DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amendments as filed 05/22/2026 have been entered. The amendments overcome the 102 rejection as previously set forth but do not overcome the 103 rejection as previously set forth in non-final office action mailed 02/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20200127269-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Park’
Regarding Claim 1,
Park teaches a secondary battery (Park, “Meanwhile, the lithium secondary battery, which is one of the secondary batteries, has lower weight and higher energy density than other secondary batteries”, see [0008]) comprising: an electrode assembly having a plurality of electrodes (Park, “which is configured to have a structure in which a plurality of positive electrodes having a predetermined size and a plurality of negative electrodes having a predetermined size.”, see [0006]), a plurality of separators respectively interposed between the plurality of electrodes (Park, “battery cell configured such that an electrode assembly, including a positive electrode and a negative electrode stacked in the state in which a separator is interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode”, see [0015]), and a plurality of electrode tabs respectively connected to the plurality of electrodes (Park, tabs, 141, Fig. 1) ; an electrode lead coupled to the plurality of electrode tabs (Park, lead end, 111, Fig. 3); and a pouch accommodating the electrode assembly therein in a state in which a front end of the electrode lead the state in which a separator is interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, is mounted in a pouch-shaped cell case”, see [0015]), wherein the plurality of electrode tabs each comprise a connection part connected to a respective one of the plurality of electrodes, a coupling part coupled to the electrode lead, and a bent part
(The examiner notes that the first angle is more obtuse than the second angle).
Park teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the first-b angle of the first bent surface of each of the plurality of electrode tabs is 100° to 120° with respect to the respective coupling part (Park, “The coupling portion of the electrode tabs and the first lead end may be bent at an angle of 75 to 105 degrees toward the side surface of the electrode assembly on the basis of the direction in which the electrode tabs protrude.”, see [0022]).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 75 to 105 degrees broadly overlaps the claimed range of 100 to 120. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20200127269-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Park’, in view of (US-20190189979-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Choi’
Regarding Claim 3,
Park does not teach wherein the first-b angle of the first bent surface of each of the plurality of electrode tabs is 109° to 116° with respect to the respective coupling part.
Choi teaches an wherein the first-b angle of the first bent surface of each of the plurality of electrode tabs is 109° to 116° with respect to the respective coupling part (Choi, “housing slant portion 211 may have a slant surface forming an angle of about 60° to about 70° with the ground. However, the slant angle may be varied according to factors such as the shape of the sensing assembly 200 or the cell assembly 100, the shape of the electrode leads 111, or the number of the secondary batteries 110.”, see [0074]) (The examiner notes the angle is complementary and when adjusted for the instant application would be 110-120 degrees. )
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 110-120 degrees broadly overlaps the claimed range of 109 to 116. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Choi teaches that this angle allows for the assembly of the cell stack to be improved (Choi, “According to the structure in which the housing slant portion 211 is formed…Therefore, the assemblability and processability of the sensing assembly 200 and the cell assembly 100 may be improved.”, see [0075]).
Park and Choi are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery tabs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tabs as taught in Park with the tab angle as taught in Choi in order to improve the ease of assembly.
Regarding Claim 4,
Park does not teach, wherein the second-b angle of the second bent surface of each of the plurality of electrode tabs is 94° to 104° with respect to the respective connection part.
Choi teaches an wherein the first-b angle of the first bent surface of each of the plurality of electrode tabs is 109° to 116° with respect to the respective coupling part (Choi, “housing slant portion 211 may have a slant surface forming an angle of about 60° to about 70° with the ground. However, the slant angle may be varied according to factors such as the shape of the sensing assembly 200 or the cell assembly 100, the shape of the electrode leads 111, or the number of the secondary batteries 110.”, see [0074]) (The examiner notes the angle is complementary and when adjusted for the instant application would be 110-120 degres).
Choi teaches that this angle allows for the assembly of the cell stack to be improved (Choi, “According to the structure in which the housing slant portion 211 is formed…Therefore, the assemblability and processability of the sensing assembly 200 and the cell assembly 100 may be improved.”, see [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the angle as taught in Park to be the angle as taught Choi and to further have modified the angle to 94° to 104° with respect to the respective connection part as a process of optimization for the assemblability of the battery cell (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A)).
Regarding Claim 5,
Park does not teach wherein the second-b angle of the second bent surface of each of the plurality of electrode tabs is 98° to 100° with respect to the respective connection part.
Choi teaches an wherein the first-b angle of the first bent surface of each of the plurality of electrode tabs is 109° to 116° with respect to the respective coupling part (Choi, “housing slant portion 211 may have a slant surface forming an angle of about 60° to about 70° with the ground. However, the slant angle may be varied according to factors such as the shape of the sensing assembly 200 or the cell assembly 100, the shape of the electrode leads 111, or the number of the secondary batteries 110.”, see [0074]) (The examiner notes the angle is complementary and when adjusted for the instant application would be 110-120 degres).
Choi teaches that this angle allows for the assembly of the cell stack to be improved (Choi, “According to the structure in which the housing slant portion 211 is formed…Therefore, the assemblability and processability of the sensing assembly 200 and the cell assembly 100 may be improved.”, see [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the angle as taught in Park to be the angle as taught Choi and to further have modified the angle to 98° to 100° with respect to the respective connection part as a process of optimization for the assembly of the battery cell (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A)).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20200127269-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Park’ in view of (US-20170214028-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Oh’
Regarding Claim 6,
Park does not teach the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein, when viewed in a longitudinal direction of the electrode assembly, a distance (α) from a first end to a second end of the connection surface each of the plurality of electrode tabs is 0.5 mm to 2.0 mm.
Oh teaches when viewed in a longitudinal direction of the electrode assembly, a distance (α) from a first end to a second end of the connection surface each of the plurality of electrode tabs is 0.5 mm to 2.0 mm (Oh, “In the present disclosure, the length of the electrode tabs may be from 5 mm to 25 mm, or preferably, from 6 mm to 23 mm. Also, the length of the tab-lead coupler may be from 0.5 mm to 5 mm, or preferably, from 1 mm to 4 mm. However, the above numerical values are just specific examples, and the present disclosure is not limited hereto”, see [0044])(see annotated figure below)(The examiner notes the section from the first end to a second end of the connection surface is the same length as the lead coupler as pictured below).
Oh teaches that this arrangement of tabs this length allows for high process efficiency and tabs too long are not desirable in terms of energy (Oh, “When the lengths of the electrode tabs are same as one another, the electrode assembly may be manufactured by using a same type of the electrode plates. In this case, high process efficiency can be obtained compared to when using different types of the electrode plates”, see [0040]) (Oh, “However, the electrode tabs having the longer than desired lengths may be included, in which case these electrode tabs may occupy some of the internal space of the battery cell such that it may not be desirable in view of energy density.”, see [0041]).
Park and Oh are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery pouches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length as taught in Park to be the length as taught Oh in order to have maximized energy density.
Regarding Claim 7,
Park does not teach wherein, for each of the plurality of electrode tabs, when viewed in a longitudinal direction of the electrode assembly, a distance (β) from an end of a respective one of the separators to an end of the respective coupling part
Oh teaches wherein, for each of the plurality of electrode tabs, when viewed in a longitudinal direction of the electrode assembly, a distance (β) from an end of a respective one of the separators to an end of the respective coupling part is 2.0 mm to 4.5 mm, the end of the respective one of the separators and the end of the respective coupling part facing each other (Oh, “In the present disclosure, the length of the electrode tabs may be from 5 mm to 25 mm, or preferably, from 6 mm to 23 mm. Also, the length of the tab-lead coupler may be from 0.5 mm to 5 mm, or preferably, from 1 mm to 4 mm. However, the above numerical values are just specific examples, and the present disclosure is not limited hereto”, see [0044])(The examiner notes that a 5mm tab subtracted from 0.5 mm coupler would be 4.5 mm, see annotated figure below).
Oh teaches that this arrangement of tabs this length allows for high process efficiency and tabs too long are not desirable in terms of energy (Oh, “When the lengths of the electrode tabs are same as one another, the electrode assembly may be manufactured by using a same type of the electrode plates. In this case, high process efficiency can be obtained compared to when using different types of the electrode plates”, see [0040]) (Oh, “However, the electrode tabs having the longer than desired lengths may be included, in which case these electrode tabs may occupy some of the internal space of the battery cell such that it may not be desirable in view of energy density.”, see [0041]).
Park and Oh are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery pouches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length as taught in Park to be the length as taught Oh in order to have maximized energy density.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 7, the applicant argues:
“First, we cannot see how this drawing teaches either that each tab has a first-b angle greater than the second-b angle (claim 1), or that each first-b angle being bent at an angle between 100-120 degrees (claim 2). It can clearly be seen that at least some of the electrode tabs in the annotated figure above have first angles and second angles that are 90 degrees, which therefore does not meet either limitation, which both recite limits for each electrode tab.”
However, this is not convincing. The applicant argues that some of the angles are 90 degrees, therefore, they do not meet the claims. However, it is clear from Park that at least one tab is within the giving range (Park, “The coupling portion of the electrode tabs and the first lead end may be bent at an angle of 75 to 105 degrees toward the side surface of the electrode assembly on the basis of the direction in which the electrode tabs protrude.”, see [0022]). If at least one tab has the angles as claimed, duplicating the feature to each tab is an obvious matter of duplication (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)). The examiner further adds an annotated figure below, which shows angles greater than 90 degrees. Therefore, the feature would be obvious in view of Park.
On pg. 8, the applicant argues:
“Therefore, the angle referred to in paragraph [0022] and specifically mentioned in the Office Action as reading on the first-b angle as being between 75 and 105 degrees is the angle of the coupling part relative to the electrodes themselves, and not an angle that corresponds to the first-b angle of the first bent surface 133a.”
However, this is not convincing. The examiner notes that [0067] of the instant application indicates that degree is relative to the horizontal coupling part 132. The reference Park teaches an overlapping ranges relative to where the electrodes protrude (the horizontal). Therefore, the angles for both are analogous. Even if the angles were not perfectly analogous, Park teaches a motivation for preventing the tabs for being overbent (Park, see [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the angle as taught in Park to the desired angle to prevent structural damage. Finally, the examiner notes that Choi also teaches an angle obtuse relative to the horizontal (Choi, see [0074]). Therefore, if Park is deficient in this matter, one of ordinary skill in the art would also look to Choi and find the angle as claimed obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752