18018368DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 17th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-13 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “generally” in claim 8, ln. 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term is not quantifiable and the specification does not provide a standard for how generally concave the shape of the cap should be. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that the cap has a concave shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Buschmann (US 20110253801 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Buschmann discloses an insect repelling device (20, volatile material 54 within container 52 of the dispenser 20 can be an insect repellant and therefore can be used for insect repelling, Figs. 1-3, Paragraph 0028) comprising:
a base (24, Figs. 1-3) configured to support a fluid reservoir (52, cavity 24 accepts a volatile material refill 50, which includes the container 52, shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph 0025), the fluid reservoir (52, Fig. 3) configured to contain an insect repelling fluid (54, container 52 holds a volatile material 54, and volatile material 54 within container 52 of the dispenser 20 can be an insect repellant, shown in Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0027-0028); and
a cap (22, Figs. 1-3) having an exhaust port (annotated in Fig. 3) that permits a vapor of the insect repelling fluid to be emitted (volatile material 54 is moved to the top portion 102 of the wick 58 through capillary action and is evaporated through the channel 26 to the annotated exhaust port, Paragraphs 0031-0032), the cap (22, Figs. 1-3) configured to permit a condensate of the insect repelling fluid to flow toward the exhaust port (volatile material 54 is evaporated from the top portion 102 of the wick 58 towards the channel 26 to the annotated exhaust port, annotated and shown in Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0009, 0031-0032).
Regarding claim 2, Buschmann discloses the insect repelling device of claim 1. Buschmann further discloses a wick (58, Fig. 3) extends from the fluid reservoir (52, shown in Fig. 3) to a heating element (interpreting a heating element as a heater, not explicitly shown, but there is a heater that the top portion 102 of the wick 58 is exposed to, Paragraph 0031), the heating element (not explicitly shown, but there is a heater that the top portion 102 of the wick 58 is exposed to, Paragraph 0031) configured to vaporize the insect repelling fluid from the wick (58, the wick 58 is exposed to allow heat from the heater to evaporate the volatile material 54, Fig. 3, Paragraph 0031).
In regards to claim 5, Buschmann discloses the insect repelling device of claim 2. Buschmann further discloses the cap (22, Figs. 1-3) includes at least one opening (top opening of the cap, annotated in Fig. 3) configured to permit a condensate of the insect repelling fluid to flow toward at least one of the wick or the heating element (evaporated volatile material 54 moves to the top portion of the wick 58, Paragraph 0031).
With respect to claim 9, Buschmann discloses an insect repelling device (20, volatile material 54 within container 52 of the dispenser 20 can be an insect repellant and therefore can be used for insect repelling, Figs. 1-3, Paragraph 0028) comprising:
a base (24, Figs. 1-3) configured to support a fluid reservoir (52, cavity 24 accepts a volatile material refill 50, which includes the container 52, shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph 0025), the fluid reservoir (52, Fig. 3) containing an insect repelling fluid (54, container 52 holds a volatile material 54, and volatile material 54 within container 52 of the dispenser 20 can be an insect repellant, shown in Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0027-0028) and a wick (58, Fig. 3) extending from the fluid reservoir (52, shown in Fig. 3); and
an upper section (annotated in Fig. 3) having a heating assembly (not explicitly shown, but there is a heater that the top portion 102 of the wick 58 is exposed to, Paragraph 0031) and cap (22, Figs. 1-3) with an exhaust port (annotated and shown in Fig. 3) that permits a vapor of the insect repelling fluid to be emitted (volatile material 54 is moved to the top portion 102 of the wick 58 through capillary action and is evaporated through the channel 26 to the annotated exhaust port to be emitted from the device, Paragraphs 0031-0032), the cap (22, Figs. 1-3) defining a condensate drainage path (26, Fig. 3) between the heating assembly (not explicitly shown, but there is a heater that the top portion 102 of the wick 58 is exposed to, Paragraph 0031) and the exhaust port (annotated and shown in Fig. 3) to permit a condensate of the insect repelling fluid to flow toward the exhaust port (volatile 54 is evaporated from the top portion 102 of the wick 58 towards the channel 26 to the annotated exhaust port, annotated and shown in Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0009, 0031-0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buschmann (US 20110253801 A1) in view of Broncano Atencia (US 20100221143 A1, herein referenced to as “Broncano”).
Regarding claim 3, Buschmann discloses the insect repelling device of claim 2. However, Buschmann does not disclose a chimney as claimed. Broncano teaches an insect repelling device (1, various fragrances, including an insect repellant, may be selected as the fragrance, Fig. 2, Paragraphs 0008-0009) comprising a chimney (37, passage 37 can also be considered as a chimney, Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0063) is positioned between the heating element (30-32, Figs. 3-4) and the cap (8, heating elements 30-32 are provided on the outside of the passage 37 within the housing 8, shown in Figs. 1-2, Paragraph 0063) and extends through the exhaust port (opening of housing 8 connecting to passage 37, shown in Figs. 1-2) to define a condensate drainage path (path within passage 37, shown in Figs. 1-2) to one of the wick or the heating element (thermal energy inside of passage 37 heats the fragrance transported by the wick 6 and volatizes the fragrance, and is released from the system through an open side at the top of the passage 37, Paragraph 0063).
Buschmann and Broncano are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of insect repelling devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the chimney taught in Broncano’s device to Buschmann’s device, to have a chimney is positioned between the heating element and the cap and extends through the exhaust port to define a condensate drainage path to one of the wick or the heating element. Doing so volatilizes and transports the fluid so that it can be released out of the device more efficiently (Broncano, Paragraphs 0007, 0063).
With respect to claim 4, Buschmann, as modified by Broncano, discloses the insect repelling device of claim 3. Buschmann further discloses an upper surface (upper surface of the housing 22, shown in Figs. 1-3) of the cap (22, Figs. 1-3) is sloped toward the exhaust port (annotated and shown in Figs. 2-3).
Claims 6-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buschmann (US 20110253801 A1) in view of Taylor et al. (US 20230255188 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Buschmann discloses the insect repelling device of claim 2. However, Buschmann does not disclose the heating element includes a heater housing having an exhaust extension that extends coaxially through the exhaust port the heating element. Taylor teaches an insect repelling device (10, device can be used for insect repellant, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0100) comprises the heating element (211, Fig. 4) includes a heater housing (210, Fig. 4) having an exhaust extension (217 and annotated in Fig. 4) that extends coaxially through the exhaust port (221, shown in Fig. 4).
Buschmann and Taylor are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of insect repelling devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the heating element taught in Taylor’s device to Buschmann’s device, to have the heating element includes a heater housing having an exhaust extension that extends coaxially through the exhaust port the heating element. Doing so provides beneficial delivery of controlled vaporization of fluids in a wide variety of environmental conditions (Taylor, Paragraphs 0009-0010).
Regarding claim 7, Buschmann, as modified by Taylor, discloses the insect repelling device of claim 6. Taylor further teaches a chimney (219, 220, conical chamber 219 and straight section 220 combined acts as a chimney, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0128) is coaxially positioned within the exhaust extension (217, annotated and shown in Fig. 4) and cooperates with the exhaust extension (217, annotated and shown in Fig. 4) to define a condensate drainage path (path defined by annotated exhaust extension and outlet duct section 217, shown in Fig. 4) in communication with the wick (206, combination of conical chamber 219 and the straight section 220 acts as a chimney and accelerates flow of the gas from the wicks and to the outlet 221, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0128).
In regards to claim 8, Buschmann, as modified by Taylor, discloses the insect repelling device of claim 7. However, Buschmann does not teach the cap as claimed. Taylor teaches the cap (218, Fig. 4) has a generally concave shape (shown in Fig. 4) that includes at least one opening (top opening of outlet body 218, annotated in Fig. 4) configured to permit a condensate of the insect repelling fluid to flow toward at least one of the wick or the heating element (the structure supports vaporization of the liquid formulation at the distal ends of the wicks, Paragraphs 0070, 0085).
Buschmann and Taylor are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of insect repelling devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the cap taught in Taylor’s device to Buschmann’s device, to have the cap has a generally concave shape that includes at least one opening configured to permit a condensate of the insect repelling fluid to flow toward at least one of the wick or the heating element. Doing so promotes vaporization of the liquid at the wick surface and allows the vapor to flow from the device (Taylor, Paragraphs 0070, 0085).
Regarding claim 10, Buschmann discloses the insect repelling device of claim 9. However, Buschmann does not disclose the heating assembly includes an exhaust extension extending from a heater housing through the exhaust port, the exhaust extension including an edge radius and a bore, the cap defining a concave, sloped surface extending toward the exhaust port. Taylor teaches an insect repelling device (10, device can be used for insect repellant, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0100) comprising the heating assembly (211, Fig. 4) includes an exhaust extension (217 and annotated in Fig. 4) extending from a heater housing (210, Fig. 4) through the exhaust port (221, shown in Fig. 4), the exhaust extension (217 and annotated in Fig. 4) including an edge radius (interpreting as an edge having a radius, the edge of outlet duct section 217 and the annotated exhaust extension have a radius, shown in Fig. 4), and a bore (opening from the outlet duct section 217, shown in Fig. 4), the cap (218, Fig. 4) defining a concave, sloped surface (shown in Fig. 4) extending toward the exhaust port (221, shown in Fig. 4).
Buschmann and Taylor are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of insect repelling devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the heating assembly and the cap taught in Taylor’s device to Buschmann’s device, to have the heating assembly includes an exhaust extension extending from a heater housing through the exhaust port, the exhaust extension including an edge radius and a bore, the cap defining a concave, sloped surface extending toward the exhaust port. Doing so provides beneficial delivery of controlled vaporization of fluids in a wide variety of environmental conditions, and promotes vaporization of the liquid at the wick surface and allows the vapor to flow from the device (Taylor, Paragraphs 0009-0010, 0070, 0085).
With respect to claim 11, Buschmann discloses the insect repelling device of claim 9. However, Buschmann does not disclose the cap defines a concave, sloped surface extending toward the exhaust port, a chimney is coaxially positioned above the wick and extending through the exhaust port, the chimney and the exhaust port defining the condensate drainage path. Taylor teaches an insect repelling device (10, device can be used for insect repellant, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0100) comprising the cap (218, Fig. 4) defines a concave, sloped surface (shown in Fig. 4) extending toward the exhaust port (221, shown in Fig. 4), a chimney (219, 220, conical chamber 219 and straight section 220 combined acts as a chimney, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0128) is coaxially positioned above the wick (206, shown in Fig. 4) and extending through the exhaust port (221, shown in Fig. 4), the chimney (219, 220, conical chamber 219 and straight section 220 combined acts as a chimney, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0128) and the exhaust port (221, Fig. 4) defining the condensate drainage path (path defined by annotated exhaust extension and outlet duct section 217, shown in Fig. 4).
Buschmann and Taylor are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of insect repelling devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the cap and the chimney taught in Taylor’s device to Buschmann’s device, to have the cap defines a concave, sloped surface extending toward the exhaust port, a chimney is coaxially positioned above the wick and extending through the exhaust port, the chimney and the exhaust port defining the condensate drainage path. Doing so promotes vaporization of the liquid at the wick surface and allows the vapor to flow from the device (Taylor, Paragraphs 0009-0010, 0070, 0085).
In regards to claim 12, Buschmann, as modified by Taylor, discloses the insect repelling device of claim 11. Taylor further teaches the chimney (219, 220, conical chamber 219 and straight section 220 combined acts as a chimney, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0128) includes a flange (annotated in Fig. 4) that cooperates with the cap (218, shown in Fig. 4) to retain the chimney (219, 220, conical chamber 219 and straight section 220 combined acts as a chimney, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0128) to the upper section (annotated in Fig. 4).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buschmann (US 20110253801 A1) in view of Taylor et al. (US 20230255188 A1) as applied to claims 9 and 11-12 above, and further in view of Wynalda, Jr. (US 20170238527 A1, herein referenced to as “Wynalda”).
With respect to claim 13, Buschmann, as modified by Taylor, discloses the insect repelling device of claim 12. However, Buschmann and Taylor do not teach a sealing element. Wynalda teaches an insect repelling device (100, device can be used to distribute insect repellant, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0003) comprising a sealing element (interpreting a sealing element as a seal or gasket, 178, Fig. 4) extends between the cap (182, shown in Fig. 4, Paragraph 0070) and a portion of the heating assembly (150, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0070) to prevent the condensate from migrating away from the wick (174, seal is used to seal off liquid when device is not in use, Fig. 4, Paragraphs 0015, 0067).
Buschmann, Taylor, and Wynalda are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of insect repelling devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the sealing element taught in Taylor’s device to Buschmann’s device, to have a sealing element extends between the cap and a portion of the heating assembly to prevent the condensate from migrating away from the wick. Doing so prevents the user from being readily exposed to the fluid during transport and storage of the device (Wynalda, Paragraph 0067).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 17th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the term “generally” would be considered sufficiently clear and precise to one of ordinary skill in the art, see Remarks, pg. 5, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above, the term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term is not quantifiable and the specification does not provide a standard for how generally concave the shape of the cap should be. Therefore, this renders the claim as indefinite.
In response to applicant’s argument that Buschmann does not anticipate the present claimed invention, see Remarks, pg. 6-7, Buschmann does disclose the features of independent claim 1. Specifically, Buschmann does disclose a condensate forming in the device. Buschmann states volatile material 54 is moved to the top portion 102 of the wick 58 through capillary action and is evaporated through the channel 26 to the annotated exhaust port (Paragraphs 0031-0032). As the volatile material is evaporated, it will condense back into liquid as the vapor cools down or becomes saturated, as widely known in the art. Furthermore, volatile material 54 is stored at the bottom of the device 20. The volatile material 54 moves upwards through capillary action through wick 58 to the top portion 102 of wick 58. From the top portion 102, the volatile material evaporates through channel 26 to the annotated exhaust port in Fig. 6 above. As known in the art, when the volatile material is evaporated, it will condense back into liquid as the vapor cools down or becomes saturated. This can occur as the volatile material is being evaporated to the annotated exhaust port from channel 26, which allows condensate to flow towards the annotated exhaust port.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to an insect repellant device: Boyd, Adair, Wingo, Ketcha, Bartsch, Bonnema, Bonnema, Hasegawa, Napierski, van Lit, Butler, and Brown.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752