DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Use of parentheses in Claim 1, i.e. (n=4 to 13), renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear whether the limitations enclosed in parentheses are required or optional features of the claim. Claims 3 – 12 are further rejected under this statute as they ultimately depend on Claim 1 and therefore inherit the aforementioned issue. For the purposes of further examination, the limitations enclosed in parentheses in Claim 1 will be interpreted as being required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0001122 to Wattebled et al. (hereinafter Wattebled) in view of WO 2004/037903 to Reimann et al. (hereinafter Reimann) and US 2017/0014801 to Ikeuchi et al. (hereinafter Ikeuchi). For the purposes of examination, citations for Reimann are taken from an English-language equivalent of the document, US 2006/0057389.
Regarding Claims 1, 3, and 4. Wattebled teaches a method of preparing a superabsorbent polymer [0008].
The method comprising free-radically polymerizing an aqueous solution of an ethylenically unsaturated monomer having an acid group in the presence of a crosslinking agent to form a gel polymer [0038] – [0039], i.e. crosslinking polymerization of a water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer in the presence of an internal crosslinking agent to form a water-containing gel polymer including a crosslinked polymer. The acid groups of the monomer may be partly or fully neutralized [0046]. The crosslinking polymerization further occurs in the presence of hollow bodies in which a hydrocarbon blowing agent is surrounded by a thermoplastic polymer material [0082] – [0084], i.e. a capsule-type foaming agent including a core including a hydrocarbon and a thermoplastic polymer shell surrounding said core.
The method of Wattebled further comprising drying and grinding the polymers [0041] – [0042], which would be reasonably expected to form a base polymer powder. A surface crosslinking step may subsequently be performed [0069] – [0070].
Wattebled further teaches the ethylenically saturated monomers (α1) and (α2) are provided in amounts of preferably 70 to 98.79 weight percent and 0.1 to 44.89 weight percent respectively. The crosslinker is provided in an amount of preferably 0.01 to 2.5 weight percent [0055] – [0056]. The hollow bodies/capsule-type foaming agent are provided in an amount of most preferably 0.1 to 3 weight percent [0111]. Using these values, the preferred amount of crosslinker in Wattebled can be calculated to be in the range of roughly 0.01 to 3.6 weight percent, while the preferred amount of capsule-type foaming agent can be calculated to be preferably in the range of roughly 0.1 to 7.2 weight percent relative to the 100 parts by weight of the ethylenically unsaturated monomer.
Wattebled does not expressly teach the internal crosslinking agent is epoxy-based. However, Reimann teaches the use of ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether as a crosslinking agent for ethylenically unsaturated monomers used in the preparation of absorbent polymers [0064]. The instant specification describes ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether as having an epoxy equivalent weight of 114 g/eq (see Footnote A1 of Table 1). Wattebled and Reimann are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely methods of making absorbent polymers. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether as the internal crosslinking agent in Wattebled. The motivation would have been that it has been held that it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); and MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Wattebled does teach the crosslinking agents disclosed by Reimann are suitably used in the disclosed method [0050] and Reimann expressly sets forth ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether as a crosslinking agent [0064].
Wattebled also does not expressly teach the crosslinking polymer is conducted in the presence of a chelating agent. However, Ikeuchi teaches the concept of adding a chelating agent during preparation of a water absorbing polymer, in an amount of up to 3 parts by weight of the solids content thereof [0319] – [0320]. Ikeuchi sets forth amino carboxylic acids as suitable chelating agents [0321] and uses diethylenetriamine pentaacetic acid in the inventive examples [0397]. Wattebled and Ikeuchi are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely methods of making absorbent polymers. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a chelating agent, e.g. an amino acid such as diethylenetriamine pentaacetic acid, in the amount taught by Ikeuchi during the crosslinking polymerization step of Wattebled. The motivation would have been that Ikeuchi teaches the addition of a chelating agent in this amount functions to prevent discoloration and improve the urine resistance of the articles in which it is incorporated [0319] – [0320].
Regarding Claims 6 and 7. Wattebled teaches the method of Claim 1 wherein the ethylenically saturated monomers (α1) and (α2) are provided in amounts of preferably 70 to 98.79 weight percent and 0.1 to 44.89 weight percent respectively. The crosslinkers may be provided in an amount of preferably 0.01 to 2.5 weight percent [0055] – [0056]. The crosslinking component may include polyethylene glycol di(meth)acrylates [0050], which will provide a branched polymer of poly(meth)acrylic acid including polyalkylene glycol in side chains.
Regarding Claim 8. Wattebled teaches the method of Claim 1 wherein drying may be conducted at a temperature of 150°C for 2 hours ([0125] and [0127]).
Regarding Claims 9 – 12. Wattebled teaches the method of Claim 1 but is silent with respect to the claimed properties. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Wattebled, when modified in the manner proposed, teaches a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. a superabsorbent polymer having a gel strength, absorption rate, centrifuge retention capacity, and absorbency under pressure in the instantly claimed ranges - would implicitly be achieved by a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties using only the claimed process employing the claimed steps, processing conditions, and ingredients in the claimed amounts.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0001122 to Wattebled et al. (hereinafter Wattebled) in view of WO 2004/037903 to Reimann et al. (hereinafter Reimann) and US 2017/0014801 to Ikeuchi et al. (hereinafter Ikeuchi) – as applied to Claim 1 above – and further in view of US 2022/0380617 to Fishman et al. (hereinafter Fishman).
Regarding Claim 5. Wattebled teaches the method of Claim 1 wherein the capsule-type foaming agent used may be EXPANCEL® 920 DU 40 [0086]. Fishman provides evidence that the hydrocarbon contained in the core of EXPANCEL® 920 DU 40 is iso-pentane and the shell is a polymer formed from methacrylonitrile (Table 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claims are not rendered obvious over the cited references at least because of the unexpectedly superior properties demonstrated in the present. It is applicant’s position that the data shown in Tables 1 and 2 of the present specification demonstrate the effectiveness of the specifically claimed combination of epoxy-based internal crosslinking agent, chelating agent, and a capsule-type foaming agent. Applicant notes that the none of the applied references teaches the concept of combining all three of these additives.
Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980) The Office respectfully submits that the proffered data is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
For instance, the instantly claims set forth a method in which any chelating agent and any capsule-type foaming agent including a hydrocarbon-containing core surrounded by a thermoplastic resin shell are each provided in an amount of 0.01 to 10 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer. On the other hand, the examples provided only utilize two species of chelating agents (EDTA-4Na and DTPA) in amounts of 0.1 to 0.5 parts by weight and two species of capsule-type foaming agent (F-36D and DTPA) in amounts of 0.1 to 3 parts by weight. This limited showing does not provide sufficient evidence to conclude that the alleged unexpected results would be achieved when any chelating agent is provided in any amount in the claimed range of 0.01 to 10 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer, as well as any capsule-type foaming agent having the claimed features in any amount in the claimed range of 0.01 to 10 parts by weight, as is instantly claimed.
The outstanding rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 has consequently been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764