Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1) as being anticipated by Richards et al. (12,332,381).
Regarding claim 1, Richards discloses a distance measuring camera comprising: an image sensor (108, 112);
a light source (106);
a first lens portion including a plurality of lenses and disposed on the light source (504); and
a driving member for moving the light source (col. 7, lines 39-54) or the first lens portion in at least one of a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the first lens portion (506),
wherein output light emitted from the light source passes through the first lens portion and forms a field of illumination (FOI) region and the FOI region includes a plurality of dots arranged in two dimensions in a region spaced apart from the first lens portion by a first distance (note Fig. 8d),
wherein the FOI region is selectively positioned in a first region (200 in Fig. 2d) or in one of plurality of second regions by the driving member (the background of 200 in Fig. 8d),
wherein the FOI region is configured to move from the first region to one of the plurality of second regions by the driving member (col. 7, lines 6-16; col. 8, lines 26-33),
wherein each of the plurality of second regions partially overlaps the first region in a direction of the optical axis,
wherein a first dot located at one end of the plurality of dots in one of the plurality of second regions is configured to move farther outside the first region than a second dot located at the other end of the plurality of dots (col. 8, lines 26-33),
wherein the first region is a center region defined as an initial position of the FOI region (s204),
wherein the first region serves as common reference region for all of the plurality of second regions,
wherein the FOI region is a region having horizontal and vertical lengths corresponding to the first distance (note Fig. 4a), and
wherein the light source or the first lens portion is configured to be moved by the driving member such that the optical axis is shifted from a center of the first lens portion (note movement from Fig. 5a to Fig. 5b; col. 7, lines 1-16).
It should be noted that although Richards does not explicitly disclose the first region and the plurality of regions as claimed, the region 200 and the background regions behind region 200 in Fig. 8d meet the first region and the second region, respectively. Since Richards can be used to perform many different movements, the initial center light illumination location and the quadrant overlapping movements of the light illuminations are considered an intended used of Richards.
Regarding claim 2, Richards discloses that a distance between a dot located in the second region after movement and a corresponding dot located in the first region before movement, is smaller than a distance between adjacent dots within the FOI region. That is, the actuation mechanism 110 or 506 is intended to non-uniform illumination in any manner (note 6, lines 27-46, line 66, to col. 7, line 16).
Regarding claims 3-12, the movements as claimed are intended use of Richards. That is, the actuation mechanism 110 or 506 is intended to perform the movements as claimed. The initial movement position of the non-uniform illumination can be located at the center or offset from the center of the optical axis, such as in claimed in claim 3. The claimed equations (1-4) do not warrant any patentable weight since they merely define the distances, angles or directions of the moved non-uniform illumination from an initial position. Since the Richards discloses all the structures of the claimed invention, the claimed invention is met.
Regarding claims 13-20, see corresponding rejections to claims 1-12 as set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Richards does not disclose a structural configuration in which multiple illumination regions are deliberately designed to overlap a common center region with an overlap relationship defined with respect to an optical axis and a center region serving as a common reference region for all shifted regions, and any overlap between scan positions would be incidental and not structurally defined or required, the examiner disagreed. As shown in Fig. 8d, the dots in region 200 can be moved in horizontal and vertical direction. The dots region 200 can be initially located at the center of a screen and later can be moved into different locations of the screen relative to the initial center location. The locations can be the peripheral areas that overlaps the initial center region. All these movements are merely using the actuation mechanism 110 in Richards. Thus, it is concluded that the claimed movements are considered an intended use of the Richards.
In view of forgoing arguments, it is clear that Richards still meets the claimed invention. As a result, the prior art rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422