DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/IB2021/057115 filed 3 August 2021. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of domestic priority to provisional US application 63/060,939 filed 4 August 2020.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 26 February 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 26 February 2026, it is noted that claim 1 has been amended. Support can be found in the claims as originally filed. No new matter or claims have been added.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6 and 9-18 are pending.
Claims 9-18 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liden et al. (US 2017/0354754) in view of Furlan et al. (US 5,785,983).
Liden teaches systems and methods for treating a wound comprising plasma, collagen, and other suitable material [0020]. In some embodiments, the cells and plasma can be added to the collagen and mixed, thus implying plasma-treated collagen [0037]. The collagen can be any suitable collagen for wound packing [0039]. The composition can comprise any other suitable agents that are capable of causing the wound packing to gel and/or thicken such as thrombin [0042]. The wound packing composition can be dressed with a suitable carrier such as gauze or hydra fibers (both fibrous materials) [0057].
Liden does not teach wherein the collagen is used in more than 50 wt% nor does it teach the pH.
Furlan teaches that because of insolubility, in order to obtain a homogenous structure, fibrous collagen is dispersed into dilute acetic acid solution of about pH 2.5 until this pH causes the fibers to swell into a gel (col 3, lns 5-11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the wound treatment of Liden which comprises collagen mixed with plasma and then applied to a fibrous substrate such as gauze or hydra fibers. The collagen layer can further comprise thickening agents, which can be interpreted as carriers, such as thrombin. Moreover, it would have been obvious to treat said collagen with pH 2.5 acetic acid to form an acidic gel of collagen which can then be applied to the fibrous substrate. Regarding the amount of collagen, since Liden is not specific on the concentration of collagen in the wound packing layer any concentration would have been obvious. As such, a collagen wound packing comprising collagen in 60 wt%, and cells, plasma, and thickening agents in the remaining 40 wt% would have been obvious.
The resulting wound packing applied as an acidic gel to a fibrous substrate renders obvious instant claims 1-6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues, on pages 5-6 of their remarks, that the prior art of Silver and Lauritzen do not teach, disclose, or suggest the claimed invention.
In response, Silver and Lauritzen have been removed as prior art in the above rejection. The Applicant’s arguments are thus considered moot and will not be further addressed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613