DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 05/01/2026.
Claims 1-4,6-11,13-16 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20190268046 A1) (hereinafter Kim) in view of Rucki et al (US 20130260844 A1) (hereinafter Rucki).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method of calibrating Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output (MIMO) transceiver paths in a test environment (see para. [0002];[0009]-[0010] discloses MIMO calibration method), the method comprising:
coupling a plurality of input/output paths of a MIMO antenna panel to a plurality of transmit or receive paths of a MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2, para. [0075]-[0077], discloses a MIMO assembly with multiple Tx/Rx paths);
transmitting or receiving at a known power level by the MIMO radio panel (see para. [0033] discloses the MIMO system provides a pilot signal for calibration).
Kim fails to disclose but Rucki teaches measuring, as a single power measurement, a loss of each of the plurality of input/output paths of the MIMO antenna panel at an input for a common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel prior to the MIMO antenna panel being coupled to the MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2 (216),Fig. 3(310), para.[0026]; [0031]; [0036] discloses calibration transceiver 216) without switching between a transmit or receive path and a common calibration path (see para. [0024];[0039] discloses calibration circuit with couplers in series-connected fashion that eliminates need for RF switch matrix);
coupling a calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel to the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2 (200, 216, 214, 210 (1)-(n)), para. [0025]-[0026];[0031] discloses connection between of calibration transceiver (216) between radio antenna system (200) and digital controller (202), directional couplers 210(1)-(n) associated with each RX);
measuring a power output of all transmit or receive paths (see para. [0032]-[0034] discloses calibration signal and powers in each coupler); and
calibrating a transmit gain or a receive loss according to the measured loss at each input/output path of the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port (see para. [0032]-[0034];[0042] discloses calibration signal and powers in each coupler. Algorithm calibration transceiver performs operation to determine adjustments to the TX gains, may take into account different loss and phase values for the test signals).
Kim and Rucki are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, MIMO and calibration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the integrated coupler for calibration as described by Rucki.
The motivation to combine both references would come from simplifying the calibration process.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a method (see para. [0002];[0009]-[0010] discloses MIMO calibration method) wherein the transmit path corresponds with the MIMO radio panel functioning as a transmitter and the receive path corresponds with the MIMO radio panel functioning as a receiver (see fig. 15A, para. [0123] discloses modules and paths for TX and RX to the antenna element).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a method (see para. [0002];[0009]-[0010] discloses MIMO calibration method).
Kim fails to disclose but Rucki teaches wherein measuring the loss of each input/output path of the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port is performed during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel (see para. [0032]-[0034];[0042] discloses calibration signal and powers in each coupler. Algorithm calibration transceiver performs operation to determine adjustments to the TX gains, may take into account different loss and phase values for the test signals. Rucki does not provide limitation on where this method can be performed).
Kim and Rucki are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, MIMO and calibration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the integrated coupler for calibration as described by Rucki.
The motivation to combine both references would come from simplifying the calibration process.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a method (see para. [0002];[0009]-[0010] discloses MIMO calibration method) according wherein the calibration feedback network is built into the antenna panel during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel to perform operational phase alignment on the MIMO antenna panel (see fig. 3, para. [0011];[0085] discloses the antenna and network, also management of phase alignment in production).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a method (see para. [0002];[0009]-[0010] discloses MIMO calibration method) wherein once one transmit path is set at a known power level the common calibration receiver port can be referenced through the calibration feedback network (see para. [0119] discloses measurement of the characteristics such as amplitude, phase, delay, etc. to perform Tx calibration using a pilot signal correlated with the feedback signal).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a method (see para. [0002];[0009]-[0010] discloses MIMO calibration method) wherein a relative loss of each path from the MIMO antenna panel to the input for the common calibration receiver port is known via the calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel (see fig.17, para. [0136]-[0139] discloses calibration using a pilot signal to identify the gain, amplitude, and phase in the all reception paths using RX Cal and the calibration network).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a method (see para. [0002];[0009]-[0010] discloses MIMO calibration method) wherein each transmit or receive path includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) pair (see para. [0142] discloses the pilot signal through A/D Converter and downconverter for the different reception paths).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output (MIMO) calibrating apparatus (see para. [0010] discloses calibration method performed by single calibration hardware of the MIMO antenna) comprising:
a MIMO antenna panel (see para. [0087] discloses multiple antenna elements coupled to a surface); and
a MIMO radio panel including a common calibration receiver port, wherein each of a plurality input/output paths of the MIMO antenna panel is coupled to each of a plurality of transmit or receive paths of the MIMO radio panel (see para. [0039] discloses Tx calibration for all paths performed based on comparison of the produced pilot and signal extracted);
the MIMO radio panel configured to:
transmit or receive data at a known power level (see para [0038] discloses a pilot signal for calibration);
measure a power output of all transmit or receive paths (see para. [0039] discloses Tx calibration for all paths performed based on comparison of the produced pilot and signal extracted); and
calibrate a transmit gain or a receive loss according to the measurement data which is received at the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel (see para. [0039] discloses Tx calibration for all paths performed based on comparison of the produced pilot and signal extracted);
Kim discloses the MIMO antenna panel (see Fig. 4 (440))
Kim fails but Rucky teaches including:
a calibration feedback network (see Fig. 2 (200, 216, 214, 210 (1)-(n)), para. [0025]-[0026];[0031] discloses connection between of calibration transceiver (216) between radio antenna system (200) and digital controller (202), directional couplers 210(1)-(n)) ; and
measurement data, the measurement data corresponding to a measured loss of each input or output path of the MIMO antenna panel to an input for the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel (see para. [0032]-[0034];[0042] discloses calibration signal and powers in each coupler. Algorithm calibration transceiver performs operation to determine adjustments to the TX gains, may take into account different loss and phase values for the test signals),
wherein the calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel is coupled to the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2 (202, 216), para. [0025];[0031] discloses connection between of calibration transceiver (216) between radio antenna system (200) and digital controller (202));
wherein the MIMO calibrating apparatus is configured to derive the measurement data from a single power measurement of the loss of each input or output path of the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port before the MIMO antenna panel is coupled to the MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2 (202, 216), para. [0025];[0031] discloses connection between of calibration transceiver (216) between radio antenna system (200) and digital controller (202)).
Kim and Rucki are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, MIMO and calibration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the integrated coupler for calibration as described by Rucki.
The motivation to combine both references would come from simplifying the calibration process.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus (see para. [0010] discloses calibration method performed by single calibration hardware of the MIMO antenna) wherein the transmit path corresponds with the MIMO radio panel functioning as a transmitter and the receive path corresponds with the MIMO radio panel functioning as a receiver (see fig.15A, para. [0123] discloses each transmitting/receiving module includes multiple RF elements with Tx and Rx path to corresponding each antenna).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus (see para. [0010] discloses calibration method performed by single calibration hardware of the MIMO antenna).
Kim fails to disclose but Rucki teaches a calibration apparatus wherein the measurement data corresponding to the measured loss of each input or output path of the MIMO antenna panel is generated during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel (see para. [0032]-[0034];[0042] discloses calibration signal and powers in each coupler. Algorithm calibration transceiver performs operation to determine adjustments to the TX gains, may take into account different loss and phase values for the test signals. Rucki does not provide limitation on where this method can be performed).
Kim and Rucki are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, MIMO and calibration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the antenna system as described by Rucki.
The motivation to combine both references would come from simplifying the calibration process.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus (see para. [0010] discloses calibration method performed by single calibration hardware of the MIMO antenna) wherein the common calibration feedback network is built into the antenna panel during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel to perform operational phase alignment on the MIMO antenna panel (see para. [0085] discloses the calibration using the calibration network provided between antenna element and the filter, and the use of filters to fix phase deviation).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus (see para. [0010] discloses calibration method performed by single calibration hardware of the MIMO antenna) wherein once one transmit path is set at a known power level the calibration receiver port can be referenced through the calibration feedback network (see para. [0129]-[0133] discloses Tx calibration by correlation of the transmitted signal and capture signal using calibration network).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus (see para. [0010] discloses calibration method performed by single calibration hardware of the MIMO antenna) wherein a relative loss of each path from the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port is known via the calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel (see fig. 14, fig. 17, para. [0140] discloses a pilot signal RX using the calibration network for calibration on the different paths).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus (see para. [0010] discloses calibration method performed by single calibration hardware of the MIMO antenna) wherein each transmit or receive path includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) pair (see para. [0124], [0141]-[0142] discloses the pilot signal passing through A/D converter and downconverter per each path).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-9, filed , with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 9 and dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Rucki et al (US 20130260844 A1).
Conclusion
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419