DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 20160079582 A1), with evidence by Saito (US 20170331115 A1), and in view of Cho (US 20210305658 A1) and Takechi (US 20180123171 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi teaches:
a lithium-ion secondary battery (para. 0040) comprising:
a negative electrode (para. 0015),
a positive electrode (para. 0015),
a non-aqueous electrolyte (the non-aqueous electrolyte is made up of an intermediate layer as described in para. 0014-0015) (para. 0148, [the non-aqueous electrolyte solution is a solution formed by dissolving an electrolyte in a non-aqueous solvent]) including a lithium salt (para. 0150, [examples of the electrolyte include … lithium salts such as LiPF6, LiAsF6, LiBF4, and etc. ]) having water repellency (para. 0150, [VDF-HFP copolymer]) (Saito, para. 0065, [The water repellent material is not particularly limited as long as it has water repellency. Here, water repellency refers to a property of having low affinity with water and repelling water. As the water repellent material, for example, … VDF (vinylidene fluoride)-HFP (hexafluoropropylene) copolymer])
and an aqueous solid electrolyte (the aqueous electrolyte is made up of an intermediate layer as described in para. 0014-0015) (para. 0015, an intermediate layer]); (para. 0125, that the intermediate layer is normally formed using an aqueous dispersion containing vinylidene fluoride polymer particles)
wherein the aqueous solid electrolyte is in contact with only the positive electrode between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (para. 0015, an intermediate layer (intermediate layer 2) formed between the positive electrode and the separator])
the non-aqueous electrolyte is in contact with at least the negative electrode between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (Takeuchi, para. 0015, an intermediate layer (herein referred to in this office action as intermediate layer 1) formed between the positive electrode and the separator])
Takeuchi does not teach that the aqueous solid electrolyte includes a lithium salt.
Cho, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches an aqueous composition made of components including a lithium salt and water (Cho, para. 0133). This aqueous composition of Cho was then used to make a coating layer and the prepared aqueous composition were coated on a substrate (Cho, para. 0135). Cho describes the substrate as a separator (Cho, abstract).
Similarly, the intermediate layer/aqueous electrolyte of Takeuchi was made of an aqueous dispersion and then a coating solution was obtained and coated onto a separator (Takeuchi, para. 0168).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a lithium salt, as taught by Cho, to Takeuchi’s aqueous solution, in order to enhance the thermal stability of the lithium battery and suppress or reduce the deterioration in the charging and discharging process, as taught by Cho (Cho, para. 0042).
Therefore, Takeuchi teaches:
the aqueous solid electrolyte is a solid electrolyte (Takeuchi, para. 0127-0132, -) Takeuchi teaches that the intermediate layer can be formed by one of four ways, each way describes a layer that has a drying step which signals that the electrolyte/intermediate layer is a solid electrolyte)
in which the lithium salt (Burns, para. 0021) and an aqueous solvent (para. 0125, [aqueous dispersion]) are dispersed or dissolved (para. 0125, [note that in the aqueous dispersion, the vinylidene fluoride polymer particles are normally present in the dispersed state, and the other components may be dissolved or dispersed]) in a matrix polymer (para. 0123, [the intermediate layer preferably has a structure in which the polymer particles join directly to each other]) (Examiner notes the structure developed by the joining of the polymer particles as a matrix),
and the lithium salt, the aqueous solvent, and the matrix polymer are combined (para. 0128-0131 teach ways that the aqueous dispersion [which includes the lithium salt in modified Takeuchi] and the matrix polymer [matrix is formed when the polymer particles join directly to each other] are combined to form the intermediate layer)
Modified Takeuchi further teaches that the aqueous solvent contains water (Takeuchi, para. 0126, [the water that is the dispersion medium]).
Modified Takeuchi does not teach that a molar ratio of the lithium salt to the water included in the aqueous solid electrolyte is in a range of 1:0.5 to 1:4.
Takechi, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches that a molar ratio of the lithium salt to the water included in the aqueous solid electrolyte is in a range of 1:0.5 to 1:4 (Takechi, para. 0023, [an electrolyte of the present disclosure includes water and a lithium fluoroalkylsulfonyl salt present in an amount relative to one another at a molar ratio within a range of 0.1:1]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the ratio of the lithium salt to the water used in Takeuchi’s intermediate layer/aqueous electrolyte, based on Takechi’s teachings, in order to stabilize the water against electrochemical decomposition (Takechi, para. 0023).
Regarding claim 3, modified Takeuchi teaches the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1, and further teaches:
wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte is a non-aqueous solid electrolyte (Takeuchi, para. 0020-0024, - Takeuchi teaches that the intermediate layer can be formed by one of four ways, each way describes a layer that has a drying step which signals that the electrolyte/intermediate layer is a solid electrolyte)
Regarding claim 4, modified Takeuchi teaches the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the non-aqueous solid electrolyte includes the lithium salt (see claim 1 above), an organic solvent (Takeuchi, para. 0149, [organic solvents]) (Takeuchi, para. 0150, [these electrolytes may be used alone or in a combination of two or more types thereof])and a matrix polymer (para. 0151, [VDF-HFP copolymer] there is a tendency for the intermediate layer to act as a gel electrolyte when a polymer such as VDF-HFP copolymer .. is used).
Regarding claim 5, modified Takeuchi teaches the lithium ion secondary battery according to claim 4, wherein the organic solvent contains a cyclic organic solvent (Takeuchi, para. 0149, [organic solvents]) (Takeuchi, para. 0150, [these electrolytes may be used alone or in a combination of two or more types thereof]), and the organic solvent contains 80 vol% or more of the cyclic organic solvent based on a total volume of the organic solvent (Takeuchi, para. 0149, teaches that the organic solvent may include ethylene carbonate and further teaches that examples which include ethylene carbonate may be used alone … and therefore teaches that the organic solvent may contain 100 vol% of the cyclic organic solvent – ethylene carbonate).
Regarding claim 6, modified Takeuchi teaches the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein:
the positive electrode includes a positive electrode active material containing a lithium-containing transition metal oxide (Takeuchi, para. 0041, LiMY2), and the lithium-containing transition metal oxide contains at least one element of Ni, Co, or Mn (Takeuchi, para. 0041, LiMY2 M= Co, Ni, or Mn)
Regarding claim 7, modified Takeuchi teaches the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 6, and further teaches:
- wherein the lithium-containing transition metal oxide contains elements including a Ni element (Takeuchi, para. 0041, [LiMY2 M= Co, Ni, or Mn]) or a Co element (Takeuchi, para. 0041, [LiMY2 M= Co, Ni, or Mn]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Takeuchi teaches the lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1, and further teaches:
wherein the negative electrode includes a negative electrode active material containing a carbon material (Takeuchi, para. 0066, [include carbon materials]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721 /ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721