing a previous diagnostic charge becomes equal to or more than a preliminarily determined time period (Kuroda: s104 in Fig. 5 and s204 of Fig. 9;
Alexander: ¶[75] states that deciding between modes is based on the time).
Dependent Claims 6 and 7, the combination of Kuroda, Tsuru, and Alexander teaches
wherein the diagnostic charge recommendation determination unit determines to recommend the diagnostic charge when a difference between an average value of latest points in the degradation level of the secondary battery capacity in the normal charge and an initial value of the degradation level of the secondary battery capacity or the degradation level of the secondary battery capacity in the previous diagnostic charge becomes equal to or more than a preliminarily determined threshold ([with respect to] wrt Claim 6) and wherein the diagnostic charge recommendation determination unit determines to recommend the diagnostic charge when a difference between a charge rate range during operation and a charge rate range during charging becomes equal to or less than a preliminarily determined threshold, the charge rate range during operation is calculated based on an initial value of the secondary battery full charge capacity or the degradation level of the secondary battery capacity, or the secondary battery full charge capacity or the degradation level of the secondary battery in the previous diagnostic charge, and the charge rate range during charging is calculated based on the operation history of the secondary battery in the normal charge (wrt Claim 7;
Tsuru teaches repeating the diagnostic charging operation after a certain period of time/cycles and reliability-index-decreased below a threshold, would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to similarly be applicable to claims 6 and 7, [KSR B] since a number of cycles and the SOH/deterioration/capacity level being below a threshold is very similar to time/cycles/reliability-index-decreased below a threshold, with the same result, that the diagnostic/slow-charging process be repeated based on it failing the level).
Dependent Claim 8, the combination of Kuroda, Tsuru, and Alexander teaches the diagnostic charge execution determination unit determines to execute the diagnostic charge when a remaining charge available period calculated based on the current time and the site work plan is equal to or more than an estimated charge period necessary for the diagnostic charge and a change amount of the charge rate before and after the diagnostic charge is equal to or more than a predetermined value (Tsuru ¶[52] describes the mandatory change amount of the charge rate being equal to or more than a predetermined value; Tsuru ¶’s [62-64, esp. 64] describes the mandatory amount of time for the diagnostic charge mode being satisfied; Alexander and Kuroda teaches the remaining elements, as described above for Claim 1).
Dependent Claim 10, the combination of Kuroda, Tsuru, and Alexander teaches a monitor display device that displays a determination result of the diagnostic charge recommendation determination unit and a determination result of the diagnostic charge execution determination unit, and displays a screen for selecting the normal charge or the diagnostic charge (Kuroda: ¶’s [76, 90], Fig. 4;
Alexander: ¶’s [50-55, 75, esp. 75]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda in view of Alexander and Tsuru, further in view of Inoue et al (JP 2013070534 A)
Dependent Claim 2, the combination of Kuroda, Tsuru, and Alexander teaches the diagnostic charge is a charge mode provided with respective preset rest period[s] before and after charging (as cited above for Alexander preset period before charging starts if enough time needed, preset period between phases)
Kuroda is silent to the rest periods of the diagnostic charge are set based on a temperature and a polarization time constant of the secondary battery depending on a charge rate.
Inoue teaches the rest periods of the diagnostic charge are set based on a temperature and a polarization time constant of the secondary battery depending on a charge rate (¶’s [37, 39, 47, 69], see further ¶’s [29, 31, 35] for further context of analogousness). Inoue teaches this serves to reduce heat generation [and thus prevent safety issues due to heat damage=improving safety] and improved accuracy (¶[08]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kuroda in view of [Alexander and Tsuru] with Inoue to provide improved accuracy and safety.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda in view of Alexander and Tsuru, further in view of Ha et al (USPGPN 20190131817)
Dependent Claim 5, Kuroda fails to explicitly teach the diagnostic charge recommendation determination unit determines to recommend the diagnostic charge when a difference between an initial value of the degradation level of the secondary battery capacity or the degradation level of the secondary battery capacity calculated in the previous diagnostic charge and a current degradation level of the secondary battery capacity calculated based on the operation history after the previous diagnostic charge using a degradation prediction function becomes equal to or more than a preliminarily determined threshold.
Ha teaches the diagnostic charge recommendation determination unit determines to recommend the diagnostic charge when a difference between an initial value of the degradation level of the secondary battery capacity or the degradation level of the secondary battery capacity calculated in the previous diagnostic charge and a current degradation level of the secondary battery capacity calculated based on the operation history after the previous diagnostic charge using a degradation prediction function becomes equal to or more than a preliminarily determined threshold (112f interpretation, ¶[88] along with Figs. [3, 5] states that the recommendation is to use a lower charge level/limit-rapid-charging if the battery history shows the cycle number-degradation-prediction-function shows the difference between the initial level [0 or 1 cycle] and the current level is greater than or equal to a threshold/predetermined-number-of-cycles, where one of ordinary skill in the art understands that FCC[full charge capacity], cycle life, and degradation level are analogous terms, and Fig. 3 showing how the rate/current of battery charging is changed based on the FCC of the battery). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that by limiting current when the battery is aged/low-health serves to prevent the battery from suddenly breaking, causing over-heating/inflammation/explosion/gassing/short-circuiting, thus this process serves to improve safety (¶[02], official notice further taken)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kuroda in view of [Alexander and Tsuru] with Ha to provide improved safety.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuroda in view of Alexander and Tsuru, further in view of Zhang et al (USPGPN 20180019611)
Dependent Claim 9, Kuroda is silent to in a case where the remaining charge available period is smaller than the estimated charge period necessary for the diagnostic charge, the diagnostic charge execution determination unit determines to execute the diagnostic charge when the temperature of the secondary battery becomes higher than a target temperature to be set by a warm-up operation.
Zhang teaches in a case where the remaining charge available period is smaller than the estimated charge period necessary for the diagnostic charge, the diagnostic charge execution determination unit determines to execute the diagnostic charge when the temperature of the secondary battery becomes higher than a target temperature to be set by a warm-up operation (¶’s [137, 192] describes that the battery is charged in the slow/diagnostic mode when the temperature is higher than a target/threshold temperature regardless of time required, thus in combination with Kuroda in view of Alexander and Tsuru, teaching the required limitations). Zhang teaches this method serves to improve reliability and safety (¶’s [11, 13, 15, 138])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kuroda in view of [Alexander and Tsuru] with Zhang to provide improved reliability and safety.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859