DETAILED ACTION
Application Status and Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment filed May 22, 2026, amending claims 1, 24, 25, 36 and 89 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 20, 24-28, 30-31, 36-37, 41-42, 45, 51-53, 55-57, 60-65, 68-69, 74-76, 85-87, 89, 91, 93-95, 97-98, 100-108 are pending. Claims 37, 41-42, 45, 51-52, 57, 62, 64-65, 69, 74-76, 93, 95, 97, 101 and 105-108 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 20, 24-28, 30-31, 36, 53, 55-56, 60-61, 63, 68, 85-87, 89, 91, 94, 98, 100 and 102-104 are under examination.
The amendments to claims 1, 24, 25, 36 and 89 overcome the §112(b) rejections in the previous office action. Any other rejection or objection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment. Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the newly filed drawings, FIG 4A and 4B are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings. Due to the vast number of unidentified sequences in the Drawings, Examiner has not confirmed that all the sequences are present in the sequencing listing. If not, a new sequencing listing will need to be filed.
Required response #1 – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Drawings
The drawings filed May 22, 2026 are objected to because:
The numbers and letters of FIGs 15-19 are not sufficient to provide satisfactory reproduction characteristics. 37 CFR 1.84(l) states that “all drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.” In the instant case, the SEQ ID NOs in FIGs 15-19 are too small and/or of too low resolution to permit satisfactory reproduction characteristics. It is suggested to include the SEQ ID NOs in the Brief Description of Figures if there is not enough space in the Drawings sheets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 89 and 91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim 89 recites “The double-stranded DNA molecule of claim 1, wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule is derived from an adeno-associated virus and the wild-type virus is the same adeno-associated virus.” “The wild-type virus” lacks clear antecedent basis, rendering the claims indefinite. Claim 89 does not recite a wildtype or any virus. Therefore, it is not clear what “the wild-type virus” is referring to.
Claim 91 recites “The double-stranded DNA molecule of claim 36, wherein the 5’ end of the top strand of the transcription unit is about 1…, or at least 400 nucleotides apart from the 3’ top strand end of the inverted repeat; or the 3’ end of the top strand of the transcription unit is about 1…, or at least 400 nucleotides apart from the 5’ top strand end of the inverted repat.” Claim 91 is indefinite because “the inverted repeat” lacks clear antecedent basis. Claim 1 recites two inverted repeats (TR) and each ITR is characterized by a top strand and a bottom strand. Therefore, it is not clear from which ITR the 5’ end of the top strand of the transcription unit must be at least 1-400 nucleotides away from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 24-27, 30-31, 36, 53, 55-56, 60-61, 63, 68, 85-87, 89, 91, 94, 98, 100 and 102-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkan (US 20210071197 A1, priority to at least January 18, 2019) in view of Wang (US 20090305272 A1, published December 10, 2009) and Jack (US 20030022317 A1, published January 30, 2003). Claim 27 is evidenced by NEB (Nt.BstNBI, neb.com/en-us/products/r0607-ntstnbi [retrieved January 22, 2026]). This is a modified rejection, necessitated by amendment to claim 1 to address the distance of the restriction sites from the ITRs. It is a new rejection of claims 36, 89, 91 and 94, necessitated by amendment to claim 36
Note on nicking enzyme nomenclature: It appears in the art that “N.BstNBI and Nt.BstNBI are used interchangeably in the art to refer to the same nicking enzyme that originates from Bacillus stereothermophilus. “N” refers to nicking and “Nt” refers to nicking the top strand. See NEB websites: https://www.neb.com/en-us/products/restriction-endonucleases/hf-nicking-master-mix-time-saver-other/nicking-endonucleases [retrieved January 23, 2026] and https://www.neb.com/en-us/tools-and-resources/feature-articles/everything-you-ever-wanted-to-know-about-type-ii-restriction-enzymes [retrieved January 23, 2026].
Regarding claim 1, Alkan teaches the synthesis of DNA vectors, particularly closed-ended DNA vectors for gene expression in vivo, ex vivo or in vivo (Abstract). Alkan teaches the structure of the ceDNA vectors comprising an expression cassette that is flanked by two AAV ITRs (Fig 1, [0061[[0067]]). Alkan teaches assembling the ceDNA vectors by creating a left ITR (i.e., a 5’ ITR) with a 5’ overhang that comprises an AvrII restriction endonuclease recognition sequences within 2 nucleotides of the ITR (FIG 6B; [0072]). Alkan teaches assembling the ceDNA vectors by creating a left ITR (i.e., a 3’ ITR) with a 3’ overhang that comprises an Sbf1 restriction endonuclease recognition sequences within 7 nucleotides of the ITR (FIG 6A; [0072]). Alkan teaches once assembled, the ITR’s with 5’ and 3’ overhangs can anneal with the double-stranded DNA expression cassette to create a double-stranded DNA molecule (FIG 13; [0531]). Alkan teaches assembling a ceDNA with the Left ITR comprising an overhang comprising the AvrII restriction site cleavage overhang (i.e., a 5’ overhang) and the Right ITR comprising an overhang with the Sbf1 restriction site cleavage overhang (i.e., a 3’ overhang) ([0532]). Thus, when assembled, the ceDNA would comprise the following structure (adapted from Alkan FIG. 13A):
Thus, Alkan teaches a double-stranded DNA molecule comprising (a) a left ITR (i.e., a first ITR) with restriction sites within 20 nucleotides of the ITRs with cleavage sites on opposite strands such that when cleavage occurs it would create an ITR-containing segment with a bottom strand with a 3’ single stranded DNA overhang, and (b) a right ITR (i.e., a second ITR) with restriction sites in proximity with cleavage sites on opposite strands such that when cleavage occurs it would create an ITR-containing segment with a bottom strand with a 5’ single stranded DNA overhang. Alkan teaches the purpose of choosing the AvrII and SfbI sites is so that the segments would not homodimerize ([0536]).
Alkan does not teach the restriction sites are nicking endonucleases.
Wang teaches methods for cloning genes of interest into AAV vectors comprising inverted terminal repeats (ITRs) (Fig 1A and 7). Wang teaches using the nicking endonuclease, Nt. BbvCI, and compatible single-stranded overhangs to facilitate cloning of ITRs and expression constructs (Fig 7A).
Jack teaches site-specific nucleic acid nicking enzymes to create single-stranded regions in duplex nucleic acids that can be useful in ordered, oriented assembly of DNA modules (Abstract). Jack teaches the recognition sequence and cleavage position of Nt. BstNBI is 5’- GATCNNNN↓N-3’ and 3’ – CTCAGNNNNN-5’ ([0024]). Jack teaches using two Nt. BstNBI sites on opposite strands in relation to each other to create double-stranded DNA molecules with single-stranded DNA overhangs (Fig 2, [0027]), which can be either 5’ overhangs or 3’ overhangs ([0028]). Jack teaches that the single-strand cohesive ends can be defined by the user ([0031]). Jack teaches that using nicking endonucleases instead of restriction enzymes that produce overhang allows for longer cohesive ends to produce stable base pairing during cloning reactions ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the AvrII and SfbI restriction sites in Alkan’s AAV vectors with ITRs with Nt. BstNBI nicking sites such that the orientation of the overhangs is maintained. The skilled artisan would have predicted that nicking endonucleases could be used in place of the AvrII and SfbI sites because Wang teachings cloning AAV vectors (i.e., vectors comprising ITRs) with the use of nicking endonucleases. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use nicking endonuclease sites so that the overhang can be user-defined to engineer sequences into the AAV vectors and promote stable-base pairing during cloning.
Regarding claim 5, Alkan teaches assembling the ceDNA in vitro (i.e., an isolated DNA molecule) (Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, the obviousness of including a single nicking endonuclease like Jack’s Nt. BstNBI is recited above as for claim 1.
Regarding claims 7 and 10, Alkan teaches the ITRs are wild type ITRs from AAV2 (i.e., the ITRs are from a parvovirus that is a Dependoparvovirus) (Figs 2 and 6; [0068], [0073]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Alkan teaches the AvrII enzyme cleaves the within 6 nucleotides from the 5’ end of the closing base pair of the left ITR and within 1 nucleotide from the 3’ end of the closing base pair of the left ITR (Fig 6B). Alkan teaches the Sbf1 enzyme cleaves within 2 nucleotides from the 5’ end of the closing base pair of the right ITR and 6 nucleotides from the 3’ end of the closing base pair of the right ITR (Fig 6C). The obviousness of including restriction sites from Jack’s nicking endonuclease Nt. BstNBI in place of the AvrII and SbfI sites is recited above as for claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Alkan teaches the components of the ceDNA construct can be cloned into a circular plasmid (Fig 17; [0545]). Wang teaches ITRs flanked with nicking endonuclease sites within the context of a plasmid (Fig 7).
Regarding claims 24-26 and 31, Jack also teaches the nicking endonucleases can be used for plasmid assembly (FIGs 3B and 6). Jack teaches incorporation of additional Nt. BstNBI sites in the plasmid backbone (FIG. 6). Jack teaches generating Nt. BstNBI 18-nucleotide overhangs that are not compatible with other Nt. BstNBI overhangs ([0069]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have additionally included an 3rd set of Nt.BstNBI sites (i.e., a 5th and 6th site on opposite strands) to create a double strand break with 1-20 base overhangs that are not compatible to the cohesive ends of the pairs of the 1st and 2nd or 3rd and 4th endonuclease sites in the plasmid backbone. It would have amounted to the simple combination of known elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to include an additional pair of nicking sites in the backbone for the purpose of assembling the entire ITR-containing plasmid by the method of Jack. It would have been entirely predictable to have done so because Jack teaches using different nicking endonuclease cohesive ends as a means for orderly plasmid assembly in vitro.
Regarding claim 27, the specification dose not define or describe “an endogenous nicking endonuclease”. Because the claims are directed to DNA molecules and not compositions or cells, the term is interpreted to mean that the nicking endonuclease must originate from some organism so that it is endogenous to some cell. NEB teaches that Nt. BstNBI originates from Bacillus stereothermophilus. Thus, the nicking endonuclease site rendered obvious for claim 1 is the target sequence for a nicking endonuclease endogenous to Bacillus stereothermophilus.
Regarding claim 30, the obviousness of including a single nicking endonuclease like Jack’s Nt. BstNBI is recited above as for claim 1.
Regarding claim 36, Alkan teaches the coding sequence for an ORF/transgene in between the first and second ITRs (FIG. 11A-B). Alkan teaches the size of the expression constructs are not limited by the packaging constrain imposed by the viral capsid ([0274]). Alkan teaches the expression cassette can comprise a transgene in the range of 4,00-10,000 nucleotides in length ([0203]).
Regarding claims 53, 56, 60, 61, and 63 Alkan teaches the sequences of the right and left ITRs (FIG 6B and 6C), and their relation to the WT AAV ITR (FIG 6A and 6D). Alkan teaches the sequences of the Rep-binding sequence (i.e., a RABS) and the TRS ([0222]). It is evident from the “oligo synthesis” diagram of FIGs 6A and 6D, and the disclosed sequences of the ITRs terminating in the 5’ and 3’ overhangs in FIG 6B and 6C, that both the right and left ITRs lack an RAB sequence and a TRS.
Regarding claim 55, Alkan teaches the vectors for carrying expression cassettes including Luciferase and a transgene (Fig 1), indicating the double stranded DNA molecule does not encoding a viral capsid protein.
Regarding claim 68, Alkan teaches the DNA purification scheme, which involves removal of unligated oligos and parental plasmid digestion products (i.e., the isolated double strand DNA molecules are free from fragments of the double stranded DNA molecule) (FIG. 12).
Regarding claims 85-87, Alkan teaches the sequences of the right and left ITRs (FIG 6B and 6C), and their relation to the WT AAV ITR (FIG 6A and 6D). Alkan teaches the sequences of the Rep-binding sequence (i.e., a RABS) and the TRS ([0222]). Alkan teaches the overall structure of the double-stranded DNA molecule with the ITRs and transgenes (Fig 1). It is evident from the “oligo synthesis” diagram of FIGs 6A and 6D, the disclosed sequences of the ITRs terminating in the 5’ and 3’ overhangs in FIG 6B and 6C, and the overall vector diagram that Alkan’s ceDNA lacks an RBS and TRS because there were not included in the oligo synthesis (i.e., they were deleted), but includes the ITRs (i.e., does not delete an entire stem/loop structure).
Claim 89 is indefinite for the reasons recited above in paragraph 11. For the purposes of compact prosecution, claim 89 is interpreted as “wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule is derived form an adeno-associated virus”. As described above for claim 1, Alkan cloning method uses AAV vectors.
Claim 91 is indefinite for the reasons recited above in paragraph 12. For the purposes of compact prosecution, claim 91 is interpreted as the 5’ end or “start” of the transcription unit is at least 1 to at least 400 nucleotides away from an ITR. Alkan teaches the ORF/transgenes are not adjacent to either ITR and so must be at least 1 to at least 400 nucleotides away rom each ITR.
Regarding claim 94, Alkan teaches the sense strand of the ORF is on the “top strand” based on the promoter orientation, and thus the bottom strand is in the antisense orientation of the transcription unit (FIG. 11A).
Regarding claim 98, based on FIGs 1, 3, 3 and 6, concerning the cloning and components of the ITRs, there is no evidence in Alkan that the ITRs have any transcriptional activity.
Regarding claim 100, Alkan teaches the advantages of using ceDNA over plasmid-based expression is that ceDNA vectors do not have over-representation of CpG dinucleotides often found in plasmids ([0213]). Alkan teaches removal of part of the ITR structure including several CpG dinucleotides (compare FIG. 6C and 7B). Therefore, Alkan teaches engineering the ceDNA with ITRs such that they have low or reduced CpG motifs.
Regarding claim 102, Alkan teaches the left ITR and the right ITR form hairpins indicated that each comprise a palindromic sequence that is 100% identical to a sequence a complementary strand when read backwards (FIG 6B and 6C). Jack also teaches that the recognition sequences for the nicking endonuclease sites can be as far apart as needed to create cohesive ends as desired by the user ([0031]). Jack teaches a working example in which the cohesive ends are 18 nucleotides long ([0059]-[0070]). Jack teaches the nick site is 4 nucleotides downstream of the recognition site ([0069]). Thus, in Jack’s working example, the recognition sequences are 22 nucleotides apart to create the cohesive ends.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to place the first and second Nt. BstNBI recognition sequences 22 nucleotides apart (i.e., at least 19, at least 20 nucleotides apart) in the DNA molecule rendered obvious above for claim 1. It would have amounted to designing the Nt. BstNBI-mediated cloning reaction by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to place the Nt. BstNBI recognition sequences at least 22 nucleotides apart, with a reasonable expectation of success because 1) Jack demonstrates that 18 base cohesive ends are sufficient for cloning and 2) Jack teaches that longer cohesive strands can promote cohesive-end hybridization stability.
Regarding claim 103, Alkan teaches the Gibb’s free energy in modified ITRs of Fig 10 ([0077]) and Fig 3 ([0069]). Using the online tool at https://en.vectorbuilder.com/tool/dna-secondary-structure.html, it is evident that the Gibbs free energies of Alkan’s left ITR and right ITR from the two terminal bases of the stem are -50.7 kcal/mol and -46.9 kcal/mol (i.e., no more than -10 kcal/mol) (See OA Appendix pages 1-2).
Regarding claim 104, Jack teaches that the recognition sequences for the nicking endonuclease sites can be as far apart as needed to create cohesive ends as desired by the user ([0031]). Jack teaches in a working example cohesive ends that are 18 nucleotides in length ([0059]-[0070]). Jack teaches the cohesive ends can be longer than 18 nucleotides ([0031]). Jack teaches lengths of the region should be long enough to allow unique stable pairing under the reaction conditions used in the joining reaction ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have placed the first and second Nt. BstNBI recognition sequences such that the single stranded region is at least 20 nucleotides in the DNA molecule rendered obvious above for claim 1. It would have amounted to optimizing the Nt. BstNBI-mediated cloning reaction by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to optimize the length of the single-stranded region to arrive at 20 nucleotides or more because Jack teaches optimization is necessary. A 20-nucleotide overhang would have been completely predictable because Jack demonstrates that 18 base cohesive ends are sufficient for cloning and teaches that longer overhangs are within the scope of the method.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkan (US 20210071197 A1, priority to at least January 18, 2019), Wang (US 20090305272 A1, published December 10, 2009) and Jack (US 20030022317 A1, published January 30, 2003), as applied to claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 24-27, 30-31, 53, 55-56, 60-61, 63, 68, 85-87, 89, 98, 100 and 102-104 above, and further in view of D’Costa (D’Costa et al., Molecular Therapy — Methods & Clinical Development (2016), 5: 16019, pages 1-9).
The teachings of Alkan, Wang and Jack are recited above and applied as for claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 24-27, 30-31, 53, 55-56, 60-61, 63, 68, 85-87, 89, 98, 100 and 102-104. Briefly Alkan teaches ceDNA molecules with ITRs cloned using restriction enzymes leaving 5’ and 3’ overhangs for cloning with transgene expression cassettes. Alkan also teaches the components of the ceDNA can be in a plasmid. Wang teaches cloning ITRs and transgenes into an AAV plasmid using nicking endonucleases and Jack teaches the utility of nicking endonucleases. Wang also teaches transfecting the AAV plasmid into HEK 293 T virus-producing cells ([0092]). Wang teaches collecting the viral supernatant and determining the viral titer ([0092]).
Although Alkan and Wang teach ITRs and transgenes cloned into a plasmid, Alkan, Wang and Jack do not teach the plasmids have additional recognition sequences for cleaving or nicking restriction endonucleases in the plasmid backbone, i.e., outside of the ITR-transgene-ITR cassette. Wang does not teach by what means the rAAV was titered.
D’Costa teaches rAAV stocks need to be tittered before they can be administered in the clinic (Abstract). D’Costa teaches qPCR using a linearized version of the AAV plasmid (i.e., comprising the ITRs and transgene DNA) as a standard is routine in the art (Abstract). D’Costa teaches incorporating two restriction enzyme recognition sequences in the AAV plasmid just outside the ITRs so that the ITR-transgene-ITR cassette can be used as a standard, which gives results with less error (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 20, It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated one or more additional restriction endonuclease sites in the backbone of the AAV plasmid rendered obvious above for claim 18. It would have been amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a different restriction enzyme site different from the nicking sites for the purpose of being able to utilize the plasmid as a standard to titer the rAAV stock after the plasmid has been used to generate the rAAV in helper cells as taught in D’Costa and Wang. By using a different restriction enzyme site, the ITR-transgene-ITR cassette would be intact and could be used as the standard. It would have been entirely predictable to have done so because engineering restriction enzyme sites into plasmids is well known in the art, as evidenced by each of the Alkan, Wang, Jack and D’Costa.
Response to Arguments - §103
Applicant argues that none of the cited references disclose a double stranded DNA molecule having four nicking endonuclease sites. Applicant also argues that Jack discloses “more nicking sites may be clustered to create multiple nicks on the same strand” and not opposite strands (Remarks, page 24, ¶2). These arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. First, the arguments do not address the merits of the rejection which provides the obviousness of substituting two nicking sites for each of the double-stranded cleavage restriction endonucleases. Applicant provides no evidence or argument as to why the skilled artisan would not have predicted that two-nicking sites could substitute for one double-stranded cleavage restriction site. Second, Jack explicitly teaches nicking sites on opposite strands in FIG. 2 and in paragraph [0027]. Jack even provides advantages for using two nicking sites on opposite strands as opposed to a single restriction enzyme that cuts both strands producing overhangs, namely to allow for the generation of longer cohesive ends, as recited in the rejection above. Examiner agrees that Jack additionally teaches that nicking sites can occur on the same strand; however, that does not diminish that Jack also teaches the embodiment of nicking sites on opposite strands for the purpose of creating long cohesive ends. It is this teaching in Jack that is relied upon in the obviousness rejection.
Applicant argues that D’Costa does not remedy the deficiencies of Alkan, Wang and Jack (Remarks, page 25). This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive because a prima facie case of obviousness is established for claim 1 for the reasons set for in the §103 rejections of record and the response to Applicant’s arguments in paragraph 51 above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 20, 24-27, 30-31, 36, 53, 55-56, 60-61, 63, 68, 85-87, 89, 91, 94, 98, 100 and 102-104 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11634742. Claims 24-26 and 30-31 are rejected in view of Jack (US 20030022317 A1, published January 30, 2003). Claims 55 and 98 are rejected in view of Alkan (US 20210071197 A1, priority to at least January 18, 2019). This is a maintained rejection and a new rejection of claims 36, 89, 91 and 94, necessitated by amendment.
Patented claim 1 recites A method for preparing a hairpin-ended DNA molecule in vitro, wherein the method comprises: a. providing a double-stranded DNA molecule, wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule comprises in 5′ to 3′ direction of the top strand: i. a first inverted repeat, wherein a first and a second restriction site for nicking endonuclease are arranged on opposite strands wherein nicking results in: (1) a top strand 5′ single strand DNA overhang comprising the first inverted repeat or a fragment thereof upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the first inverted repeat; or (2) a bottom strand 3′ single strand DNA overhang comprising the first inverted repeat upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the first inverted repeat; ii.) an expression cassette (i.e., a transcription unit) and… iii. a second inverted repeat, wherein a third and a fourth restriction site for nicking endonuclease are arranged on opposite strands wherein nicking results in: (1) a top strand 3′ single strand DNA overhang comprising the second inverted repeat or a fragment thereof upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the second inverted repeat; or (2) a bottom strand 5′ single strand DNA overhang comprising the second inverted repeat upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the second inverted repeat… wherein the length of each single strand DNA overhang is independently at least 20 nucleotides in length…, (c) creating a DNA fragment that comprises the expression cassette and is flanked by the two single strand DNA overhangs. Patented claim 5 recites The double-stranded DNA molecule of claim 1, wherein the first, second, third, and fourth restriction sites for nicking endonuclease are all restriction sites for the same nicking endonuclease. Patented claims 6 and 7, wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule of step a is characterized in that: a. the first and/or the second inverted repeat has a nucleotide sequence that is at least 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, 98%, or at least 99% identical to the ITR of a parvovirus; and/or b. the first and/or the second inverted repeat is a modified ITR of a parvovirus, wherein the parvovirus is a Dependoparvovirus, a Bocaparvovirus, an Erythroparvovirus, a Protoparvovirus, or a Tetraparvovirus. Patented claim 8 recites wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule of step (a) is characterized in that the first nick is within 1-50 nucleotides from the 5′ nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair of the first inverted repeat; and/or the second nick is within 1-50 nucleotides from the 3′ nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair of the first inverted repeat; and/or the third nick is within 1-50 nucleotides from the 5′ nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair of the second inverted repeat and the fourth nick is within 1-50 nucleotides from the e′ nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair of the second inverted repeat. Patented claim 9 recites wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule of step (a) is characterized in that the first nick is within 1-50 nucleotides from the 3′ nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair of the first inverted repeat; and/or the second nick is within 1-50 nucleotides from the 5′ nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair of the first inverted repeat; and/or the third nick is within 1-50 nucleotides from the 5′ nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair of the second inverted repeat and the fourth nick is within 1-50 nucleotides from the e′ nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair of the second inverted repeat. Patented claim 10 recites The method of claim 1, wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule of step a is a plasmid, wherein the plasmid is circular; or is linear. Patented claim 11 recites The method of claim 10, wherein the plasmid further comprises a restriction enzyme site in the region 5′ to the first inverted repeat and 3′ to the second inverted repeat wherein the restriction enzyme site is not present in any of the first inverted repeat, second inverted repeat, and/or the region between the first and second inverted repeats; and a. wherein cleavage with said restriction enzyme results in single strand DNA overhangs that do not anneal under annealing conditions of the first and/or second inverted repeat. Patented claims 12 and 13 recits the expression cassette is at least 4 kb…, at least 10 kb, and the transgenes is from about 5 kB in length. Patented claim 14 recites, wherein the first and second inverted repeat of the double-stranded DNA molecule of step a each lack a functional RABS and a functional TRS. Patented claim 19 recites wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule of step a is characterized in that the first inverted repeat and the second inverted repeat each comprise a palindromic sequence that is 78%-99% identical when read forwards as when read backwards on the complementary strand, and wherein the first and the second restriction site for nicking endonuclease are at least 19 to at least 200 nucleotides apart; and/or the third and the fourth restriction sites for nicking endonuclease at least 19 to at least 200 nucleotides apart. Patented claim 18 recites, a. the bottom strand is in anti-sense orientation with respect to an open reading frame in the expression cassette; or b. the top strand is in anti-sense orientation with respect to an open reading frame in the expression cassette. Patented claim 22 recites wherein the first and second inverted repeat of the double-stranded DNA molecule of step a each further comprise a modification (e.g., deletion, substitution or addition) of at least one nucleotide in order to replace or deplete the occurrence of CpG motifs. Patented claim 23 recites wherein the first and second inverted repeat of the double-stranded DNA molecule of step d comprises the following: The sequence from one nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair to the other nucleotide of the ITR closing base pair has a Gibbs free energy of unfolding under physiological conditions of no more than −10 kcal/mol. Patented claim 24 recites wherein the length of each single strand DNA overhang is independently at least 21 to at least 100 nucleotides in length. Therefore, the patented claims anticipate examined claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 20, 27, 36, 53, 56, 60-61, 63, 68, 85-87, 89, 91, 94, 100 and 102-104.
The patented claims do not recite the restriction site in outside of the ITR-expression cassette-ITR is a nicking site (claims 24-26) or the species of nicking endonucleases (claims 30-31). The patented claims do not recite the DNA molecule lacks a viral capsid protein encoding sequence (claim 55) or that the ITRs lack transcriptional activity (claim 98).
Regarding claims 24-26 and 30-31, the teachings of Jack are recited above in paragraphs 20, 27, and 44 and are incorporated here.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 1) specifically chosen the N.BstNBI enzyme and 2) to have included an 3rd set of N.BstNBI sites (i.e., a 5th and 6th site on opposite strands) to create a double strand break with 1-20 base overhangs that are not compatible to the cohesive ends of the pairs of the 1st and 2nd or 3rd and 4th endonuclease sites in the plasmid backbone of the patented plasmid. It would have amounted to 1) choosing a known nicking endonuclease for a generic disclosure, and 2) the simple combination of known elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have chosen N. BstNBI because Jack teaches it is sufficient and exemplary for plasmid cloning purposes. Additionally, Jack teaches including an additional pair of nicking sites in the backbone for the purpose of assembling the entire ITR-containing plasmid. It would have been entirely predictable to have done so because Jack teaches using different nicking endonuclease cohesive ends as a means for orderly plasmid assembly in vitro.
Regarding claims 55 and 98, the teachings of Alkan are recited above in paragraphs 17, 22, 24-26, 32-41 and 44 and incorporated here.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the patented plasmid by ensuring the ITRs did not have transcriptional activity and the plasmid did not comprise the coding sequence for a viral capsid. It would have amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to make the changes with a reasonable expectation of success because Alkan teaches such features of double stranded DNA molecules with ITRs are sufficient for gene delivery in vivo.
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 20, 24-28, 30-31, 36, 53, 55-56, 60-61, 63, 68, 85-87, 89, 91, 94, 98, 100 and 102-104 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-13, 18-31, 36, 68, 71 of copending Application No. 18056931. Claims 53, 55-56, 60-81, 85-87 98, 100 and 102-103 are rejected in view of Alkan (US 20210071197 A1, priority to at least January 18, 2019). This is a maintained rejection and a new rejection of claims 36, 89, 91 and 94, necessitated by amendment.
Copending claim 1 recites A double-stranded DNA molecule comprising in 5' to 3' direction of the top strand: a. a first viral inverted terminal repeat (ITR), wherein a first and a second restriction site for nicking endonuclease are arranged on opposite strands within 20 nucleotides from ITR closing base pairs of the first viral ITR such that nicking results in: i. a top strand 5' single strand DNA overhang comprising the first viral ITR or a functional fragment thereof upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the first viral ITR; or ii. a bottom strand 3' single strand DNA overhang comprising the first viral ITR or a functional fragment thereof upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the first viral ITR; and b. an expression cassette (i.e., a transcription unit); and c. a second viral ITR, wherein a third and a fourth restriction site for nicking endonuclease are arranged on opposite strands within 20 nucleotides from ITR closing base pairs of the second viral ITR such that nicking results in:i. a top strand 3' single strand DNA overhang comprising the second viral ITR or a functional fragment thereof upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the second viral ITR; or ii. a bottom strand 5' single strand DNA overhang comprising the second viral ITR or a functional fragment thereof upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the second viral ITR. Copending claim 5 recites wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule is an isolated DNA molecule. Copending claims 6 recites wherein the first, second, third, and fourth restriction sites for nicking endonuclease are all restriction sites for the same nicking endonuclease. Copending claims 8-11 recite wherein the first and/or the second viral ITR is an ITR of a parvovirus, including a dependoparvovirus. Copending claims 12 and 13 recite the limitations of examined claims 12-13. Copending claim 18 recites wherein the double-stranded DNA molecule is a plasmid. Copending claims 20-21 recite wherein the plasmid further comprises a restriction enzyme site in the region 5' to the first inverted repeat and 3' to the second inverted repeat wherein the restriction enzyme site is not present in any of the first inverted repeat, second inverted repeat, and the region between the first and second inverted repeats, wherein the cleavage with the restriction enzyme results in single strand overhangs that do not anneal at detectable levels under conditions that favor annealing of the first and/or second inverted repeat. Copending claim 22 recites wherein the plasmid further comprises an open reading frame encoding the restriction enzyme. Copending claim 24 recites wherein the plasmid further comprises a fifth and a sixth restriction site for nicking endonuclease in the region 5' to the first inverted repeat and 3' to the second inverted repeat, wherein the fifth and sixth restriction sites for nicking endonuclease are: a. on opposite strands; and b. create a break in the double stranded DNA molecule such that the single strand overhangs of the break do not anneal at detectable levels inter- or intramolecularly under conditions that favor annealing of the first and/or second inverted repeat. Copending claim 25 recites wherein the fifth and the sixth nick are 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, or20 nucleotides apart. Copending claim 26 recites wherein the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth restriction sites for nicking endonuclease are all target sequences for the same nicking endonuclease. Copending claim 27 recites wherein one or more of the nicking endonuclease site(s) is a target sequence of an endogenous nicking endonuclease. Copending claim 28 recites wherein the plasmid further comprises an open reading frame encoding a nicking endonuclease that recognizes the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and/or sixth restriction site for nicking endonuclease. Copending claims 30-31 recite wherein the nicking endonuclease that recognizes the first, second, third, fourth, fifth and/or sixth restriction site for nicking endonuclease is Nt. BsmAI; Nt. BtsCI; N. ALwl; N. BstNBI; N. BspD6I; Nb. BsrDI; Nt. BtsI; Nt. BsaI; Nt. BpulOI; Nt. BsmBI; Nb. BbvCI; Nt. BbvCI; or Nt. BspQI. Copending claim 36 recites the expression cassette is at least 4 kB… at least 10 kB. Copending claims 68 and 71 recite wherein the isolated double-stranded DNA molecules are: a. free of fragments of the double-stranded DNA molecule; and/or b. no more than 1- 10% of the isolated double-stranded DNA molecules; and/or c. free of nucleic acid contaminants that are not fragments of the double- stranded DNA molecules; and/or d. free of baculoviral DNA. Copending claim 91 recites wthe 5’ end of the top strand of the expression cassette is about 1 to at least 400 nucleotides apart of from the top strand of the inverted repeat. Copending claim 94 recites, wherein the DNA molecule is characterized in that the bottom strand is in antisense orientation with respect to an open reading frame in the expression cassette. Therefore, the copending claims anticipate examined claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 20, 24-28, 30-31, 36, 89, 91, 94, 68, and 104.
The copending claims do not recite features of the ITR such as lack of RABS, TRS, CpG motifs or promoters (claims 53, 56, 60-61, 63, 85-87, 100). The patented claims do not recite the DNA molecule lacks a viral capsid protein encoding sequence (claim 55) or that the ITRs lack transcriptional activity (claim 98). The copending claims do not recite the ITRs are palindromic or have a specific Gibbs free energy (claims 102-103).
The teachings of Alkan are recited above in paragraphs 17, 22, 24-26, 32-41 and 44 and incorporated here.
Regarding claims 53, 55-56, 60-81, 85-87 and 98, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the copending plasmid by ensuring the ITRs did not have RABS, TRS, promoters or otherwise transcriptional activity and that the plasmid did not comprise the coding sequence for a viral capsid. It would have amounted to the simple combination of elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to make the changes with a reasonable expectation of success because Alkan teaches such features of double stranded DNA molecules with ITRs are sufficient for gene delivery in vivo.
Regarding claim 100, it would have been obvious to have modified the copending DNA molecule by shortening one of the ITRs to removed CpGs because 1) Alkan demonstrates removal of a part of a hairpin region still promotes gene delivery and 2) teaches that CpG motifs can bind Toll-like receptors to initiate immune responses in vivo. Thus, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify or remove any CpG motifs to limit the immune reaction in vivo, which would render gene delivery less effective.
Regarding claims 102-103, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to ensure that the ITRs are palindromic or nearly palindromic with a Gibbs free energy of less than -10 kcal/mol since that are the key features of inverted repeats as illustrated in Alkan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-13, 18, 20, 24-27, 30-31, 36, 53, 55-56, 60-61, 63, 68, 85-87, 89, 98, 100 and 102-104 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27, 33-34, 41, 43, 50, 54, 57, 69 and 73 of copending Application No. 18728735. Claims 12-13, 25, 100-104 are rejected in view of Alkan (US 20210071197 A1, priority to at least January 18, 2019). Claim 12-13, 25 and 104 are rejected further in view of Jack (US 20030022317 A1, published January 30, 2003). This is a maintained rejection and a new rejection of claims 36, 89, 91 and 94, necessitated by amendment.
Copending claim 27 recites A double-stranded DNA molecule comprising in 5' to 3' direction of the top strand: a. a first inverted repeat, wherein a first and a second restriction site for nicking endonuclease are arranged on opposite strands in proximity of the first inverted repeat such that nicking results in a top strand 5' overhang or a bottom strand 3' overhang comprising the first inverted repeat upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the first inverted repeat; b. an expression cassette comprising a transgene encoding human FVIII or a catalytically active fragment thereof (i.e., a transcriptional unit that is 7053 nucleotides long); and c. a second inverted repeat, wherein a third and a fourth restriction site for nicking endonuclease are arranged on opposite strands in proximity of the second inverted repeat such that nicking results in a top strand 3' overhang or a bottom strand 5' overhang comprising the second inverted repeat upon separation of the top from the bottom strand of the second inverted repeat. Copending claim 34 recites wherein the first and/or the second inverted repeat is an inverted terminal repeat (ITR) of a parvovirus2 wherein the parvovirus is a Dependoparvovirus, a Bocaparvovirus, an Erythroparvovirus, a Protoparvovirus, or a Tetraparvovirus. Copedning claim 41 recites wherein the ITR does not comprise a replication-associated protein binding sequence (RABS). Coepnding claim 50 recites wherein the DNA molecule is a plasmid. Copending claim 54 recites wherein the plasmid further comprises a fifth and a sixth restriction site for nicking endonuclease in the region 5' to the first inverted repeat and 3' to the second inverted repeat, wherein the fifth and sixth restriction sites for nicking endonuclease are: a. on opposite strands; and b. create a break in the double stranded DNA molecule such that the single strand overhangs of the break do not anneal at detectable levels inter- or intramolecularly under conditions that favor annealing of the first and/or second inverted repeat. Copending claims 57 recites wherein the nicking endonuclease that recognizes the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and/or sixth restriction site for nicking endonuclease is Nt. BsmAI; Nt. BtsCI; N. ALwl; N. BstNBI; N. BspD6I; Nb. Mval269I; Nb. BsrDI; Nt. BtsI; Nt. BsaI; Nt. Bpul0I; Nt. BsmBI; Nb. BbvCI; Nt. BbvCI; or Nt. BspQI. Copending claim 73 recites wherein the DNA molecule: a. lacks any functional replication-associated protein binding sequence (RABS); and/or b. lacks any functional terminal resolution site (TRS}; and/or c. lacks or has reduced (by at least 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, 98%, 99%, or at least 99.9%) PS AAV promoter activity; and/or d. lacks any other elements required for viral replication. Therefore, the copending claims anticipate examined claims 1, 5-7, 10, 18, 20, 24, 26-27, 30-31, 36, 53, 56, 60-61, 63, 68, 85-87, 89, 91, 94 and 98.
The copending claims do not recite distances for the nicking sites (claims 12-13, 25 and 104). The patented claims do not recite the DNA molecule lacks a viral capsid protein encoding sequence (claim 55) or modified to remove CpG motifs (claim 100). The copending claims do not recite the ITRs are palindromic or have a specific Gibbs free energy (claims 102-103).
The teachings of Alkan are recited above in paragraphs 17, 22, 24-26, 32-41 and 44 and incorporated here. The teachings of Jack are recited above in paragraphs 20, 27, and 44 and are incorporated here.
Regarding claims 12-13, 25 and 104, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have situated the nicking sites in the copending DNA molecule within 1-50 nucleotides of the ITR and to generate overhangs that are at least 20 nucleotides. It would have amounted to arranging known elements according to known cloning design parameters to yield expected results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to include the nicking sites within 1-50 nucleotides of the ITR with a reasonable expectation of success because Alkan teaches other restriction endonuclease sites within that region promotes cloning and results in vectors that are efficient for gene delivery in vivo. The skilled artisan would have also been motivated to optimize the length of the single-stranded region to arrive at least 20 nucleotides because Jack teaches optimization is necessary. A 20-nucleotide overhang would have been completely predictable because Jack demonstrates that 18 base cohesive ends are sufficient for cloning and teaches that longer overhangs are within the scope of the method.
Regarding claim 100, it would have been obvious to have modified the copending DNA molecule by shortening one of the ITRs to remove CpGs because 1) Alkan demonstrates partial removal of a stem region still promotes gene delivery and 2) teaches that CpG motifs can bind Toll-like receptors to initiate immune responses in vivo. Thus, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify or remove any CpG motifs to limit the immune reaction in vivo, which would render gene delivery less effective.
Regarding claims 102-103, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to ensure that the ITRs are palindromic or nearly palindromic with a Gibbs free energy of less than -10 kcal/mol since that are the key features of inverted repeats as illustrated in Alkan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments - NSDP
Applicant’s request to hold the nonstatutory double patenting rejections in abeyance is denied. The rejections will remain in place until they are overcome by amendment, terminal disclaimer, or otherwise.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635