DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications received on 01/19/2026.
Claims 1-4,6-11,13-16 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20190268046 A1) (herein after “Kim”) in view of Soo-Chang Chae et al (IEEE ANTENNAS AND WIRELESS PROPAGATION LETTERS, Vol. 19, September 20, 2020) (hereinafter “Soo-Chang”) .
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method of calibrating Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output (MIMO) transceiver paths in a test environment, the method comprising:
coupling a plurality of input/output paths of a MIMO antenna panel to a plurality of transmit or receive paths of a MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2, para. [0075]-[0077], discloses a MIMO assembly with multiple Tx/Rx paths);
transmitting or receiving at a known power level by the MIMO radio panel (see para. [0033] discloses the MIMO system provides a pilot signal for calibration).
Kim fails to disclose measuring, as a single power measurement, a loss of each of the plurality of input/output paths of the MIMO antenna panel at an input for a common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel prior to the MIMO antenna panel being coupled to the MIMO radio panel without switching between a transmit or receive path and a common calibration path.
coupling a calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel to the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel
measuring a power output of all transmit or receive paths; and
calibrating a transmit gain or a receive loss according to the measured loss at each input/output path of the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port.
However, Soo-Chang teaches measuring, as a single power measurement, a loss of each of the plurality of input/output paths of the MIMO antenna panel at an input for a common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel prior to the MIMO antenna panel being coupled to the MIMO radio panel without switching between a transmit or receive path and a common calibration path (see Fig. 2(b) (coupler integrated array); Fig. 3 (coupled line); Fig. 9 (b) Page 1615, column2, lines 16-21; page1616, column 1, lines 1-3; page 1618 column 1, lines 1-23, column 2, lines1-4 discloses a new self-calibration system including a line that weakly couple to the antenna array to provide calibration path; shows measuring gain and phase combining through the beamforming network, without switching);
coupling a calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel to the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2(b) (coupler integrated array), Fig. 3 (coupled line), Page 1615, column2, lines 16-21; page1616, column 1, lines 1-3 discloses a new self-calibration system including a line that weakly couple to the antenna array to provide calibration path);
measuring a power output of all transmit or receive paths (see page 1618 Fig. (b) measurement with spectrum analyzer and RF signal generator); and
calibrating a transmit gain or a receive loss according to the measured loss at each input/output path of the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port (see Fig. 2(b) (coupler integrated array); Fig. 3 (coupled line); Fig. 9 (b) Page 1615, column2, lines 16-21; page1616, column 1, lines 1-3; page 1618 column 1, lines 1-23, column 2, lines1-4 discloses a new self-calibration system including a line that weakly couple to the antenna array to provide calibration path; shows measuring gain and phase combining through the beamforming network, without switching).
Kim and Soo-Chang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, MIMO and calibration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the integrated coupler for calibration as described by Soo-Chang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from performing the calibration without affecting the performance of the antenna array.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a method wherein the transmit path corresponds with the MIMO radio panel functioning as a transmitter and the receive path corresponds with the MIMO radio panel functioning as a receiver (see fig. 15A, para. [0123] discloses modules and paths for TX and RX to the antenna element).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a method.
Kim fails to disclose a method wherein measuring the loss of each input/output path of the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port is performed during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel.
However, Soo-Chang discloses measuring the loss of each input/output path of the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port is performed during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel (see page 1615, lines column1, 37-39, page 1617, discloses method more suitable for initial factory calibration; column 2, Fig. 7 gain measurement, Fig. 9, page 1618).
Kim and Soo-Chang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, MIMO and calibration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the integrated coupler for calibration as described by Soo-Chang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from performing the calibration without affecting the performance of the antenna array.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a method according wherein the calibration feedback network is built into the antenna panel during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel to perform operational phase alignment on the MIMO antenna panel (see fig. 3, para. [0011];[0085] discloses the antenna and network, also management of phase alignment in production).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a method wherein once one transmit path is set at a known power level the common calibration receiver port can be referenced through the calibration feedback network (see para. [0119] discloses measurement of the characteristics such as amplitude, phase, delay, etc. to perform Tx calibration using a pilot signal correlated with the feedback signal).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a method wherein a relative loss of each path from the MIMO antenna panel to the input for the common calibration receiver port is known via the calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel (see fig.17, para. [0136]-[0139] discloses calibration using a pilot signal to identify the gain, amplitude, and phase in the all reception paths using RX Cal and the calibration network).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a method wherein each transmit or receive path includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) pair (see para. [0142] discloses the pilot signal through A/D Converter and downconverter for the different reception paths).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output (MIMO) calibrating apparatus comprising:
a MIMO antenna panel (see para. [0087] discloses multiple antenna elements coupled to a surface); and
the MIMO radio panel configured to:
transmit or receive data at a known power level (see para [0038] discloses a pilot signal for calibration);
measure a power output of all transmit or receive paths paths (see para. [0039] discloses Tx calibration for all paths performed based on comparison of the produced pilot and signal extracted); and
calibrate a transmit gain or a receive loss according to the measurement data which is received at the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel paths (see para. [0039] discloses Tx calibration for all paths performed based on comparison of the produced pilot and signal extracted).
Kim fails to disclose a MIMO radio panel including a common calibration receiver port, wherein each of a plurality input/output paths of the MIMO antenna panel is coupled to each of a plurality of transmit or receive paths of the MIMO radio panel
the MIMO antenna panel including:
a calibration feedback network; and
measurement data, the measurement data corresponding to a measured loss of each input or output path of the MIMO antenna panel to an input for the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel, wherein the calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel is coupled to the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel
wherein the MIMO calibrating apparatus is configured to derive the measurement data from a single power measurement of the loss of each input or output path of the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port before the MIMO antenna panel is coupled to the MIMO radio panel.
However, Shoo-Chang teaches a MIMO radio panel including a common calibration receiver port, wherein each of a plurality input/output paths of the MIMO antenna panel is coupled to each of a plurality of transmit or receive paths of the MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2(b) (coupler integrated array); Fig. 3 (coupled line); Fig. 9 (b) Page 1615, column2, lines 16-21; page1616, column 1, lines 1-3; page 1618 column 1, lines 1-23, column 2, lines1-4 discloses a new self-calibration system including a line that weakly couple to the antenna array to provide calibration path; shows measuring gain and phase combining through the beamforming network, without switching);
the MIMO antenna panel including:
a calibration feedback network (see Fig. 6 Calibration Port and Output Port); and
measurement data, the measurement data corresponding to a measured loss of each input or output path of the MIMO antenna panel to an input for the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel, wherein the calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel is coupled to the common calibration receiver port of the MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2(b) (coupler integrated array); Fig. 3 (coupled line); Fig. 9 (b) Page 1615, column2, lines 16-21; page1616, column 1, lines 1-3; page 1618 column 1, lines 1-23, column 2, lines1-4 discloses a new self-calibration system including a line that weakly couple to the antenna array to provide calibration path; shows measuring gain and phase combining through the beamforming network, without switching);
wherein the MIMO calibrating apparatus is configured to derive the measurement data from a single power measurement of the loss of each input or output path of the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port before the MIMO antenna panel is coupled to the MIMO radio panel (see Fig. 2(b) (coupler integrated array); Fig. 3 (coupled line); Fig. 9 (b) Page 1615, column2, lines 16-21; page1616, column 1, lines 1-3; page 1618 column 1, lines 1-23, column 2, lines1-4 discloses a new self-calibration system including a line that weakly couple to the antenna array to provide calibration path; shows measuring gain and phase combining through the beamforming network, without switching).
Kim and Soo-Chang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, MIMO and calibration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the integrated coupler for calibration as described by Soo-Chang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from performing the calibration without affecting the performance of the antenna array.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus wherein the transmit path corresponds with the MIMO radio panel functioning as a transmitter and the receive path corresponds with the MIMO radio panel functioning as a receiver (see fig.15A, para. [0123] discloses each transmitting/receiving module includes multiple RF elements with Tx and Rx path to corresponding each antenna).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus.
Kim fails to disclose a calibration apparatus wherein the measurement data corresponding to the measured loss of each input or output path of the MIMO antenna panel is generated during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel.
However, Soo-Chang teaches a calibration apparatus wherein the measurement data corresponding to the measured loss of each input or output path of the MIMO antenna panel is generated during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel (see page 1615, lines column1, 37-39, page 1617, discloses method more suitable for initial factory calibration; column 2, Fig. 7 gain measurement, Fig. 9, page 1618).
Kim and Soo-Chang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, MIMO and calibration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the integrated coupler for calibration as described by Soo-Chang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from performing the calibration without affecting the performance of the antenna array.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus wherein the common calibration feedback network is built into the antenna panel during a manufacturing process for the MIMO antenna panel to perform operational phase alignment on the MIMO antenna panel (see para. [0085] discloses the calibration using the calibration network provided between antenna element and the filter, and the use of filters to fix phase deviation).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus wherein once one transmit path is set at a known power level the calibration receiver port can be referenced through the calibration feedback network (see para. [0129]-[0133] discloses Tx calibration by correlation of the transmitted signal and capture signal using calibration network).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus wherein a relative loss of each path from the MIMO antenna panel at the input for the common calibration receiver port is known via the calibration feedback network of the MIMO antenna panel (see fig. 14, fig. 17, para. [0140] discloses a pilot signal RX using the calibration network for calibration on the different paths).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a MIMO calibrating apparatus wherein each transmit or receive path includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) pair (see para. [0124], [0141]-[0142] discloses the pilot signal passing through A/D converter and downconverter per each path).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shteiman et al (US 9900112 B1) discloses “Method for Calibration of a MIMO Array b US 9900112 Based on Opportunistic Signal”.
Rexberg et al (US 6462704 B2) discloses “Array Antenna Calibration”.
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419