DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 2, 5-11, 13, 17-20, 27-28, and 32 in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 33-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 13, 17-20, 27-28 and 32-35 are pending with claims 1-2, 5-11, 13, 17-20, 27-28 and 32 being examined, claims 33-35 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pustilnik et al. (US 20180221550 A1; hereinafter “Pustilnik”).
Regarding claim 1, Pustilnik teaches an enclosed centrifugation device (Pustilnik; fig. 1. 100), comprising:
an integrated tube body including an upper part (Pustilnik; Abstract “centrifuge tube comprising an upper cylindrical portion”), a middle part (Pustilnik; [0091] “middle part”) and a lower part (Pustilnik; Abstract “lower portion”), wherein two ends of the middle part are fixedly connected to the upper part and the lower part respectively (Pustilnik; fig. 1. Illustrates the two ends of the middle part are fixedly connected to the upper part and the lower part respectively), or the upper part, the middle part and the lower part are integrally injection molded, and the upper part is configured to have a plurality of openings (Pustilnik; fig. 1. 155, 120, 121) which include:
a first opening serving as a liquid inlet (Pustilnik; fig. 1. 120 and [0069] “fitting 120 allows liquids to be introduced”), which is used for sealed connection to a liquid inlet tube and has an open state and a closed state (Pustilnik; fig. 1. 125, and [0066]). Pustilnik teaches the centrifuge tube maintains a closed environment, implying the system can be opened to add sample or reagents and closed to maintain sterility), and
a second opening serving as a liquid outlet, which is used for sealed connection to a liquid outlet tube and has an open state and a closed state (Pustilnik; fig. 1. 122 and [0069] “fitting 122 that includes fitting 127 is suitable for applying suction”).
Regarding claim 2, Pustilnik teaches the enclosed centrifugation device according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the openings further include a third opening serving as a vent, which is used for sealed connection to an air filtering device- and has an open state and a closed state (Pustilnik; fig. 1. 22, and [0069] “fitting 127 may be used to apply vacuum” which can be used to vent the tube, and [0066] Pustilnik teaches the centrifuge tube maintains a closed environment, implying the system can be opened to add sample or reagents and closed to maintain sterility).
Regarding claim 5, Pustilnik teaches the enclosed centrifugation device according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the inner part of the tube body is configured to have a protrusion (Pustilnik; fig. 2. 211), which is used to block cell clumps in the tube body (Pustilnik; [0070] “holes 211 help break down clumps”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pustilnik et al. (US 20180221550 A1; hereinafter “Pustilnik”) in view of Zhang (CN 208494276 U; hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 6, Pustilnik teaches the enclosed centrifugation device according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the lower part is a cone protruding downward a side wall of the cone (Pustilnik; fig. 1. lower conical part).
Pustilnik fails to teach the lower part is configured to have a protrusion, which is used to block cell clumps near a tip of the cone as the lower part.
However, Zhang teaches the analogous art of a centrifugation device (Zhang, Title) that includes a tube body (Zhang; fig. 1. 100) wherein the lower part is configured to have a protrusion (Zhang; fig. 1. 201), which is used to block cell clumps near a tip of the cone as the lower part (Zhang; [0033]). Zhang teaches the protrusion is a sedimentation blocking protrusion.
It would have been obvious to block cell clumps with the sedimentation blocking protrusion.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Pustilnik’s lower part to include a protrusion as taught by Zhang because Zhang teaches a centrifugation device (Zhang, Title) that includes a tube body (Zhang; fig. 1. 100) wherein the lower part is configured to have a protrusion (Zhang; fig. 1. 201), which is used to block cell clumps near a tip of the cone as the lower part (Zhang; [0033]). Zhang teaches the protrusion is a sedimentation blocking protrusion.
The modification allows to block sediment (Zhang; [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Pustilnik teaches the enclosed centrifugation device according to claim 5 (see above) to include an inner part of the tube body (see above).
Pustilnik fails to teach wherein the protrusion is distributed along a horizontal plane.
However, Zhang teaches the analogous art of a centrifugation device (Zhang, Title) that includes a tube body (Zhang; fig. 1. 100) wherein the inner part of the tube body includes a protrusion that is distributed along a horizontal plane (Zhang; fig. 1. 201).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Pustilnik’s inner part of the tube body to include a protrusion that is distributed along a horizontal plane as taught by Zhang because Zhang teaches a centrifugation device (Zhang, Title) that includes a tube body (Zhang; fig. 1. 100) wherein the inner part of the tube body includes a protrusion that is distributed along a horizontal plane (Zhang; fig. 1. 201).
The modification allows to block sediment (Zhang; [0034]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pustilnik et al. (US 20180221550 A1; hereinafter “Pustilnik”) in view of Gao (CN 203044176 U; hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 10, Pustilnik teaches the enclosed centrifugation device according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the second opening is located at a tip of the cone as the upper part (Pustilnik; fig. 1. 122).
Pustilnik fails to teach wherein the upper part is a cone protruding upward.
However, Gao teaches the analogous art of a centrifugal tube (Gao; Title) that includes an upper part (Gao; fig. 1. 1), wherein the upper part is a cone protruding upward (Gao; fig. 1. 1 upper part of tube body 1).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Pustilnik’s centrifuge device to include the upper part as a cone protruding upward as taught by Gao because Gao teaches a centrifugal tube (Gao; Title) that includes an upper part as a cone protruding upward (Gao; fig. 1. 1 upper part of tube body 1).
The modification allows to insert a pipette or syringe to collect sample (Gao; [0024]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pustilnik et al. (US 20180221550 A1; hereinafter “Pustilnik”) in view of Sparks et al. (US 20170304823 A1; hereinafter “Sparks”).
Regarding claim 27, Pustilnik teaches the enclosed centrifugation device according to claim 1 (see above) to include a tube body (see above).
Pustilnik fails to teach the integrated tube body is made of hard material and/or soft material, wherein the hard material is selected from ceramics, glass, ABS, PC, PS, PA, POM, and PMMMA, and the soft material is selected from silicone, rubber, PET, PE, PP, PVC, TPU, PU, PPS, and TPE.
However, Sparks teaches the analogous art of a centrifugation device (Sparks; Title) that includes a tube body (Sparks; fig. 4A. 402a), wherein the tube body is made of hard material and/or soft material, wherein the hard material is selected from glass and the soft material is selected from (PVC) (Sparks; [0076]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Pustilnik’s tube body to be made of hard material and/or soft material, wherein the hard material is selected from glass, and the soft material is selected from PVC as taught by Sparks because Sparks teaches a centrifugation device (Sparks; Title) that includes a tube body (Sparks; fig. 4A. 402a), wherein the tube body is made of hard material and/or soft material, wherein the hard material is selected from glass and the soft material is selected from (PVC) (Sparks; [0076]).
The modification allows to have a wide selection of suitable materials (Sparks; [0076]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 11, 13, 17-20, 28 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The cited prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest in the context of combination of claims 1, 5, and 8, the width of the protrusion ranges between 0.2 cm-1.5 cm, and a length of the protrusion ranges between 1/3 - 1/2 of a circumference of the integrated tube body at a corresponding position.
Claim 9 is dependent on claim 8.
The cited prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest in the context of combination of claims 1, 2, and 11, the upper part is a cone protruding upward, the second opening is located at tip of the cone as the upper part, and the first opening and the third opening are located on a side wall of the cone as the upper part.
Claim 18 is dependent on claim 11.
The cited prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest in the context of combination of claims 1 and 13, the integrated tube body is configured to have a liquid suction tube, one end of which is connected to the liquid outlet, the lower part is a cone protruding downward, and the other end of the liquid suction tube is located at a junction of the middle part and the lower part, or, the other end of the liquid suction tube is located on the side wall of the of the cone as the lower part.
Claim 20 is dependent on claim 13.
The cited prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest in the context of combination of claims 1, 10, and 17, the plurality of openings further include a third opening serving as a vent and a fourth opening, the lower part is a cone protruding downward, and the fourth opening is connected to one end of the liquid suction tube, the other end of which is located at a junction of the middle part and the lower part, or, is located on the inner side wall of the cone as the lower part.
The cited prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest in the context of combination of claims 1 and 19, further comprising a protective cover, which is detachably connected to the integrated tube body, and when the protective cover is connected to the integrated tube body, the plurality of openings are located inside a protected space between the protective cover and the integrated tube body.
The cited prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest in the context of combination of claims 1 and 28, wherein the integrated tube body is made of soft material that is selected from silicone, rubber, PET, PE, PVC, TPU, PPS, and TPE, and the enclosed centrifugation device does not include the opening serving as a vent; the enclosed centrifugation device further comprises a protective cover which is detachably connected to the tube body; the tube body is integrally embedded inside the protective cover; at least one connecting part is placed between the protective cover and the tube body to achieve detachable connection between the protective cover and the tube body, wherein one end of the connecting part is connected to the protective cover, and the other end of the connecting part is detachably connected to the tube body; the protective cover is configured to have a fixing structure, with which one end of the connecting part is connected to the protective cover.
The cited prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest in the context of combination of claims 1 and 32, wherein the fixing structure is a hole located on the protective cover, or, the fixing structure is a hook or a fixing base that is fixed connected to the protective cover, and the connecting part is selected from a string, a cable tie, a magic tape and a clasp.
Conclusion
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798